The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant

View of the hotel Coach House Block
Traveller (718)
Panorama of the Balcony Room (The Pinnacles) at The Cottage in the Wood
360
Panoramas (7)
Very Good Double
Room & Suite (465)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Malvern Wells
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant in Malvern is an independent, boutique hotel situated high in the Malvern hills with stunning views across the Severn Valley and the Cotswolds. There are 32 beautiful and unique en-suite bedrooms to stay in most with stunning views across the English countryside - remember to request a view when you book! The award winning restaurant serves high quality, locally sourced, modern British cuisine from breakfast to lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. In the cosy bar you can choose from a refreshing craft beers & ales, fine wines by the glass (or bottle) and cocktails. With a real log fire in winter and refreshing cocktails in summer it is the perfect place to relax all year round!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Board games / puzzles
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1,807Review12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,075
  • 425
  • 160
  • 85
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bern_Hazel wrote a review Aug 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom246 contributions104 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent one night here in August 2020 for our 30th wedding anniversary. We had a brilliant day and evening in very hot 30C weather. We arrived at 10:00am and left the car in the car park. We told reception we intended to walk up to Jubilee Hill through the forest paths and they kindly provided us with a map. We had lunch in the The Chase pub over the over side of the hill then came back and enjoyed a drink on the patio soaking up the stunning view on their bar patio

Our room was ready at the agreed check in time of 3:30pm and we found it clean, modern and recently refurbished with a beautiful bathroom. It also had a small patio with table and chairs through the french doors. Great room!

We ate dinner in the restaurant but found we could only be accommodated at the last sitting at 9pm though this was moved to 8:45pm. The food was good but disappointingly some items had run out. The service of the evening staff was excellent and friendly.

So far so good until it came to Breakfast. We were booked in at 9:15am as strict booking times were necessary due to Corvid 19. No problem there.

We waited at the entrance from 9:15am but were ignored for 5 mins until one waitress told us we would be seated soon. Another 5 mins followed and we were greeted and led to a table in the front window alcove. We had passed two other set tables for two inside the restaurant on our way to the table. The sun was streaming through the windows and the temperature felt like we were in a greenhouse! We had seen people moving tables away from the window whilst waiting to be seated.

My wife asked the said waitress if we could be seated at one of the other tables and the waitress said no! and walked off. I sat down and started to sweat profusely. My wife was still stood looking over at the two free tables in the shade when the same waitress looked around, came striding back and shouted at her in a stern voice that she needed to "SIT DOWN!" She did so but when a different waitress came to the table we asked to be moved and this waitress said "Yes no problem". We stood up to move and the first waitress came running over and rudely told us we could not move and told us to sit down in a loud and rude manner in front of other guests. At this point we left the room and went to complain to reception about our treatment. The girl on reception went to find the Breakfast supervisor who turned out to be the same rude bad tempered girl! She argued with us and suggested that "We calmed down" We left asking breakfast to be removed from the bill. We were not supplied with an itemised bill but we were in a hurry to leave by this point.

What was a great stay was spoiled by a rude bad tempered supervisor who has zero people skills. I have still given 5 stars as until then everything had been perfect and I will not mark down an establishment through one bad apple! People can see my other reviews to see that I am a fair reviewer!

One thing that would improve the views from the rooms on the ground floor of the Coach house is to cut back the shrubs which are obscuring the brilliant views.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We were in room 21 and it was fabulous.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cottage Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 8 Sept 2020
Dear Bern_Hazel, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Cottage in the Wood. We are happy to read you had a lovely time. Happy Anniversary again! We are sorry there were no earlier timings available for dinner tables at the time, since re-opening the restaurant has been fully booked most nights. We are also awfully sorry for the treatment you received during your breakfast service. We have since spoken to the team member to ensure this does not happen again in the future. We hope the incident did not leave you with negative thoughts and that you will revisit us again soon! Best Wishes, The Cottage Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
UD S wrote a review Oct 2020
Hockley, United Kingdom103 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was from 15th to 18th October.
Firstly a quick note on Covid-19 precautions. Every care was taken to adhere to Government guidelines. Sanitisers were in place at every entry and exit point the usual one way system was clearly marked out. All staff were using guideline protection. All visitors are required to wear masks.

That said we truly had a wonderful stay. My booking was for a girls long weekend. This was booked well in advance to take advantage of the autumn colours. The hotel is well situated for walks as there are paths that lead off into the hills from the car park.
Our room with an amazing view was clean and spacious. I had asked for bubbles in the room and the bottle was waiting chilled in the room.
We ate on the first night on site and the food was lovely. The restaurant is currently functioning with a restricted menu which meant that the choice for us as vegetarians was limited to one. Unfortunately, it was not to our liking and kitchen were able to off an alternative main meal. Fresh ingredients and wonderful flavours, I would definitely recommend that you eat at 1919 for dinner.
We stayed on a B & B rate. Due to Covid-19 the breakfast menu was not buffet style and we needed to ensure that we booked a time to have breakfast so as not to crowd breakfast room. Not an issue for us at all and this was well managed. Breakfast was freshly made and had a good choice to satisfy any dietary requirements.
If I were to make a suggestion then that would be to place an extra shelf in the bathroom as the narrow glass shelf does not have sufficient room for a wash bag. Having said that we managed by using the floor.

This hotel stay far exceeded my expectations, we had really comfortable beds, room was clean and spacious and the staff were very warm and welcoming. The icing on the cake...homemade melt in your mouth shortbread biscuits to accompany your cuppa in the room... I know easily pleased!

You will not go wrong to book a stay here, thoroughly recommend it and I hope to return someday.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cottage Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 13 Dec 2020
Dear UDS_13, thank you for your lovely review. We are glad to hear that you and your friends have enjoyed stay at our hotel and had a chance to explore Malvern hills. Thank you for being understanding during these difficult times. We have put a lot of work into making our hotel Covid secure and keeping our guests safe. We have passed your comments on to our staff. We are hoping to welcome you again in The Cottage in the wood. Best wishes, The Cottage Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DavidLeicestershire wrote a review Jun 2021
Leicestershire, UK57 contributions92 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 'classic' room on the top floor of the Coach House; it was quiet with splendid views. On reflection we wondered if we should have paid more to have a room with a balcony. Through luck or good design there was no intrusive sound of a television from nearby rooms. Everything was spotlessly clean, and seemingly recently refurbished. We missed a chest of drawers as a place to store our clothes other than our suitcase, and we found we struggled with the room's lighting which was, to put it generously, subdued. Younger guests may be more relaxed about this.

We were more than happy with the restaurant, even if sometimes it struggled with a full dining room and a shortage of waiting staff. There could sometimes be a wait for food, but never excessive. We stayed four nights, so the unchanging menu could stretch the permutations of choices that we faced; any longer and it would have become tiresome. The staff were unfailing pleasant and helpful, bearing in mind all the constraints of covid. We couldn't but notice the courtesy they extended to the few boorish and ill mannered diners, which was impressive.

As a passing note, we found the wallpaper in the dining room to be a terrific visual distraction, and as those whose formative years were spent listening to Tamla Motown we thought the choice of background music pretty well perfect.

We loved the hotel location, with the views over the Vale of Evesham and the access that its footpath gave us to the Malvern Hills. We were blessed with perfect weather for most of our stay, so having an evening drink soaking in the sunshine and the view was memorable. There was something of a Colonial Indian Hill Station atmosphere about the place which made it all the more intriguing. At the same time this did make us wonder if the absence of a hotel lounge would make for a much less pleasurable stay in bad weather, since you would be confined to your bedroom or else forced to take to the car. Nevertheless, our brief holiday worked out very well; we would return again, but probably only in the balmiest of weather.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Coach house probably the quietest location. Some of the best rooms have balconies, which would be...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lornaw2015 wrote a review Sept 2020
United Kingdom29 contributions22 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We just spent 4 nights at the Cottage in the Wood and I wish we could recommend this hotel, but we really cannot, for several reasons. Overall it feels to me that there is a 2 tier system here. One for the regulars and one for everyone else, which made us feel like second class citizens. Our issue related to the accommodation, service and the food
Room - Initially we were offered room #14. I booked a 'Great Room' almost 5 months ago, depicted on the hotel site as light, large and bright renovated rooms with many providing a balcony or patio and panoramic views. This room was dark and cramped with no balcony or patio and overlooking the car park. I asked to be moved and was told we would have to be given a room for 2 nights, then moved to another room. Really inconvenient. The first was what I expected, room #32, with a balcony and sweeping views, in the Coach House. The second room, #24, had a nice view and patio but reeked of dogs. I was told I should have requested a patio or balcony on booking. Seemingly also ask not to be put in a room that has had dogs in it.
Restaurant - The menu is limited, service slow, prices quite high and the window tables are seemingly only given to regulars or people celebrating some special event. In 5 meals, we were never seated at one of these tables. Once again, we felt as if we were unimportant guests.
We also felt found the Covid precautions to be a little lax. Although there was a one way system marked out, many people didn't follow it. Sanitiser stations were at the doors, but no messaging about wearing masks and the staff were maskless. We were in the minority wearing a mask in the public spaces, which was surprising since many of the guests appear to have been older.
I do have to mention that the reception staff and also Alar, the manager, were extremely pleasant, professional and efficient. I made it clear that considering the issues we encountered, I expected some form of compensation in the bill, and was given a hundred pound discount. It was a pity that this wasn't offered on the initiative of the management, at the outset of our holiday.
The location of this hotel, close to lovely walks in the Malvern Hills, and with spectacular views provides the opportunity for a great stay. Unfortunately, this was not our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Request a balcony or patio in the Coach House, that has not accommodated dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cottage Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 18 Sept 2020
Dear Lornaw2015, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Cottage in the Wood. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us fully. We assure you we try to welcome everybody to our hotel with high priority. We are sorry that the room you were allocated was not what you had expected. The team tried their best to move you around and find the better solution. All our patio rooms are now dog friendly, we understand how this can be inconvenient to guests who do not own pets themselves. Our restaurant welcomes all requests, usually this being for window seats. The requests are however served first come first serve basis, meaning the guests who made the request before others are placed on those tables. We do not reserve breakfast tables unless there is a larger party of 3 or more. Breakfast tables can be chosen by guests, the earlier they dine the more chance there is to receive a view. We are sorry that you felt the Covid restrictions being relaxed, we will make sure this is relayed to the management team who will reinforce and retrain. Thank you for your kind compliments towards the reception team, they will appreciate your words. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. We hope that you will one day decide to visit us again! Kind Regards, The Cottage Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan wrote a review Jun 2021
Manea, United Kingdom1 contribution4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After a 3 hour drive we went to check in, We were early for the 3.30 time allowed but got a very frosty receptionist who said we were far to early. I said I know but could we get some lunch/snack etc she grumpily said ask the bar, who promptly told us no and suggested we go back into town and see if one of the pubs did walk ins! Returning at 3.20 our room was still not ready, had a soft drink in the bar and at 3.45 the room was ready. Cottage 10, the en suite had a large crack in the sink and while it was nicely finished the sink hung over the toilet so you had to do a limbo to sit down, which seemed odd as there was more than sufficient space to move the sink over 2" and all would be well.
There were coins dropped under the bed and on looking there was an inch of dust all under the bed, so not cleaned for a long time which is not good in Covid times.
The dinner menu (which we had booked) was very limited and the chef seemed to be going for master chef presentation rather than actual practicality as the starter was served in a deep thick china dish which one was supposed to eat with a knife and fork, the supposed aged rib eye steak and trimmings for main was not rib eye but a sirloin and very tough, the grill needed cleaning as the grill marks were bitter from repeated grilling with no cleaning.
Breakfast was not much better eggs Benedict were over cooked and hard the Full English bacon was dried out and the beans had a crust and the butter pats had been somewhere too warm and melted and reused and the butter had separated in the foil wrapper.
The second night dinner same menu, my husband chose the roasted Cod looked nice but when he cut into the middle it was not cooked at all, on asking the waitress to change it, she returned saying the chef had probed it and it was up to
temperature but he was cooking some more! if a good chef cant tell if a peace of fish is cooked without the aid of a probe thermometer then is he the guy for the job? She then demanded to know our credentials so she could look us up - I having previously told her I am a Cordon Bleu chef of 40 years when our criticism of the fish was disbelieved.
Its a shame this once nice hotel even after its supposed refurbishment looks tired and shabby, lots of the small jobs could have been done over the lockdown period, cleaning under the beds for example! Sweeping the nice patio area outside the bar which was covered in debris and the small rubber blocks from the metal chairs etc cutting back the Budlia bush so the view can be admired from all the outside tables, and a sign on the wall pointing to reception as we had trouble finding the way in as did several of our fellow guests!
In general we thought the whole place lacks direction and management and a feeling of being cared for, such a shame for a fantastic location with access to the Malvern hills.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol W wrote a review Sept 2020
14 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were allocated room 9. It had a view over air-conditioning units, vents from the kitchen and a metal fire escape. The room was exceptionally hot and noisy as we were over the kitchen. The windows could not be opened because of the noise and someone could get into the room from the fire escape. We got very little sleep (the noise from the fridges went on all night) and in the end we refused to pay for the room. There was an air conditioning unit in the room but this was noisy and ineffective. It had dripped water on the wardrobe with the result that there was black mould on the inside.
Dinner and wine overpriced and staff unconcerned about any issues you bring to their attention.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: if they offer you room 9, just go home: save yourself the stress.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cottage Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 1 Oct 2020
Dear V3191GQcarolw, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Cottage in the Wood. We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your room. All of our Cosy rooms, the type you had booked, are tucked in to the hotel, they do not have valley views and are smaller by nature. We have not had other comments as yours about the room you stayed in, nor had we had any security issues as mentioned above. We will make sure any negatives you have mentioned have been taken into account, and relayed to the whole team. We take feedback seriously to make sure we are able to build a greater Cottage in the Wood for the future. Again, our apologies for your stay not being as expected. We do hope that you will consider to visit us again in the future. Kind Regards, The Cottage Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Malcolm B wrote a review Feb 2022
33 contributions31 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel dines out on its location, which is indeed beautiful with far reaching views over Malvern. In this day and age though, location is not enough. This hotel could be superb but has yet to reach those dizzy heights.

When we arrived we followed the previously issued instructions of leaving our luggage in the car. We checked in to reception and were given our key and told it was Room (?) . We were offered no directions, much less shown to the room and had to ask for directions. We were asked what time we'd like breakfast and replied 9am but were told this slot was full. Pregnant pause followed...we then had to ask which other slots were available having been offered no further options.

We reached our room having had to walk back down the hill to the car to retrieve aforementioned luggage. The room was jaded with the windows in definite need of painting and removal of mould.

I decided to run a bath after such a long journey but despite running, and wasting water, it was still tepid. We called reception who replied that she'd check out why. Meantime I could take time to read the notices stuck up in the bathroom which warned me of the dire financial consequences of £20 per bottle, added to my bill, of taking one of them home with me. Reception rang back saying hot water would be available after half an hour. We were offered another room.
I went downstairs to reception to inquire about the new room and was simply handed the key and told to find it myself. I checked it out and tested the water which was found to be hot.

I returned to reception who apologised for lack of hot water but sadly didn't offer to help us with moving our luggage to the new room. New room was fine.

The restaurant was fine although service could be slow. Personally if I'd owned the hotel I might have slipped a complimentary bottle of wine on the table to compensate for the water incident earlier.

Upon departure I returned to reception to pay the bill which included gratuities ...for what? I insisted that they were removed as having paid a substantial amount for the hotel to provide service during my stay, I wasn't going to pay twice. Had I just been eating in the restaurant then I would have left a gratuity.

Although the hotel has a good location, it is soulless and grasping. Service could be much better with a smile going a long way. Farlam Hall in Cumbria or Tresanton in Cornwall are fabulous examples of similar type hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ProvincialLady wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful time during our week at the Cottage in the Wood. The staff were welcoming and friendly, and everyone cared to make sure we were enjoying our stay in a relaxed atmosphere. Food was delicious, and even though the menu not extensive we were more than happy to sample the dishes more than once. Our room was comfortable and kept spotlessly clean. Throughout the hotel we felt appropriate steps were taken to ensure social distancing and sanitisation. The hotel is in a uniquely beautiful place, and we really valued the direct access to the hills from the grounds. We are looking forward very much to our next visit, and would recommend the hotel to anyone. Thank you for a much needed restorative holiday!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The Coach House annexe is a short walk from the main hotel, and has rooms of a good size with...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cottage Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 18 Sept 2020
Dear ProvincialLady, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Cottage in the Wood. It is lovely to read that you were taken good care of. Thank you for your supportive comments and compliments to the staff. We do our best to make everyone feel as home. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards, The Cottage Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Coastal625673 wrote a review Jan 2020
Sale, United Kingdom5 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited here on a two day DB&B package which included a gala New Year's Eve dinner.

Although the room was quite small and short on storage, the fantastic view more than compensated, especially as we watched the New Year's fireworks for miles around. Probably the only minor criticism is that the radiators had not been turned on prior to our arrival so the room was very cold initially.

Our enjoyment of our stay was very much due to the staff whose warm professionalism was outstanding, especially at such a busy time of year when they have been working hard and taking time away from their families for us. We always felt that they enjoyed being with us and each other. A great ethos.

The other outstanding element was the food. It was imaginative, and demonstrated a great understanding of taste combinations. Well done to the chef and kitchen staff.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheCottageTeam, Front Office Manager at The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Dear Coastal625673, Thank you for your review regarding your New Year's visit to the Cottage in the Wood. We are delighted to read your compliments. Thank you so much for the kind words and acknowledgment towards our staff. We will pass all feedback on to the team. We hope that you will see you at the Cottage very soon again! Kind Regards, The Cottage Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul J wrote a review Feb 2020
Leintwardine, United Kingdom184 contributions215 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night while attending a wedding. Location is excellent with superb views over the surrounding area. We were put in one of the cottages outside of the main hotel. The bedroom and bathroom were both nice. However the shower and tap fixings were loose, but at least there was plenty of hot water. On arrival we were told that the menu would restricted due to maintenance work being carried out in the kitchen. At breakfast, we were given a reduced menu and told that the only eggs available were scrambled or poached. We all (6 of us) opted for poached. Out of the 12 eggs that arrived, ten were like bullets, only two were acceptable. The bacon had obviously been cooked earlier and kept warm consequently it was like a bit of tough leather. The waiter was very pleasant, but we were not informed about any cereals , yoghurt etc and there was nothing on the menu indicating this, so we ordered the full English and found out about the cereals afterwards. Maybe the waiter could inform guests beforehand? The other main gripe was that the receptionist contacted me to inform me about the ongoing work in the hotel. She said that she could recommend restaurants nearby for us to eat at if required. When I asked about the possibility of cancelling, I was told that that cancellation fee would be £70 per room! (This represented 70% of the total cost), and outrageous amount. Anyway, the bed was nice & comfy and at least I had a good night's sleep. My brother and mother decided to cancel their two rooms and were charged £150 cancellation fee. I've never known such a high fee as this in any other hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nick Davies, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Dear pauljL890NI, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Cottage in the Wood. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the room. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience with regards the difficulties that occurred at our hotel at the time. The ongoing works as you mentioned were caused by a failure in our kitchen systems which we were unfortunately unable to fix immediately. Hence the dinner menu was shortened, also the reason our receptionist offered help with alternative dining. We are sorry that your breakfast was not as pleasant, the team is very good at fixing the issue (s) once reported at the time. We will, however, speak to the team and run through proper procedures during situations as such, this including correct information given on welcome. Our cancellation Terms and Conditions, as stated on our website and confirmation letters, indicate that the deposit of £75 for a booked room is non-refundable. Once again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your time at the Cottage in the Wood. Nevertheless we hope that you will consider to visit us in the future and give us a chance to restore your faith in us. Kind Regards, The Cottage Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jacqueline s asked a question Jun 2023
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom15 contributions4 helpful votes
What is the dress code please
Answer from Spagirl911
Germany122 contributions26 helpful votes
Anything reasonable - jeans & tshirt ( not ripped) would be fine. Manners are more important
Cymrobach asked a question Aug 2022
Dolgellau, United Kingdom142 contributions105 helpful votes
How far to Great Malvern? Is it safe to walk from the hotel to Great Malvern?
Answer from Thicketd
London, United Kingdom10 contributions4 helpful votes
It’s a long way along a busy road but there is a footpath and it is level,
355she asked a question Feb 2019
Somerset, United Kingdom104 contributions57 helpful votes
Do the ‘cosy rooms’ have a view?
Answer from Michael P
Great Malvern, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hi Sheila, for a guaranteed view the best rooms would be either a Great rooms or Best rooms both of which have fantastic views. None of the cosy rooms have a view of the hills Unfortunately.
Answer from K B
Cardiff, United Kingdom48 contributions41 helpful votes
As all the above. Yes, free parking is available
Answer from Michael P
Great Malvern, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hi Thanks for your question. The Afternoon tea comes on a 3 tier stand with a selection of cakes, scones and sandwiches. The sandwiches have 3 different filling. Afternoon tea starts at £20 per head for quintessential afternoon tea. If you have any more questions or would like to book please call the reception tea who would be happy to help. Best The Cottage In The Wood
hannah c wrote a tip 19 May
3 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book No 26 in the Cottage"
Read full review
Sightsee59771042209 wrote a tip Apr 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you pay for a room with a view to the front. There are rooms that face the hill which are much darker inside due to the aspect."
Read full review
Juliewood21southafr wrote a tip Apr 2024
Abbots Bromley, United Kingdom62 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just enjoy your time"
Read full review
Paul C wrote a tip Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sort the dog policy out and feed your guests properly "
Read full review
PixieD wrote a tip Mar 2024
107 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"You may be in coach house which means a walk in dark for dinner) breakfast etc."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Malvern Wells area.
PRICE RANGE
£137 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the cottage in the wood hotel malvern wells, the cottage in wood
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWorcestershireMalvern HillsMalvern Wells
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE COTTAGE IN THE WOOD HOTEL AND RESTAURANT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Eastnor Pottery & The Flying Potter (4.3 miles), Worcestershire Beacon (1.6 miles), and Malvern Hills (2.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include Anupam, The Everest Eatery, and Malthouse Cafe & Gallery.
Is The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Malvern Wells.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Wulstan’s RC Church (1.1 miles) and St Peter's Church (3.0 miles).
Does The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Malvern Wells HotelsMalvern Wells Hotel DealsHotels near The Cottage in the Wood Hotel and Restaurant
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire