Camping Les Ecureuils
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Camping Les Ecureuils

100 Avenue de la Pège, 85270 Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez France
Traveller (99)
On the hob kettle
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#12 of 32 campsites in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Water park
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Lazy river
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Table tennis
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Kitchenware

Location

100 Avenue de la Pège, 85270 Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 48 out of 100
48
Nantes Atlantique Airport
34.2 mi
See all flights
Montoir Airport
38.7 mi
See all flights
185Reviews17Q+A25Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 94
  • 57
  • 19
  • 9
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SMB wrote a review Jul 2022
Andover, United Kingdom93 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a comfort cabin which was nice and comfortable but could do with a refurb. The cabin had 3 small bedrooms, 1 double and 2 rooms with 2 single beds in. The cabin had basic amenities such a microwave, gas hob and kettle. Decking area was nice for outdoor dining. The campsite has a small outdoor play area, tennis court and swimming pool The pool kept the kids entertained for hours with several slides, infinity pool, and small lazy river. There were plenty of sun loungers and chairs. The indoor pool could really do with a jet wash as you could see how brown the tiles were in certain parts so I did not really like using it. The bar area is next to the pool with a very small soft play and seating. The bar area had a disco a couple of nights we were there which was entertaining. The campsite could do with updating but the staff are friendly and the the location is brilliant. The beach is a 5 minute walk away, food shop down the road with a variety of restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The cabin amenities were limiting as they charge for bed sheets so make sure you bring your own.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Colin S wrote a review Aug 2023
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really nice site, not too big. Good kids playground, excellent pool area, though more suited to younger kids. Close to the beach and loads of decent restaurants (Amy's is good despite that poor review!).

The accomodation is a mixed bag, the eurocamp comfort lodges are a bit tired rather than poor. Ours was clean and functional but there are some newer lodges that it is easy to look at enviously!

All the staff are nice and friendly, kids activities most days and a weekly disco in the bar area. WiFi is only available around the pool/bar but at 5 euros a week it's not bad value.

The area is pretty touristy but it does offer a variety of shops and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
billy_the_adult wrote a review Aug 2022
Reading, United Kingdom16 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this expecting temperatures of mid 20 degrees C the whole week was high 30's Would have got somewhere with air con if I'd known it was going to be that hot !
We were staying in classic XL which was great for family of 4. Cabin was comfortable and clean, if a little tired (some edging peeling of kitchen cabinets) Park amenities are good, shop on site that does pizza and can order bread and pastries for the morning. The pool was great for a cool off, and kept us amused all week - couple of slides, lazy river and some ropes hanging above pool for wannabe ninja warriors. We didn't make a lot of use of the bar, did hit the games room a couple of times for air hockey and baby foot. The local beach is less than 10 mins walk, you do need to cross a road which they don't really make clear in advertising literature but then its straight over dunes onto lovely sandy beach. We made a couple of day trips up to St Jean de Monte for even bigger sandy beach. Sea was flat whole week we were there, was hoping to be able to comment on surfing opportunities - does look to get some good swell and waves from pictures and reports. Good family holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WWGCWW wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom31 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Small, quiet campsite.

Inside pool was quite dirty, could really use a clean to make it more appealing.

Beach is a bit of a trek away, across a road (there is a crossing) and over some sand dunes... difficult enough walk with young kids but fine with older ones.

Staying in a Comfort Vista, was a bit dated but was enough for our family of five.

Slides were fun, small lazy river and lots of jumping into the deep pool where there are ropes to swing off.

Tennis courts are available to hire and there is 1 table tennis table and 1 teqball table available.

Would probably not go back but we did enjoy our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We used the toilet blocks as water pressure in the mobile homes was really poor. Bbq provided...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte Harris wrote a review Jul 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom10 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Shocking state of the caravan when we arrived, clearly had not been cleaned. Mattresses stained, toilet smelt of urine, food stains up the door, mirrors filthy and baby equipment dirty.
We were unable to stay at the site due to lack of clean caravans and ending up cutting our holiday short, wasted annual leave and out of pocket!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t set your expectations high if booking via EUROCAMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jackie h wrote a review Jul 2023
Near Cardiff2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely awful experience. After a very long journey, with tiny baby arrived to a disgusting, dirty, decaying caravan. Late in the evening, the reps offered an alternative which again was filthy and used as a dirty laundry store. Both vans required a deep clean, together with the outside area requiring attention. We ended up paying for alternative b & b accommodation and cutting short our holiday. We have been in communication with the company who could only say the cleanliness of the van was below their standard, but the model of the van explains the decaying state?? We did not book a cheap, dirty, sub standard van …. In fact the marketing material doesn’t offer the option of stained mattresses, mouldy crockery, rusty taps, greasy/ shabby gas boiler, baked on food on bbq, splintering door surrounds, human hair covered floors, etc etc. The response from Eurocamp was so shocking ….. DO NOT BOOK WITH EUROCAMP. We only wish we had read all of the reviews including Trustpilot.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resort22180057203 wrote a review Jul 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Returned from a 9 night stay with eurocamp. Our accomodation was new this year and we couldn't fault it, as you'd expect for brand new. We found the eurocamp staff friendly and attentive. The kids club had a good range of options for the kids but we only used 3x or so. The vans are all close together, outside space to play means going on the road but these were pretty quiet and everyone on the look out for kids. Expect your view to be another home! The pool area is fantastic, lots of options to keep little ones entertained with being compact enough to be able to keep an eye on the kids. Our youngest 4 and 2 struggled with the temp of the water though, just a bit on the chilly side and meant we couldn't stay too long as they were all dithering. Was low 20s and windy when we were there which didnt help. The inside pool was better and they enjoyed it. The site staff work hard and the place is kept nice and clean. The bar and play facilities are pretty small and basic but well kept. Overall we enjoyed the site, would be reluctant to book any of the older eurocamp vans as some of these did look a bit rundown.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KateR wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is fine, the ‘comfort’ options are pretty basic, grubby and dated. I did expect slightly higher standards if I’m honest. The toilet smelled so bad, it was grim. There were some lovely higher spec vans onsite so wish we’d upgraded as that would have been better. The baby high chair was so really dirty too and the travel cot pretty worn out. We also asked for a baby gate for outside on the decking but nobody came back with one. The outside pool area was good, sunbeds were very close together but it was ok. The kids loved the pools etc. The indoor pool was really dirty, definitely needs a good clean or refurb. Bar staff were friendly and the kids enjoyed the entertainment. Beach was just over the road and we hired bikes which was great. As I said, it’s fine but I wouldn’t go back or recommend it to be honest.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan P wrote a review Jul 2023
Dublin, Ireland13 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited this campsite for 12 nights, 2 adults & 4 kids aged 7yrs-14yrs. Booked with Eurocamp. Campsite holidaying for 10yrs with Eurocamp around France.

Campsite Pros:
* Walking & cycling distance to nice restaurants & bars.
*Driving or cycling distance to lots of activities, we went to Dino Park, Atlantic Toboggan and The Hell Drivers Monster Truck Show.
*Cheap bike rental available right outside the campsite gates. We cycled to beautiful Saint Jean De Mont for lunch and browse
*Campsite Kids Club great, lovely engaging English speaking staff. I'd recommend this kids club over the Eurocamp one.
*Lazy river good fun for the kids.

Campsite Cons:
*Mobiles extremely close together, packed together within tiny little cul de sacs. Barely space to park your car. Nowhere for kids to play outside many mobiles as cars squished in.
*No grassy green area or anywhere to play football or for kids to run around.
*Very few sun loungers at the pool, often we got none.
*Only one ping pong table hidden behind reception.
*Very limited drinks available at the bar. No drinks menu or price lists displayed.
3 cocktails available, no Aperol Spritz, no caraf of wine available, only small or large glass with no choice of wine.
*No bar food available, only sweet crepes or ice cream.
*Eurocamp staff seemed like they were there to party instead of working. They took over the limited seating in the bar at night regularly getting drunk. I think priority seating should be given to guests and not staff.
*No noise control at night. There is a sign but it's not obeyed. We were awoken in the middle of the night by Eurocamp staff coming back to their mobile/friends mobile hammered.

We won't return to this campsite. It fits the bill if you are on a budget. I would describe it as a budget campsite. Staff were nice but that's about it.

Restaurant recommendations...Le Tropical down the road, Le Caprice in Saint Jean De Mont and Amys House at the campsite entrance.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring or rent bikes and cycle to Saint Jean De Mont for lunch. Bikes cheap to rent €13 for the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tessa G wrote a review Aug 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
5 star. This campsite has everything you would need for a caravan holiday. Large flat caravan pitch table and chairs, if you want you can hire a fridge. On-site shop and restaurant. Clean facilities. Excellent pool with slides. Close to restaurants, beach and shops all within walking distance. Best of all it feels really cared for and staff are smiling and very helpful. It has a real vibe and is not too big. We will definitely return and have enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AuntieEve wrote a tip Aug 2023
Southampton, United Kingdom23 contributions37 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool very crowded, go to beach. Get to beach when tide out. Take a bodyboard as beach good for boarding. Order deliciousbread for next day "
Read full review
Charlotte F wrote a tip Aug 2023
Egham, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own cleaning stuff as the eurocamp provided stuff smells a bit like urine when it dries…! 🤣"
Read full review
Charlotte Harris wrote a tip Jul 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom10 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t set your expectations high if booking via EUROCAMP"
Read full review
Susan P wrote a tip Jul 2023
Dublin, Ireland13 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring or rent bikes and cycle to Saint Jean De Mont for lunch. Bikes cheap to rent €13 for the day. Toddler trailers available too. "
Read full review
WWGCWW wrote a tip Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom31 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We used the toilet blocks as water pressure in the mobile homes was really poor. Bbq provided (eurocamp) is great for dinners Washing machines £4.50 Drying £3.50"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez area.
PRICE RANGE
£49 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
camping les ecureuils hotel saint-hilaire-de-riez
LOCATION
FrancePays de la LoireVendeeSaint-Hilaire-de-Riez
NUMBER OF ROOMS
215
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CAMPING LES ECUREUILS - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Camping Les Ecureuils
Which popular attractions are close to Camping Les Ecureuils?
Nearby attractions include Youplaland (0.5 miles), Mini Golf Loisirs Des Marines (0.7 miles), and Parc de la Pège (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Camping Les Ecureuils?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Camping Les Ecureuils?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Camping Les Ecureuils?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Camping Les Ecureuils?
Conveniently located restaurants include KINKAAO, L'hacienda, and Amy's House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Camping Les Ecureuils?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Camping Les Ecureuils?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Camping Les Ecureuils?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Le Souvenir De Louis Xiii (9.2 miles).
Is Camping Les Ecureuils accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez HotelsSaint-Hilaire-de-Riez Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Saint-Hilaire-de-RiezHotels near Camping Les Ecureuils
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire