We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cholderton Youth Hostel

Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
78Reviews
25Photos
2Q+A
5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 30
  • 7
  • 10
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is one of the more modern hostels, bit is isolated and well away from local towns ....so it's quiet ...so bear this in mind before booking as you'll need a car to get here. There is a well stocked large kitchen although you have to eat in another room. There is also a good
Read more
I was disappointed in my stay here. As others have said, this is YHA-associated and I have been used to staying in some excellent YHA hostes - this was a let-down. The welcome was fine but the kitchen was dirty and ill-equipped; the mattress was uncomfortable; the room had one
Read more
Response from Nathan T, Manager at Cholderton Youth Hostel
Responded 28 Dec 2018
Hi KRC14, We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. As you state in your review we are an independent rural backpackers hostel affiliated with the YHA and as such we do not unfortunately have the budget of a big organisation behind us to improve everything all at once. We are continuously striving to improve and have so far replaced half of our mattresses with modern YHA standard mattresses. The other half will follow very shortly in the new year. Our self-catering kitchen is also in the process of being restocked and raised to a higher standard with two brand new ovens due at the beginning of January as well as increasing the stock of cooking equipment and utensils. Our self-catering kitchen is cleaned every day and we do ask our guests to clean up after themselves but unfortunately we cannot always control the state in which other guests leave the kitchen and as such the self-catering kitchen can occasionally not be up to the standard that we would desire. Some of our budget twin rooms are quite small but we do also have large family rooms available with or without en-suite facilities. Unfortunately it is true that our WiFi does not reach to all rooms in the hostel but we do provide free WiFi in the common areas and we hope that, with free access to the rare breeds farm and many local sites of interest, there is enough to do that this will not be an issue to most of our visitors. We have many big plans to improve the hostel at the beginning of 2019 and we hope that you may visit again and discover a great improvement on your previous stay. Many Thanks, Nathan
Read more
+1
We loved our stay at Cholderton Youth Hostel... it was the perfect place to rest our heads after getting married on the attached Cholderton Charlie's Farm - some of our family and friends also stayed at the hostel. If you are visiting Stonehenge, and have a car... or if you're
Read more
Response from Nathan T, Manager at Cholderton Youth Hostel
Responded 28 Dec 2018
Thanks for your kind review! We're really glad that you had a good day for your wedding and enjoyed your time at the hostel and the farm. You and your friends and family were wonderful guests and it was a pleasure having you all here. Everyone here wishes you all the best with your future life together and we hope that you will come and visit us again at some point in the future. Many Thanks, Everyone at Stonehenge Youth Hostel and Cholderton Charlies Farm
Read more
We were better off in town or paying just a tad more elsewhere. Really needs a quality assessment before claiming to win awards. Ps MUST HAVE A CAR. in the middle of nowhere. Best read thru other reviews. We should have :(
Read more
tl;dr a great hostel experience with friendly staff. If you have your own car and want a weekend away at a farm, I can't think of any place I'd like to go more! Warning: the biggest downside is the remoteness of the location! It's not easy to get anywhere! (more details in
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
YHA Cholderton
We stayed here after having our wedding on the farm... they made it ever so lovely for us - they went above and beyond
Autumnal flowers, gourds and decorations up around the hostel for the halloween celebrations - lovely touch
YHA Cholderton
YHA Cholderton
PreviousNext
12
"Probably best rooms at front."
"Due to location, no problems with noise, room chosen depends on personal needs."
"Screen dump the advertised rates in case they try for more upon your arrival!"
"Only used f3 on the first floor and it was fine, only a short four paces to the shower toilet room"
"Room F1 has a great view"
PRICE RANGE
US$47 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCholderton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing