Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns

Traveller (245)
Family Room Downstairs
Room & Suite (81)
Breakfast
Dining (29)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
£78
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 small hotel in New Quay
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value

The Penwig is an excellent choice for travellers visiting New Quay, offering a charming environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Rooms at The Penwig provide a flat screen TV, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

In addition, The Penwig offers free breakfast, which will help make your New Quay trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

New Quay has plenty of seafood restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like The Lime Crab, The Pepper Pot Bar and Grill, and The Captains Rendezvous, which are serving up some great dishes.

Enjoy your stay in New Quay!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Fishing
Outdoor furniture
Breakfast available
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitWales.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Mid-range

Location

South John Street, New Quay SA45 9NN Wales
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
Cardiff-Wales Airport
71.2 mi
See all flights
676Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 338
  • 163
  • 58
  • 47
  • 70
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sally W wrote a review May 2021
32 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I pre-booked a table here online while on holiday with my two dogs. Booking was straightforward and I was greeted at the entrance and asked to complete track and trace. Inside all COVID regs were adhered to. The gentleman who showed me to the table couldn’t do enough, got a bowl of water (and treats) for the dogs and I was served quickly for food and drinks. I ordered a burger which came with fries and onion rings and two pints of San Miguel.
If you are looking for a well run, dog friendly, welcoming pub then look no further. The staff were all excellent and there was a great atmosphere. The dogs and I will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taz Shah, General Manager at Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns
Responded 3 Jul 2021
Hello, sallyw611 When we started at the Penwig our aim was to provide the best service to each and every person who walks in our doors. That is still our priority today and we are glad that years of training and dedication have reflected on your most recent visit. Your review has made me so happy and we can never thank you enough for taking the time to share it with the community. Thank you again,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracy B wrote a review Aug 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you for the wonderful welcome this afternoon. We had a lovely meal, all in a safely controlled, well organised, sanitised and stress free manner..... despite the app not working properly, we were served in a timely manner, food was served hot and with a smile. Well done to you all...... good luck for the days/weeks/months ahead as we all get used to this “new normal way” of living. We will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Penwig Hotel, Agency / Consultant at Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for your review, i am really glad you have had a lovely meal with us and hope to see you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roger H wrote a review Nov 2020
Llanelli, United Kingdom60 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we stayed with friends for 4 nights here. We had two rooms with a sea view which was superb. The rooms were warm and cosy with great views. We had breakfast in the hotel each morning which were all excellent. We also went to the hotel restaurant each evening and again we found the food was excellent with plenty of choice and reasonable prices. The room and the restaurant were all Covid "secure" and we felt very safe at all times during our stay. However, for us, the stand out real difference were the hotel/restaurant team. They were all without exception very friendly, helpful and yet efficient.....so warm and welcoming. Would we stay here again ....ABSOLUTELTY
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Sea views to die for .Go for a room with a sea view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Penwig Hotel, General Manager at Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns
Responded 23 Nov 2020
Hello, Roger many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. we are glad you and your partner had such a great stay, the whole team appreciate the fantastic comments that you have made and we all hope it is not too long before we may welcome you back once more to the hotel Penwig sometime soon,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cupcake554 wrote a review Sept 2021
Blaina, United Kingdom275 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So quite a few of my family were in Newquay for the Bank Holiday weekend it was also my mother's 70th birthday ,so I decided to drive up from South Wales so I could be there for her birthday, only good thing I can say is that I saw my mam on her birthday, we were booked in for 5.15 and first meals came out at approximately 6 o clock ,which wasn't too bad but then mine and my 3 year old grandaughters meal came out more than 20 minutes later by which time my granddaughter was so hungry she started playing up and most of the others had finished anyway.
After we had all finished the waitres came over to ask if we wanted dessert and then said and I quote "just to let you know we need the tables back in 20 minutes"that was it for me ,I had no dessert and left, There was a older lady waitress who tried to be helpbut the younger one had a shocking attitude, so in all I would just avoid the place altogether.
One final point is that they are not using the correct cleaning products either, they are using D2 general cleaner when they should be using D10 sanitiser and they are not leaving the product on the surfaces for the correct contact time either 😡😡😡
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanna M wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed at the Penwig in room 3, a comfy triple window overlooking the harbour and up the coast. The view was fantastic to wake up to. We had drinks and a meal in the pub downstairs and the staff were particularly friendly, efficient and the price of both food and drink was very reasonable. We look forward to coming back in 2021 to see the proposed changes to the place. Diolch. Thanks for looking after us so well!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Penwig Hotel, General Manager at Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns
Responded 24 Nov 2020
Hello, Joan many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. we are glad you and your partner had such a great stay, the whole team appreciate the fantastic comments that you have made and we all hope it is not too long before we may welcome you back once more to the hotel sometime soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Puffysaurus wrote a review Sept 2020
Ceredigion, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a great evening out. Lovely menu, with a nice selection for me right g vegetarian. The staff were great & the new management were amazing & really welcoming . Definitely recommend to all my friends & we can’t wait to go back to try the Sunday roast
We Felt very comfortable with social distancing & everything was really hygienic.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Penwig Hotel, General Manager at Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns
Responded 30 Sept 2020
Thank you for this lovely review. We always try to ensure there is a varied selection on our menu for everyone, including vegetarian and vegan options so I'm glad to hear you enjoyed this. Also, I'm glad to hear you felt the team were great and I can assure you they have been informed of your comments. As a company we take health and safety very seriously and its nice to hear you appreciated our efforts in the current climate. Hopefully we will be welcoming you back very soon for that Sunday roast. Best Regards Penwig Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrandMrs04012010 wrote a review Jan 2022
Swansea, United Kingdom30 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a sea view and extra space via the Brains pub chain directly and had a bargain after the New Year festivities were over. Spacious and clean, the room offered panoramic views over the bay. We enjoyed easy access to the beaches and footpaths, plus splendid coffee shops and stores.
The restaurant downstairs had its supply difficulties but managed to provide a lovely vegan breakfast and evening meal. A few other options for breakfasts, lunches and dinners locally but new year opening hours varied.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns
Responded 9 Jan 2022
Mrandmrs04012010, we are very happy we could provide you with a positive experience! Thank you again for the great review!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are good bed comfy and clean. The Penwig pub is badly run no organisation. Waited 45 minutes for food when it came was disgusting. The curry was cold sent back when it came back was just put in a microwave rice dry and chips looked disgusting. Rice should not be reheated. The food was not eaten was told would get a refund as you have to pay first on the app this has not happened. Paid for breakfast for 2 mornings only went the once was very poor. In contrast the Black Lion and the Cambrian were fantastic based on a first come basis though you have to book food in advance. Will never have a drink in the Penwig again looks dirty and run down. The area manager was there he should look at the reviews and do something about it. A total disgrace.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Penwig Hotel, Agency / Consultant at Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for your review, if you could give us an email on penwig@sabrain.com so we can discuss this further.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TonyW500 wrote a review Nov 2020
the narth , Wales, United Kingdom39 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a winter weekend at the Penwig staying in their new accommodation just around the corner from the ,win site . The rooms were warm , clean just what we hoped for .
We ate at the pub for breakfast and evening meal on both nights , the food was lovely and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The two male waters that served us could not be faulted.
The pub is under new management and both the husband and wife cannot do enough for their guests.
We have been to New Quay a lot . In summer it’s lovely , but come off season and parking is a breeze, unclouded beaches and we saw lots of dolphins just by standing at the end of the quay.
We cannot recommend highly enough!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Penwig Hotel, General Manager at Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns
Responded 19 Nov 2020
Dear Tony, We're So happy you had a wonderful time with us! Thank you for your fantastic feedback, we are looking forward to welcoming you and your partner back soon. best wishes Taz Shah General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gillian B wrote a review Jan 2022
Todmorden, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed a two night stay mid-week in January, although the weather was wet we were glad to get back to our room with a seaview after our walks. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was lovely, as a vegetarian it was a welcome change to see a good choice of meat-free dishes on the menu. Our dog was welcome too and we really liked the board outside letting customers know that it was a dog friendly pub. As other customers have said the bathroom was a little tired but it was clean and there was plenty of hot water. The food, staff and location with a great view more than compensated for this. Thanks for a lovely break in New Quay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: In summer it could be noisy as the room overlooked the patio and road
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns
Responded 28 Jan 2022
Gillian B, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at Penwig Hotel - Hotel. We hope you have a great day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
elliot26 asked a question May 2021
elliot2634 contributions4 helpful votes
Do you serve gluten free options for children ?
Answer from traveltrev
Chepstow, United Kingdom19 contributions118 helpful votes
I don't think so. There are about six spaces and it seems pretty much pot luck.
Answer from Helen A
Stockport, United Kingdom12 contributions9 helpful votes
Yes. B&B Guests are seated around the corner towards the back.
kgward asked a question Apr 2015
Porth, United Kingdom43 contributions34 helpful votes
It says parking is limited. What are the options if the car park at the hotel is full?
Answer from Sian R
Redditch, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
There is a pay and display car park further along the road. Not sure how much it costs because we have always managed to fit in the Penwigs car park.
Graeme J asked a question Jul 2014
Blackpool, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
are pets allowed at this hotel
Answer from Ship A
Newquay, United Kingdom3 helpful votes
Unfortunately pets are not allowed in our bedrooms or bar area, with the exception of guide / working dogs, however you are welcome to bring dogs onto our patio & enjoy the view
Tom wrote a tip 16 May
Cardiff, United Kingdom3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book in advance"
Read full review
Carlos wrote a tip 4 May
14 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty paid for parking spaces and fish and chip shops also public toilets in close proximity, one in the car park is FREE the other isn't!"
Read full review
Gary M wrote a tip Apr 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Park in main Carpark around the corner at £6 per day"
Read full review
Nichola B wrote a tip Mar 2024
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a table as very popular"
Read full review
Margaret T wrote a tip Mar 2024
Leicester, United Kingdom85 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I think it being dog friendly, with good food and service "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New Quay area.
PRICE RANGE
£68 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the penwig hotel new quay
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesCeredigionNew Quay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL PENWIG BY MARSTON'S INNS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns?
Nearby attractions include The Shell Shop (0.1 miles), Sea Horse Inn (0.2 miles), and Tabernacl Chapel (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns?
Conveniently located restaurants include Creme Pen Cei, The Lime Crab, and The Blue Bell Bistro.
Is Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of New Quay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Llanerchaeron (4.8 miles) and Tabernacl Chapel (0.1 miles).
Does Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All New Quay HotelsNew Quay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New QuayHotels near Hotel Penwig by Marston's Inns
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire