The Royal George
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Royal George

Traveller (42)
£170 per night and this takes up all the room and did NOT cool the room.Also not the greatest view out the window.
Room & Suite (8)
Terrace chill area for drinks with views across the estuary.
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 2 inns in Appledore
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
We have two properties with lettings rooms, both based in enviable locations in Appledore: (1) The Royal George is perched on the edge of the Taw and Torridge estuary. Located on Irsha Street, all rooms are en-suite, have Wi-Fi, a TV, and tea and coffee making facilities. We provide an à la carte breakfast in our award winning restaurant. As a family owned business, we understand the needs of parents and children. Three of the rooms are family friendly, and cots are available for free upon request. Three of our rooms are also dog friendly. (2) The Sailors Rest is our recently renovated Grade 2 listed building on the Quay in Appledore, with beautiful views over the estuary. All rooms are en-suite, have Wi-Fi, a TV, and tea and coffee making facilities. We do provide our à la carte breakfast at the Royal George for £10/head, or you can enjoy your breakfast at one of the lovely cafés in the village. All of our rooms are also dog friendly.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Bottled water
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mid-range

Location

Irsha Street, Appledore EX39 1RY England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 64 out of 100
64
Exeter Airport
40.5 mi
See all flights
Cardiff-Wales Airport
43.7 mi
See all flights
49Reviews1Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 8
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
vegansadvisor wrote a review Aug 2020
Guildford, United Kingdom147 contributions58 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Royal George has a well deserved reputation, to comply with current restrictions we booked online. The restaurant is marked as closed as there are no walk ins and we had the place to ourselves , the staff were lovely and incredibly helpful. I’ve included a photo of the view which was fabulous , windows open it was airy and felt very clean and safe.
I had avocado on sourdough toast with mushrooms and pine nuts and a fresh coffee ,they had a choice of soya and almond milk. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DEDW wrote a review Oct 2021
29 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When one thinks of a hotel, one usually thinks of a lobby entrance, a reception with a desk, a lounge and bar and a dining room where hushed tones are the order of the day- this is not one of these hotels. This is much more an 'out of the box' hotel and so much more fun. The main base is The Royal George, a recently rescued building, beautifully and artistically designed inside to welcome guests with bright colours and smiling faces. Right by the sea, the understated exterior belies the tasteful contemporary interior and the atmosphere that smacks you in the face tells you that you are in for a good time. The eating areas are divided into the upstaris and downstairs, both with delightful sea views. The bar tempts you to soak up the location with a pint of local beer or a selection of gins and wines. The menu lures you to try many kinds of freshly caught fish and you know your holiday is off to a spanking good start. We slept in the annexe, The Sailors Rest, a quarter of an hour or so walk along the sea front: no reception as such, but a code is given for the opening of the front door. No lift or staff to carry your bags up the many stairs but hey, who cares? The rooms are beautifully freshly decorated in contemporary design with views over the sea. Not overly spacious but more than adequate, our room had a TV (with Netflix), a bijou en suite with a stylish walk in shower. There was hand washing lotion and a bar of soap supplied but no shampoo or shower lotions. Tea and coffee making facilties were supplied but a little on the sparse side. There was a mini cool box with milk, some orange juice and sparking water inside. Breakfast was included in our deal and,as all meals, was served in The Royal George. On offer is a wide variety of breakfast options and always generous in portion size. Parking is an adventure - no parking on site but you can play the tunes by using two differnt Council car parks, one neaer the Sailors Rest and one nearer The Royal George - you decide which end of your meal you want to walk the furthest but niether walks are onerous. If you want a change from the norm, this is the place to be.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Room 5 in the annexe wasclean and had a sea view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fiona wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom174 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I just returned from three nights at The Royal George, feeling so rejuvenated. This is such a sweet and personal place to stay.

Lisa and her team took such great care of us - the food at dinner and daily breakfasts were top notch, the service was so warm and hospitable and the ambiance was so relaxing. The breakfast was very fresh, generously portioned with lots of healthy options.

The hotel is perfectly located with splendid estuary views. Stay in room 1 if you can as this overlooks the water.

The hotel is 5 minutes from the centre and we would recommend fish and chips from The Royal Plaice which you can enjoy sitting on the benches at the harbour front. We enjoyed mussels and fries at the neighbouring Beaver Inn. Parking in the car park was easy and 30 seconds walk from our room.

Thank you for the wonderful experience!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JoeyPJoey wrote a review Feb 2020
Exeter, United Kingdom78 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a beautiful place! Booked a last minute break at The George, we stayed in Room 3, which had a beautiful view and was wonderfully decorated.
Staff were very accommodating and managed to squeeze us in for a Saturday night dinner (they were very busy), and the chefs breakfast was very tasty. It’s lovely having the restaurant to yourself in the morning, with the view over the river.
We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
properjob929 wrote a review Dec 2022
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom157 contributions78 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A family group of four used the hotel as an overnight stay on a dinner bed and beakfast basis. The rooms were next to the hotel and were quite simply excellent, spacious and tastefully decorated with high quality fittings and spotlessly clean, The welcome from staff was friendly and attentive. Dinner was chosen from a menu which was wide and interesting and arrived well cooked and tasty. Again, table serice was efficient and friendly.
Beds were very comfortable, with crisp linen and soft pillows.
Breakfast was served in the dining room overlooking the estuary and comprised a menu of all the usual breakfast dishes, but also the option of making up whatever you wanted. Real individual service.
The stay was a complete delight, ticking all the boxes. A must for short or long stay visitors.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check exact location and parking before a visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen B wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The very small room was incredibly warm, it was above the kitchens, a large cooler had been put in room with a pipe hanging out the open window. The bathroom decor was modern but the shower fittings were leaking from the pipe, reducing the pressure. The room itself had no wardrobe and was tiny, this was at a cost of £170 per night with no view.
This is not a hotel, there was no restaurant open ( we had been told but advised there were local places which all turned out to be booked or closed so no evening meal) and there wasn’t any bar facilities, this we were not told a would not have booked knowing this.The room was accessed straight from the street so basically was ‘just a room’ there was no staff or access to any facilities of any type. Breakfast was served the next day and was basic but nice quality. There is also no parking, we had not been told it was a carnival day and there would be road closures and we had difficulties accessing any parking near the ‘hotel’. The staff were pleasant and polite but this didn’t really make up for a disappointing stay.
Overall it was extremely over priced for what it was.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check bar / restaurant facilities are available. Plan parking and add to cost. Terribly...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Garth Hughes, Owner at The Royal George
Responded 27 Aug 2023
Dear Helen Thank you for taking the time to review our business and I am sorry that you felt that we were not up to scratch. Our team always works extremely hard to try and make everyone’s stay enjoyable, so I’m sorry that it didn’t work for you. For the wider readership of this review, I think it’s worth making the following broader comments about the Royal George and its location: 1) We are a restaurant with rooms and not a hotel. The bar and restaurant are open during service hours only and we do not have a doorman! Whilst we do communicate these points to everyone, not everyone reads their email, so please do take note! It is worth noting that we again retained the top score possible for our rooms from the AA (4 gold stars) in the RESTAURANT WITH ROOMS category. 2) As a grade 2 listed building, our rooms are quirky and are full of character. They vary in size and range of furnishings. Most of our guests stay for 2 nights, so we don’t have wardrobes, but we do have instead bespoke hanging spaces that have been made especially for each room. Photos and videos are available on our website, so please always check before booking. 3) The Royal George was built in the 1700s and, due to planning and conservation laws, we are unable to install air conditioning on site, so, for those warmer evenings when the open windows don’t suffice, we have included remote air cooler units to our rooms (see Helen’s photo). 4) Our breakfast includes your basics (cereals, toast, fruit & granola, full English), as well as slightly more fancy(!), such as eggs royal, eggs benedict and poached eggs and avocado. We’re happy to accommodate most changes(!) and all allergies. We also offer delicious coffee and juices. Definitely one of my fave meals of the day. 5) As a historic fishing village, Appledore is not blessed with lots of parking space. The Royal George is located on one of the oldest roads in Appledore (Irsha Street) and borders the estuary itself, so there is no parking onsite. That being said, there is a fab car park just 50m from the building – it’s called West Appledore Car Park. I agree with Helen – always check parking and please please read our emails as they have all of the info needed for your stay. At the time of writing, all day parking cost £9 in the season and £5 out of season. August can be a squeeze, but I think that that is normal, especially in the South West. If you don’t want to pay for parking, then we’re always happy to suggest “free” roadside options too – just ask our team! 6) Helen’s tips are all valid – please do check facilities available, opening times and always read your booking emails so as to avoid disappointment on arrival.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathryn G wrote a review Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came across this pub wandering down the side streets in Appledore
The staff were very welcoming We opted for the daily set menu, which was very good value for money.
The fish on the bone was delicious and fresh. The crumble was lovely but only small portion of creme anglaise in comparison to portion. Nicely presented All was delicious.
The pub has been renovated and quite querky inside Really pleasant looking out over the water, would certainly go back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BerkshireTigger wrote a review Oct 2022
Newbury, United Kingdom300 contributions193 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 2 nights in Room 4 on the second floor. Room was compact but had amazing views over towards Instow. It was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. We couldn't believe we had breakfast included in the room price and walking the barely 5 minutes along Irsha Street was very pleasant. If we were to be nit picking it would have been good to know how to work the heating and know that our room would not be serviced. Just a mention in the room notes would suffice.
Breakfasts were outstanding and the proprietors and staff were super friendly and personable plus there were incredible views especially when the tide was in.
We had our evening meal here on one night and again were very impressed particularly with the presentation of the dishes.
As we frequently relatives in North Devon we very much look forward to staying here again and not the usual Premier Inn!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debjen wrote a review Feb 2020
Bideford, United Kingdom5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the third time I’d eaten at The Royal George and, on all occasions, the food has been excellent. My husband is notoriously fussy about what he is served and the haddock and chips didn’t disappoint. On the way home, he said it was the best meal out he’d had in a long time. After my recommendation, his expectations were high and were surpassed. My Mum said she could’ve eaten her fish pie all over again and my brill was, indeed, brill. Delicious!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shomer365 wrote a review Aug 2022
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom23 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first time in Appledore and we were very impressed with the village itself, the surrounding area and our accommodation at the Royal George. We stayed in room 1, a two bedroomed family room with a balcony offering amazing views across the estuary to Instow. The staff were excellent and the breakfast and evening meal was extremely good. I highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
blazye83 asked a question Aug 2020
Fremington, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
Where’s best to sit upstairs or down?
Answer from GarthH_HK
Appledore, United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
Dogs aren’t allowed upstairs, whilst downstairs is fully accessible for anyone with mobility difficulties.
billywhizzkid wrote a tip May 2024
Banbury, United Kingdom170 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have to use car park that is a 10min walk but pleasant walk"
Read full review
P.Bissell wrote a tip Feb 2024
Somerset, United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking, but public car park less than 500 yards away. ( pleasant walk)."
Read full review
silvercottage wrote a tip Jan 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom12 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking tricky in Appldore, but the walk in the quaint streets a bonus not a concern "
Read full review
Patricia wrote a tip Nov 2023
13 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 3 lovely outlook over estuary"
Read full review
Diana G wrote a tip Oct 2023
48 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"You must book to ensure you get a table. Dogs allowed downstairs. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Appledore area.
PRICE RANGE
£118 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonAppledore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ROYAL GEORGE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal George
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal George?
Nearby attractions include Hockings Dairy Cream Ices (0.4 miles), North Devon Maritime Museum (0.3 miles), and The Champ (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal George?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal George?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal George?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flame Factory, The Yard, and The Coffee Cabin.
Is The Royal George located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Appledore.
Are pets allowed at The Royal George?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal George?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chudleigh Fort (2.9 miles), The Old Windmill (1.1 miles), and St Peter's Church, Westleigh (1.5 miles).
All Appledore HotelsAppledore Hotel DealsHotels near The Royal George
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire