We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Heiden

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Heiden
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 16: English reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2016

The Hotel Heiden is my favourite place to stay in Switzerland. There is a warm welcome from the friendly reception staff. The spa facility is out of this world, the pool is a good size and the hot tub outside enjoys a great view over lake Constance. At breakfast you are spoilt for choice. The restaurant is outside my price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
GM_Hotel_Heiden, General Manager at Hotel Heiden, responded to this review

Dear Alan F Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to review your experiences. We are very happy to read that we are your favourite place to stay and that you enjoyed the facilities and our Service. I am particularly happy to hear that our team greated you in a friendly manner. Indeed our Restaurant with...

Canton of Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewed 10 February 2016

You feel well looked after here. Quiet relaxing little village with nice areas for walks. The room and bed were very comfortable. We had a standard room with a wonderful view of the Bodensee. There are full to-the-floor windows with a little ledge and railing so, although there was no balcony, you could open the windows right up, swivel the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corinne F
GM_Hotel_Heiden, General Manager at Hotel Heiden, responded to this review

Dear Corinne F Thank you so much for having taken all this time to write this faboulus review about our Hotel. We are really happy that we could make your journey a memorable one and surely the chef will be more than pleased to read your comments. A big thank you for the kudos from all the Team here at...

Rajkot, India
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

I always liked this hotel. I stayed there when I got married some years ago and also I go frequently to the restaurant or for breakfast. The view to the Bodensee is beautiful and the hotel is very warm and nicely decorated. I also go sometimes to the spa - sauna section is wonderful. The pool too. The personnel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samasati2015
hotel-heiden1, General Manager at Hotel Heiden, responded to this review

Dear Samasati2015 Thank you very much for your kind review. Indeed, our spa area is very quite something, specially the view from the pool over lake constance. I am sorry to hear, that staff at reception were not as friendly as you would expect. Maybe on your next visit you call on me, so that we can discuss the matter....

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 December 2015

The Heiden Hotel in, Heiden Switzerland (west of Zurich) exceeds most expectations and unfortunately the average traveler's budget. Luckily for me my host was paying the bill allowing me to take advantage of the top notch spa, swimming pool, generously sized room, fantastic Swiss (similar to German) buffet breakfasts, overpriced dining room (20 CND for a bowl of soup), and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank osteopathy2015
hotel-heiden1, General Manager at Hotel Heiden, responded to this review

Dear Osteopathy2015 Thank you very much for the time you took to rate our Hotel. You are contributing to better our Services on a constant Basis. I am very happy to see that you liked most of our facilities and especially the spa and the breakfast buffet. I do understand that the services might seem very pricy, but this is...

ATHENS
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We had to sleep one night in the area, as we were due to a meeting next day in Rorschach area. Since we decided to explore the neighbourhood for a "different/better" night-sleep option, we had in good time (and at a low price) booked Hotel Heiden on the hills above Bodensee. After a tiresome air - train - bus and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KONSTANTINOS M
hotel-heiden1, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Heiden, responded to this review

Dear Konstantinos Thank you very much for your comments here on tripadvisor. First of all I would like to apologize for the unsatisfactory experience that you have had with us. Please be insured that it is not at all our habit to upset guests. We had a real urgency at the Hotel and you might even have noticed the scaffolding...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

We had booked 3 rooms which were also prepaid. When we arrived we were told that due to a technical problem we had to stay at another place nearby (much lower category). The hotel was nevertheless full of people. I have been travelling almost every week for business and this is the first time I had this experience. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyriakos A
hotel-heiden1, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Heiden, responded to this review

Dear Kyriakos Thank you for your comments and please accept my apologies. I have already explained in the comment of Konstantinos what had happend. We had booked you to the only other Hotel in Heiden that was open on that date, indeed it is of lower Standard and that was the reason why we offered you a free meal at...

Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

We spent 1 night at Hotel Heiden to attend a wedding at the banquet facility across the street. The hotel was very modern, with all the comforts you hope for when traveling. The room was not the typical micro-box you expect in Europe, very spacious! Slight downside are the local church bells, I didn't hear them but my husband did,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MandKtravelers
hotel-heiden1, General Manager at Hotel Heiden, responded to this review

Dear MandKtravelers Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very happy that you have spent a great time in our beautiful land of Appenzell. It is always a great pleasure for me to hear that the Team has been up to task and helpful. Our rooms have a minimum size of 25m2 which makes them quite comfortable....

New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 May 2015

We went there because we could make a special arrangement. So I cannot say anything about prices. my review is on the favourite side for the hotel because we were treatet at its best. First we had this special arrangement, then we booked when officially there was no more room left, but they could accommodate us anyway and then biggest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank esther s
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2015

The staff is friendly and helpful. As the service in the restaurant. The food was good but not really exciting. Maybe the chef hasn't been in peak form (as the restaurant is rather well rated in the Gault Millau guide). The room was clean, average in size and modernness: a bit too expensive regarding what you get. Heiden is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BURGWIN
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 9 November 2014 via mobile

A great spa hotel with an outstanding view to Contanz Lake! I spent only one night but the restaurant had a great service with very fancy service. The hotel remains using traditional keys giving and old fashion style.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kim2381

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heiden
10.5 mi away
Hotel Hof Weissbad
Hotel Hof Weissbad
#1 of 7 in Weissbad
151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Schloss-Hotel Wartensee
Schloss-Hotel Wartensee
#3 of 3 in Rorschacherberg
74 reviews
4.9 mi away
Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Romantik Hotel Santis
Romantik Hotel Santis
#2 of 16 in Appenzell
138 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
#1 of 16 in Appenzell
119 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rebstock
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rebstock
#2 of 3 in Rorschacherberg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Being a guest at our hotel means one thing above all – enjoyment all day long! A stay at Hotel Heiden is an experience for all senses. Enjoy the culinary highlights of our outstanding regional cuisine, the relaxing atmosphere of our hotel, the wonderful panoramic views far over Lake Constance, the stillness of each new day and the scents of the nearby forests and meadows. Immerse yourself in an Appenzellerland idyll.We look forward to welcoming you to your "home from home"! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Heiden

Address: Seeallee 8, Heiden 9410, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Heiden
Price Range: £140 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heiden 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Heiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Heiden staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Zimmer mit Seesicht wählen. Pre-reserve parking space if you need it.”
 of 5 bubbles 27corinnef, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the lake-side view on a high floor (3)”
 of 5 bubbles osteopathy2015, 2 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Go to Linde hotel, it is cheaper, honest and very clean. With a great breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles KONSTANTINOSM_12, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
“If you can choose a room in the second or third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles esthers917, 23 May 2015 | Read review
“take higher floor, not to have a too hot room”
 of 5 bubbles MatthiasL265, 5 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay