We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

738 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 737: English reviews
London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First impressions good but room absolutely boiling hot. Had to ask for assistance to get it cooled down. Comfy bed but rest of room very dated. Hot water ran out mid-shower which was very annoying. Service in the (BOILING HOT) restaurant absolutely dreadfully slow. Massiman curry horrible. Rest of food pricey but generally ok. Took hours to eat. Service terribly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brushsalesman
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been to this public house many times and in the past always had a friendly face and good food. The last three times have been so disappointing. The first time it was before christmas and there was a two hour wait to get food so we didnt bother. The aecond it was after Christmas and there wS a 90 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We presume you're reviewing the wrong Red Lion ? We've never had a 2 hour wait on food, before Christmas or during Christmas or in fact over the 25 years we have owned the Lion. We never had a 90 minute wait on food either, the longest wait we had on food was between Christmas...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a lovely location in the Yorkshire Dales. Ideal walking country. A very warm a friendly hotel , the staff were attentive and helpful despite the fact it was so busy, nothing was too much trouble . The food was excellent , evening entertainment fun and amazing fireworks . The accommodation in our cottage was adequate but in need of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in one of the Red Lion's cottages for two nights between Christmas and New Year. We usually camp up the river in appletreewick during the summer and always walk down for food and a drink at the red lion so thought it was the perfect place for a winter stay. As we have a big dog it can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

New Year's Day visit with friends. We all had different main course & agreed food was good. Fish n chips batter was a touch over done but fine considering how busy it was. Couple of us had the special pudding (chocolate fondant) which was not the best I've ever had & very expensive at £7!! They don't take order from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Businesstravels1114
redlionmanagement, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! we appreciate your constructive comments, however all our waiting staff are more than capable of competently taking orders (both our front of house managers are Bulgarian with fluent English), we have simply found that ordering at the bar is the most effective way as tables are vacated and re seated so...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to take a new year trip out to the Dales to relax and unwind after the festivities of Christmas! I have been coming to the Dales for over 40yrs! But never visited Burnsall before. The Red Lion is in a beautiful location facing the village green and the river Wharfe. The staff are extremely friendly and coped admirably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaz E
redlionmanagement, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words, pleased your 1st stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Lion' Regards Rachel

Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for the 4 night Christmas Break and have to say that we had a wonderful relaxing time. Our room overlooked the village Green and was very cosy. The staff were very friendly and very attentive, and the food was excellent. Perfect location for long walks to neighboring villages, will be back again in Spring / Summer. Regards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
redlionmanagement, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will see you soon! regards Rachel

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

40+ years ago when I stayed here, the chef was dear old Michael, it was much smaller, very quaint & friendly with electric copper bed warmers, time has moved on. It is much bigger not quite so quaint but still a great hostelry. This visit was only for dinner and so: Those who read my other reviews and rants will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
redlionmanagement, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, pleased you enjoyed your food and our staff came up to scratch on their pie knowledge, we do hope to welcome you back to the Red Lion again soon. Regards Rachel

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Warm welcome from friendly staff, nice dinner and excellent breakfast. A lovely location and room had super view over the village. Bedroom very comfortable and nicely decorated. Bathroom needs updating - cracked sink, broken towel rail and crumbling laminate floor. Residents lounge very nice but would have been fab if the fire had been lit. We enjoyed our stay but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WineDineMan
redlionmanagement, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, pleased you enjoyed your stay for the most part, we are aware of the issues mentioned and as soon as we are quieter we have this bathroom ear marked for an update, the fire is lit all day everyday during the cooler months, but unfortunately when we are busy and all hands are on deck...

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We dine at the Red Lion 2 or 3 times a year, the food is always good and the service friendly. On this occasion, the bar and restaurant were very quiet. The fish and chips were exceptional, the calves liver excellent and the fish pie very nice. The Sticky Toffee Pudding was OK but not special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobDB
redlionmanagement, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, pleased you enjoyed your food, I will have to check the stick toffee pudding personally to verify your comment !!!!!! Hope to see you soon Regards Rachel

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsall
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Tennants Arms
The Tennants Arms
#1 of 1 in Kilnsey
261 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
78 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Red Lion itself is a 16th Century building located next to the River Wharfe in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National park.The Manor House is our B&B located 150 yds away from the Red Lion along the River bank, and is an ideal base for those walking the Dales Way or budget conscious.We are a traditional Yorkshire Dales family run business offering excellent cuisine focusing on local produce.Whether you wish to relax and enjoy our hospitality or explore the Dales there is something for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street | By the Bridge, Burnsall, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Burnsall
Price Range: £69 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont come if you are hungry”
 of 5 bubbles christinelV3608AZ, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 12 overlooks the village green”
 of 5 bubbles DaveandFreda, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“wifi signals can be a problem”
 of 5 bubbles robertbruce45, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only dined here in the evening”
 of 5 bubbles DominicH840, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we enjoyed being in the main building rather than the Manor House next door”
 of 5 bubbles PJS150, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay