We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lucknam Park

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (785)
360
Panoramas (29)
Room & Suite (359)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Colerne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Heritage and luxury effortlessly combine to create a quintessential home away from home. Retreat to Lucknam Park, which offers unspoilt country house living at its very best. Our elegant and distinguished hotel boasts 42 individually styled rooms and suites, a charming three bedroom country cottage, and offers fine dining featuring local produce in the Michelin starred Restaurant Hywel Jones or a more relaxed meal in The Brasserie. Feel the wind in your hair and explore the 500 acres of parkland on horseback, unwind with a range of spa and well-being treatments or perfect your skills and master new techniques in our cookery school. For families, the hotel is within easy reach of popular family destinations, there is an outdoor play-area and The Hideaway is a haven for families to enjoy quality time together. Lucknam Park is truly one of England’s finest hotels, providing 5-star luxury at every turn.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
1,099Review11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 784
  • 190
  • 70
  • 38
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
The Gekos wrote a review 10 Apr
21 contributions4 helpful votes
The best equestrian days. A big shoutout to Lucy who is friendly, professional and a real credit to the team. You make our pony rides the best and a real treat. My son really looks forward to them. Beautiful setting and fantastic views. English Charm at its best !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Anne190753 wrote a review 8 Apr
Chepstow, United Kingdom51 contributions40 helpful votes
We had a fantastic stay at this beautiful hotel, the room and service was as good as it always is. The new garden restaurant is so good, a relaxed atmosphere with a very contemporary feel. The food was perfection along with fabulous service. Loved our stay can’t wait to return
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Katy B wrote a review Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom106 contributions114 helpful votes
For the price I’m afraid this hotel just does not deliver. Compared with hotels of a similar type/price point (including Chewton Glen which is owned by the same parent company) unfortunately this one falls very short of the mark. Hotel/decor: The exterior is lovely but as mentioned in another review, the interior decor is very dated and badly needs a refurb. I’ve seen the manager comment that this is a matter of personal taste & I beg to differ. If the hotel wants to retain its traditional grandeur that’s understandable but others like Gleneagles have managed to do this while making sure decor is stylish and actually feels grand. Lucknam park feels stuck in the past, some elements actually are dated and need replacing, while others might not actually be old but miss the mark completely. Restaurants/room service: One of the main reasons we chose to stay was its reputation as a dog friendly hotel. I have to give them credit for providing amenities for the dog in the room as well as treats and a toy, which is a lovely touch. Dining however was an issue. The Brasserie restaurant is closed at the moment for renovations (fair enough) and they are serving both the Michelin star and Brasserie menus in one restaurant. This means there isn’t anywhere you can take your dog to eat, so we decided we would happily have room service after the spa so our dog wasn’t on his own for too long. Unfortunately though, the room service menu is basic, there aren’t many options and again, we were disappointed in it for a hotel of this calibre. So much so that we ordered a takeaway from somewhere else. Particularly at a time when those with dogs have reduced dining options, it would be a good idea to extend your room service menu to make it a more enjoyable stay. We did ask at the bar if it would be possible to have a burger from the Brasserie menu via room service, but for some reason while a chicken burger is possible, a beef burger isn’t… Service: The service was a mixed bag, the man who helped us with our bags (apologies, unsure of his job title) was fantastic. Very friendly, greeted us immediately, was lovely with our dog and remembered his name. Equally some of the serving staff were very nice, others however, seemed rushed and uninterested. I’ll say it again, for a hotel of this price service shouldn’t be negotiable and I’d expect much higher standards. The staff at Chewton Glen are absolutely faultless and always on point with customers and I can’t understand why Relais & Chateaux isn’t demanding the same standards here. Spa: The spa is obviously why this hotel continues to get a mention in various media lists. It’s great, has clearly had a lot of investment put into it and looks impressive. We really enjoyed using the facilities, but I have to say unfortunately it only highlights the shortcomings of the hotel more. Cocktails at the bar were good but the atmosphere was somewhat stale (background music wouldn’t go amiss). Breakfast was distinctly average and the dead flowers on the table, although a small detail, were the nail in the coffin in confirming a wider issue with attention to detail. Having seen defensive responses to other reviews, I will say this. There are an increasing amount of good luxury hotels across England and it seems this place is surviving on a reputation it earnt a while ago. Having a Michelin star restaurant and good spa doesn’t tipp ex over faults with the overall hotel experience. I’d strongly suggest Lucknam Park takes on feedback before its accolades and reputation slip away. Serious investment into decor and amenities is needed and the service provided need to be much more consistent. For now, regrettably I will not be a returning customer.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sakis Dinas, General Manager at Lucknam Park
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear KatieB812 Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking time to write about your stay. I really do appreciate the balanced review but I am of course very sorry you did not feel fully satisfied with your stay. Rest assured, we will work very hard on all the shortfalls in our service you mentioned. Unfortunately, and just like any of our competitors, once in a while we fall short of our own high expectations. Just like any of our competitors we have guests who love us and on very rare occasions guest who don’t love us so much. The last few years have been the most successful in our 30 year history and we have scooped an incredible amount of industry awards amongst other successes. I must therefore respectfully correct you, we are not stuck with some reputation of the past, but we are busy every day creating the outstanding reputation we have right now and for the future of the business. I must also inform you that we have nothing in common with Chewton Glen, we are privately owned and the sole business in the UK of very proud owners that support us in any way possible. I have no way of knowing your identity, but if you wish to discuss this further you know where I am. Kind regards Sakis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Janeyonthemove wrote a review Mar 2024
Christchurch, United Kingdom29 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
Lovely Lucknam you tick ALL the boxes - super friendly staff, stunning location, gorgeous rooms and a delightful breakfast. From the moment we arrived, we received the warmest of welcomes from Lauren. Porter Neil assisted with our bags and we took the time to walk the grounds, which still had evidence of the recent snowfall. So pretty! Our room 9 overlooked the extensive grounds of what is a classic English country hotel. We took advantage of the incredible spa with its 20 metre pool and super hot jacuzzi. In the evening, we used the efficient room service which was quick and very tasty. Our breakfast hosts topped the bill and they all deserve a mention, so well done James, Libby and Alex. You are so attentive to detail from bringing hot toast to accompany our hot breakfast to ensuring we had plenty of tea & coffee. We took time out to visit Bath city which is well worth it as the Pulteney bridge & Abbey are stunning. Thank you for making our stay so memorable. Hope to see you again sometime soon…!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sakis Dinas, General Manager at Lucknam Park
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Janeyonthemove Thank you so much for staying with us and for this amazing review and for highlighting staff members, we are very lucky to have them in our team Looking forward to your next stay Best wishes Sakis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katie W wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions
This was a birthday present so we were especially pleased that the experience was delightful. We had a warm, pleasant welcome and our ‘manor’ room was plush, immaculate and well equipped. Beautiful bath! The spa has recently reopened after refurbishment and we tried out all the hot rooms and pool - had the place to ourselves! The brasserie was closed for a makeover, so dinner would have been in the Michelin starred restaurant which is, unsurprisingly, very expensive so we went to have supper in a nearby pub. We heard other guests raving about the tasting menu so the real foodies obviously loved their Michelin experience. Breakfast offered a wide choice and I thought the Bircher muesli and eggs Benedict were perfect and was very pleased I’d not had a big dinner! Bed perfect, ambience plush country house, grounds extensive.. a fine hotel worthy of its many awards.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sakis Dinas, General Manager at Lucknam Park
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Katie W Thank you so much for staying with us and for awarding us 5 stars! Hope we see you soon again and you can try our brand new Walled Garden restaurant Best wishes Sakis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lizzyfa wrote a review Feb 2024
24 contributions34 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 days at Lucknam Park. We had excellent service and the old house is fantastic and set in a beautiful landscape. As a gardener I loved seeing the bones of the winter garden ,obviously the gardeners know what they are doing ! The staff were all friendly and professional . Our room was comfortable , spotless and quiet . We enjoyed relaxing in the lovely swimming pool. The dinners and breakfasts were as you would expect from a Michelin starred restaurant . Some memorable dishes and marvellous quality of ingredients . Knowledgable waiters and sommeliers . We loved our special stay . My only comment would be that the bathrooms were luxurious and beautifully fitted but the shower wasn’t designed for short people like me , I could hardly reach the hand spray .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sakis Dinas, General Manager at Lucknam Park
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Lizzyfa Thank you so much for this lovely review! We hope we can welcome you back sometime soon Best wishes Sakis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
guesth2018 wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked a night in Lucknam Park for Christmas staying in one of the Country Rooms. I have visited Lucknam many times for spa days and their restaurants but wanted to experience an overnight stay. Firstly, I was contacted a few days after my booking to ensure that I knew the brasserie and spa were closed during our stay. I did know about the brasserie but it wasn't clear that the spa was closed. However, not a huge issue and we changed the date to two weeks later at an additional charge of £26. Check in isn't until 3pm but we arrived early so we could spend the day in the spa. The front desk staff (Gareth) was lovely and extremely helpful. He charged us the £26, apologised for the inconvenience of having to change the date and told us that the spa actually reopened a few days early due to the work being completed. We made our way over to the spa through the beautiful and historical grounds. There is building work in the brasserie (connected to the spa) but they have managed this in a respectful way. After arriving at the spa; we were informed that the hydro pool jets were not working (extremely annoying when you have a bad back) and the door that takes you outside in the hydro pool was also broken. Hmm not great on a windy day in February to get out of a lovely warm pool and standing dripping wet outside. Next into the changing room; you are provided with a towel, flip flops and a dressing gown. Lockers are free. It was extremely clean and plenty of showers with toiletries. However, a few negatives, they either need to install underfloor heating or rethink the flooring. It was extremely cold to stand on. The toilet paper was not replenished during the day. They no longer have Dyson hairdryers available (I believe they are now babylis - not a huge deal; just an observation). Next into the pool. As I previously said; the hydro pool wasn't working. Unfortunately neither was the amethyst room also wasn't working. There was workman in and out a lot during the day. Lot's of free water. Any other drink can be purchased from the reception. We ordered coffee - filter coffee that arrives in a cardboard coffee cup and cost £3.50. We were slightly peckish and decided to get dressed and wander over to the lounge for a sandwich. It was a big portion and very tasty. We finally checked into our room around 4pm. We gave the feedback regarding the spa (the slight disappointment for the spa being open but actually not being fully functional and being charged extra for this). We were immediately refunded the extra charge and the team were extremely apologetic. Gareth then took us over to our room. Well, all I can say is WOW! What a room. Due to the hotel being quiet we were upgraded to a junior suite on the court yard. It was beautiful. Half a bottle of champagne, a small tin of biscuits and fruit were waiting for us. It was a fantastic touch and much appreciated. The room was spacious and the bathroom was fantastic. Only niggle was that the room was far, far too hot (I think it's all down to personal preference so not really a moan). Time for dinner - we started with cocktails in the lounge. A great menu with plenty of choice. We were presented with the dinner menu at the same time. We opted for the 7 course tasting menu and it didn't disappoint. The food and service were both phenomenal. The wine selection was fantastic. I think the pricing for all was completely fair. Only feedback I can give is it would be nice if a small food menu to be left on the table. I went somewhere recently who did this and it really did make a difference to guide you through your courses and enhances the experience by looking out for the hidden ingredients. Finally, breakfast - a simple menu but fantastic. From all the food we had the previous night; we did struggle. However, the produce they have sourced it's wonderful and not to be missed. All in all; a fantastic stay. I would no longer recommend the spa but hopefully, once the improvements have been made, it will return to its former glory!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sakis Dinas, General Manager at Lucknam Park
Responded 23 Feb 2024
Dear guesth2018 Thank you so much for staying with and for taking time to write this review. We clearly had a few bad days which we simply didn’t anticipate, please accept my sincere apologies. You enjoyed your stay overall so please do contact me directly next time you are planning a visit as I would like to take personal care of all your arrangements and make up for our shortcomings on this occasion. Best wishes Sakis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
puffpuff wrote a review Feb 2024
Hersham, United Kingdom357 contributions306 helpful votes
For a treat to celebrate some milestone birthdays during the year, four of us went to Lucknam for the night and for dinner in the fine dining restaurant, Hywel Jones. It was nice but bearing in mind its reputation and the cost, overall we were all quite underwhelmed, it just didn't live up to expectations, bearing in mind we have visited many hotels with Michelin starred restaurants. The building and grounds are spectacular, it certainly delivers in terms of grandeur as you approach it. We had a very warm welcome and the staff at all times were very helpful and friendly. The decor of the interior was dreadfully out-of-date and bland. It was a sea of beige - the walls, the floors, the curtains, and there were swagged curtains all over the place.......it is crying out for an interior designer to do something special with all of the public rooms in the hotel. Thank goodness for the Christmas tree and decorations brightening it up a bit. The food was not very exciting at all, the only memorable thing was one of the canapes that was served. I should have written this review sooner because I literally cannot remember anything else about the meal, but none of us really felt it was anything special. The bedroom was lovely, very large and comfortable, however it was the other side of a courtyard which gave you the option of either walking on gravel or grass to get to and from the main hotel building. When you are out for a fine dining experience you do not want to walk in high heels through wet grass nor do you want to scuff those high heels on gravel. It seems a petty complaint but they really need to provide a hard surface to walk on. So we had a very lovely time but whilst there was nothing wrong with it as such, the food didn't live up to expectations and the public rooms look very outdated and rather neglected. Unsurprisingly we wouldn't go there again as we didn't think it delivered good value at that price point.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Drop your bags off at the front door and let them valet park your car - it's quite a walk to the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sakis Dinas, General Manager at Lucknam Park
Responded 23 Feb 2024
Dear puffpuff Many thanks for staying with us and for your balanced feedback. Whilst I am very sorry elements of your stay were not to your taste, I do believe these to be personal preference. I can assure you that nothing is neglected as we invest heavily each year, but we always make sure we don’t change the style of the hotel. Kind regards Sakis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JonnyF00 wrote a review Dec 2023
Farnham, United Kingdom106 contributions91 helpful votes
Fabulous 2 night spa package stay just before Christmas. Staff could have not been more helpful and the food was excellent. That we were able to bring our dog as well was great and lovely to walk around the grounds with her.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sakis Dinas, General Manager at Lucknam Park
Responded 5 Feb 2024
Dear JonnyF00 Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking time to write about your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Sakis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Annabel A wrote a review Dec 2023
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom19 contributions10 helpful votes
Absolutely stunning food, we did the tasting menus, one vegi no egg dietary requirement. Everything was perfect from the moment we walked into the hotel till we left. We disappeared to food heaven for a few hours and experienced exquisite flavours. Excellent wine and the service was impecable . Well done team, we can’t wait to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sakis Dinas, General Manager at Lucknam Park
Responded 5 Feb 2024
Dear 863annabels Thank you so much for awarding us 5 stars and we look forward to your next visit! Best wishes Sakis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Colerne area.
PRICE RANGE
£360 - £582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lucknam park hotel colerne, lucknam park chippenham, lucknam park hotel chippenham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWiltshireColerne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LUCKNAM PARK - Updated 2024 Reviews (Colerne)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lucknam Park
Which popular attractions are close to Lucknam Park?
Nearby attractions include Castle Combe Village (2.9 miles), Dyrham Park (4.8 miles), and Allington Farm Shop (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lucknam Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Lucknam Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Lucknam Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lucknam Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Old Rectory Pop Up Tearoom - Castle Combe, The Salutation Inn, and The Flemish Weaver.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lucknam Park?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lucknam Park?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Lucknam Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Lucknam Park offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Lucknam Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Corsham Court (3.5 miles) and St Nicholas Church (4.8 miles).
Does Lucknam Park have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.