We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Barnsley

Visit hotel website
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (20)


Property amenities
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Book Direct and Save
Hotel deals


Full view
Barnsley Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT England
Getting there
Leeds-Bradford Airport23 mi
Doncaster Sheffield Airport22 mi
See all nearby hotels
99Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 230
  • 213
  • 108
  • 44
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Had to change room as (cheap) shower was red hot then freezing cold so had to keep jumping in and out. Moved to second room and had exactly the same issue. Breakfast was luke warm (didn't think you could serve pork products at this temperature). Toilet cistern faulty and took
Read more
So I was staying in this hotel for a week whilst I attended a training conference nearby. The room was cosy clean and warm but I would highly recommend the inexpensive addition of bottled water for the guest as there were no obvious vending machines nearby. The bar was freezing
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley
Responded 3 days ago
Hello Raph66, Thank you for leaving us your review and for making us again a part your trip here in Barnsley. How was the conference? I'm sure it was fun! We are grateful that you chose the Holiday Inn to host your trip. As always, we wanted nothing more but to ensure your experience turn as positive as possible. Though it made me smile that we've served you well and the room was cozy, I'm sorry that it wasn't the same story all throughout. I regard your thoughts about our bar and the meal preparations. Being our returning guest, I understand how this made you feel, Raph66. I'm sorry that this stay didn't go as perfectly as planned. Don't worry, I took the necessary steps to ensure our management gets to read your post and be discussed amongst all concerned staff. We are always on the lookout for ways to make your experience memorable. Reviews such as this goes a long way in identifying areas where we can improve. We may not have gotten off the right foot but I'm positive to make it better for your next stay. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. Best regards, Frank A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
I stay in many Holiday Inns, so know what to expect. The hotel was fine, and the staff were all friendly and efficient. As the weather was so poor, I chose to eat in the bar. I ordered the chicken curry, and had to congratulate the staff in giving me the worst meal I have had in
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley
Responded 1 week ago
Hi BudgieYouKay, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. I am glad that you were satisfied with the customer service provided by our hotel staff. I am sorry to learn about your disappointments with the food served. Please know that this is not reflective of IHG's high standards. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. In case you are back in the area, we would love to have another opportunity to wow you. Sincerely, Ingrid V. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
A 3 course meal and disco costing £54 per person on New Year's Eve. It started off ok with some tasty small canapés and some Buck's Fizz but quickly went downhill when we tried to order a draft pint of beer. The beer was poor quality so we tried a Guiness which was in a can and
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley
Responded 15 Jan 2019
Hello sandrahorne, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am sorry to learn about your underwhelming experience during your recent visit. I have shared your comments with the hotel food and beverage team, and I trust that steps taken will make your next dining experience with us better than the last. I hope you give us another try! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Checked into hotel Saturday evening for what I thought would be a relaxing break. Room was cold, coffee stains on bedside table, shower hose split so had to turn shower head round and wash using spurting water and was put in the room directly above the Christmas party that was
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley
Responded 2 Jan 2019
Hello Gayle R, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Barnsley M1, Jct.37, UK. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, especially with the housekeeping, shower experience, breakfast and the noise during your stay. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Barnsley. Sincerely, Orlando A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
salle de bain
chambre double
Standard Room Holiday Inn Barnsley
Hi, We personally did not have our wedding there, however I vouch from the service received from the staff there, nothing was too much trouble for them. We found the venue excellent.
1 vote
Show all answers
If you are/booking for NY Eve Dinner then all that's in the package is included. Drinks are extra although you can pre book and pay. Overnight can be included as a full package.
0 votes
Ask reception staff. They were very helpful
0 votes
Show all answers
I don't know for sure but I expect you can book for a day at a slightly discounted rate, although I doubt you would be able to check in before 2pm.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Ask about weekend events, just in case they don't warn you."
"If a function is going on and ask for a room at the rear if there is. Rooms over the main entrance become very noisy as party goers leave"
"The Executive suites are perfect for weddings and getting ready before the occasion."
"somewhere at the rear of the hotel - there is some strange lighting at the front of the hotel which shines up at the windows."
"Second floor rooms have air conditioning."
US$62 - US$96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
holiday inn barnsley hotel dodworth
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireBarnsleyDodworth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing