We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Thurrock Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Thurrock Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 314: English reviews
Start your review of The Thurrock Hotel
 Click to rate
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here a couple of times, visiting friends and with work. Deteriorated, needs modernising and under staffed. Breakfast buffet which used to be good, has also gone poor and slow, specially on Sunday. Need to up their game and spend some money on a refurbishment and staff, who seem stretched. Must improve.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave p
Swansea
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall décor dated & grubby, Window badly fitted in room (so cold last night I had to sleep in my clothes) bathroom mouldy dated & no hot water, so cold you could hang meat in there. Stroppy staff on reception at arrival. Below average food, advertised as a Wedding Venue" might be of interest to the Travelling Community.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt1433
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This isn't an easy review to write... I need to start with a positive - I found the staff at this hotel friendly and professional. Unfortunately that's where the good bit ends. Even after reading poor reviews, I booked the hotel for two nights. The theme seemed to be outdated rooms, so I took my chances and booked an executive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopherridley81
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Worst hotel ever been staff not helpful and food cold and very run down. Was better when harry run it and even football pitch next door is rubbish would never go back please save your money and spend it at another hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidmememe
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Spent New Year's Eve at this hotel which was our 3rd consecutive year. There has been a change of manager since last year and we WILL NEVER RETURN. The managers attitude when we complained about cold food was " well can't see you have left much" our response was that we were starving. The canapés had consisted of one plate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 449blondie
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

We booked up for Christmas Day Lunch and at the time of booking we asked the following questions: when do we need to preorder by - YOU DONT YOU CAN CHOSE ON THE DAY Is there a child menu - no but the chef will prepare what you want. Where the menu says served with mash on some items (fish)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank veryexptraveler
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We are here for 3nights to visit family in the area . This hotel does not live up to its pictures. The corridor smells of damp and mould and the room smells like it has not been used in a while. After checking in we went to our room for a nap as we had been up for hours by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank liz o
coleraine
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Ok so i booked this place for 1 night as i was working local a single room no breakfast £59 (dear enough) so when i got to my room thr 1st thing i noticed was that there was 2 cups of tea sitting !!! So i checked to see if there was any sign of anyone else in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank joseph m
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joseph m Thank you for taking the time to review the Thurrock Hotel. When we spoke at Reception the morning after this incident, I made a point of explaining the following. First, if the room that you were allocated was not suitable, for whatever reason, we could have moved you to a different room straight away. As you never...

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Can not fault the Thurrock hotel,so well organised, 16 in our group. The food all hot and fresh and all arrived at the same time, DJ great and spotlessly clean rooms! Breakfast next morning gorgeous .....Will def book again next year! Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We were booked for a Christmas party meal. in total 45 guests were coming all had to pay in full before the event which was fine. unfortunately a member of the party was taken to hospital. i called and asked for a refund for this member and rest of our party were still coming was advised by reception that this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ju1502
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jul502 Thank you for taking the time to review the Thurrock Hotel. I accept that you may feel that my response to your query may have seemed harsh. However, both parties to a contract have to observe the terms and conditions of that contract, otherwise there would be no point in having a contract in the first place. One...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aveley
0.8 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#3 of 5 in Grays Thurrock
572 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
483 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
#2 of 3 in West Thurrock
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Thurrock
703 reviews
5.3 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
526 reviews
18.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Thurrock Hotel

Address: Ship Lane, Aveley RM19 1YN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Aveley
Price Range: £54 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thurrock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Thurrock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thurrock Hotel Aveley, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thurrock Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Thurrock Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Matt1433, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are many well run hotels in the Thurrock area - unfortunately the Thurrock Hotel IS CURRENTLY NOT ONE OF THEM”
 of 5 bubbles veryexptraveler, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Definitely decline room 211 in cold weather!”
 of 5 bubbles ventura67, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles amandasV8039KR, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Well worth upgrading if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles Kate75407, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5