We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Thurrock Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Thurrock Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 315: English reviews
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent New Year's Eve at this hotel which was our 3rd consecutive year. There has been a change of manager since last year and we WILL NEVER RETURN. The managers attitude when we complained about cold food was " well can't see you have left much" our response was that we were starving. The canapés had consisted of one plate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 449blondie
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked up for Christmas Day Lunch and at the time of booking we asked the following questions: when do we need to preorder by - YOU DONT YOU CAN CHOSE ON THE DAY Is there a child menu - no but the chef will prepare what you want. Where the menu says served with mash on some items (fish)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank veryexptraveler
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We are here for 3nights to visit family in the area . This hotel does not live up to its pictures. The corridor smells of damp and mould and the room smells like it has not been used in a while. After checking in we went to our room for a nap as we had been up for hours by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank liz o
coleraine
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ok so i booked this place for 1 night as i was working local a single room no breakfast £59 (dear enough) so when i got to my room thr 1st thing i noticed was that there was 2 cups of tea sitting !!! So i checked to see if there was any sign of anyone else in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joseph m
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joseph m Thank you for taking the time to review the Thurrock Hotel. When we spoke at Reception the morning after this incident, I made a point of explaining the following. First, if the room that you were allocated was not suitable, for whatever reason, we could have moved you to a different room straight away. As you never...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Can not fault the Thurrock hotel,so well organised, 16 in our group. The food all hot and fresh and all arrived at the same time, DJ great and spotlessly clean rooms! Breakfast next morning gorgeous .....Will def book again next year! Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were booked for a Christmas party meal. in total 45 guests were coming all had to pay in full before the event which was fine. unfortunately a member of the party was taken to hospital. i called and asked for a refund for this member and rest of our party were still coming was advised by reception that this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ju1502
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jul502 Thank you for taking the time to review the Thurrock Hotel. I accept that you may feel that my response to your query may have seemed harsh. However, both parties to a contract have to observe the terms and conditions of that contract, otherwise there would be no point in having a contract in the first place. One...

Heckmondwike
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We had booked this hotel as a stop over on the drive down to the London Terminal for our Christmas market cruise. It was booked through booking.com for a reasonable rate. The drive down was terrible because of persistent rain.Rather than venture out we decided to ring to book a table in the restaurant, not an unreasonable request we thought,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carson H
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carson H Thank you for taking the time to review the Thurrock Hotel. I am sorry if the bed and the shower did not come up to expectations, but we are in the process of refurbishing the rooms and obviously the room you stayed in is on the list. As for the "bun fight" the following morning, unfortunately I...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We asked for a quiet room & were given a room in a block of 4 . The room was a reasonable size, but heating was not working correctly. In the morning the room was freezing. We booked taxi with receipton that failed to turn up. Breakfast was OK Wi-fi was slow in room & kept dropping in & out

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoffrey P
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

We booked a standard double room on Hotels.com as we had booked a Christmas party night and fancied a stay over rather than pricey cab back home. I looked at the reviews on here after booking so had set my expectations fairly low. I'm pleased to say that was needlessly so. The hotel was clean and smart enough from reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ark 8
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Booked this for overnight stay for a wedding reception. Upon introducing ourselves, one of the two receptionists looked us up on the screen and immediately asked for our fee, despite us having pre-paid. The second receptionist corrected her and confirmed we had already paid. We were then handed a blank keycard in a cardboard sleeve which had the only mention...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ASuperGav

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aveley
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Thurrock
691 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#3 of 5 in Grays Thurrock
567 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
#2 of 3 in West Thurrock
316 reviews
18.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Thurrock M25
Travelodge Thurrock M25
#3 of 3 in West Thurrock
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Thurrock Hotel

Address: Ship Lane, Aveley RM19 1YN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Aveley
Price Range: £54 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thurrock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Thurrock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thurrock Hotel Aveley, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thurrock Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Thurrock Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are many well run hotels in the Thurrock area - unfortunately the Thurrock Hotel IS CURRENTLY NOT ONE OF THEM”
 of 5 bubbles veryexptraveler, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Definitely decline room 211 in cold weather!”
 of 5 bubbles ventura67, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles amandasV8039KR, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Well worth upgrading if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles Kate75407, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Executive rooms are a fair bit nicer for the extra few quid but ours was still clean and comfortabke.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolJ190, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay