We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Thurrock Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Thurrock Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 307: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a standard double room on Hotels.com as we had booked a Christmas party night and fancied a stay over rather than pricey cab back home. I looked at the reviews on here after booking so had set my expectations fairly low. I'm pleased to say that was needlessly so. The hotel was clean and smart enough from reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ark 8
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked this for overnight stay for a wedding reception. Upon introducing ourselves, one of the two receptionists looked us up on the screen and immediately asked for our fee, despite us having pre-paid. The second receptionist corrected her and confirmed we had already paid. We were then handed a blank keycard in a cardboard sleeve which had the only mention...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ASuperGav
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stopped first night the function room was above my room and there was a party on went to reception to see if I could change room but weren't interested. So I ended up sleeping in my wagon in the car park as I had to be at work 6am next morning, next night had a couple of drinks then went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerridge212016
ventura67
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and it has been OK but this time was just awful. We booked as there were problems with the Dartford Crossing and we couldn't get home. The booking was last minute and we were in room 211 at the top of the hotel. The rooms and bathroom are fairly big and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ventura67
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had our wedding in the Belmont suite on the 26th November. I can not thank the hotel and staff enough they are a credit to the hotel and the place would not be the same without each of them. Even on that day they had another wedding and 70th party I couldn't even tell how busy the hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marinak1986
Rainham
Reviewed 1 week ago

Celebrated a friends birthday here and the first impression of the hotel was that we nearly drove passed it as there was no lights at the entrance to let us know it was there and some of the guests did miss it! The "boy" behind the bar was very inexperienced and mumbled that he wouldn't be long - he had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jobarclay
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed hear for a wedding this weekend and what can I say after seeing the bad reviews the wedding was perfect the food was simply perfect seems they have a new team in the kitchen who have raised the game on wedding and functions after speaking to them in the bar they are changing everything else soon room was fine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stantheman1977
Essex
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently stayed at the hotel and was fortunate to be located in a refurbished room (presume it was refurbished because it was very nice) Check in was speedy and efficient. Was even allowed to check in early with no problems Rooms was very spacious with all required amenities. Bathroom was a bit dark but not caused a problem, had plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EssexT
stephenc07, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EssexT Thank you for your kind remarks, and I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay. Refurbishing the hotel can take some time as we still have to operate while refurbishment takes place, and I am glad that you were able to experience the result.

Blackwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with work and a poor experience - Staff extremely slow and more interested in having discussion than serving customers. The walls / carpets and paintwork are all worn and dirty and the room is of a poor standard. Won't be staying again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chalky321
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at this hotel, for his sisters wedding. We thoroughly enjoyed the wedding suite, there was a bar in there and plenty of space for a small wedding. The breakfast was included in our room price for the following morning and it was delicious. Our room had a flatscreen, comfy bed, running hot water and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelbymarsh123

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aveley
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Thurrock
663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#3 of 5 in Grays Thurrock
551 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock East Hotel
#2 of 3 in West Thurrock
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
464 reviews
18.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Thurrock M25
Travelodge Thurrock M25
#3 of 3 in West Thurrock
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Thurrock Hotel

Address: Ship Lane, Aveley RM19 1YN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Aveley
Price Range: £53 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thurrock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Thurrock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thurrock Hotel Aveley, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thurrock Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Thurrock Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely decline room 211 in cold weather!”
 of 5 bubbles ventura67, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles amandasV8039KR, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Well worth upgrading if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles Kate75407, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Executive rooms are a fair bit nicer for the extra few quid but ours was still clean and comfortabke.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolJ190, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Take a electric fan as no air con and room is hot unless you want to leave windows open and here the motorway traffic outside”
  • Stain on chair
  • TV stuck in the middle of the room not central to bed, where you have to watch it from
 of 5 bubbles Hawksmoor22, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay