We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Another Place, The Lake

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (791)
Room & Suite (261)
Videos (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Last minute availabilty
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Watermillock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Set in 18 acres of Lake District national park, Another Place is a contemporary hotel with a relaxed, active and social ethos. Right on the shores of Ullswater, the hotel is all about getting outdoors, using the landscape, trying something new, discovering and exploring. Then coming back inside to relax and eat and drink well with friends and family. The hotel' s take on a spa, Swim Club, includes a lake-view swimming pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna and treatment rooms. There is a library, three restaurants and lake sports with expert teachers in wild swimming, paddleboarding and kayaking. Rooms for families include a separate bunk room for children and access to supervised Kids Zone sessions, there are also dog-friendly rooms and lake view suites. Within the grounds of the hotel are six shepherd huts, each with a stargazing roof and outdoor firepit, sleeping two or four people. And a two-bedroom treehouse in the oak trees. These new outdoor rooms, alongside our Victorian style Glasshouse at the lake-shore, serving woodfired pizza, bring our guests closer to the wild of the Lakes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Archery
Boating
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Wifi
Pool with view
Pool / beach towels
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Strollers
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Stay a little longer: 7+ nights
1,889Review20Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,335
  • 310
  • 149
  • 59
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Dean M wrote a review Yesterday
Manchester, United Kingdom16 contributions20 helpful votes
Fabulous location with stunning views. Overpriced rooms and not good if you are disabled. Wonderful staff and great pool. Excellent food
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dove wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom55 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
First stop on way to Scotland, never stayed in the area before. Another Place was a fabulous hotel from the relaxed but efficient arrival process through all aspects of our stay. The Living Space has the most stunning views of the lake and the hills, catching a lot of the sun, serving good food and excellent coffee and Prosecco, we loved to just sit and take it all in. A big thanks to Alex in The Living Space for making our stay extra special. all the staff were so helpful, friendly, natural, interested - very refreshing. Lovely food too in the main eating area. Thank you all so much.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We had a ‘Best Room’ super lovely large bed and really good views
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Collings, Guest Services / Front Office at Another Place, The Lake
Responded 1 Sept 2022
Dear dove321, Wow, what an amazing review! I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your getaway with us, especially dining in the Living Space. I'll share your kind compliments with our team members. We hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
gemmagrewar wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
It was a very quick 1 night away stay. Managed to make use of the swim facilities which was nice and relaxing. Breakfast was amazing. I would highly recommend staying at Another Place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
davidQ708BM wrote a review 20 Apr
Aberdeen, United Kingdom1 contribution
Hotel nice however room very noisy from 7am with children running around in room above. First meal in restaurant was very poor but food on other 2 nights was good. On the whole pretty expensive.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Collings, Guest Services / Front Office at Another Place, The Lake
Responded 2 days ago
Dear davidQ7O8BM, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Naturally, it's a shame there were elements of your stay we didn't get right on this occasion. Of course, we are a very family friendly hotel but we always want to balance the offering for all our guests. Please be assured a member of our management team is always on hand if something isn't quite right. I hope you consider giving us another chance in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ceryselen wrote a review 20 Apr
Anglesey, United Kingdom1 contribution
Would definitely recommend! We had the loveliest stay, rooms were perfect and hotel is in a lovely location! We ate at living space and glasshouse and would recommend both, especially the glasshouse!! Staff were friendly and happy to help with anything.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Collings, Guest Services / Front Office at Another Place, The Lake
Responded 2 days ago
Dear ceryselen, Many thanks for leaving us your wonderful 5-star review! I'm thrilled you enjoyed your trip away with us, especially the Glasshouse. I'll be sure to share all your kind comments with our team, We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
London9 wrote a review 15 Apr
London16 contributions3 helpful votes
Outstanding location and facilities, lovely staff and really good (if slightly trying too hard) food. Well worth a stay if not visited before, but the tired decor and surprisingly unluxurious bathroom facilities in the family cottage made it poor value for money I'm sad to say. Also, given the high room rates, I would have expected the concierge to offer a higher level of support to guests, eg actually making arrangements/bookings for guests from outside the area, as opposed to just giving out telephone numbers or email addresses for local attractions/taxis etc and expecting them to do it themselves.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Collings, Guest Services / Front Office at Another Place, The Lake
Responded 6 days ago
Dear JRH1968, Thank you for taking the time to send your review! We always love hearing what our guests have to say and use this as an opportunity to review and improve the experience we offer. I'm delighted that overall you had a great stay and I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GemmaP123 wrote a review 9 Apr
Doha, Qatar14 contributions10 helpful votes
I have recently returned my a wonderful stay (2 adults and 2 children, ages 5 & 8). We stayed in one of the Family Shepherds Huts. It was amazing and I would definitely recommend them. The kids and adults both loved it. We ate in all restaurants while we were and used the pool, gym and kids zone. This was a fantastic stay and I hope we return one day:)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Collings, Guest Services / Front Office at Another Place, The Lake
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Wanderlusttravel23, Wow, what an amazing 5-star review! It's great to see you loved your family getaway in one of our Shepherd Huts. I've passed on all your kind comments directly to our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BW22 wrote a review 6 Apr
Lymington, United Kingdom11 contributions
+1
Thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day stay. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful. We were personally shown around the hotel and to our room on arrival. We stayed in a Better Family Suite and the space it allowed us with two 'tweenagers' was perfect. It could have been improved by having glasses and mugs for 4 people and dressing gowns for 4. The beds were really comfortable for all of us and we slept really well!! The addition of a black-out blind in the kids room was a nice touch and the Dyson fan ensured we slept in a comfortable temperature. Fresh milk provided each day and space in the fridge for own fruit etc. The swim club was busy at times, but for us it was easy to choose when we wanted to go at less busy times (there is a capacity limit at busy times). There is good changing facilities, but no toilet (that we found anyway). The gym is very small, but was not busy at all when we visited. Food was brilliant throughout, as you would expect for the price and level of hotel. Service throughout was very good; friendly, attentive and helpful. The living space can gey busy afternoons/early evening, particularly once the library becomes a child free area. In the summer the space between the living space and swim club would be a good addition to space, but not usable in bad/cold weather. Was not a problem for us but if you are hoping to be in a public space with your family around this time, you may struggle for space (or you may be lucky!?). We loved our canoe trip on the water. Thanks to our friendly, informative guide! The hotel itself is brilliantly located for exploring the lakes. Walkable into Pooley Bridge - either along a footpath and a few road sections along the lake, or via a slightly longer loop through fields (muddy when we were there!!). Tip for the area not related to the hotel - download the AllTrails app for walks!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Collings, Guest Services / Front Office at Another Place, The Lake
Responded 1 week ago
Dear beanywad, Thank you for leaving us your wonderful 5-star feedback! I'm thrilled you loved so many elements of your family getaway with us. I'll be sure to share all your kind compliments with our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Florence D wrote a review 5 Apr
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I visited Another Place with my husband for my birthday last month. It was our third stay - we had been once before as a couple and once with our children. It is definitely one of my favourite hotels in the UK. I love the setting, location, decor and relaxing atmosphere (all the land&water products definitely help with this as they smell amazing). We went for a long walk over the fields before checking in and arrived covered in mud! I love that the atmosphere of the hotel is so laid back that no one seemed to mind. My only criticism is that we had a room in the old part of the hotel and it was a little tired in places. I much preferred rooms we’d had previously in the more modern part. These rooms are also much better for spa access. Highlights of our stay were relaxing in the hot tub, an amazing massage, and having delicious breakfast with the most beautiful view. I can’t wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Collings, Guest Services / Front Office at Another Place, The Lake
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello O6388PSflorenced, We love to hear about our guest's time at Another Place, The Lake. Especially, as you've visited us before as a couple and with your children. I've enjoyed reading about your time relaxing in the Swim Club after a lengthy walk through the local landscape. It's a shame your room didn't quite meet your expectations this time. However, I want to reassure you that our Reservations team are available to discuss our various room types to ensure we get it right for you. We can't wait to welcome you back for visit number four soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Darius G wrote a review 4 Apr
5 contributions
Really nice, beautiful view and the rooms are cool. However, it’s super expensive for where it is and what it is - plus they don’t accept American Express! How cheap is that?! Considering they charge nearly £20 for a cocktail, that’s madness.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Collings, Guest Services / Front Office at Another Place, The Lake
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 257dariusg, Thank you for your review. It's a shame elements haven't met your expectations. However, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay overall. Despite your comments, I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Watermillock area.
PRICE RANGE
£141 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rampsbeck country hotel, country hotel house rampsbeck, rampsbeck country penrith
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rampsbeck Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictWatermillock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ANOTHER PLACE, THE LAKE - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Another Place, The Lake
Which popular attractions are close to Another Place, The Lake?
Nearby attractions include Chestnut House (1.4 miles), Hallin Fell (2.4 miles), and Ullswater Lake (0.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Another Place, The Lake?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Another Place, The Lake?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Another Place, The Lake?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Another Place, The Lake?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Another Place, The Lake?
Conveniently located restaurants include 1863 Restaurant, The Clickham Inn, and The Horse and Farrier, Dacre.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Another Place, The Lake?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Another Place, The Lake located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Watermillock.
Are pets allowed at Another Place, The Lake?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Another Place, The Lake?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arthur's Pike (1.8 miles).
Does Another Place, The Lake have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.