We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Port Dinorwic

Visit hotel website
Traveller (187)
Room & Suite (85)
Dining (9)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Hotel Port Dinorwic is an informal and friendly hotel with a varied selection of accommodation types. These include double rooms, twin rooms, suites, apartments and cottages, all at affordable prices. Its location overlooking the Menai Straits gives it un-paralleled panoramic sea views. Each room at the Hotel Port Dinorwic is individually styled and laid out. Room capacity varies from single occupancy double rooms, to six person suites. All accommodation is en-suite, with tea and coffee making facilities, free view TV and free WIFI. Please note that not all rooms have a sea view. The hotel also boasts a range of facilities, such as a heated swimming pool, sauna, restaurant and function rooms. The hotel is perfectly situated between the university city of Bangor and the historic town of Caernarfon. The Snowdonia National Park is located only 15 mins away and the Isle of Anglesey only 5 mins.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Indoor pool
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
797Reviews
205Photos
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 410
  • 248
  • 65
  • 34
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were told we could book in after 12 and before we arrived we were told restaurant and pool would not be open. We were in room 3 which had excellent views. Some of the hotel is dated but that was quaint. We decided to get a Chinese take away and the staff were more than
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
Booked a last min stay to enjoy the nice weather we had at the end of last week. Booked a double, and got upgraded to a beautiful suite, with a gorgeous view. We were well looked after by Hayden and his staff at the hotel, and nothing was too much trouble. When we asked about
Read more
My partner brought me here for 2 nights, i was dumbfounded when i saw that anyone would give this hotel a 1 star review. The staff are more than friendly, always happy to help. We had breakfast both mornings, which again was great the continental had lots to offer and the welsh
Read more
Reception a bit argumentative when we pointed out our disappointment of the Spa and Restaurant being closed. He said we should have cancelled!! Entrance to room all scratched and looked really down at heel. décor of room definitely 40s and almost utility furniture. Bar closed
Read more
Response from Mandy W, Manager at Hotel Port Dinorwic
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are sorry to hear about your bad experience at our hotel. The hotel is only partly open during January whilst we undertake maintenance and upgrade work. We did inform you about the lack of Restaurant and swimming pool facilities before your arrival and it also states this on all of the booking sites. You were the first guests to stay since re-opening, so unfortunately a few of the cereals were stale. Once you pointed that out i re-filled all the cereals with fresh and asked you to use those instead (which you declined and said you were ok). All the best,
Read more
My partner and I have just got back from an amazing stay at Port Dinorwic hotel in north wales. We stayed in room 6 which is a family suite for up to 6 people. I wanted a special room as I was taking my partner for his 40th birthday and we were not disappointed. The room itself
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementHotel Port Dinorwic
Double
Evening view
Night View over Marina
Deck 3
Rooms in the Round House
PreviousNext
12345617
Hi, We can supply an iron and ironing board. See you soon. All the best, Hayden
1 vote
Hi the swimming pool is open from 8am until 9.00pm. We are about 15mins drive to the railway station in Llanberis. Regards Mandy
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi there, The bar is usually open until: 10:30-11:00pm Sun-Thu 12:00 midnight Fri-Sat The restaurant is usually open: 5:30-8:30 Mon-Thu 5:30-9:00 Fri-Sat
0 votes
Hi Continental style is £4.95 and Cooked is £8.95 and can be booked on checkin
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"Room 3 was excellent with great views - this probably applies to quite a lot of the hotel accommodation. "
"Make sure the radiator works in the winter"
"Our room was great however some rooms have a spectacular view down the Menai straits towards Caernarfon."
"The only suggestion I would make is that some parts of the hotel could benefit from modernisation."
"If we were to visit again, we would stay longer and try to stay in a room with a view of the water. It really was beautiful."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
plas dinorwic hotelplas dinorwic y felinheli
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesY Felinheli
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing