We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Dragon Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (136)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (14)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Montgomery
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
17Th century former Coaching Inn set in historic Montgomery just below the old castle ruins, surrounded by glorious Mid-Wales/Shropshire rolling countryside. 20 En-suite bedrooms. Most rooms with exposed beams. Free WiFi and car parking. Traditional restaurant and informal bar serving the best of local produce. Ideal for Offa's Dyke and Powis Castle.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
492Reviews9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 215
  • 183
  • 56
  • 22
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Henry G wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Very pleased with the Service and friendly Staff would thoroughly recommend . Rooms and public arrears were spotless and Food 5 star . One thing the stairs were a bit steep for us O A P but what do you expect in the Hills of Wales . Look forward to visiting again. Thank you all .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dragon Management, Owner at The Dragon Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Henry, Thank you for your kind comments! Everyone at The Dragon works hard to ensure that all of our guests have the best experience possible. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Hannah
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Navigate47793379972 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
We had a two night stay on the 17th & 18th of March to explore the area, my wife lived just over the boarder until the early 70's. Neither of us had ever been to Montgomery before so really looking forward to it and it didn't disappoint. We found the Dragon Hotel with plenty of free parking in front of this very impressive half timbered building on the Market Square, there was also an additional hotel car park around the back with access into the hotel. The check in team were very helpful and gave us some very useful local information and booked us a table for the restaurant. The thing that we found as a constant theme during our stay was how helpful and friendly everyone on the hotels team were, always available to talk to and taking an interest in where we'd been out exploring, We arrived back on day two after walking up to the Montgomeryshire County War Memorial, it's about one and a quarter miles up a very steep muddy track & definitely well worth it, a 360 degree view point where we could see Snowdon 52miles away, we must have looked very tired on our return as we were changing our muddy boots in the back car park and chatting with two of the team,one of them, who I later found out was the owner, she popped into the hotel and gave us both a bottle of water to recover, again just a thoughtful act. We had a lovely stay at the Dragon Hotel, our room and bed was very comfortable and warm, with coffee and biscuits replenished daily, the bathroom had everything you would hope to expect and both spotlessly clean. We had breakfast on both mornings and dined in the hotel on both evenings and the food and service we experienced was excellent. It's a very old building, 15th century I believe and has lots of crooked parts to it which adds to the charm of the hotel, its obvious a lot of thought and work has been put in to making all of the areas and rooms comfortable, but for me the thing that stands out the most is that the Hotel team all work together to promote a welcoming place to come and stay, thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Excellent local walks and only 1hr 15 mins to drive to Aberdovey
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dragon Management, Owner at The Dragon Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon, Thank you so much for your detailed review of your experience of The Dragon Hotel and the surround area. It was so lovely to have you stay with us and we are so pleased that you had a great time. It was very nice to meet you, and we very much hope that you will visit us again soon! Kindest regards, Hannah
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kerrie W wrote a review Mar 2024
5 contributions2 helpful votes
We didn't stay in the hotel as stayed locally in a cottage. We wanted to watch the rugby and phoned a couple of weeks before to see if it would be shown. They went out of their way for us - we were in The Den, a smaller room with tables and settees. They put up a projector for us so we could watch the games. The staff could not have been more welcoming and attentive! We had a late lunch and the food was delicious. Thank you for a wonderful afternoon!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dragon Management, Owner at The Dragon Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good morning! Thankyou for your review! We're glad we were able to accommodate you, and you were well looked after. Our staff always try to go above and beyond to make sure our guests needs are met and its lovely to hear their hard work is appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the Dragon soon! Kind regards - Aleesha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Helen W wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
The noisiest Hotel we have ever stayed in. Our room must have been above the bar so noisy until 11pm, then thumping dance music heard from somewhere until 12.30pm and a lot of noisy people outside in the courtyard under our window until 1pm. Avoid Friday night!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don't stay if you are a light sleeper as it can be very noisy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dragon Management, Owner at The Dragon Hotel
Responded 26 Feb 2024
Good afternoon Thank you for your feedback. We were very sorry to read that you did not have a good stay with us. Ensuring our guests have a good night’s sleep is important to us and we have done our best to investigate, however in this case it is difficult as we are unsure as to exactly when you stayed with us. Generally speaking, the bar does have background music playing, usually a mellow mix. We do not play any dance music and there are no speakers outside. We ask any customers to leave quietly and to be respectful of other hotel guests and our near neighbours. The only explanation for people being noisy outside would be if anyone took a seat on the chairs opposite your room once the bar had closed. There is someone on site all night and they can be contacted on the hotel number at any time. They would have gone outside to investigate for you had they been made aware of the noise and asked whomever it was to leave. There was no mention of this situation when you checked out which would have allowed us the opportunity to address this directly with you. If you would like to contact us via the contact form on our website, we can then take the date of your stay which will enable us to look into this properly and provide you with a more accurate response. Kind regards The Dragon Management team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gemma S wrote a review Feb 2024
7 contributions
My grandparents have been coming here for many years to have their weekly fish and chips on a Friday, Today they didn't have a very good experience which has put them off from coming back sadly, the plates are usually warm but cold today, fish was much smaller than usual so was the portion of chips. They always leave a generous tip each time but today found out that an extra tip had also been put on the bill it's self so they ended up tipping twice without being told. The lad serving put the tip money into his pocket instead of the jar, He also wasn't very polite ie putting drinks down quite hard onto the table etc. being older my grand parents do not have the internet so have asked my self to do so for them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dragon Montgomery, Owner at The Dragon Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2024
Hello Gemma, First of all our apologies for the delay in responding to your review, but we needed to first determine that we were both referring to the same guests, as the ones we think you are referring to, appeared to leave happily on the day, with no comment. As there clearly was an issue, we’re only sorry they didn’t feel able to tell us at the time. We have welcomed your grandparents for many years and it was a delight to see them back after a long absence, so we are disappointed that they felt dissatisfied on this last occasion. They regularly order small fish and chips and the portions in that regard haven’t changed, although, we appreciate the prices have had to go up. The plates should have been warmed and normally are, so for this we apologise. The service charge is something that was introduced during their absent times, so they wouldn’t have been aware of it. Equally, the member of staff on duty at the time was new, so wouldn’t readily have taken account of the ‘double tipping’. They have now been advised properly. Incidentally, the ‘pocketed’ tip did go into the general tip tin for all staff. I must also clarify that changes to the prices and the addition of service charge were already in place before the new management took over. Your grandparents have been such loyal and regular customers and we really hope they continue to come for their lunches on Fridays, so that we may have the opportunity to make amends. Kind regards, The Dragon Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
adamemmawhite wrote a review Feb 2024
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom100 contributions63 helpful votes
We had a lovely meal selected from a wide range of classics, both meat based and veggie/ vegan this afternoon. The selection of wine and craft beers was very good also. A decent Pinot and a Solopian Shropshire Gold IPA. We ordered cod & chips and a chicken/butternut squash and chickpea curry. Both meals were piping hot and generously portioned. The Cheesecake of the day (Banoffi) was fab too. The surroundings were lovely and relaxed, all the staff were friendly but in particular the waitress on duty today (6/2/24) was excellent at her job... We've not seen a waitress as attentive, measured and professional as her in a very long time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lunch is served between 12-2pm
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dragon Management, Owner at The Dragon Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2024
Good afternoon, thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed our food, beverages and service. We hope you will visit us again soon! Kindest regards, Hannah.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Derek H wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
We received a warm and personal welcome at The Dragon Hotel. Our overnight room (No.16) was perfect, spacious, comfortable and beautifully presented. Attention from the Staff (Aleesha and Ross) was excellent. We enjoyed a lovely Dinner and hearty Welsh Breakfast. A perfect choice in a small historic and fascinating county town. An experience to truly value.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't miss out on this little gem
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dragon Montgomery, Owner at The Dragon Hotel
Responded 26 Feb 2024
Good evening Derek. Thankyou for your kind review; our staff pride themselves on their friendliness and approachability, and appreciate your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed our food too and we look forward to welcoming you again soon! Kind regards, Hannah
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ade-in-wales wrote a review Nov 2023
Monmouth, United Kingdom35 contributions32 helpful votes
A lovely old hotel with black & white frontage perfectly situated in an old Welsh county town. Everybody was so helpful, the booking was made very efficiently, and I got a call back to follow up a voicemail question. Happy to take dogs, though in the end we decided to leave ours in the car. Great staff, very friendly, in reception, the bar and the restaurant. Food was great, including the best poached eggs I've eaten in years (so rare). Good selection of local beers in the bar, with separate rooms including one with comfy sofas. Rooms are probably all different sizes, so they rate them differently with different prices. Excellent value compared with the new normal. All-in-all an excellent stay in a great location: good reason to stay overnight in this picturesque town.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ceri T wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
We just want to big up the gorgeous Dragon Hotel in Montgomery for so kindly looking after us last night after we were stranded by the Storm Babet flooding on our way home to Birmingham. Food, bed and trivial pursuit board all soothed away the stress of the situation. Staff were very helpful and gave up to date travel information as best they could, and even gathered sofa cushions for a comfy night's kip in a spare room. Had a lovely Welsh breakfast on rising to set us on our way. Couldn't ask for more of this lovely hotel. Will be back at a later date under more favorable weather conditions. Thank you so much to everyone at The Dragon! Ceri and Ella
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ella M wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
We got stranded in Montgomery due to the flooding from Storm Babet, and found shelter in The Dragon Hotel. It's very cosy and characterful place. We passed our time in the comfortable lounge area playing a great game of Trivia Pursuit. The owner was incredibly kind and found us a spare room to stay in when they were fully booked... We were really grateful for this kindness and generosity. This is what hospitality is all about. Thank you. Would defo recommend a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Montgomery area.
PRICE RANGE
£76 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dragon hotel montgomery
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesPowysMontgomery
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DRAGON HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Dragon Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Dragon Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Montgomery Castle (0.2 miles), Glansevern Hall & Gardens (2.8 miles), and The Old Bell Museum (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dragon Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Dragon Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Dragon Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Dragon Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Checkers, The Nags Head Restaurant, and Castle Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Dragon Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is The Dragon Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Montgomery.
Are pets allowed at The Dragon Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Dragon Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Glansevern Hall & Gardens (2.8 miles) and Mitchell's Fold Stone Circle (5.0 miles).