We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Dragon Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dragon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 242: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a room in the roof so there wasn't much headspace to stand up straight more so in the bathroom. It's quite old and creaky but we enjoyed our stay in this comfy cosy hotel. We only ate some snacks at the bar so can't comment on the food but it looked and smelt good. The town is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
Abbeystead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were a largish group (18)of local people who had not pre-ordered our meals, in spite of this the food was served quickly, the meals were just delicious, the staff were very friendly and the service very good. We will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maeve C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Old Coaching Inn, A bit disorganised and disjointed at reception but a lovely building with innate charm. Friendly wwlcome to be fair, Food OK, breakfast OK but both could be a bit more imaginative. Good beer in bar, sherry in rooms a nice touch, Clean but slightly old fashioned. Didn't try the pool so can't comment

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westwalesfoodie
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last night 21/01/17 purely for a swim as in ad for accommodation! On arrival booked evening meal as advised! Originally booked a hotel in Welshpool but swapped for a swim here only to be informed it was out of use so I ask for compensation to be told swim was free so full price was payable! We spent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul w
Dragon M, Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your review and recent visit. We are sorry to hear that not everything was satisfactory for your trip A problem arose unexpectedly on Friday with our swimming pool which meant that it wasn't available for use and it is currently under maintenance for a few weeks . Our pool is available as a free add-on...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed on New Year's Eve as we needed a bed for the night while visiting friends. The dragon is a mixed picture and we felt room 1 wasn't quite worth the £80 spent , but there were plus points. As follows- Plus side : very friendly staff, nice welcome, excellent breakfast with lots on offer and lots of choice ,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sam F
Cambridge
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We couldn't praise the staff enough, definitely the best thing about our visit, but why are one's nostrils assailed by the hideous stench of fish on entering? Most off-putting and spoiled our appetite for lunch. Perhaps our choices from the bar menus weren't the best, so we will give it another go, just to be greeted by such warm members...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark J
Dragon M, Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark. Thank you for your kind words and recent visit. Our staff here are brilliant and welcoming, I will pass on your praise. With regards to the fish the only thing that I can imagine is that a lot of customers had ordered our awesome Monty's beer battered fish and chips that lunch time? Definitely try us again, we...

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Accommodation great value no complaints. It's not a Premier Inn but what it's got is character and some great staff with personality. Restaurant is good, had to wait a bit but if you want a meal cooked to order and to be of good quality when it arrives it's well worth waiting for. I'm picky so when I say I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

The first thing to hit you when you walk in to hotel is the smell of fish , even 5pm in the afternoon the smell hits you when you come out of your room . We had booked 2 rooms for 3 nights guided by pics supplied from Booking . com and the hotels own web site. When we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank toottoot-25
Dragon M, Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Evans. We note your recent review Our room information is on all of our websites and explains about there being limited head height in our upper floor rooms, which start from £69 bed and breakfast, our standard rooms £79, Select £89 and our refurbished premium rooms £109. We are a 17th century former coaching inn . yes some...

Tenby
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Stayed for a night, as had an early meeting in nearby Welshpool. The Dragon has been our place of choice for a number of years. The food and ambience are very acceptable. Had the Fish and chunky chips, whilst my wife had Gammon, with all the trimmings. The Cod and Chips was reasonably priced for a hotel menu. The best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beejay248
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Most unfortunately they were all booked up upon my arrival . Being on a walking trek and learning that the closest lodging was 6 miles away was a bummer, but 2 friendly young staff got on the phone and finally secured a place for me, even though it wasn't easy, and then set me up with a taxi. All with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana F

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:35
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
3.6 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
372 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
537 reviews
11.6 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
679 reviews
15.5 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
175 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Dragon Hotel Restaurant
The Dragon Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Pub, Welsh
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
17Th century former Coaching Inn set in historic Montgomery just below the old castle ruins, surrounded by glorious Mid-Wales/Shropshire rolling countryside. 20 En-suite bedrooms. Most rooms with exposed beams. Free WiFi and car parking. Traditional restaurant and informal bar serving the best of local produce. Ideal for Offa's Dyke and Powis Castle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Address: Market Square, Montgomery SY15 6PA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Montgomery
The Dragon Hotel Montgomery, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dragon Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Dragon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hope you like the sound of bells!”
 of 5 bubbles teresal747, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If in a front bedroom be warned you can hear the town clock, especially if a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Beejay248, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Unfortunately not stopped here”
 of 5 bubbles A3117MZsuec, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose rooms 17 and 18”
 of 5 bubbles iangD2796XL, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles 805DavidT, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5