We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (581)
Room & Suite (106)
Dining (54)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Charlton Kings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A lovely four-star Georgian manor house, DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham has 148 bedrooms, including 70 premium rooms, and parking for 170 cars. Set in spacious landscaped grounds, complete with lake, overlooking Lilleybrook Golf Course, it’s just two miles from the centre of Cheltenham, with its historic promenade and impressive Regency architecture. On the edge of the beautiful Cotswolds, it’s an ideal base for walking and Cheltenham Racecourse and the National Arboretum at Westonbirt are also close by. Relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool, sauna and steam room before dining on lovingly-prepared local ingredients in the Lakeside Restaurant.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English
1,310Review40Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 448
  • 356
  • 230
  • 145
  • 131
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Tom B wrote a review 9 Apr
1 contribution
Had all I needed for my stay. Staff very polite and welcoming, particularly at breakfast and Reception, but even the team in the corridors said hello. Good choice at breakfast and a very comfortable bed. Only reason for 4 star and not 5 was because I needed WIFI during my trip and it was quite slow.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Sanders, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tomb, Thanks for your review and for your kind comments about the staff and breakfast. We've got a planned upgrade to our wi-fi taking place in June which will address to signal quality and speed, I am 100% certain you will see a significant improvement! Thanks again for your kind review. Kind regards, Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris B wrote a review Jun 2023
Kidderminster, United Kingdom267 contributions140 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We had a really lovely experience at this hotel over the Easter break. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The leisure facilities were excellent with a very well equipped hotel gym and a lovely pool, although a little chilly for my tastes. We had an evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant and very much enjoyed both of them. Staff across the board were very helpful and pleasant and welcoming. We would definitely use again if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rashmi wrote a review 9 Apr
Surrey, United Kingdom1 contribution
After having stayed in numerous polular hotels around the world, I had high expectations for Double Tree by Hilton to offer an exceptional experience. However, I was thoroughly disappointed upon arrival. The carpets appeared worn and unchanged since the hotel's inception, with visible signs of paint chipping off the wooden frames. Additionally, our room had a torn curtain, adding to the overall lack of maintenance. The water feature depicted in promotional images was far from the reality, resembling a stagnant swamp with decaying grass, potentially posing a mosquito hazard during warmer months and very unsafe for children. Furthermore, the pool area seemed outdated and overcrowded. I cannot recommend this establishment and believe it to be a poor value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Sanders, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Rashk, Thank you for your review, I am sorry you left the hotel disappointed. I'd be happy to talk through the points in your review further and let you know what we're doing to resolve some of the issues you encountered. Please get in touch with me via the Hotel Front Desk or ben.sanders@doubletreecheltenham.com. Kind regards, Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matthew D wrote a review 5 Apr
1 contribution
I stay here 3 or 4 times a month for work and I have been staying here for about 18 months. I've not reviewed before but wanted to write what I feel is a realistic review of the hotel. Firstly, the staff are brilliant. Without exception they are friendly and will always do what they can to make your stay comfortable. The hotel does need refurbishment in some areas and I know this is coming. I stay in quite a few different hotels from the South of England to Newcastle. The standard of Cheltenham DoubleTree is a on a par with other DoubleTrees in the UK. I think some guests miss understand what the DoubleTree's are. They are not the full Hiltons but they are better than the Hamptons. The location is good, the staff are friendly and the rooms comfortable. I will not be looking for anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The rooms in the old house can be very small. Book a room in the bigger extension.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Sanders, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Matthew, Thanks for the positive review of the hotel and in particular your description of the Team as 'brilliant'! As you will have seen from some of your recent visits we have started our program of refurbishment and repairs in some areas of the hotel and will be carrying out more work throughout the rest of the year. We hope that you'll continue to use us for the foreseeable. Kind regards, Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Russ S wrote a review 3 Apr
Birmingham, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
Absolutely disgusting service, untrained staff, health club facilities have no hot water, trays of room service food left in corridors for hours. Manager would rather sit and drink with his staff than do his job. WiFi doesn't work, cost of food is ridiculous regarding the quality.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Children get priority of the pool over paying guests.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Sanders, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Russ, Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I'd be grateful if you could contact me further via ben.sanders@doubletreecheltenham.com or on 01242 222 021 so that I can further investigate some of the claims in your review. Kind regards, Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Zsuzsanna B wrote a review 1 Apr
2 contributions1 helpful vote
It is all about my weekend, what I wanted to spend with Doubletree by Hilton. I booked a KING-size room in Cheltenham(more than a month ago). That hotel offers free parking and spa facilities as well. I called them before we started our journey up there (3 hours' drive). The receptionist said our room will be ready when we arrive (2100-2200 arrival). So, we did the driving, when we arrived the receptionist said "I'm so sorry, but we overbooked!" (that is means they lied to us when we started our journey, and they give our room to a person who paid more than us, because my rate was team member rate). Not a problem, they sorted out for us, we got a room in HOLIDAY INN!!! Okay, we drove there. We need to pay for a parking £10 per a day. They don't have a spa.... Okay we will go to Tewkesbury to use LivingWell, because we are members... Went to the room it was a TWIN room, two separate beds... Went back to the reception, they said they are fully booked as well. So that's it, we can stay or go home at 2130-2200... We stayed, we were quite tired already and quite disappointed. Next day we went to Tewkesbury to Hilton, LivingWell to have a bit of spa. Just out of curiosity we asked the receptionist, were they overbooked. They weren't. They had vacancies. So, I booked a hotel where I can king size room, park for free, use a spa. Nothing fulfilled my booking. If they don't lie in the phone (1730), we don't even drive up there and don't spend money on a booking, what was not even close to what I asked. When we went back to Cheltenham Doubletree to complain that we are not happy, the reception manager looked like he don't really care. He said I'm sorry, and that's it. He said as well talk to my GRM than the GRM need to call their GRM and they can sort this out for me.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pay as much as you can and you get your room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Sanders, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Zsuzsanna, As a Team Member we'll follow this up with you directly through our colleagues at Go Hilton. Before we speak, I would strongly suggest you look at the Terms and Conditions of Go Hilton bookings, I think you will find you have breached these T&C's and as such this benefit may now be with drawn. Part of our conversation will include a reminder that whislt not policy, it is not uncommon for Team Members to be booked out when the hotel is overbooked, i'll reiterate that as a gesture of good will we paid £170 to have your room booked out and that several attempts were made to contact you to inform you we had to put you in another hotel. As it was Easter Weekend options were incredibly limited. As we couldnt get hold of you we went ahead made alternative arrangements for a hotel in Cheltenham, very well located for all of the Town's amenities. I look forward to discussing this with you further. Kind regards, Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
East Midlands lass wrote a review Mar 2024
17 contributions4 helpful votes
Very disappointing. We had booked for two nights. We had a large king size room with view, but upon entering the room it was really cold. The radiator needed bleeding and wasn't working, and the toilet seat was almost hanging off. We notified reception, and they sent an electric heater up that wouldn't have taken the chill off a small toilet let alone a king size room. The toilet seat was fixed whilst we were out the following day. We arrived back in our room the next day to find that the room hadn't been cleaned, bed made, bins emptied etc (this was mid afternoon). The weather had been dreadful, so all we wanted to do was shower (to warm up) and chill out. We remained in our room for the duration, and had to put the dressing gowns provided over our clothes to try and keep us warm. The sheet on the bed was ripped, and the TV kept coming on randomly, having to switch it off when we went to sleep. Very, very disappointed for the Hotel brand. We were expecting much better. The hotel was very tired, and clearly needs a lot of money spending on it. Sadly, we won't be staying again, neither will we be recommending it to anybody.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't request room 201
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Sanders, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear PrimaveraGirl, Thank you for your review. I'm really sorry your stay was disappointing, there's no excuse for the maintenance and housekeeping issues that you experienced. The hotel's refurbishment is due to begin in April and will carry on until the end of December this year. I appreciate this doesn't resolve the issues you had whilst staying with us but I hope it will give you some confidence for future stays. Kind regards, Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
HopkinsLJ wrote a review Mar 2024
Cheltenham, United Kingdom11 contributions4 helpful votes
Went for a day trip to the spa and to say we were disappointed is an understatement.. Firstly the biggest issue is the hygiene. Went into the steam room and afterwards we wanted to shower off so used the showers next to it and there was clearly a bug infestation particularly in the cold shower. Very gross and off putting when you are in a spa and a problem as obvious and noticeable as this going untreated is unbelievable. Will include pictures of the showers… Have visited before a few years ago and had a great time but sadly it seems to have gone rapidly downhill. There was no water available which is shocking for a spa as clearly you’re going to need to rehydrate from the sauna etc! Was told there was only water available from the machine in the gym so had to walk in there whilst in my swimming costume and a towel wrapped round me.. my partner bought a coke (there was no bottled water available in the fridge at reception) and this was £3.50 for a small bottle! Very unimpressed and no apologies from the staff about the lack of water. All in all a bad experience and we left after only an hour or so and wouldn’t return. Very unhygienic and dated.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
kcoltart wrote a review Mar 2024
Brighton, UK2 contributions1 helpful vote
I am so angry - even before my visit has taken place. I booked 8 rooms for 2 nights for Cheltenham race week. This cost me £11,000 which is fine . . . . until it comes time to get my receipt for the transaction!! I have made so many phone calls and been passed from the hotel reception, who can view the transaction but are not allowed to send it, through to the central reservations who can see the transaction but are not allowed to send it and then now I need to speak to group reservations who apparently are not at their desk right now. I have wasted so much time chasing this and have removed the Double Tree by Hilton from our list of hotel providers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Maurice Plommer, Other at DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Good afternoon kcoltart, Thank you for recent comments regarding your upcoming stay for your group during the Cheltenham race week. The initial reservation has been made with the groups reservation team and therefore the central reservation and hotel reception do not have access to the receipt you are looking to obtain. I have forwarded on your request to the inhouse group reservations who will be sending the transaction receipt within the next 24 hours. If we can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rebecca C wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
I was very disappointed with my stay, from reading the reviews i expected a warm and welcoming stay which i did not receive at all. We were shocked to find the room had mold and damp over the walls in both the bedroom and the bathroom, the ventilation in the bathroom being full of dust and from what looked broken and dirty being the probable cause. The room did not look clean having the lampshades coated in a layer of dust and dirt and hairs in bath and sink. When we raised this with the staff at reception and provided photos they simply changed our room with no apology, which i must say wasn’t much better than the first as there was still visible mold and dirt. Finally thinking after a three hour drive where we could sit down, shower and relax we were greeted by a gentleman who simply opened the door with his key card and said he had been booked into this room, he simply went to reception to resolve the issue but this meant we had to lock the room on the inside concerned anyone would be able to walk into the room. This then resulting with issues with our key cards while trying to return to the room. I don't like to be one to complain but there is a series issue with the health and safety of this establishment, we didn't expect the world of this hotel as it was just a short one night stay but the bare minimum would we a room without damp and mold, and perhaps a bit of an apology. The Clock Tower restaurant was a lot better quality friendly staff and good food, where we spent most of the time to avoid the hotel itself. Didn’t bother with the food of the hotel, the spa or pool as after the state of the rooms put us off being there completely. Honestly if it wasn’t a 3 hour drive and over £100 for the room we would have drove back home.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Charlton Kings area.
PRICE RANGE
£61 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo charlton kings, cheltenham park hotel, charlton kings barcelo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsCheltenhamCharlton Kings
NUMBER OF ROOMS
148
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOUBLETREE BY HILTON CHELTENHAM - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham?
Nearby attractions include SimAir737 (4.6 miles), Walks With Hawks (0.8 miles), and Escape Rooms Cheltenham (3.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Journey, The Mahal, and L'Artisan.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Charlton Kings.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cheltenham Town Hall (1.9 miles), Whittington Court (3.1 miles), and Old Baptist Chapel (4.5 miles).