Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa

Traveller (1541)
Royal Suite
Room & Suite (255)
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Videos (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
£171
Get rewarded with One Key
£180
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 3 hotels in Plympton
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Winner of the 2019 Hotel Spa of the Year in Western Europe & Scandinavia, the Five-Star Boringdon Hall Hotel is situated on the edge of the idyllic Dartmoor National Park and just five minutes from the city of Plymouth, providing a peaceful and tranquil refuge from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Boringdon Hall Hotel has a total of 42 en-suite bedrooms - ranging from majestic four-poster bedrooms with burnished oak panelling and exquisite antique furniture in the oldest part of the Hotel to newly refurbished, stylish courtyard rooms in the recently converted wings. All rooms are en-suite and come fitted with flat screen LCD TVs and tea and coffee making facilities. The new Gaia Spa within the grounds of Boringdon Hall offers luxury spa and wellness facilities. All guests of Boringdon Hall have access to the Spa facilities and receive 10% off spa treatments. Overlooking The Great Hall, the intimate and deliciously romantic 4 rosette Àclèaf Restaurant exudes warmth.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Adult pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Outdoor dining area
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Boringdon Hill, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 4DP England
2,836Reviews20Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,021
  • 492
  • 212
  • 66
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DRN1 wrote a review Aug 2023
Dorset72 contributions35 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
There is not one single negative I can report here - just everything about this exceptional hotel is perfection! Literally perfection.
The staff, the facilities, the food (OMG!), the hotel rooms, the therapists, the ambiance, the attention to detail - I could go on.....
I had the most incredible two day spa break here - and from the moment I stepped out the car to the moment I stepped back in I had the most fantastic experience. I was practically booking my next stay whilst I was there.
One word...incredible!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura Cameron, Other at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 22 Aug 2023
Thank you for your lovely and very kind words! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mr C wrote a review Mar 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom6 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Boringdon truly is enchanting, a real 5 star experience, the Hotel is immaculate as is the Spa and staff are all very friendly and professional, they can’t do enough for you. I have stayed here about a dozen times now having found Boringdon by chance on a business trip last year. I Wouldn’t go anywhere else when I’m in the area now and have brought my wife for a long weekend as well.
The Spa is a truly fantastic experience they have it just right, it looks and feels like luxury and you can spend hours in there.
Food is very good but choice in the Mayflower restaurant was better in the past and is a bit limited with the Steak expensive.
The Gallery used to be a nice treat but has changed to a tasting menu experience which is expensive and not practical for a captive audience of residents as there is only the Mayflower as an alternative unless you want to venture out and why bother if you have the serenity of being in Boringdon.
The rooms are very well presented with the stable and courtyard rooms immaculately kept and serviced with all you could need including robes a fridge and a coffee machine.
The rooms in the main house are a special treat, some with a four poster bed and a bath in the middle of the room ! Boringdon is a beautiful place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BoringdonConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Dear on-my-travels-2020 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review of Boringdon hall, Gaia Spa, Mayflower and our A'cleaf restaurant. I am so pleased to read that after your first trip on Business to us you have been back many times since along with your wife to experience the Joy of Boringdon and all its treasures! Indeed since January our Gallery restaurant has been re branded as the A'cleaf restaurant ( A'cleaf mighty oaks come from tiny acorns) The restaurant does off a Four course menu or a six course tasting menu. We look forward to welcoming you back to Boringdon again very soon! Regards Marc Guest relations manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J L wrote a review Mar 2020
Devon, United Kingdom60 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I visited weekend 6/7 March for my birthday treat, right from the minute we arrived the service was second to none, with the porter following our car to the car park and collecting our luggage and checking us in whilst we were waiting on the sofa sipping our welcome drinks. The level of service for this hotel was outstanding and every detail was top notch, from bar/breakfast and restaurant staff right through to the housekeeping staff who seemed to go out of their way to make your stay more memorable. The Gaia Spa facilities were one of the best we’ve been to and our only issue in the spa was the fact that not everything is explained to you on arrival and we were pretty much left to work it out ourselves, this in itself isn’t a problem and by no means a complaint but on Saturday we had decided to lay on a couple of beds around the pool area, we were on them for around 10 mins and when we decided to go and have a cold shower to cool down, one of the staff came in and screwed up our robes and towels and proceeded to dump them on the floor behind the beds, I walked over and asked why she was doing this and was quite rudely told “you can’t reserve beds” I explained we were only getting a shower and coming back and I was told “rules are rules” and there are signs, which I couldn’t see anywhere,and she was very rude which took me by surprise because everyone else in the hotel was extremely polite. We arrived on Friday and we went into the spa for around 3-4 hours and the whole time we were there all the beds were covered in towels with nobody on them, I understand that rules are there for a reason but they need to be carried out at all times not just on Saturday when the spa is exceptionally busy, and in particular not with the rudeness of the employee, I observed many beds covered with towels with no people on them throughout my stay but nobody had there towels chucked on the floor!!!!
This review would have been 5 stars if it wasn’t for this one rude employee and unfortunately I didn’t get her name.
Summary: great hotel staff, fantastic hotel and a great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BoringdonConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear JustinL433 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit to Boringdon hall and Gaia spa for your Birthday treat. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found all our hotel staff to be very accommodating and enjoyed our service. Thank you so much for your feed back regarding your experience in our Spa and its most certainly not our service standard to talk to any of our guests in the manner that you have described and I sincerely apologies for this. Please if your wish to reach out to our operations manger Ben please feel free to contact him on Manager@boringdonhall.co.uk I really do hope we get to welcome you back again very soon! Kind regards Marc Hotel guest relations manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
broganmc wrote a review Aug 2020
Plymouth, United Kingdom383 contributions125 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This afternoon my friend and I ate out to help out and had high tea at Boringdon Hall. A three tiered plated rack of finger sandwiches, tartlet, wraps, scones, jam, cream and a delicate selection of fancies . We needed a take home box!
Despite a Wedding going on the friendly welcoming staff were most attentive to the busy rooms facilitating all those enjoying the excellent high tea.
We noticed a few staff in training and we wish them every success as they are clearly supported by resident regular experienced staff members, and clearly enthusiastic in their work. So nice to see.
All the areas were cleansed as per guidelines under this dreadful covid 19 we are all dealing with, and each and every staff member adequately covered with face visors.
It’s good to be able to support our local businesses with knowing they are doing their very best to keep you and themselves safe whilst delivering excellent service.
Our thanks go to Valmire,Kinga,Poppy, Daniele and James for a lovely afternoon and for seating us in a quieter area as my dear friend has limited hearing. Very supportive and understanding of our needs, truly appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura Cameron, Other at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 3 Sept 2020
Dear Brogan, Thank you for your very kind words and I will ensure your feedback is passed over to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Kind Regards, Laura Cameron Operations Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elaine wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked on line for our 30th wedding anniversary. Arrived at hotel to book in and reception was already checking in a couple for their anniversary (one year we asked). Manager came by to check us in. Briefing he had mentioned our anniversary but he never said anything. Receptionist handed him a bottle cork so that we could have a free glass of champagne!! I know people often celebrate and that’s why a lot of people do go away but seriously a free glass of champagne!! Up to room and pleasant accommodation. For the amount of money we have spent, I would not go “wow”. We have spent four nights here, one of which was our anniversary and for our evening meal we had booked the restaurant. The mayflower brasserie is fine for the morning breakfast and couldn’t complain here, pleasant and friendly staff. Although our first morning we went to the wrong room and a couple of guests were there eating breakfast and promptly said “you’re in the wrong room”. Who they think they are. Was not so keen for our evening meal taken to the mayflower. Thought it was in the other restaurant but the mayflower it was. We arrived exactly the same layout of tables, no tablecloths, not set tables. Just as the breakfast. I appreciate we are in a pandemic virus but a tablecloth and table setting would go a lot further for the atmosphere but felt like we were second best. Sachets of ketchup and mustard. Supposed to be 5* considering we had a meal elsewhere to have ketchup in a bowl. Small fine details seemed to be missing where a less luxurious restaurant put on the fine details. Again I know it’s pandemic but small details go a lot further.

To us this was a very lovely trip away especially as it was an occasion but felt we were let down with some aspects of the hotel. Considering it was a lot of money for four nights b&b, one evening meal, and a trip to the spa for two massages. The hotel couldn’t even supply let’s say a fruit bowl in the room or flowers or even a bottle of champagne. Little disappointed. I’m not saying we should’ve got everything for free and with the covid it is very hard for staff to do perhaps their normal roles but as it is a 5* hotel we were not overly impressed. We didn’t get the wow factor. Sorry!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
broganmc wrote a review Jul 2021
Plymouth, United Kingdom383 contributions125 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a return visit to the Gaia Spa for a Hot Stone Massage for an Anniversary treat. As always we were warmly welcomed at the reception arriving earlier to make use of the other facilities this tasteful and luxurious spa has to offer. Both Emma and Emily made us feel special, thank you both.
It’s so lovely to take time out to unwind, de-stress and totally relax especially after the restrictions we have all had to adjust to during this pandemic.
Just slipping into a freshly laundered toweling robe and sliding your feet into a pair of flip flops, you instantly shed any weight of the world you maybe carrying at the entrance.
The pool is an idyllic size, depth and temperature. Would like to see more loungers indoors especially if the weather restricts access to the outside patio areas. However, there is restricted space around the pool area. Maybe a further extension in years to come may facilitate this as there is room to extend outwards towards the sloped grass area.
The day we went there were obviously restricted numbers, and we had to share one lounger which only became available a while after we were there.
The steam and sauna rooms were being used and we felt if we had used them , social distancing would have proved a problem. People tended not to move around in these, but stayed for extended amounts of time which is their choice, however others like us may not have got to use these, which is disappointing.
Our couples hot stone massage was amazing. Thank you so very much to Amy and Alicia. Two extremely friendly professional therapists that despite working to strict guidelines made our day. I’d had this massage before but my husband had not. We both benefited immensely from both the technique and essential oils this incredibly relaxing massage achieves.
It’s a nice touch to further chill in the post massage lounge, and we were lucky enough to have the couples room. As a couple it was nice to be together, relax and absorb the essential oils and hydrate with cups of water provided.
This spa is my ‘Happy Place’. It’s a little pricey and we use it for special occasions, and so pleased when family buy us gift vouchers too.
Would highly recommend Gaia Spa, you will get hooked, it’s a first class sanctuary with first class therapists.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book well in advance to get your date and availability of spa treatments.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura Cameron, Other at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 29 Jul 2021
Dear Brogan, Thank you for your kind words and it is such a privilege to be your "happy place". I will ensure your feedback is passed over to Emma, Emily, Amy and Alicia - they will be delighted, We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Kind Regards, Laura Cameron Operations Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alice B wrote a review Aug 2020
23 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When you arrive you are greeted by the most magnificent building set in beautiful grounds - things looked very promising!
On arrival we were greeted by a lovely man in reception, very welcoming and friendly.

We booked very last minute so the only room available was their more basic stable room but still pricey at around £220 a night. However for a 5* hotel you would expect even their basic rooms to be of a high standard. This room was not! Very small, very dark, poorly decorated, uncomfortable bed and even worse pillows. The bathroom had a small bath with a shower over that soaked the entire bathroom. There were dirty cotton pads presumably from the previous guest on the floor by the bin and when taking the milk out of the fridge it was so badly gone off that when I turned it upside down it wouldnt even move! The room was on par with a travel lodge room and most certainly not worth the money! I am sure there are nice rooms to stay in but not worth the money at all.

All staff on reception and in the spa were very friendly and welcoming, however, staff on the bar were another story! On our first evening we walked to the bar and were merely grunted at by the bar staff. When placing our drinks order it seemed like such a chore and inconvenience, even more so that we asked if we could sit outside!

The food in the mayflower Brasserie is very poor and not that of a fire star hotel. Think of a school canteen! Additionally I waited 30 minutes for a cocktail, only for it to finally arrive and be dumped in front of me with no apology by the oh so welcoming bar staff.

The spa however really is beautiful and definitely of 5* standard. I enjoyed a lovely massage in their beautiful treatments room however was again massively over priced.

We opted to not eat in the restaurant for our final night as it was so poor the first evening. Instead we took a stroll down Plymouth harbour and enjoyed some fish and chips for a fraction of the price!

That evening on returning to the hotel I even witnessed one of the more senior bar staff berating a young female member of the team for not making a cocktail correctly. This may have all been in jest however not appropriate in front of customers and must have been very embarrassing for her.

We decided to pop down for breakfast on our last morning and again waited about 30 mins for our coffee and Apple juice to come to the table. And on asking for hot water and lemon, I receive a dirty cup of hot water with old tea leaves in it. The breakfast is very small and not again what you would expect from a hotel that advertises itself as 5*.

On a more positive note. I spoke with the manager regarding the above issues. He was very friendly, apologetic and handled the situation very well. He took off certain drinks, money for the issues with the room and some food off of our final bill. I cannot fault his attitude or the fact that he is clearly working hard to get the hotel up to a standard that I have no doubt he wants to achieve. I hope he achieves this!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura Cameron, Other at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 16 Aug 2020
Dear Alice, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I was pleased to see that there were areas you enjoyed of your stay but of course naturally disappointed to read the areas where you did not have the same experience I am pleased that you were able to speak with Ben on departure to talk about these issues, if there is anything I can personally assist with then please do not hesitate to reach out also (laura@philema.co.uk) I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, Kind Regards, Laura Cameron Operations Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TalR wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I had booked the stay to celebrate my other half's significant milestone and hoped we would relax in the multi award winning spa and hotel, but for what I had been sold we were thoroughly disappointed, and we spent a lot of our trip away from the hotel.

I appreciate some facilities were closed due to COVID-19 restrictions, however I felt that the hotel should not have been open as they were not ready. It felt very much like a luxury pricetag on an average B&B room. They were charging the same as they had been pre-COVID however were not offering the advertised luxury touch. They were understaffed, there were very long waits on drinks orders and meals, restaurants and bars were down to a reduced menu, and even some of these items were not available. There was minimal social distancing and no PPE worn other than by beauty therapists.

The food quality and service was not what you would expect from a 5* hotel, and after saving hard to afford celebrating this significant occasion in style I would have rather saved my money and gone elsewhere. The theme of the trip was unhappy guests, and lots of complaints which the stressed staff were obviously struggling with. It definitely seemed the case of those who shouted the loudest got the best treatment which was all the more frustrating. At check out we were refunded the cost of a cocktail and coffee to acknowledge our dissatisfaction and to be honest it was the least they could have done having to wait 30-45 minutes between ordering and recieving them.

I would never usually leave a review, however I left feeling so disappointed and would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura Cameron, Other at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 16 Aug 2020
Dear TalR289, It is very hard to read this review as we take great pride in celebrating these moments with our guests and its apparent that we did not come close in delivering on this occasion for you, There are a number of points that I would really like to discuss with you directly and I would appreciate the opportunity to apologise in person, If you could please contact me at laura@philema.co.uk Kind Regards, Laura Cameron Operations Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex S wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom28 contributions11 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful setting just outside of Plympton with easy access to Plymouth if you have a car (warning if you don't, pre-book your cabs because we had to bail on a dinner reservation after we couldn't get one at short notice). The spa is lovely and I particularly loved the hydrotherapy pool with its various pumps and the continuity with an outside section of the pool.

Unfortunately the shower could not keep a steady temperature and scalded me and my pregnant wife every day although I did twice complain about this. My parents were also scalded daily. Additionally in my parents room you could not adjust the temperature without physically being in the tub first, making it even more dangerous. In our room there was no knob to change from bath to shower, just the threads to screw one onto, I asked the maintenance man about this and he said they were in the process of changing them over (good idea for a temporary solution, a wing nut is about 10p). Given the price of the hotel, these are not issues I think it is acceptable to leave unremedied. I cannot in good conscience recommend this hotel to anyone until they sort out the unsafe plumbing, especially to anyone who is in the age group where a fall in the shower is a life threatening event.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura Cameron, Other at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 31 Jul 2021
Dear Alex, Of course I was naturally concerned to read your comments and would like to discuss with you further if possible, Kind Regards, Laura Cameron Operations Director laura@philema.co.uk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rachel693 wrote a review Aug 2020
United Kingdom53 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Let's start with the positives ....

The Gaia Spa is lovely even with the heat experiences closed, we still had a lovely relaxing time and the staff we very friendly.

The food in the mayflower brasserie was lovely and tasty.
The only downside was that the very bubbly waitress was hard to understand with her can shield on, as she was talking way too fast and we did witness an awkward conversation with a foreign family who couldn't understand her due to her talking to fast.
All staff did have visors on, although a few didn't have them down far enough and left their mouths uncovered.

Now the negatives......

We arrived at the hotel bang on 3pm and was told that they weren't sure if our room was ready, luckily it was.
We had to make our own way to our room, which was fine as we followed the directions.
We arrived at the entrance door to the stairs where our room was and there was a horrible smell coming from the bushes.
Once through the door and up the very creaky stairs we entered our room, the executive suite.
Now, knowing how much my husband had paid to stay here, to say we were underwhelmed was an understatement!
The room was very tired, the floor all over was uneven and creaky.
The bathroom was Ok, although we were not keen on the large bottles of toiletries that were obviously there to be used by all guests, especially given the current pandemic situation, smaller single use ones would have been better.

When we went to go outside onto the private decking, I stepped to go out the door and my foot sunk into the floor, pushing the floor about 2 inches down and I nearly went flying down the 3 very large steps outside, luckily I managed to catch myself before I did!
The suite has the added bonus of a hottub, which we thought was great....until we took the lid Off!
The water looked clean but on closer inspection it wasn't!
There were bits floating around and when we got in and started the jets a big dirt scum ring formed round the edge of the hottub and the bubbles were brown and dirty. The water felt slimy and you could not move around safely as it was so slippery. We promptly got out. ( Having our own hottub at home, we knew about keeping the water safe and hygienicaly clean for us let alone others and this wasn't!)
We went to sit on the outdoor furniture to find the cushions completely soaking wet and mouldy!

So we ended up sitting inside celebrating our anniversary instead of enjoying the outside weather!

Another positive note is that we did bring these issues to the managers attention on checkout who agreed, once he had seen our photos that it wasn't acceptable and he would get it sorted ASAP.
He did also knock some money off our bill too.

This is the third time we have stayed at Boringdon Hall and we would stay there again as our previous stays have been fantastic!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
685inky66 asked a question May 2021
London, United Kingdom224 contributions29 helpful votes
Do the stable rooms come with a coffee machine and fresh milk?
685inky66 asked a question May 2021
London, United Kingdom224 contributions29 helpful votes
Do the stable rooms come with a coffee machine and fresh milk?
Answer from Laura Cameron
Newquay, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
Hello The Mini Bar in the Royal Suite and the Executive Suite is complimentary, we look forward to welcoming you Kind Regards, Laura
Answer from Laura Cameron
Newquay, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
Happy New Year! All of our bedrooms have Mini bars available. The contents include; Waters, flavored sodas, wines, beer, spirits, Green and Black Chocolates and Nuts. These items are chargeable to all rooms accept the Royal and Executive Suits. Marc Hotel Concierge
Becky wrote a tip 18 Apr
Cornwall, United Kingdom13 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid 3pm arrival, we were early and had to wait until 3pm to check in. There was a big queue and only one receptionist working."
Read full review
Sandra M wrote a tip Mar 2024
Reading, United Kingdom13 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking can be busy ,just wait it out !"
Read full review
jjandherdog wrote a tip Mar 2024
Newcastle, United Kingdom92 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book now for Christmas 2026"
Read full review
Cathie B wrote a tip Mar 2024
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom105 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book ahead"
Read full review
Claire L wrote a tip Feb 2024
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Keep a very tight eye on what they are charging you - or go elsewhere"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Plympton area.
PRICE RANGE
£116 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
boringdon hall plymouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonPlymouthPlympton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BORINGDON HALL HOTEL AND SPA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Plymbridge Woods (0.5 miles), Lord Louis pub (0.7 miles), and Colebrook Inn (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Acleaf, The Colebrook Inn, and The Colebrook Chippy.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool, a sauna, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Saltram (National Trust) (1.6 miles), Crownhill Fort (3.4 miles), and Royal Citadel (4.4 miles).
All Plympton HotelsPlympton Hotel DealsHotels near Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire