We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lugger Hotel

Portloe TR2 5RD England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/21
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (507)
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (177)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Lugger Hotel
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


Travellers' Choice
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
1,204Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 714
  • 285
  • 105
  • 70
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Robert Youdell wrote a review Yesterday
Skagen, Denmark3 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked our summer holiday on the 16th March 2021. This included 5 night stay at the Lugger in Portloe Cornwall. We also booked another two nights with another hotel to complete our stay in Cornwall. We also booked an evening reservation at Rick Stien seafood restaurant. Well learnt a couple of days ago that the Lugger (out of the blue) cancelled our booking so ruined our summer holiday plans for no good reason. I got a email just saying that your reservation has been cancelled. No apology or reason for the cancellation. I find this outrageous and very poor management skills. I hope the holiday public take note and think twice in booking this property.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
AnnaBWirral_Cheshire wrote a review Mar 2021
Wirral, Cheshire8 contributions8 helpful votes
We paid £592 to this hotel for 2 nights due to arrive April 2020. Understandably due to the pandemic , they asked us to move our dates , which we happily did to April 2021. Unfortunately due to government restrictions the hotel is closed again and we tried to rearrange our dates again, only to be told they can not accommodate our requested dates. We understood this and requested a refund, but now the hotel is not answering emails or the phone. They have yet to refund this money to us after constant attempts to contact them. I feel by doing this review , it’s the only way for the General Manager Ian Slater to be able to resolve this for us
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from Ian Slater, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Anna, Thank you for your feedback and my apologies in the delays in communication. Unfortunately the hotel is closed until the 17th of May and we are only picking up emails intermittently. Your email has been passed on to myself and I understand you original booking was made as a non refundable booking, under these circumstances we as policy issue you with a credit note. I will look into this and see if under the circumstances we can make an exception in your case. I will contact you shortly. Best Regards Ian Slater General Manager
Read more
Nicholas308 wrote a review Dec 2020
London, United Kingdom49 contributions17 helpful votes
We think we had last stayed about 20 years ago and had always wanted to revisit. It is probably unfair to compare the experiences as we can barely remember much of our last stay and of course now the hotel is operating with the Covid issues. Overall we really enjoyed our recent stay; we had a really lovely, comfortable room overlooking the tiny harbour with fantastic views out to sea giving us the full effect of this perfect Cornish village with its remote location. All the staff were welcoming, friendly, helpful and attentive. Sadly my partner did have to do some work and there were Wi-fi issues which they did their best to resolve but it was a challenge for her. The menu changed daily and the food was very good without being outstanding. They have a lovely dog friendly section of the restaurant which still had great views. The lounge area next to the bar was very cosy and great for drinks next to the fire. Overall a very enjoyable stay away from the madding crowd.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from Ian Slater, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel
Responded 15 Dec 2020
Dear Nicholas Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at the Lugger, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon Best Regards Ian Slater General Manager
Read more
A H wrote a review Dec 2020
Kingsbridge57 contributions46 helpful votes
I appreciate that it is potentially very difficult in 2020 for hotels and restaurants to be seen in their best light with Covid restrictions. However the room we had was described as having village views when in fact it was basically a view of a wall and was a tiny room. Food was only average. The staff were all trying their best and should be commended for their helpful, smiley attitude in these difficult times. Overall I think this was a very expensive short break and it was sadly underwhelming.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Response from Ian Slater, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel
Responded 10 Dec 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear the room you stayed in did not meet your expectations. Our standard classic rooms are the smaller option, however we do have larger rooms available as well as rooms with a sea view. Once again thank you for your feedback Best Regards Ian Slater General Manager
Read more
Andrew M wrote a review Nov 2020
Macclesfield, United Kingdom12 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed 4 nights in RM 303, late October. This hotel has so much going for it yet it needs money spending to bring it right up to the top . Positives are the lovely staff who are friendly and welcoming. Particularly the restaurant staff and housekeeping who were beyond reproach and handled all the Covid requirements with aplomb. The food likewise was very good all credit to the chefs. We ate 2 dinners and four breakfasts. Where money need spending it should be spent without delay. Missing tiles on exterior steps, poor exterior decoration needs rapid redress. The views and ambience are good but need better more modern Windows to exploit. Our room was good ,large and comfortable with outside space for summer use. Just a bit tired. A great shower was let down by a cheap narrow Premier Lodge type bath. In many places around the hotel jobs for a handyman needed fixing. This is a task for central management. But overall a delightful,4 days.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Response from Ian Slater, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel
Responded 26 Nov 2020
Dear Guest Thank you taking the time to review your stay at the Lugger, we are delighted you enjoyed our food and service. I have noted your comments on improvements and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Best Regards Ian Slater General Manager
Read more
US$197 - US$284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
lugger hotel portloe
United KingdomEnglandCornwallTruro DistrictRoseland PeninsulaPortloe
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lugger Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Lugger Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Carne Beach (2.2 miles), Portloe Harbour (0.01 miles), and Caerhays Castle (2.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lugger Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Lugger Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lugger Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lugger Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Driftwood Restaurant, The Haven Takeaway, and The Kings Head.
Is The Lugger Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.07 miles away from the centre of Portloe.
Are pets allowed at The Lugger Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Lugger Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lugger Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fowey to Mevagissey Ferry (5.9 miles), Pendennis Castle (8.7 miles), and The Lost Gardens of Heligan (5.8 miles).
Does The Lugger Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.