We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Wildes Derbyshire

Worksop Road, Clowne, Chesterfield S43 4TD England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (715)
Dining (132)
Room & Suite (55)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Clowne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
WILDES Derbyshire is a luxury 4 star, 1 Rosette hotel situated in the beautiful and picturesque county of Derbyshire, within a short driving distance to the marvel which is the Peak District and local historic town of Chesterfield which boasts the Crooked Spire. Whether the reason for your visit to the area being for business, leisure, a wedding or special occasion, WILDES Derbyshire is the ideal venue for you to consider..
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Wifi
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
1,443Review24Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 944
  • 192
  • 137
  • 60
  • 110
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
bunster52 wrote a review 13 Apr
Steventon, United Kingdom247 contributions112 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay and thought it excellent value! Easy parking . PVery pleasant room, clean and comfortable. All the staff were very polite and friendly. The evening meal was tasty and we loved the robot ! My husband and I both remember the area when it was a garden centre and we would drive past on way to Sheffield from Gainsborough!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All very quiet during our stay, might be prudent to see if there’s a wedding on during your stay...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Elaine S wrote a review 13 Apr
1 contribution
We booked in for the ‘Royale’ Afternoon Tea. The service was excellent, staff were friendly & attentive. The food was fabulous, sandwich fillings were delicious. One of our party had a dietary requirement (Gluten Free) - the food was great, soft bread and scone!! The gluten free cake variations were good too. The atmosphere was relaxed and we had a lovely couple of hours. Photos are of the Gluten Free cakes and sandwiches.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kathryn S wrote a review 12 Apr
Sheffield, United Kingdom1 contribution
My friend and I had a lovely massage from Colleen she was so friendly and explained what the treatment entailed and what oils she would be using, we both felt so relaxed and pampered. We followed this with a lovely meal in the restaurant the food was delicious and all the staff were friendly and attentive.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Journey Manager, Other at Wildes Derbyshire
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave our hotel a review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience with us and will ensure your feedback is passed across to Colleen, who will be made up by your kind words. Our spa packages are great ways to relax and unwind with great choices of treatments and different offers you can tailor the day to your liking. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your restaurant experience and will ensure your complements are passed to our kitchen team. We do hope to welcome you back to WILDES Derbyshire in the near future, Warm regards, Corey Senior Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ginger_spice83 wrote a review 9 Apr
Beverley, United Kingdom29 contributions3 helpful votes
This is the first time I’ve left a bad review and honestly we were so disappointed. What should have been a luxury, relaxing experience was just awful. The room wasn’t clean, tv didn’t work, the room was positioned above a ridiculously loud wedding, listed as dog friendly but wasn’t. Tried to reach out to the hotel but they didn’t address my concerns, only offered for me to return at my own expense. Complete waste of our time off
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Journey Manager, Other at Wildes Derbyshire
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave our hotel a review. I am disappointed to hear that your stay was not as you expected and will ensure to investigate into this matter to ensure a similar situation is does not take place in the future. Our guests services team are on hand 24 hours to ensure that any issues you may face such as the TV not working we would be able to resolve for your during your visit should you have contacted reception. We are a pet friendly hotel and do allow dogs in our outdoor spaces, reception and guests rooms. We do not allow pets into any dining spaces of the resort, unless the pet is an assistance pet. Our team did offer to rectify the issue your faced with the noise from your stay by compensating your next visit with us to ensure your stay is as you planned but better. We do hope to welcome you back to WILDES Derbyshire in the near future. Warm regards, Corey Senior Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MariaKornat wrote a review 8 Apr
7 contributions5 helpful votes
Great customer service from Liam who went out of his way to ensure I had a room that was perfect for me. The pillows are so soft, the bed was really comfortable, the beautiful toiletries are from the hotel spa, the breakfast was splendid, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. There seems to be good team work at the hotel, staff were cheerful and helpful; it’s clear the hotel is well managed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Journey Manager, Other at Wildes Derbyshire
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Maria, Thank you for taking the time to leave our hotel a review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I will ensure that your kind feedback is passed across to Liam who's customer service is second to non. I am sure he will be made up by your kind words as am I and the rest of the team at WILDES. Our hotel is designed to ensure all of our guests enjoy a luxury stay with us no matter the occasion which has been reflected in your feedback, as we aim to have something to offer all of our guests. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to WILDES Derbyshire in the near future. Warm Regards, Corey Senior Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jeremy wrote a review 6 Apr
7 contributions10 helpful votes
Well I went again to The Orangery restaurant at Wildes but but it was a family celebration and yet again totally underwhelmed Friday night and 8 tables taken!! No atmosphere at all So the review:- Bar a hotel with ambition to be 4* should offer table service drinks ridiculous prices Food to be fair the starters we ok but the mains were akin to a poor pub my chilli chicken was probably the worst meal I have ever had absolutely crap the rest of the party we less than impressed too just bland food In summary don’t think this is a quality restaurant it’s not its average pub food at best This time i wont be back
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michal K wrote a review 3 Apr
1 contribution
The whorst hotel where i ever been Staff horrible Owner is absolutely idiot Grumpy and no friendly We try sort event in this palce but after this but experience I won't organise even funeral there Keep away from this place Around this area u can find much better places
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Journey Manager, Other at Wildes Derbyshire
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave out hotel feedback, I am shocked to hear that you did not enjoy your recent experience with us here at WILDES Derbyshire, our hotel owner is not seen around the resort. As I am not aware of your personal experience, I will ensure to review your feedback feedback as all of our team do their very best to ensure that our guests have a pleasant experience with us. I will ensure to speak with the team to ensure that we are always going above and beyond for all of our guests. We do hope that you we are able to welcome you to WILDES Derbyshire . Warm Regards, Corey Senior Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Quest34791694130 wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Great hotel and resturant, really comfortable, staff are helpfull and the food was excellent, I would thoroughly recommend a visit. We had a lovely evening meal and breakfast. I would advise booking a table as the resturant gets busy. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Journey Manager, Other at Wildes Derbyshire
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave our hotel a review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at WILDES Derbyshire, I will ensure to pass across your feedback to the team who I am sure will be thrilled to have made a impact on your stay. We like to believe that we can cater for all of our guests needs no matter their reason for staying with us and that we can provide a luxury experience. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to WILDES Derbyshire in the near future. Kind regards Corey Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anne D wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Had lunch there yesterday, the food was delicious and was all enjoyed in a relaxed environment. The staff were very good and we asked to compliment the chef on the best mint chocolate cheesecake ever. A lovely experience which will definitely be repeated in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Journey Manager, Other at Wildes Derbyshire
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent lunch with ourselves, and will ensure to pass across your complements to the chefs who I am sure will be thrilled by your feedback. I will also make the management team aware who will also be over the moon that our team went above and beyond to make your experience memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Corey Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisa H wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
Wow! I knew right from viewing here as a potential wedding venue that we would have an amazing experience and I wasn’t wrong, it was just perfect! The Sherwood Suite has just the intimate and romantic feel we were looking for, with the sashes on the ceilings and the chandeliers. The archway outside is perfect for photos, especially at night when the lights show up beautifully. There is a new decking area that looks very nice and finishes off the outdoor area beautifully. Myself and my bridesmaids stayed the night before and were looked after so well. There is no pressure to eat in their restaurant. The rooms were so lovely, I was in the Portland the night before and to get ready, plenty of room with a comfy spacious bed and dual aspect windows allowing lots of light in to get ready. The Chatsworth for the night of the wedding was simply stunning! Yes the paintwork on windows is a bit dated, but this is the traditional side of the hotel and I found this charming, as it was still kept very clean. Breakfast was so tasty as well. The wedding itself was just perfect, nothing is too much trouble, everyone was well looked after and the food……absolutely gorgeous! Compliments to the catering team! Highly recommend the bacon butties, sausage baps, mini steak and ale pies for the evening reception, soooo good!! Now to the staff. Every single member of staff we had the pleasure to deal with is an absolute credit to this hotel. Corey - what a lovely welcome you always give, always with a smile and nothing is too much for you! Angela - you were so lovely when we booked our wedding with you, you were able to read our needs and looked after our booking so well! And you were so patient when we arrived late with all our decorations for the venue the day before. Thank you so much for your kindness and patience, and for sorting my room out for me!! Paige - there aren’t enough words to explain how amazing you are! What a fabulous wedding coordinator. I was so nervous, but you put me at ease. Every time we met with you, I left feeling like you were so excited for us, so that made it feel more personal and was so appreciated. You made our wedding day perfect and beyond! You are so kind and are always smiling, you are just an absolute pleasure. Thank you so much for everything!!!!! Lisa and Rob
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Journey Manager, Other at Wildes Derbyshire
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to leave our hotel a review. We are pleased that you chose us to host your special day and that you enjoyed your special day. It is great to hear that our Sherwood suite was the perfect space for you and your loved ones to celebrate, and that Paige did all she could for you through the day. I will ensure the special thanks are passed across to her as I am sure she will be touched by your kind words. I am pleased that I was able to make a impact on your wedding day and experience at WILDES Derbyshire, it is great so see that everything was perfect for you both. We hope that you both was able to make lots of memories and take lots of photos so that you can look back on your special day for the years to come. All of our traditional rooms are designed to maintain the charm and character of Georgian built Southgate house, and am happy to hear that this enhanced your experience with ourselves. I will ensure to also pass across your feedback to our kitchen team and to Angela who takes great pride in looking after our couples and does all she can to ensure that they have a special day. We do hope that we are able to welcome you both back in the future and wish you both all the best in the future to come as a married couple. Kind regards Corey Guest Services Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Clowne area.
PRICE RANGE
£80 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
van dyk hotel, van dyk chesterfield
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel van Dyk
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireChesterfieldClowne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WILDES DERBYSHIRE - Updated 2024 Reviews (Clowne)

Frequently Asked Questions about Wildes Derbyshire
Which popular attractions are close to Wildes Derbyshire?
Nearby attractions include Coloured Cob (2.5 miles), Creswell Crags (3.0 miles), and Renishaw Hall And Gardens (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Wildes Derbyshire?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Wildes Derbyshire?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Wildes Derbyshire?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Wildes Derbyshire?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wildes Derbyshire?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harvester - The Treble Bob, The Pump, and Little Castle.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Wildes Derbyshire?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Does Wildes Derbyshire offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Wildes Derbyshire?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Renishaw Hall And Gardens (4.0 miles), Bolsover Cundy House (4.2 miles), and Dead Man's Cave (4.4 miles).
Is Wildes Derbyshire accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.