We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel van Dyk

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel van Dyk
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

404 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel van Dyk
See the most recent reviews
Showing 403: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

Booked for afternoon tea for four people and they took our deposits. I rang to add another person to be told they weren't doing afternoon tea on the date u had booked for!!! After much ado they did honour the booking but on the day there was no welcome. We were met by sour-faced, unfriendly staff who made us feel...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank BMWW
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Afternoon tea is served Monday to Saturday 12 noon until 3pm and needs to be pre booked with a deposit, all is baked and prepared fresh on the day of the booking so adding more people sometimes is difficult but not impossible. If staff were sour faced and unfriendly I can only at this stage appologise but this is not...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2016

I think we went on a bad day as the staff were very rude and we had to keep asking them to come to our table for drinks - then they started taking our order and then left - we waited 5 minutes and the lady didn't come back so we asked someone else to take our order. In the...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank samfis
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

I am sorry to read your negative review and also very unhappy to read your comments about the service staff which I will look into. What I don't understand is that you say you have had many regular visits which I assume you have enjoyed, therefore do not understand why you would say to all who read this review to...

Pembrokeshire
Reviewed 16 January 2016

The Van Dyk hotel is located not far from Chesterfield and near Clowne. We had a warm welcome with an efficient check in. Our room was The Belton. A suitably appointed room which was a tad chilly on entering but it warned up later. We made mention of a somewhat noisy air con unit outside the room on the roof...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SB900
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are all very pleased to know that you had a wonderful time. Mobile phone signal is limited in certain parts of the building but reception can let you know where these are and all the rooms have wifi conection boxes so connection is not usually a problem. With...

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

We visited the grill resturant with friends on an evening and we was very impressed with the food. Very tasty and good portion sizes. The service was very good too. Would defiantly return for another meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty F
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are very pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your evening and we look forward to welcoming you all again soon.

UK
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Not a!lowed to book for birthday party of 6 as 8 is their minimum but assured no problem. Arrived 3pm, told 20 mins wait. 50 mins later told" noone is moving "..... Entered dining room to!d " no beef" this was.my first choice, dessert menu told " no sticky toffee pudding, again my first choice. Poor service, lack of choice,spoilt...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sunshinegirl54Uk
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

As you say you have been a regular visitor to the grill room you are obviously aware of our walk in service and no booking except tables of 8's and over, it has been this way for 6 years. At busy times we operate a waiting list and can only give an average waiting time, we always try to make...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

I booked a party for 18 people they asked me to pay £xxxalready and I've been advised that I am not allowed to cancel it. Surprise surprise 2 weeks after I paid , they rang me and cancelled our party!!! I am cross with their attitude they do not care and don't have any customer services skills. I would highly...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

I understand your disapointment regarding the cancellation of the event but you have not been honest with everyone who reads this review, you fail to say that we gave your party a private room, bar and disco on the evening that you had booked for because you had said that all the party couldnt find another date that all would...

Ridgewell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

As family live near here when ever I visit we always have a lunch here. It never fails to impress. It has a massive choice of dishes on the menu covering all price ranges. Today there was 6 of us and the restaurant was half full. Lovely relaxed dining room with back ground music. We all had a range of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angela a
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we are all happy to know that you have all enjoyed your visit and our menu. My team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Our son and daughter in law visiting from Hong Kong so we decided too leave the cooking for a day and head too this.restaurant , we were seated at a table for four very quickly and given the menus too browse. Our drinks order was taken within 5mins and food rider within 15mins. The restaurant was reasonably busy, there was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ablb
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am sorry to learn of your dissapointment with the delay of your drinks service, if there were till problems on the evening as you have stated then this could well have meant that your order was lost on the system and that all table bookings had to be...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2015

I emailed the hotel at the end of November to book a table for four people for Christmas Sunday lunch on 20/12/15. This was confirmed by them but when I phoned on the 19/12/15 to confirm the time to be told they hadn't got me booked in. They said they could accommodate us in the Grill Restaurant - I wish...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Emma R
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

There was no comfirmation of a booking sent to yourself, your email asked if there was availability for Sunday the 20th December, our return email was to say that there was availability at that time if you wanted to make a booking, no further email or telephone call was made to reserve a booking so therefore none was made. when...

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2015

We've been to this restaurant many many times and always had a good experience until recently. Service was so bad, we were asked to wait for a table and were forgotten about completely. Then waited another 20 mins to place our order. Husband was given wrong meal and drink. I complained and the manager became arrogant, aggressive and very threatening....

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank Linda B
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

First of all you were not forgotten, you were asked to wait while we cleared several tables that had just left the restaurant so that we could seat yourself and 3 other parties that were also on our waiting list. It was myself who spoke with you and I brought you through 10 minuites later, you ordered both food and...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clowne
7.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,334 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
524 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
720 reviews
6.8 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
211 reviews
9.5 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Van Dyk is an outstanding example of a grade II listed building,it is family owned and managed and the impressive facade and opulent interior, provides an elegant atmosphere, for the ultimate dining experience within Albert's grill room or the Bowden Restaurant. The 15 individually designed ensuite bedrooms compliment the hotel perfectly, for any guests wishing to stay within Chesterfield area.Located near to the M1 and A1 motorways,the hotel provides the ideal location for casual or eligant dining,evening live entertainment show's as well as Small business meeting's and lunches, whilst also offering tailor made packages for Weddings, Private Parties and festive Celebrations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel van Dyk

Address: Worksop Road | Clowne, Clowne, Chesterfield S43 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Clowne
Price Range: £97 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel van Dyk 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel van Dyk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Dyk Hotel
Van Dyk Chesterfield
Hotel Van Dyk Clowne, Chesterfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel van Dyk staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
London
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel van Dyk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Although the rooms at the moment are on different levels, when they refurbish they said some rooms will be on the same floor for disabled .”
sals 44, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“A suite would be nice”
sharonlM9487XY, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great Place to eat”
fiestary, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the back - overlooking kitchen roof, ventilation fans are noisy, no double-glazing, main road at side of hotel.”
myoung100, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be prepared for extremely hot accomadation.”
lukeo52, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates