We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hillbark Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$286*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$364*
US$286*
US$364*
US$286*
US$364*
US$286*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hillbark Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hillbark Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 263: English reviews
Nr Chester
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Attended this venue for a recent wedding. What a huge disappointment. Expensive shoes ruined before you can get inside the building due to stoned drive. Very poor for disable person who finds walking difficult. Staff not very friendly or helpful when entering small hall way and they look like they are prison wardens eyeing everyone up. Shoved into tatty room...

 Report
Helpful?
16Thank DeetheTraveller
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed at the hillbark hotel as it was our friends wedding. Grounds are excellent and hotel is nice, pity I couldn't say the same for the rude staff and the small room we were given even though it was £200 per night and £4.50 for a bottle of beer..Our friends stayed in a room that didn't have hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank joseph h
Contessa_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear joseph h, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us. It is very unfortunate that this is how you felt during your stay. We make it very clear what our check-out time policy is prior to your arrival, in your email reservation confirmation, as well as on check-in. Where possible, we also always try...

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Attended one of my close friends Wedding last week and thought the day was perfect. The place itself is beautiful inside and out and the day was perfect. Rooms: Stayed in 204 but to be honest dropped bags then returned at 2:30 3 sheets to the wind so do not remember going back, woke up late for breakfast and then...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank marcevans7
Contessa_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear marcevans7, We are glad to hear you had such a great day here, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have all been thrilled to see your comments, it was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards, Helen Jones Public Relations Manager

Prenton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2014

5 Star – absolutely not! We attended a wedding at this venue and many of the posts here reflect what we experienced. Please note: the wedding breakfast room has no air-con and is sweltering. With floor to ceiling windows and no blinds, I had to put a cover over my shoulders to stop them from burning, thus making me even...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Steve F
Contessa_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve F, All feedback is much appreciated and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Unfortunately as the building is grade II listed we are unable to install air-con into our Great Hall, we appreciate that it can get very hot due to the large windows which is why we bring portable fans into the room....

Wirral
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked an a la carte restaurant table for an important family event. A few days before the event received a phone call to say that they would now only serve the £90 a head tasting menu. They had decided not to put the a la carte menu on that night. We did not want the tasting menu as it included...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Beanbag2013
Contessa_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beanbag2013, All feedback is much appreciated and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologise that this happened to you and your guests for such an important family event. We do have our Grill Restaurant at Hillbark also, which may had been able to cater for your booking. We apologise that this wasn’t communicated to...

Heswall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have eaten here several times including Xmas dinner. On all occasions it has been great however last night's experience was just outstanding. Pre dinner drinks in the bar to start whilst listening to a lovely pianist. The meal was just amazing our starters were fabulous and the main Chateaubriand the best we have ever had. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuart J
Contessa_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stuart J, It was a pleasure to welcome you both back to Hillbark. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we have all been thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our Grill menu and listening to our resident pianist Graham play. We hope to see you again in the near future and we will also...

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Excellent service, location and atmosphere. Staff were incredibly friendly and courteous, especially Pete (I think his name is) who was so kind to my son who was fascinated by the cars there and took the time to answer allsorts of questions about them. He really added to the day. Would recommend Hillbark for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cath h
Contessa_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cath h, It is great to hear how much you both enjoyed your day here at Hillbark, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. Pete has been thrilled to hear your comments. It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards, Helen Jones 
Public Relations...

NW England
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I was taken here by my daughter for my 60th birthday for a champagne lunch and spa treat. We arrived to see an absolutely stunning building set in beautiful grounds. As we got out of the car a gentleman (Peter), came over to greet us and escorted us into the hotel. We chose to have a drink before lunch in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ibisbelle
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent establishment, set in beautiful grounds. The food was excellent as was the service, sadly let down by the bar prices. Management say their prices are in line with other 5* hotel's. In my mind this is no excuse for more than 600% mark up. Beautiful house, beautiful venue and fantastic food all the same.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Finlay R
Contessa_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Finlay R, Thank you for writing a review, it was a pleasure to have you here at Hillbark. We have passed on your feedback regarding food & service and everyone has been thrilled. We hope to see you again in the near future! Kindest regards, Helen Jones 
Public Relations Manager

Yorkshire, England
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We attended a wedding reception at the hotel. It is a stunning looking building in fabulous, well manicured gardens. An incredible venue for a stay or wedding reception.The staff are very attentive without being stuffy and too formal which was very nice to experience.The owner parks his Rolls Royce at the main entrance and the prices he charges help to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Greecophile
Contessa_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Greecophile, It was a pleasure to have you here, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. All of our standard spirit and mixers are the same price as our world beers and a small glass of house wine is the same price as a standard bottle of beer, which is why we find an order...

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankby
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Port Sunlight
276 reviews
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,140 reviews
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hillbark Hotel & Spa, located in the 250 acres of parkland in Royden Park on the Wirral, is the only five-star hotel in the Liverpool City Region and the smallest five-star in the UK. The Elizabethan style mansion has 18 individually designed bedrooms, a choice of restaurants including an award winning fine dining restaurant The Dining Room at Hillbark and a luxurious spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillbark Hotel

Address: Rangers Office Hillbark Road | Frankby, Frankby CH48 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Frankby
Price Range: £218 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillbark Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Hillbark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbark Hotel Frankby, Wirral
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hillbark Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
leeds
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hillbark Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are delightful, spoilt for choice”
stearl2016, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all of the rooms there are 16 i think to choose from. the grounds fantastic and large car park”
22less, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms ar nice but the suites are the best, we like room 103, but all the suites are especially fab.”
Grumpy47, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Which ever room you choose, they are amazing”
hilaryholden7, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid 108 - described as a suite, it isn't. Tired and gloomy - as tho a train goes through the room when neighbours shower!”
SueS967, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$286* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$286
Agoda.comUS$286
LateRooms.comUS$364
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates