Royal Oak Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Royal Oak Hotel

Traveller (193)
Dining (4)
Refurb 2019
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#2 of 2 hotels in Bromborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
We're all about convenience at The Royal Oak Hotel Wirral, in a great spot in the heart of Bromborough. And with good transport links nearby, you'll be well placed to explore business and leisure destinations such as Liverpool and New Brighton. Take a flutter at Chester Racecourse. Stroll around Port Sunlight, a charming village with over 900 Grade II listed buildings. Grab a bite to eat just next to our hotel, then head out for the bright lights and vibrant nightlife of Liverpool. After a busy day, relax in your spacious room and huge, comfy bed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Restaurant
Highchairs available
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Parking
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

High Street, Bromborough CH62 7EZ England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 58 out of 100
58
Liverpool John Lennon Airport
Chester Airport
11.8 mi
See all flights
481Reviews4Q+A62Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 152
  • 114
  • 69
  • 55
  • 91
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jaclyt wrote a review Feb 2022
Carlisle, United Kingdom119 contributions33 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Just got back from two night stay. I wasn’t expecting it to be fabulous but it was at a push, just ok. Room smelled strongly of damp, probably the shower curtain that rarely gets changed. The room was very tired, the bed was comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was included but it wasn’t great. I had a breakfast bap that was smothered in margarine and inedible because of this. Second morning the chef called in sick so continental breakfast only. I’m not blaming anyone for this as it’s out if their control. Also at breakfast they had hot water flasks for the tea, which were just warm when we went for breakfast (0830) so the tea didn’t brew so wasn’t good at all. Also had to keep asking for things we needed too. Could they not serve tea at the table with just boiled water?
I think management could make a few changes that would make a big difference. I think it would possibly put me off staying in their hotel again.

We didn’t eat at the restaurant or sit in the bar as it was very kids based and noisy so not for us.
However a few minutes walk away us a lovely local bar, a great Mexican and good Turkish restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Seemed to be plenty of free parking. Port sunlight tour was a must see. Local bar and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Thank you for the review . I would like to say am sorry we had no breakfast chef as they fell sick early hours in the morning so we didn't know until it was to late to bring someone in .. continental breakfast was provided and refunds made Saturday Morning. I will pass the feedback on to the team Many Thanks
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John Boy wrote a review Dec 2020
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I didn't stay in the hotel. Just drinks and food. Easy car parking just off the A41.Ten minutes from the Mersey Tunnel. The menu includes a seniors menu which is great value and allows a drink with a substantial meal at a really affordable price.get the app and order all from your table.simples.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Marketing at Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 20 Dec 2020
Loggerlloyd, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! If you ever need anything else from the team, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day! Thanks.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
William B wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were generally friendly (the first day there was a wedding reception and so the staff seemed to be more tired). Second day and third day they were friendly. One room had the wall under the sink damaged (likely kicked). There were also water marks and depressions from punches in the wall. Other room was better, though both showers were difficult to get a good temperature. However, overall for the price the hotel room was okay. The food as part of the hotel stay (optional extra) was nice, with the servers there being friendly. One of these servers, who mentioned her name, was Adene. Unfortunately a vent from a air conditioning unit was outside our rooms which meant that the noise was present in the rooms till late. The walls were also very thin, with the TV at a normal volume being audible from the other room even though it was on the other side of the room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2021
We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
D Llew wrote a review Mar 2020
17 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not stay in this hotel.
We arrived on Friday night at about 8 and nobody was on the reception, we rang the bell over and over for a good 20 minutes before somebody came.
Now don't get me wrong. The bed was ok. In fact I'd say the bed was nice and comfy. The room itself was ok. The bathroom had a hole in the ceiling and water was leaking through.
We thought we'd forgive this.
At about 1 in the morning on Friday some guys were chanting and screaming loudly outside our room.
We went for breakfast on Saturday and me and my Mrs paid £8 each for the all you can eat. The cooked part is not all you can eat. We got 1 sausage and 2 pieces of disgusting raw looking bacon. The continental part consisted of cereal and some croissants which were disgusting and like them 8 for £1 long life ones in Lidl.

On Saturday we stupidly had dinner in the hotel. My Mrs ordered scampi and peas, over an hour later the woman walks over to the table with scampi and beans. We ordered ice cream and fresh strawberries for my son. He got served cream with tinned fruit.

The staff at the front of house are pleasant enough but the bar staff are extremely rude. The place is severely dated and needs a deep clean and some decorating. I would not recommend this place to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WhitbreadHotels, Social Media Advisor at Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 23 Mar 2020
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I'm really sorry to hear that you were disappointed on this occasion due to the issues you experienced. I can appreciate how frustrating this would be for you, especially as you were pleased with the beds. Just to make you aware we have logged these comments and this will be passed onto the Hotel Management Team so this can be picked up internally and looked into moving forwards as we want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us. Our apologies again for your experience this time around, however I do hope that this hasn't put you off staying with us again in future and that we can welcome you back soon for a much more enjoyable stay. Kayleigh
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
001_Gabriela wrote a review Nov 2021
Jarrow, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been a resident at Royal Oak hotel - Bromborough since the end of the first Covid-19 lockdown except when the hotel was closed and are many good things to say about this hotel and the lovely and caring personnel.
Firstly, I haven’t caught Covid so far! This is due to the safe and clean environment created and maintained at Royal Oak and Hungry Horse restaurant.
Secondly, the room was thoroughly cleaned, and snow-white towels and good quality bed sheets regularly changed.
Not the last, from the top management to every single employee, everyone has been very friendly and professional. They make me feel very homely and safe.
I couldn’t choose a better hotel to stay.
Thank you, Mike, Leah, Jen, Heyley, Jan, Jow, Dave, Jade, Yvonne, Steph, Cheryl and Gemma for adopting me in your big and happy family!
I wish you all the very best,
Gabriela
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 18 Nov 2021
Thank you so much for this lovely review Gabriela. We miss you. Take care , and we hope to see you soon. Best wishes, Jen Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barney Brooks wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I cannot praise the gorgeous receptionist Leah enough. She saw me dabbing at a drinking chocolate stain on my top, and immediately offered to wash it, which she did. An hour later the freshly laundered top was presented to me in immaculate condition!
Leah's kindness will stay with me as a highlight of my stay, and I will have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again because of it.
Thank you Leah
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike E, General Manager at Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Hi Barneytygwyn, Than you for taking the time to leave us such a king review, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Leah and the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard F wrote a review Jan 2020
Mirfield, United Kingdom70 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stopped here on Wednesday and Thursday whilst working local , the hotel is spot on , slept great as rooms quiet and beds soo comfy , Jen was on reception and helped out with where to go and what worth seeing whilst here . Had breakfast and was really good and a meal at tea time all really nice and cooked well, came out of kitchen in a good time .. highly recommended 👍
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike E, General Manager at Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Hi Richard, Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us an we will pass your comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gazabean24 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
wow what a time to be alive in this place. Came for a few casual cognacs with a good friend off mine and im not sure where to begin here. Our waitress Erica was an absolute delight couldnt get a more polite and well mannered person. We ordered the food and drinks on the app and it was super quick and nothing was too much trouble for these guys. If I can give you dudes any piece of advice in my 24 years of living on this earth it would be to visit this grand old place it needs to be put on everyone's bucket list, thabkyou for taking the time to read this review and once again thankyou erica for your helpfulness during our visit 😁😁😁
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 4 Sept 2020
Garyleech17, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at our pub. Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to Erica and the rest of the team. Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day! Thanks.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lizzie wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I went with my dad and a few friends for the quiz night. Couldn’t fault any of the bar staff of floor staff. All very helpful and approachable. Food was piping hot and very large portion sizes. Will definitely be going back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Marketing at Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 24 Oct 2020
Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. We always strive to provide a top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at Royal Oak Bromborough - Hotel! ! Many thanks Mike and The Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terri wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I went to the Royal Oak today for lunch with my partner and children. The food arrived quickly and was hot,fresh and generous portions. The service was great the staff are very helpful and friendly. We left very full and happy as the bill was really cheap. I would definately recommend and will return
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Marketing at Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 24 Oct 2020
Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. We're glad to hear you had a great experience. regards Mike and The Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SarahH70 asked a question Dec 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom238 contributions186 helpful votes
Have the rooms been refurbished or refreshed since this location became a Greene King Inn last month?
Answer from YorkTraveller1962
York, United Kingdom413 contributions184 helpful votes
Go to the Dibbinsdale Hotel around the corner. A little more expensive but different class.
Answer from WhitbreadHotels
Luton2 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi Simon Thanks for your query. Breakfast is served from 8am-10am on Sundays at this hotel. The hotel team will be happy to advise of any nearby locations that may be open earlier for you. Regards Amy Premier Inn Team
Answer from Mike E
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Hi Jay, The Quickest and Cheapest way to get into Liverpool city centre from Bromborough is by train. Our Local train station is a 5 minute walk away (down a straight road so no getting lost!) and Liverpool James Street is the closest station to the Echo Arena. This costs around £4.80 for a return ticket. A taxi to Liverpool is between £15 - £20 depending on what taxi rank you use and where you get dropped off. We recommend out local Rank, Bromborough Cabs who use the number 0151 200 1000. They are very reliable and can be booked in advance. Thank you for your inquiry!
Answer from WhitbreadHotels
Luton2 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi kateJ3119YX Thanks for your question, If there’s a problem during your stay, just have a chat with a member of our friendly reception team and they’ll be happy to put things right. Regards Darren Brown Premier Inn team
dalym994 wrote a tip 16 May
Birkenhead, United Kingdom28 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book your breakfast with your room booking to save time and go for the Full Breakfast if you ant to set up your day in the best way"
Read full review
Inspire48627232573 wrote a tip Mar 2024
6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away"
Read full review
Debbie M wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Restaurant is quite busy on weekends, so book "
Read full review
anneSpain wrote a tip Feb 2024
Province of Almeria, Spain13 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Until more electrical sockets are provided you may need to use an extenstion lead in your hotel room, if you need anything alongside the bed"
Read full review
DM wrote a tip Feb 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you don’t want to sit and dine alone, you’re welcome to take your food back to your room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bromborough area.
PRICE RANGE
£48 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn wirral (bromborough) hotel bromborough, premier inn bromborough
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandMerseysideWirralBromborough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYAL OAK HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Oak Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Oak Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Odeon Cinema (0.6 miles), Brotherton Nature Park (0.5 miles), and The Croft Retail & Leisure Park (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Oak Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Oak Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Oak Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Oak Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Oak Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harvester, The Turkish Bbq Prev Med Kitchen Brom, and Piña Loca Bromborough.
Is Royal Oak Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 miles away from the centre of Bromborough.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Oak Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mendips - John Lennon Home (5.0 miles), Birkenhead Priory (4.2 miles), and Sefton Park (4.0 miles).
Is Royal Oak Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Bromborough HotelsBromborough Hotel DealsHotels near Royal Oak Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire