We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Morar Hotel

Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (11)


Recently taken over and substantially refurbished, one of Scotland's most historic hotels, the Morar Hotel is a friendly family-owned Edwardian mansion house on the romantic 'Road to the Isles', 3 miles from Mallaig, the Southern Gateway to the Isle of Skye. Commanding breathtaking views of the famous Silver Sands of Morar and the Inner Hebridean islands of Rum & Eigg, its panoramic views and comfortable accommodation have made it the perfect coastal escape for many years. Built in 1902, originally as the Station hotel, it is only metres from the train station. Now a modern character hotel with wifi and satellite TV and open to the public, it is only 50 minutes from Fort William by the new road, or an hour by scheduled train services or in the summer by the special Jacobite Steam Train, as featured in the Harry Potter films. The overnight service from London (Euston) leads to Morar Station opposite the hotel and car hire is available in Fort William or Morar.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
Great View
64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 64
  • 71
  • 46
  • 24
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
As others have said in need of TLC but it is due to close for three months after Hogmanay for refurbishment. Food was good although breakfast needed some slight improvement but as there was only one other guest this was excusable. Staff friendly and weather good. Matched
Read more
Response from AndrewW6648, Manager at The Morar Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
thank you for your comments. we look forward to seeing you later in 2019
Read more
We stayed here for a few days in June and it was the only hotel which had any rooms left at the time. We were very disappointed with the breakfast the coffee we ordered tasted and looked like brown coloured water non taste of coffee at all. I can honestly say this was the
Read more
Response from AndrewW6648, General Manager at The Morar Hotel
Responded 2 Jan 2019
Thank you for your comments, I note that your review coincides with stay last June, it was a shame that you did not bring the breakfast or coffee concerns to our attention before hand, as we could have assisted where required, We receive many positive comments regarding our breakfast, but take all comments on board to ensure we strive to meet patron satisfaction.
Read more
I came to the hotel because the next day we were off sea kayaking, they had good service there and for dinner we went to the pub while watching the World Cup! Then for breakfast there was a buffet set which had a good variety of breakfast such as baked beans, toast and cereal,
Read more
Response from AndrewW6648, Manager at The Morar Hotel
Responded 16 Dec 2018
Thank you for your comments. They have been relayed to the team. We do hope we have the pleasure of seeing you, in the near future.
Read more
This hotel served its purpose as a stopover en route to Isle of Skye but is nothing to write home about. The cramped room we stayed in could definitely use some TLC, the bathroom had mold, windows were drafty, and floors creaky. We could hear the wind howling through the
Read more
Response from AndrewW6648, General Manager at The Morar Hotel
Responded 9 Nov 2018
thank you for your comments
Read more
Circumstances found me stranded on the west coast of Scotland, and luck would have one room available at the old Morar Hotel, a few miles away from the harbor town of Mallah. Under new ownership, this gem of a place will be getting some love. However, in this travellers opinion
Read more
Response from AndrewW6648, General Manager at The Morar Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2018
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted the hotel, met your expectations. we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Westerly sunsets
View from Room 25 in the morning, low tide
View from Room 25 towards sunset
No I'm sorry only pets in the bar.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello Thank you for your enquiry. No sorry the hotel closes over winter each year. Your best chance would be West Highland Hotel or Moorings in Mallaig perhaps. With thanks
0 votes
No sorry it is closed over January.
0 votes
Show all answers
Indeed there is new management but Scottish/English it doesn't matter you will get a warm welcome. The last owner had Spanish managers, great for the many foreign tours which come by year after year.
0 votes
Show all answers
Good morning, yes the menus have Gluten Free and Vegetarian options from our suppliers.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Overlook sea"
"It's not a bit of use having a lovely sea view if the shelves are out of true and the doors creak and the shower leaks!"
"Family rooms awful view = no view."
"Unable to do so."
"sea view ... a must"
US$99 - US$278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomScotlandLochaberMallaigMorar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing