We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (476)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (51)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Lowest Price When You Book Direct! CLICK HERE to view
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Hellaby
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Hotel links
Special Offer:Lowest Price When You Book Direct! CLICK HERE to view
1,067Review12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 538
  • 241
  • 133
  • 85
  • 70
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Flyer22666331837 wrote a review 9 Apr
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
We booked the girls night in as a friend and I meet every year. We have been here before and we weren't disappointed! Staff were exceptionally helpful, friendly and polite. There was an issue at the spa which was resolved quickly and efficiently. A special thank you to the ladies there, they were brilliant. Food was delicious, we had lunch, dinner and breakfast and it was all super tasty. We will be back, thank you for a very relaxing and special stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Take flip flops, it can be slippy around the pool.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sarah-louise33379 wrote a review Feb 2024
Doncaster, United Kingdom11 contributions18 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
All the staff was lovely. The spa team was friendly and welcoming..the relaxation room was a lovely touch. The room was lovely. Easy check in. Food was so nice and tasty. Would stay again and recommend. The bar area was nice and cosy.. All the staff was friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Hewitt, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Responded 3 Mar 2024
Dear sarah-louise33379, Thank you for leaving a 5* review online following your recent visit to Hellaby Hall Hotel. From reading your review it would appear you have enjoyed all the hotels facilities during your stay, and we thank you for your kind words. I will ensure this is passed on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Wishes, Jason Hewitt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Craig P wrote a review 5 Apr
3 contributions3 helpful votes
When I work away I always book a hotel with a gym. I find it relaxing and helps unwind. Sadly the gym is appauling. It’s falling to bits and looks like it needs significant investment. As a director of HSEA I would also question how the facility passes numerous regulations. Think I will avoid this place in the future until there are changes. Sadly the pictures on the website do not represent reality
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Hewitt, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 06436WXcraigp, Thank you for leaving your feedback online for us to review following your stay with us. It is a shame you chose not to speak to any of the management team here during your stay, as if you had we would of been able to have updated you on the various areas we are investing in within the leisure facilities. I would disagree with your comments that it is 'falling to bits'. The images shown on our website are indeed accurate, with the exception of the new pieces of equipment that have recently been added such as the 2 x HiiT Skier's and the bottom section has been fully redecorated recently to match the colours in with the CV equipment section. Best Wishes, Jason Hewitt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Peekaboo wrote a review Mar 2024
Rotherham, United Kingdom13 contributions17 helpful votes
Booked a leisurely stay here recently, Hellaby hall has always looked like a prestigious 4 star from the outside The reception was quite grand and the staff welcoming Then we got to the room, apparantly a 4 star family room The beds were that close they may as-well have been together as a huge bed No vanity mirror in the bathroom or any other move able mirror No full length dress mirror Lights either flickering or not working at all No air con so we opened a window which lead to a busy reception areas where people smoked No fridge in the room Smart tv with only a co ox connection so no tv channels, we took a fire stick and the wifi was that poor nothing would work, we asked reception how we pay for the premium wifi to be met with there isn’t any it doesn’t work. No phone signal to go 4g hotspot either I was highly disappointed The entire room was dirty and had cobwebs strung about Looked like the last time it had seen a sister was mid 1800s
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The grounds it’s self look lovely but the rooms are so out dated and left to rot
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Hewitt, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear peekaboo666, Thank you for leaving a review online following your recent visit to Hellaby Hall Hotel. All of our bathrooms have mirrors in them as standard and the bedrooms themselves have a mirror above the desk. In terms of the fridge and air con, we don't advertise any of our rooms to have these. All of the room facilities and contents are listed for guest to read prior to staying with us. The tv coax connection is for the aerial which as all the usual Freeview TV channels along with TNT sports 1,2 & 3. Had this not bene working a duty manager could of rectified the issue had you made us aware. This also goes for the other issues you have mentioned regarding lights and cleanliness. We would have welcomed your feedback during your stay to give us the opportunity to rectify and help resolve any issues. Best Wishes, Jason Hewitt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sam wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
Having been at this Gym on and off over the last 10 years, the only thing that’s changed is 4 machines and a paint job! Having relocated back to SY in the last few years I’m at my limit with how long I can last at this gym. If it’s not the sauna, spa pool or steam room breaking, it’s the one of the numerous outdated weight machines breaking (in which one of the cable machines caused injury to myself in the past). The changing room is another complete story, they’re a laughing stock! Arrived one day and there’s plenty of lockers, a couple days later 5 lockers to choose from. Go again a week later 0 lockers available, and now have to pay to get a locker. Where is my £70 a month membership going? Lee has done and continues to do a fantastic job with what he’s given. The owners should be ashamed. Pumped all their money into creating a Spa but not maintaining or updating the Gym & Pool. It was going outdated 10 years ago and now it’s MILES behind the other gyms
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Hewitt, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 123SOS95, Thank you for your review of the Leisure Club facilities. However they are some inaccuracies to your review especially around the investment side of things. Since 2016 after being purchased in a state of disrepair, the club has received quite a lot of investment which you appear to have overlooked or chosen not to highlight in your review. A list of this investment is below: - Men's & Ladies Changing room lockers (see further comments below) - Poolside re tiled - Reception refurbished with a new desk and furniture, then the flooring done during lockdown - All entrance hallways tiled - Complete overhaul of the CV kit with new Precor equipment purchased including treadmills, bikes, and cross trainers - CV area flooring completely re done - A section in the Ladies showers replaced - Men's showers and flooring replaced - New workout benches - New Smiths machine - New wall mounted pull up bars - Constant checks on the machine attachments and new ones purchased as and when required - 2 x new Technogym leg resistance machines We are aware the current situation of the lockers isn't perfect or ideal which is why we have invested a significant amount in purchasing new ones, which has been communicated to our members and we are awaiting the manufacture of them. The current system is purely a temporary one to enable members to use the lockers whilst we await the new ones to be installed. We are also planning further investment into the club, which over the coming weeks will be announced via our social media platforms. However a list of these is below: - Decorator currently working over the weekend evenings to paint the lower section of the gym to freshen it up - New flooring currently being finalised for the lower section - New Ab Crunch machine on order - A new Glute Machine is on order which will be a new addition to the club - 2 x Primal HiiT ski machines are on order and expected to be delivered next week. Again these are a new addition to the club - Pool cover has been ordered to aid heat retention on the pool - The studio floor is scheduled to be sanded and renewed on the 9th April As well as all this I am liaising with the Leisure Manger to prioritise what other pieces of equipment need replacing. In regards to the safety of the machines, these are checked regularly to ensure they are safe for use. Any that aren't, are repaired appropriately with the correct parts and engineers before being put back into use. In regards to membership pricing, we actually lowered the membership price when the club was purchased and we have held off any price increase apart from the one we put in place 18 months ago, which again we kept minimal. As a business we try not to increase our pricing and offer a good value membership compared to other local gyms, unless other factors mean we have to sometimes consider price changes. It is also worth noting despite all the previous and planned investment the membership price is still currently lower than what it was when the venue was purchased. I apologise the response is a lengthy one, however it is important to highlight the high level of investment the club has and continues to receive contrary to your review/opinion. Best Wishes, Jason Hewitt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Suzanne C wrote a review Mar 2024
Peterborough, United Kingdom14 contributions20 helpful votes
Just had a one night stay here. The staff were very pleasant and a credit to the hotel. The room was large and had everything we wanted including tea and coffee with biscuits which were yummy. We ate off the bar menu and really enjoyed the food but it would have been better if when the food was delivered the cutlery came too as we had to sit and look at it at each course while the waitress went off to fetch some which did seem to take a while. A bit inefficient for the server to have to keep making extra trips. Once the bar staff finished there was an on call night porter who we contacted by a phone left in the bar to serve drinks and this system worked well. We would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Hewitt, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 10suzannef, Thank you for leaving your feedback online for us to review following your recent visit to Hellaby Hall Hotel. We are pleased you found the room and facilities to your needs and the staff pleasant. Usually cutlery is given on point of order to ensure guests can enjoy their meal once served, and I apologise it wasn't on this occasion. I have passed this feedback onto our Food & Beverage Manager so that it can be addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Best Wishes, Jason Hewitt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Viv W wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had a very comfortable one night stay at The Hellaby Hall in Rotherham. The staff are very friendly & helpful. We stayed in a standard double room and found it to be very spacious & exceptionally clean. The bed & pillows were comfortable, and little extras (tea/coffee, biscuits, toiletries, iron/board, hair dryer) all added to an enjoyable stay. Breakfast was tasty with a good selection. We will return. Thank you B & V
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Hewitt, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear vivw264, Thank you for leaving a 5* review following your recent visit to Hellaby Hall Hotel. We are pleased to ready you had a comfortable nights stay with us, followed by a tasty breakfast! I will pass your feedback on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Wishes, Jason Hewitt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AngeldaisyLimerick wrote a review Mar 2024
Limerick39 contributions25 helpful votes
It's a lovely hotel, although if I had paid more for the room I would have been disappointed. Lack of attention to detail was the main issue- so bath salts rather than shower gel in a bathroom with only a shower. Teas / coffees etc were not restocked. I didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on that. It has a lovely feel to the hotel and all the staff I interacted with were really friendly. I think the newer rooms really could do with an update, it felt like a room with a few bits of furniture shoved in it rather than a cohesive layout.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Hewitt, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear AngeldasiyLimerick, Thank for leaving feedback online for us to review following your recent visit to Hellaby Hall Hotel. We apologise for the oversight on the bath salts, these were placed in the room in error and this has been fed back to our Housekeeping Manager. We are currently reviewing some of the soft furnishings in the room, so we will look at the room you stayed in regarding your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Wishes, Jason Hewitt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ShelleyD wrote a review Mar 2024
29 contributions13 helpful votes
Dear Jason In response to your feed back. I was not told the pots of flowers were for us to take home that were on the table we thought they were just for decoration so we did not take them with us. This is a shame especially for my elderly mother who attended. There were 2 waitresses and a manager and this was never pointed out to us.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Hewitt, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear B7424WHmichelled, Thank you for your further feedback, which is somewhat contradictory to your original feedback. In your initial review you stated there were no flowers on the table, however on this one states you weren't aware there were to be taken. Best Wishes, Jason Hewitt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ray D wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
Mothers Day Weekend Afternoon Tea. On my first impressions walking in As it was a special event I felt more effert should have been done to dress up the dining area such as some balloons or flowers something to celebrate it. The cream tea was fresh and tasty we loved the warm scones and sausage roll a big plus however we felt there were not enough sandwiches . My Granddaughter had her own Cream Tea stand which was lovely however we were disappointed that she was not given her own drink with it and we had to buy her one from the bar. I think her own jug of squash to her liking should have be included with the price. They did not provide a box so we could take any cakes that were left home with us these extra's mean so much to the quality and service. I received a phone call before the day and was asked how many Mothers were attending so I guess I was expecting a little treat for each Mother. However there was nothing given or any treat. This is a special day for Mothers I think a little chocolate or a glass of bubbly for each mother would have made it special we were very disappointed that the extra mile the little extras were not done.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Hewitt, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Responded 10 Mar 2024
Dear raydV6335ZW, Thank you for leaving a review online for us to review. It is however disappointing you didn't speak to any of the managers on duty for the Mothers Day dining to highlight any concerns and help us to resolve them for you. I have spoken to one of the managers that were on duty for the afternoon tea service. Our afternoon teas include tea or coffee, and in place of this we also offer squash or fruit juice, which they have confirmed was offered, however a drink from the bar was the preferred option which is why it was chargeable. The phone call to ascertain how many mums were attending, was to offer a complimentary gift to the mums. This was the potted flowers sat on the table as decoration and for the mums to then take with them to plant at home as a reminder of their meal with family, which I believe they were taken with you? We only advertise a gift for mums on our Sunday Lunch offering, however we also provided this for anyone on Afternoon Tea today to ensue no mums and mother figures were left out. I can only apologise if you weren't happy with the complimentary gift. Unfortunately, due to the afternoon teas containing fresh cream, other dairy elements, and meat products we don't allow them to be taken away for food safety concerns, however we will take the feedback on board and see if anything can be done for any future dining. Thank you for your kind feedback regarding the food, I will ensure this is passed on to our kitchen team. In regards to the sandwiches, we provide 4 finger sandwiches per person, along with the savoury and sweet elements of the tea. Additional sandwiches can be purchased or sides from our bar menu to compliment the teas, and can be ordered from our team. I do hope that this has not deterred you from visiting Hellaby Hall Hotel again in the future and we look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future. Best Wishes, Jason Hewitt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hellaby area.
PRICE RANGE
£73 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hellaby hall rotherham, hotel hellaby hall
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hellaby Hall Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireSouth YorkshireRotherhamHellaby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
89
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HELLABY HALL HOTEL, BW SIGNATURE COLLECTION - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Nearby attractions include Tickhill Alpacas (4.4 miles), Cutlers' Arms (4.9 miles), and Clifton Park (4.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Garrison Wickersley, Tweed at Wadworth, and Goodfellas Italian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Hellaby.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hellaby Hall Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Roche Abbey (1.5 miles).