The Royal Oak Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Royal Oak Hotel

Traveller (72)
Lovely Scampi and Curly fries with salad.
Dining (22)
View from Room (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 3 small hotels in Cullen
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to VisitScotland standards.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

34 Castle Terrace, Cullen AB56 4SD Scotland
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 65 out of 100
65
Inverness Airport
46.3 mi
See all flights
Dyce Airport
41.1 mi
See all flights
260Reviews2Q+A29Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 161
  • 48
  • 23
  • 17
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Keven wrote a review Aug 2020
Hamilton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a bit nervous staying away for our first time since lockdown began, but upon arrival the receptionist gave us a very warm welcome and without prompting explained what measures the hotel had put in place given the current global pandemic - they really had thought of everything. We have never met such a lovely, pleasant and genuine receptionist before who really did want to make you feel welcome. This immediately put us at ease and after being shown to our room we could start to enjoy our long weekend staying at the hotel.

Our room had an amazing view, had everything you could need, was very clean and was made up fresh each day. The Wi-Fi signal in the room was always very strong. Nice touches were the bottles of Speyside Glenlivet water and shortbread every day and the use of The Scottish Fine Soaps Company sea kelp products in the bathroom.

The view from the room was lovely to come back to after being out each day and the beach was only a short walk from the hotel.

We had breakfast every morning in the hotel and worked our way through the different options enjoying them all. We had dinner in the hotel 2 of the evenings and each had Cullen Skink both nights as it was delicious. It was nice to be able to eat out again after so long in a safe and friendly atmosphere enjoying a complimentary bottle of wine one evening for booking direct.

I would have liked to have seen Speyside Brewery in the bar though especially as one of their ales is “Bow Fiddle”. Although I can recommend The Orkney Brewery’s “Northern Light”.

Every member of staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and customer service came naturally. You really felt like a guest rather than a customer. We were looked after very well by everyone we encountered during our stay and didn’t want to leave. So much so we extended our stay an extra night which says it all. Hope to see you all again next summer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Caroline Ronald, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for your positive review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. Cullen is such a great location to visit. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aidancameron wrote a review Jul 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We as a family of 7 have eaten here before but what I didn't know was there is a notice up saying High Teas. Once I red it I thought good God that can't be right £23-93 so we pulled up in the car and i went in to ask if I could book 7 high teas unfortunately the waitress asked someone from the back and there was a definite no.
I take it it was due to a limited menu during coronavirus but in such a small village I would have thought noone would turn away such revenue.
I asked waitress to give me a menu away so family could see it.
Ended up buying 7 portions of salmon &veg new potatoes strawberries icecream£32 and the family devoured everything that was from DOWNIES AT WHITEHILL where the fish is absolutely divine.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Caroline Ronald, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Hi can I just you this review is for the Royal Oak Hotel in Cullen, as we have no signs up displaying High Tea Prices?
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
May P wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cannot recommend highly enough. The food at both breakfast and dinner, was extremely fresh and cooked to perfection. The staff were all genuinely friendly and helpful, without ever being intrusive. The room was quiet and tastefully decorated, and the shower was super powerful. I also loved the shampoo/shower gel, really good quality. There is not a bad word could honestly be said about this hotel. Thanks to Caroline, Maxine, and Brenda in particular. Great job ladies!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Caroline Ronald, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Good Afternoon, I am so delighted we exceeded your expectations!! Thank you for taking the time to leave this 5 star review, it means so much to myself and the team. We have been working so hard to improve the hotel during the last lockdown and I am so glad that you like the improvements.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
annemack001 wrote a review Mar 2020
Inverurie, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were staying in a self catering cottage in seatown and ate at the Royal. We were very impressed the food was well cooked, hot, large portions and well presented. The cost was very reasonable and service is really attentive. We returned the following evening for pudding, after eating somewhere else. We have to say that the welcome and friendliness of the staff was lovely, hence our return. We were even given some ice to take back to our cottage. We would highly recommend and would return, definitely best place to eat in Cullen,
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Caroline Ronald, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Wow, what a fantastic review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this. We are delighted to hear you had such a great experience, so much that you returned again. I will pass this on to all the staff. And we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Modre05 wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ll condense this, because those who know, know.
The Royal Oak catered to our every need during the weekend 29-30-31/08/2022.
From start to finish, we (a large group) were looked after impeccably, whilst staff were still serving regular customers.
Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotless & the showers fantastic. The food was tremendous, huge portions, too.
We have dined at the premises in the past & were always impressed with Brenda, who takes the time to visit every table to make sure all is ok without intruding.
This time, she surpassed herself. All of our party commented on how tight a ship she runs & how customer service is her forte. It is refreshing to see her influence & guidance reflected in the attitude & confidence in the younger staff members.
Times in the hospitality industry are hard right now & there is stiff competition in this beautiful part of the world however this establishment is right up there. Would 100% recommend.
Our teenagers have since developed the mantra ‘Be more Brenda’.
This wasn’t condensed after all, was it….!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Caroline Ronald, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 12 Aug 2022
Thank you so much Modre05 for your wonderful review. I'm delighted to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed the meals you had in our restaurant. Brenda is a huge asset to the hotel and we are so lucky to have her on board. I will be sure to show Brenda this review as I know she will be over the moon with your teenagers comments. I do hope we can welcome you back to The Royal Oak in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel H wrote a review Jun 2023
Florence, Oregon
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are an older couple from the USA driving through Scotland for our first outing in 5 years. The hotel stay was quiet, clean, and the included full breakfast was great. In addition, we wish to thank the manager, chef, and staff for their help in alleviating our anxieties when our rental car rear window shattered (through no fault of the hotel) that evening. We were stressing very nicely, but the staff, even though busy, were so compassionate and helpful. They helped us connect with the rental agency through the use of their phone to avoid international fees on our phone. The chef came out with plastic bags and tape to seal up the rear window. The manager made a special visit in from home as it was in the evening and offered things from the kitchen. The rental agency told us not to drive the car until AA arrived sometime the next day. The hotel staff reassured us that if we needed the room for our luggage and comfort, we could stay as long as needed and that they would not let the room out until we were taken care of and on our way. Thank you again for your compassion and help! I would definitely stay here again if ever we are back in town.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Caroline Ronald, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 13 Jun 2023
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so sorry that you experienced the issues with your car. We were more than happy to help you. We hope that you had a safe journey home and enjoyed your trip to Scotland. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Kind regards Caroline
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lise Sharkey wrote a review May 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Yesterday we had lunch at the Royal Oak (to celebrate our house offer being accepted!) The place is spotless, nicely decorated, and the food and service were excellent... Made my day... Thank you!! (Reasonable prices too) Loved the 'skink'...wish it were sold in small take-out containers, Im sure it would sell quickly - tasted even better than New England clam chowder
Side salad was lovely, fresh with nice dressing, coffee pretty good too
Nice young man serving
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Caroline Ronald, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 7 May 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch and especially our Cullen Skink!! Which we do sell to takeaway also (so you know for next time) We have spent the last 4 months refurbishing the hotel, so glad you like it. I will tell Jamie he got a mention too. Good luck with the house purchase and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Spinks wrote a review Jan 2023
Cambridge, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stumbled across the Royal Oak by accident and what a happy one that was. Coming to Scotland early in January we soon realised a lot of places were shut.

We booked into the Royal Oak for dinner with our dog and we were made to feel really welcome, on arrival the young lad behind the bar pointed out our table and had already put a bowl of water down for our dog. She was then given a biscuit and we were asked if we wanted to see the doggy menu.

The food we had was lovely and the service was great. We returned here twice more during our stay nearby, once for Sunday lunch and another evening. On each visit the service was fabulous and the food lovely. Large portions, well cooked.

It was great on our last visit to hear the young lad doing a hand over with a newer member of staff and hearing what he thought made a good service provider - if she listens to his handover she'll do well.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Caroline Ronald, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2023
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
April S wrote a review Jul 2021
Paisley, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Room very noisy as hotel at the main road. No air conditioning or fans so had to open a window so very noisy. Room very small and shower cubicle was tiny so struggled. As rooms so small the heat had nowhere to go so should be OK in winter. Food in hotel restaurant not great as very overpriced deep fried pub grub. However breakfast with the room was nice and a good selection.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If in summer take a fan & if a light sleeper give it a miss. Very noisy as on main road even...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Caroline Ronald, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 23 Jul 2021
Dear aprils213, I do apologise that you were very warm in your room. Unfortunately we do not have aircon in the bedrooms as we do not generally experience this hot weather. We could have provided a fan if you had requested. The shower is a standard size. We have an extensive menu including local langoustine, scallops, salads, home made burgers, steaks, steak pie non of which are deep fried. Delighted that you enjoyed breakfast. We do have larger bedrooms if you do come back to visit again please let us know and we will be happy to accommodate.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy wrote a review Nov 2020
Elgin, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited today, Sunday Lunch, and my daughter was served a chicken burger costing £14. A couple of bites revealed an unseasoned burger that felt like it had been microwaved. On approaching a member of staff we were told that our drinks would be free but we must pay for the burger because she had eaten some of it. Quite how she was supposed to know how poor the burger was without tasting it was beyond our comprehension. Our recommendation is to avoid this place but if you must go then don’t have a chicken burger.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Caroline Ronald, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2020
We are so disappointed and surprised by your review. I think your title of SHOCKING MEAL AND POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE is such an exaggeration. Our Chicken Burger is made with a Supreme of Chicken, which we butterfly, and is cooked to order and certainly does not go in the microwave. Once you had received your meal our Waiting staff checked if everything was in order, to which you replied yes. Had you made us aware then or at any time before paying your bill, we could of given you an alternative if you where genuinely not happy with your meal. But you only complained once you where given your bill, which is really too late for us to rectify, and given the fact you had eaten 95% of the Chicken Burger it cannot have been that bad. I hope you enjoyed the free drinks, and I am glad you enjoyed your own meal. Hopefully you will come again if your in the area, and I am sure you won't be disappointed next time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Mike S
24 contributions4 helpful votes
Dogs are not allowed in the restaurant so should be OK in there for you. Mike.
JimCatriona wrote a tip Apr 2024
Clydebank, United Kingdom61 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book the restaurant for eveing meal in the hotel as it gets busy."
Read full review
John K wrote a tip Feb 2024
Elgin, United Kingdom11 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"For similar prices go up the road half a mile to the Seafield Arms - very nice."
Read full review
Sinky D wrote a tip Jan 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a small car park out the front. There is a bus stop just a few minutes walk."
Read full review
fiona s wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Booking advised "
Read full review
23SnapHappy wrote a tip Aug 2023
Buckie, United Kingdom148 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Small car park and road parking. Beer Garden. Dog friendly. Short walk from the beach."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cullen area.
PRICE RANGE
£130 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandMorayCullen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ROYAL OAK HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Oak Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal Oak Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cullen Beach (0.2 miles), Cullen Pet Cemetery, Cullen (0.4 miles), and Intricate Designs (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal Oak Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal Oak Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Royal Oak Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal Oak Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rockpool Cafe, The Ice Cream Shop, and Lily's Kitchen.
Is The Royal Oak Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Cullen.
Are pets allowed at The Royal Oak Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal Oak Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castle Hill (0.2 miles) and Old Market Cross (0.4 miles).
All Cullen HotelsCullen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CullenHotels near The Royal Oak Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire