The Derby Arms
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Derby Arms

Horse close lane Grange-over-Sands, Witherslack LA11 6RH England
Traveller (106)
Dining (22)
-
Room & Suite (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 inn in Witherslack
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Derby Arms is situated in the Lake District National Park. Only a 10 minute drive from the M6. Conveniently located off the A590. Within easy reach of Windermere, Kendal and nearby fells and all else that the Lake District has to offer. This former coaching inn, dating back to the 17th century, is full of character and charm. Serving good, hearty food and unique local ales. The property is currently in the process of being sympathetically restored. The six well appointed en-suite rooms are perfect for a special break in the Cumbrian countryside. The Derby Arms is part of the Witherslack Estate, where you will find Halecat House and Gardens nearby in the village. Superfast B4RN Wi-Fi Is available free.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Mid-range
542Reviews1Q+A83Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 263
  • 157
  • 60
  • 27
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
VVA wrote a review Feb 2020
Durham59 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Derby Arms for two nights on their "winter warmer" promotion. Room 1 was spacious and had an open plan bathroom with a roll top bath. The only minor comment was some marks on the carpet. Continental breakfast is provided during the week which consisted of cereals, ham, cheese, bread, yoghurts, tea and coffee. Bar meals are home made and use local produce. The burger was excellent, with a wide range of toppings, I went for bacon, mushroom and Blacksticks blue cheese. There is a wide range of well kept, local real ale available on draft, with beers from Keswick, Fell and other Cumbrian breweries.
The Derby Arms is in a great location to explore the Lake District. There is a community run shop next door if you need any provisions. In summary a great local pub with nice rooms, good quality home made bar meals and friendly, welcoming staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: There are two rooms at the back of the pub with roll top baths. These rooms are quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Happy-Traveller wrote a review Jul 2020
United Kingdom66 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 1 night. Booked a table for evening dinner, food was great. Staff were very friendly and the place had an overall good atmosphere. Dog friendly which was the reason we booked here and glad we did. Room was nice and good size. Breakfast in the morning was lovely. Staff here are doing alot to make everyone as happy and comfortable as they can with Covid restrictions by socially distancing tables, one way walk systems, disinfecting areas when people leave and hand sanitizer stations. Definitely recommend a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FellowTraveler375475 wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really lovely traditional Inn, quaint rooms in keeping with the Inns style, elegantly decorated with modern bathroom housing a fantastic rainfall shower and high end toiletries. Comfy bed and good facilities in rooms. We ate in the bar during our stay, can recommend the food with large portions and entertainment that evening was a great band. The breakfast is massive, high quality local ingredients. Wish we were staying longer and look forward to a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mthomp236845 wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have only good things to say about the staff at the hotel (especially the manager), however, it’s fair to say ours wasn’t the best of stays. We had deliberately booked a room with a roll top bath for bathing our 10 month old, but when we arrived we received a room with a shower only (this appears to be Booking.com’s mistake to be fair). On top of this we had no cold water in the bathroom meaning only red hot showers, and to cap it off there was a fault with the cot so it wouldn’t stay securely fastened. Could be a great little spot if the owner was prepared to spend some money!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacqueline B wrote a review Sept 2020
Macclesfield, United Kingdom8 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Lunch. Very rude curt chubby women who clearly enjoy the control they now have over telling you where to sit, where not to stand, wear your face mask. No pleasantries such as “Welcome” No smile or niceties just tell me what you want, eat and drink, pay well over the odds and get out!! An extremely unpleasant experience. Food over priced and extremely average to poor. Both doors open so pub was freezing on a very pleasant day yesterday. Today we went to The Swan at Newby Bridge which was a 1000x better and same price, 1000x better service and 1000x more pleasant staff!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from jamie king, General Manager at The Derby Arms
Responded 18 Oct 2020
Hi Jacqueline I'm so sorry for your unfortunate visit to our lovely pub, however I do not condone the insults that you have posted on here to say my staff are "chubby" is extremely disrispectfull I hope you have though about your responses and taken note not to insult people about there looks, I'm sure the o we priced food and drink at the swan will be more to your liking as you will not be welcome in our pub again unless you change your attitude towards my staff members. Many thanks Jamie king General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
danielleO6123OU wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I had a great time at The Derby Arms- the room was perfectly clean and we stayed there to visit the Lakes District area for 5 days. We ate in the pub 3 nights we were there just because the food was so good and well priced, and the pub seemed to be very popular with local residents as well (although it was never too noisy!) We loved the bathtub and the community shop right next door. Thank you!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanessa wrote a review Oct 2020
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom4,100 contributions1,422 helpful vote
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this at short notice to finish a week's holiday.
I thought it was good value at £65 for bed and breakfast.
We checked in and we had Room 3, which has a great size iron bed, lovely furniture and a double shower. The room overlooks the lane at the front. It also has a large opening sash window which was good.
We sat in one of the small rooms to begin with and had table service. We asked if we could move into the main bar area and this was no problem and a table was cleaned for us.
We ordered dinner which was Chicken Supreme £12.95. A small fish and chips £8.95 a bottle of Malbec £22.00 and a cask ale £2.30.
The food was really nice. Service was a little slow, but it was really busy inside and out. Everybody having table service makes it more difficult, but the staff were all friendly.

A great night's sleep and woke up the birds tweeting.
Breakfast was really good, self service for drinks, cereal and lovely fresh bread to toast. We then had a full English which was good.
Overall, a great stay and we would definitely stay again.
The only thing I would say is we don't like dogs and the hotel is 'dog friendly', so having breakfast with two huge greyhounds and another dog sat at a table eating off the owners plate was a bit disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gingey19 wrote a review Nov 2021
Derby, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my girlfriend came for two nights, the food was excellent, the breakfast baps are so tasty! The staff are very welcoming and friendly, easy to chat too.

Good location to get to different parts of the Lake District.

One bit of feedback is that in our booking we were told that breakfast was included in the final booking price, but instead we had to pay for it both mornings.

Overall would stay again and would recommend to friends and family looking to visit the Lake District!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stewart h wrote a review Feb 2022
Eastleigh, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this as an overnight as we headed back home from Scotland.
When we arrived we were asked where we were eating, a strange question but we said we assumed we would eat here?
The girl behind the bar said that they did not do food on a monday or Tuesday, none of which was mentioned on booking.com.
She then brought a list of alternative places to eat jotted down on a piece of paper. We rang a few of these and eventually got booked in at a pub with great food that involved a 16 mile round trip!
On our return, we went to the bat and ordered a drink approx 8.40pm. We were then informed that this would be our last drink as they closed at 9pm.
I can't remember being sent to my room as a paying guest in any hotel, we were not even offered a drink to take to the room although it was fairly obvious other pub customers were being offered another drink.
Tge room and breakfast were good, but the rest was shambolic to say tge least.
I would not recomend it as a hotel, but if you were passing and fancied a nice breakfast then the full English is very good.
I would never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
572graham wrote a review Sept 2020
Newtown, United Kingdom9 contributions11 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The place was shabby and carpets dirty, nasty smell of toilets downstairs. Told there had been a problem with plumming hot water coming out of cold tap and if it was still happening they would provide us with bottled water. I was still happening scalding water coming from cold tap informed a member of staff but nothing was done. Brushing teeth with hot water not nice. Room was comfortable but very old brown furniture. Carpet dirty. Breakfast not too bad but evening meal was poor. Self service breakfast for drinks and toast and cerials cooked breakfast was available but decided not to chance. Staff made us feel we were a trouble
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Casey B
Nottingham, United Kingdom269 contributions75 helpful votes
not sure. why don't you ring them?
baysie13 wrote a tip Jan 2024
28 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking available Beer garden"
Read full review
lisa d wrote a tip Nov 2023
11 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just 10 to 15 mins from Lakeside. There is 2 new walks at Lakeside. Really good. "
Read full review
Thiosux wrote a tip Nov 2022
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom72 contributions69 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Okay for a drink, but, based upon our experience, probably best to avoid the food"
Read full review
jonlinda1968 wrote a tip Oct 2021
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom8 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very busy pub, best to book to avoid disappointment"
Read full review
sevans491469 wrote a tip Mar 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Provide a waste bin for the main room ,room 3 and a tv on which I could access subtitles ( I’m a bit deaf)........it wasn’t working."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Witherslack area.
PRICE RANGE
£88 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the derby arms hotel witherslack
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictWitherslack
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DERBY ARMS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Derby Arms
Which popular attractions are close to The Derby Arms?
Nearby attractions include Predator Experience (3.0 miles), Cartmel Priory (4.6 miles), and Levens Hall (3.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Derby Arms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Derby Arms?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Derby Arms?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Derby Arms?
Conveniently located restaurants include No.3 Curry House, Hare &Hounds, and L'Enclume.
Is The Derby Arms located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Witherslack.
Are pets allowed at The Derby Arms?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Derby Arms?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Levens Hall (3.5 miles), Sizergh Castle (4.7 miles), and Hampsfell Hospice (3.4 miles).
All Witherslack HotelsWitherslack Hotel DealsHotels near The Derby Arms
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire