We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Traveller's Home

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Traveller\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Bomoseen, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Traveller's Home is a very reasonably priced guest home. The rooms were very clean and had good working wifi, A/C and hot showers. The staff is very friendly. We booked our safari tour with them to Yala and were not disappointed. When you arrive at Yala there are over 50 jeeps and it was a little overwhelming, but you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naxcel
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear guest. thanks your review we are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay. and you see lots of animal with leopard. and i am sorry about mosquito you mention about. when get dark in the evening you will find them in south of sri lanka it not because of rice fields any way thanks you sharing you experience... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Please don't make the same mistake I did and confuse this great stay with travellers inn who are bad!!! The guy that runs this place is a lovely man and has rooms to suit all budgets. The lovely lady's that cook in the restaurant made us the best food we have had in Sri Lanka so far and a pot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimberley H
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

thanks dear guest. your explain about city taut that they mistake you as travellershome and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. thanks for choosing us and live so good review on T.adviser. and best regards from Ebert and Kumari cook good food for you. so hope to see you again with best regards to you and... More 

1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2016

we had an very warm welcome with an cold drink. The room was luxery with a thick matras we hadden't had before in sri lanka. The food was exellent. We had an great safari experience with an very good guide- with the focus on the lepard. Thank you for an great time

Helpful?
Thank Jochem B
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear guest. you make our day with your great review and we are happy that you had a great safari and you had great time in my hotel. so we hope to see you back again soon. and thank you again with best regards. from travellershome team. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Great stay, cheap room for me alone with shared bathroom. Cold shower, which is okay due to the hot weather. Other facilities were good. Nice restaurant on first floor with view on rice fields. Food and drinks were good. I would advise to book your safari with this hotel as the quality was good and you can get a better... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jorine V
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear Mr. thanks your great review to T.adviser.and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. hope you are doing well. and hope to see you again. with warm regards from the owner. Ebert. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed with Travellers home for 2 nights, including a Yala NP tour. The rooms are a bit basic but good value for money. The owner can give you a hard bargain, haha! We booked our Yala tour here for 10.000 Rp, for 2 persons including everything (breakfast, transport, entrance fee, no tips) in a luxury jeep. We had a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jorne V
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear guest. thanks you for Sharing your experience to the T.adviser. and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and live comment . hope to see you agin. with warm regards. owner. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

The room was very spacious and clean, nice bathroom, towels and soap. Internet worked fine and there was a mozzy net and a comfy bed. I've paid a lot more elsewhere. The guesthouse has a restaurant upstairs, quite nice actually, maybe a little overpriced. The family and owner were extremely helpful and friendly. The safari however, you get what you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Myles S
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear. glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Travellershome. and live good review to trip adviser. hope you doing well. thanks. with best regards. Ebert. More 

1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We found travellers home in the lonely planet and decided to stay here for 1 night to visit yala national park. At our arrival we were pleasantly surprised. Very nice and clean rooms with a private bathroom for a very good price. The owners are the most welcoming people we've met so far in Sri Lanka. The travellers home provided... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elisabethley
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

hai dear Elisa. glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks you choosing us and living good review on T. adviser. and hope to see you again. and have nice holiday. so with worm regards to you. Ebert. More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

I was visiting Tissamahara with a friend and we were planning to stay one night at Travellers Home. The room was very clean with a hot shower and towels and for a good price. The staff arranged our trip to Yala national park, with a good driver/guide and a lovely breakfast for during the safari. After spending the evening with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Juliettevv647
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear Juliette. thanks you for sharing your experience to T.advise we are happy to hear that you were glad with your staying with us. thanks again. hope to see you again on your next holiday.with best regards. Ebert More 

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Very warm welcome from the owners, who put a lot of energy into organising a safari to Yala for me, despite some schedule constraints :-) I stayed only for a night, only to visit Yala National Park. It's perfect for a short, efficient and cheap stay. Food is good.

Helpful?
Thank maled22
travellershome, Guest Relations Manager at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

dear guest. thanks your comment. that you enjoyed your stay with us. thanks for choosing us. and happy to live good review for us. with best regards. Eba. More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Reeelax, the manager will arrange the safari for a reasonable price (5 500 Rps per pax for 5-12 AM) and let you use the bathroom even after check-out. For the safari, much queue at 5AM will make you enter the national park after 6AM with all the many jeeps of the other tourists. - : The hotel is supposed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clairecita
travellershome, Owner at Traveller's Home, responded to this review

thanks you for time and to make review. and sharing your experience about your staying and visiting yala. hope to see you again. with worm regards. from travellershome. More 

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
9.4 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,162 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,396 reviews
14.3 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
313 reviews
15.9 mi away
La Safari Inn
La Safari Inn
#1 of 54 in Tissamaharama
236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Game Camp
Big Game Camp
#1 of 3 in Katagamuwa
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the rice fields and palm gardens of Tissamaharama, Traveller's Home is located near the city center and Tissa Lake. It is a quiet family run business offering bungalows with attached bath and air conditioning to budget rooms with shared bath. Prices range from $10 USD to $20 USD.and a/c hot water rooms/ lake view rooms with Terese siting area room prices 30 USD. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Traveller's Home

Address: Kachcheriyagama, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Price Range: £14 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Traveller's Home 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Traveller's Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller`s Home Hotel Tissamaharama
Traveller's Home Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Traveller's Home staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Many rooms, for different budgets (even though they are all cheap). The rooms in the back building seem more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles maled22, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms ar most likely similar but there may be a breeze on the upstairs seated area”
 of 5 bubbles Srp5000, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Take a room near to the entrance because we didn't have wifi in our room since it was too far away.”
 of 5 bubbles KarinLaure, 19 Dec 2015 | Read review
“room of the backyard are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles 916sebd, 30 Mar 2015 | Read review
“We stayed upstairs in the rear of the property in room #7, sleeps 3 and has a private balcony overlooking the rice paddies.”
 of 5 bubbles seafare74, 19 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay