We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bras d'Or Lakes Inn

Booking.comUS$128*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$128*
US$130*
US$128*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Bras d\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 178: English reviews
Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Our night at Bras D'or Lakes Inn... We arrived very late and were met by a very pleasant lady for almost 1 am who I believe is the owner, slept in very comfortable beds, had an awesome hot buffet breakfast. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bourgeois97
Rhoda G, General Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to write a review. I try to be friendly even at 1 AM! So pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. That buffet breakfast is loved by so many of of visitors. We look forward to your next visit.

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Reviewed 20 September 2012

stayed one night....room was comfortable, nothing special but a rustic atmosphere in the lodge due mostly to the log building. The restaurant was fantastic....beyond our expectations for level of fine dining quality here in a relatively small out of the way community. The owners and all the help are very guest-focused and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Highly recommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachbumzzzz
Rhoda G, General Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time to write a review. Sometimes it's worth the drive to an out of the way place. So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try very hard to have our visitor enjoy this part of Cape Breton. It always make us very proud to hear that our staff was guest-focused. They work very...

Tiverton
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My boyfriend and I arrived early September for a one night stay and decided to book with the Lobster Lovers Special which gave us a one night stay, and excellent lobster dinner (including a salad, lobster dinner and an excellent dessert), a lobster omlette in the morning and a rental of a canoe/kayak. Unfortunately it was raining pretty bad when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdemelo
Rhoda G, General Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Lobster Package is a great experience. So glad that you chose to enjoy it. It always makes us very happy to have satisfied visitors. Even though the weather didn't co-operate, you still made this into an exciting stay with us. Good for you. Hope to see you in the...

Montreal
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We had read the name of the inn in a guide and liked the look when we arrived so booked our last night in Cape Breton here. We had an excellent dinner with excellent service in the restaurant. The waitress made helpful suggestions and although we had to remind her for the wine the service was otherwise efficient and pleasant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MajaMontreal
Rhoda G, General Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you decided to stop by. It was a pleasure to have you here. You and others have really enjoyed the buffet breakfast. It's a great last memory of your stay! We continue to work very hard to keep our visitors happy. thanks for reporting on...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2012

First of all, do not take attention to other comments, my wife and I had a really good time. Indeed, my wife and I chose to spent our honeymoon in Cape Breton, and what a good idea we had! We spent our first three nights at Bras d'Or Lakes inn. This inn was simply gorgeous, very rustic. You can feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexisFafard
Rhoda G, General Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a response. Congratulations again on your marriage. You make a very nice couple. We wish you much happiness in the future. We were very pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay here. Most clients are happy and we appreciate you taking the time to write this responsive at this...

Braintree, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My daughter booked her wedding at this hotel...we had the rooms booked ,the menu set ,and the deposit paid, then she got the call ..."Sorry but we DOUBLE BOOKED and you won't be having your wedding here !" Are you kidding me ..Sorry doesn't begin to make up for this kind of mistake ...The name "Mistake on the Lake "...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ruth c
Rhoda G, Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I take full responsibility for this mistake. I can only imagine how upset you must be. I would feel the same way. I wish I could make things right but I can't. All I can do is tell you and your family again that I am so sorry for making...

Halifax, NS
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We are a family of four and were travelling in Cape Breton for two weeks. We made a reservation at the restaurant many weeks in advance to celebrate a special occasion when on the Island. We arrived a little earlier than our reservation, but the restaurant didn't seem busy and after a short wait, we were on our way to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wspears
Rhoda G, Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. You did have a horrible experience. I was the rude person on the phone. It was not a customer but a tele-marketing company which calls about 5 times a day. As for the server, she is no longer in our employment. You were her last table. Hopefully your next visit...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. When we arrived, we were greeted by a cold and somewhat rude person who was apparently the manager (we found out later). The room looked clean. However the bed and the pillows were so uncomfortable that we could not sleep at all. The matress was uneven and the springs where poking out....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank panjegoli
Rhoda G, Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I remember this case very clearly. When you arrived at the inn you were not happy with the view from your room and you wanted to be moved. We were full and I had no other rooms available. Understandably, you were upset with me. The next day you you spoke...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2012

While the staff are very friendly, Rhoda who seems to manage the inn and restaurant lacks the level of customer service one would expect of a 4 star resort. She was curt upon our arrival and dismissive and rude the following evening. We arrived for dinner the first evening at 5:00, were served promptly by a very nice young woman,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CJZuzu
Rhoda G, Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest opinion. We are delighted to hear that the wait staff was to your liking and that the burger was one of the best you have ever had. Sorry that you didn't realize that reservation are recommended in our very busy restaurant. I do remember you coming to the buffet. but unfortunately we were sold out.....

McLean, Virginia
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful lakeside setting and comfort of this inn whose owners and staff were delightful as well as welcoming. Our room was quiet and cozy. It was pleasant to enjoy a late afternoon glass of wine down at the dock before sitting down to a really excellent dinner of planked salmon in the lovely diningroom. Highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Peter's
23.5 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
158 reviews
30.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
582 reviews
46.4 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.3 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
45.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
31.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The cedar log waterfront Inn fronts on the shore of the world-famous Bras d'Or Lake. Rooms at the Inn are adjacent the historic St. Peter's Canal which connects this big salt water lake to the Atlantic Ocean. Chef Jean-Pierre Gillet and his talented team will tantalize you with epicurean delights. The Inn features its own waterfront recreation area with kayaks and canoes, bicycles, lakeside lounging deck, and a hot-tub overlooking the lake. PLEASE NOTE: THE RESTAURANT CLOSES OCTOBER 19, 2017 FOR THIS SEASON. A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WILL BE THEN BE INCLUDED WITH THE BOOKING. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bras d'Or Lakes Inn

Address: 10095 Grenville Street, St. Peter's, Nova Scotia B0E 3B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > St. Peter's
Price Range: £85 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bras d'Or Lakes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Bras d'Or Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bras d`Or Lakes Hotel St. Peter`s
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bras d'Or Lakes Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
Concord, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bras d'Or Lakes Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hallway downstairs had a slight musty smell to it so I would request a room upstairs”
SuzanneY288, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closer to lobby will have wifi.”
616bradc, 29 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Sorry, Only saw one room, very nice, done in natural cedar, great wood smell,nice view of the lake. Very nice.”
H3484TDstephenp, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for upstairs and further down the corridor.”
Bansteadfamily, 8 Aug 2015 | Read review
“None of the rooms actually face the lake unfortunately.”
travel4fun123Florida, 19 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$128* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$130
TripAdvisorUS$128
Hotels.comUS$130
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates