We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel Sonati Esteli

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hostel Sonati Esteli
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostel Sonati Esteli
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Good enough hostel, we stayed in a private room and although it was a bit noisy (we were next to reception) it has enough good reasons to use, the kitchen is large and clean, the fridge is clean, there's free coffee in the mornings, the wifi is excellent both in common areas and in the room, the common areas are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Sonati, Gerente at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, your opinion is really important to us! Also thank you for staying with us, your help support our Free Environmental Education Project. Best Regards, Ninfa

Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

I liked the layback vibe and nature trips, staff is very nice and place has a well equiped kitchen (except is constantely occupied by volunteers). Have patio with picknick chairs, 'sofa' and hammocks. Dorm is clean and beds are ok, but its very noisy because the main doors are kracking and its direct near the street. ~ Tours ~ Did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sjaak L
Leon, Nicaragua
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Friendly and helpful staff members are the front desk. Rooms were clean and even had a hot shower. Only a few blocks from the Central Park. Reasonable sized kitchen. Free coffee in the mornings.Could do with some more hammocks out the back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielle22jmillard
Sonati, Front Office Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, your opinion is really important to us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We also thank you for staying with us and help support our Free Environmental Education Project. Best Regards, Khaled

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

It's a decent place if you want to stay in Esteli. It's $8 for a dorm, some of the rooms have hot water in showers and others do. Lots of room to relax with hammocks and rocking chairs. The staff are OK and can organise trips for various places. It's not as good as Esteli but does the job.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, your opinion is really important to us! Also thank you for staying with us, you help support our Free Environmental Education Project. Best Regards, Ninfa

Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

This place is alright, nothing special. There is practically no place to sit, and the atmosphere was not very friendly, we did not find this place to be very social. The WiFi did not work much of the time. The kitchen was not bad, not completely clean but it had lots of amenities. Beds were fairly comfortable, lockers were available....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittany G
Sonati, Gerente at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. Sorry for the inconvenient that you had, We will work in cleaning better the kitchen and we will work to make more space for our guest s . About the internet we are working with the company that offers the service to get some solution for this problem.Your comment is very important...

Inuvik, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2016

I stayed here because I liked my stay at Sonati in Leon. I booked the smaller dorm room thinking it would have a bathroom to itself. No, had to share with the other small dorm. Also lockers were in a main area and small like passport size. It didn't have that same cozy feel as Leon. Then I also thought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Helpful staff who spoke Spanish, French & English and allowed us to leave bags and valuables whilst we toured Somoto and Miraflor. The double room with private bathroom is great value ($20) but the dorm (at $16/$18 for two) isn't quite so good as you don't get towels or lockable space. Coffee is delicious and free all morning and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjeninho
Buchs Zürich, Switzerland
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

A nice place to stay in Estelí. They have a small garden with a nice chill put area. As well they run a tour agency so it's easy to book trips. Even if you do something on your own they are glade to help you. A bed in the dorm is 8$ or 9$. You get free coffee in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graido
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

There's not much around the town in Esteli but it is a good hub to go to national parks in the area. We stayed in a dorm room. It was clean, had a toilet and shower (hot water!!!!) and the staff were very friendly. Kitchen is well equipped and had many seats inside and out to sit and have dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LJRlondon
Reviewed 1 February 2016

I have stayed at Sonati in Leon multiple times (in their old site) and appreciate the community environmental work they do. I was happy to stay at their hostel in Esteli, but after our experiences there, I will not return. When we stayed there, there were several foreigners who had been staying in the hostel for several months who acted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cait L
Sonati, Gerente at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments! We really appreciate it! Your comments are very important to us, because this will help us to improve our services. Let us inform you t that those people that you meet in our hostel were guests, not the owners as you mention us. We regret this bad experience with them. We would like to tell you...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Esteli hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hex Esteli
Hotel Hex Esteli
#2 of 6 in Esteli
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 6 in Esteli
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Don Vito
Hotel Don Vito
#4 of 6 in Esteli
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Friends and Family Hostel
0.2 mi away
Namaste Yoga Hostal
Namaste Yoga Hostal
#1 of 20 in Esteli
14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Hotel Santa Elena
#3 of 17 in Esteli
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our beautiful non-profit environmental hostel! We offer a central hostel with excellent facilities, spacious common areas - a great place to meet like-minded travelers. SONATI is a non-profit environmental education organization; ALL hostel profits finance our FREE environmental programs for thousands of local school children! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Sonati Esteli

Address: Costado norte Catedral, 3 cuadras al este, Esteli, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Esteli Department > Esteli
Price Range: £22 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Sonati Esteli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Sonati Esteli staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostel Sonati Esteli staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private double good value for couples”
 of 5 bubbles tjeninho, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“the private room next to the reception area is loud”
 of 5 bubbles 10flags, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms with private bathroom actually share the bathroom with a dorm, so be sure to ask if it matters to you. I think those are less expensive, if you don't mind people accidentally locking you out of the bathroom once in awhile!”
 of 5 bubbles CarriefromSudbury, 19 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Very fine, tranquil”
 of 5 bubbles PJ602, 2 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Go to the Hostel Luna instead.”
 of 5 bubbles britbri, 24 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5