We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Spyway Rd, Askerswell DT2 9EP England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (44)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 03/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Spyway Inn
Updated 03/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
306Reviews4Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 239
  • 38
  • 13
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ChristophIslington wrote a review 22 Jun
London, United Kingdom12 contributions6 helpful votes
Visited for Sunday lunch in a party of eight, the hospitality was fantastic, we got a really warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Nice roast dinners, very generous portions and the local ale was very tasty too. The garden has incredible views, one to spend a summer afternoon in for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Watson, Owner at The Spyway Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It's always lovely to hear that customers enjoy our service, food and location as we all work so hard to make it a great place to visit. We hope to see you all again soon. Kind regards Laura
Read more
Rachel B wrote a review 18 Jun
Watford, United Kingdom10 contributions16 helpful votes
We visited The Spyway as part of a group of 19. We were all fitted in comfortably around two large tables, and everyone's food was of excellent standard. We loved our liver and bacon, (too much for me to finish but my husband obliged happily) and the biscoff cheesecake and my husband's applecake were equally delicious. We enjoyed it so much that we went back next day for a lunchtime pint of Exmoor cider, sitting in the sunshine in one of the prettiest pub gardens I've seen, with wonderful views and beautiful flowers around the pond. We would definitely return if we were in the area again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Watson, Owner at The Spyway Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Rachel for your kind comments. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our liver & bacon which is very popular here, as is the cheesecake. We're lucky to have a big garden with fabulous views and love sharing this with customers. Thanks again and hopefully we'll see you again when you're in the area. Kind regards Laura & Mark
Read more
Andrew B wrote a review 1 Jun
Bridport, United Kingdom18 contributions
Stunning find take the left turn off the main road you won't be disappointed. Homemade pies definitely recommend beautiful garden to enjoy in the summer. We visited for a second time the other night and arrived late for food but we're still fed. Very welcoming owners
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Watson, Owner at The Spyway Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks you so much for your lovely comments. We're so glad to you enjoyed both visits and it would be great to see you again Kind regards Laura
Read more
Jules wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
We took the next left when spotting the sign for the pub, trundled down the hill and thought we'd made a mistake with the direction when we didn't see it for a few minutes. So glad we kept going as the pub, the garden and the views are amazing. We were a group of 10 wanting food and were at the end of the serving time but the wonderful staff took our orders and we sat in the sunny garden. The food was fabulous, I had the best fish and chips I've had for a long time, if not ever - the batter and fish were so good! Everyone was impressed with their lunch and we had a really enjoyable time there. Will definitely return when we are in the area again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Watson, Owner at The Spyway Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It's always great to hear that people enjoy our food and amazing views. Thanks again and hopefully we'll see you again Kind regards Laura
Read more
little-miss-magic1 wrote a review May 2022
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom459 contributions66 helpful votes
Exceptional pub. Beautiful location and beer garden with stunning views. Friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Genuinely the best food I have had in years, I chose the mixed kebab followed by lemon posset and couldn’t fault any of it. Such a little gem and we will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Watson, Owner at The Spyway Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit to us and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks again Laura & Mark
Read more
Hermione V wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Mark and Laura were fantastic hosts, they couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast and dinners were delicious, we particularly enjoyed the smashed avocado on toast and the Korean chicken. Really enjoyable trip
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Watson, Owner at The Spyway Inn
Responded 10 May 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Laura & Mark
Read more
Pwncjn1 wrote a review Apr 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom209 contributions103 helpful votes
An excellent meal was had by myself and my wife, sat outside in one of the 'garden pods', lovely garden, good food my wife is gluten free she was fully catered for in the menu choices. The Korean chicken burger was different but excellent, will go again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Watson, Owner at The Spyway Inn
Responded 20 Apr 2022
Many thanks for you kind comments. We're so lucky to live in this beautiful part of the country and share our fabulous views with customers. We have expanded our gluten free options and it's lovely to hear your wife appreciated this. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon Kind regards Laura & Mark
Read more
Merick H wrote a review Apr 2022
Fareham, United Kingdom21 contributions12 helpful votes
We are staying at Barn House Retreat and the owner recommended the Spyway Inn. We haven't eaten out as much as we normally do because of Covid. We were so looking forward to this meal and lucky to get in on Easter Sunday. We booked a pod via Jackie for 3pm. We were not disappointed, the service and food were fantastic. Would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Watson, Owner at The Spyway Inn
Responded 20 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for your kind comments which we've passed on to Jackie and the rest of the team. Our staff work hard to make everyone's visit to us an enjoyable one and we all appreciate you taking the time to pass on feedback. We hope to see you again when you're in the area. Thanks again Laura & Mark
Read more
Lucy C wrote a review Mar 2022
dorset uk40 contributions26 helpful votes
Decided to try the Spyway inn for a Sunday lunch having heard good things from friends. Table booked easily through their website. We were greeted by lovely friendly staff, Im full term pregnancy and on crutches and they found me somewhere I could be comfy and fit! The bar area has the old ancient inn character and feel to it and the books on the side provided some interesting history on the inns smuggling history. They also have a lovely looking beer garden and pods which would be nice to investigate in the summer. We had starters and roasts both were well sized and tasty, the roasts had a large variety of vegetables the meat was tender and the nut roast lots of taste. It was all very reasonably priced too! Will definitely be back to visit again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Watson, Owner at The Spyway Inn
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Many thanks for your kind comments Lucy. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your Sunday roast and our lovely pub. We wish you lots of luck with your new arrival and hope to see you all here again soon. Thanks again Kind regards Laura
Read more
Claire W wrote a review Dec 2021
Southampton, United Kingdom43 contributions25 helpful votes
Spent a relaxing weekend at the Spyway, lovely rooms with comfy beds and great views. Top marks for the gluten free Korean chicken, it was delicious and a lovely Christmas meal the next evening, lots of naughty puddings too and full English breakfasts that set you up for a day exploring. Cozys log fires and even heated outdoor pods. We didn't want to leave. Will definitely be back. Thank you Mark and Laura for being amazing hosts, especially with our ever changing booking details. We all enjoyed ourselves and left feeling relaxed and refreshed
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Watson, Owner at The Spyway Inn
Responded 17 Dec 2021
Many thanks for your kind review Claire. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our food. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon Kind regards Laura & Mark
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
the spyway hotel askerswell
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetAskerswell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Spyway Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Spyway Inn?
Nearby attractions include West Bay Harbour (4.5 miles), Hive Beach (3.5 miles), and Mapperton House & Gardens (4.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Spyway Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Spyway Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Spyway Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Spyway Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rachel's, The Three Horseshoes, and The Green Yard.
Is The Spyway Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Askerswell.
Are there any historical sites close to The Spyway Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mapperton House & Gardens (4.3 miles), OLD HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, Bothenhampton (3.6 miles), and Chardsmead Baptist Church (3.9 miles).