We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dona Filipa Hotel

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Dona Filipa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 274: English reviews
Start your review of Dona Filipa Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have stayed at Dona Filipa for many years despite renovations heavily in progress our stay was still a pleasurable experience . The pool was a great miss but if your a golfer it's not the end of the day staff and management did their utmost to make the holiday a success even providing extra relaxation areas in the gardens and...

1Thank Linda M
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

After the damning report we gave last year, we are pleased to say that our old friend Dona Filipa has actually redeemed its self. The hotel and staff have suffered greatly this year from unforeseeable recurring building problems, which have resulted in construction delays, and undoubtedly have incurred significant costs, and indeed profit loss, due to unavoidable cancellations and necessary...

5Thank BARRY H
Reviewed 1 week ago

Part of a large golf group, the golf was excellent and the Hotel is nice with friendly helpful staff. Unfortunately as per previous comments the pool is under construction and basically a building site. During our stay we saw about 5 workmen with trowels and a tape and I would be amazed if it was completed by the end of...

3Thank thermalbus
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dona Filipa is my favourite hotel and holiday destination and always look forward to a golfing break there however on this occasion was disappointed that the pool area and dining room were still under tons of rubble. It a pity as there's no better place to relax and unwind before and after golf. Enjoyed the break but not as much...

1Thank m5laj
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the hotel some 9 months in advance. Only a week before we arrived were we informed that there was some work going on at the hotel. We found that the pool area and breakfast room were under total refurbishment. (see photos)We asked to be moved to another hotel...to NO avail. This was very disappointing having been visiting this...

4Thank markimtaylor
Bishops Stortford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The swimming pool and main restaurant are being refurbished - something we weren't told about when we booked as apparently the work has run over schedule. Whilst we were offered buggies and a free meal as compensation, it really affected our holiday. For example, the breakfast is served in a corridor and was of very poor quality - my husband...

4Thank Virginia T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went with a couple of friends, mainly to play golf. No problems with the courses, and transport. The lovely hotel staff however, are under the illusion that the long planned building works will be completed today (May 8th). Sadly the management is either blind or in total denial. The pool was (2 weeks ago), a hole in the ground and...

3Thank Anthony M
Heswall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of 10 golfers stayed at the Hotel for a 3 night stay and 2 rounds at San Lorenzo. Overall I would have to say the group, (and I) were dissapointed. I had been looking forward for some time to staying at the hotel and golf and went away feeling underwhelmed. While I understand that the hotel is undergoing...

6Thank Cucch1962
Cardross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were shocked to hear from friends two days before our holiday that on going renovations at the hotel were not completed and were major not minor. We were very disappointed in our golf travel company who we have used on average twice a year for years. Dona Filipa Hotel and San Lorenzo Golf course is one of my favourite...

3Thank Patricia C
JJW_Hotels_Portugal, General Manager at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of Dona Filipa Hotel I would like to thank you for your comment and also for your understanding of the situation. It is our main objective that the Dona Filipa Hotel regains all is glamour and quality it once had and that is the reason for the refurbishment you had the chance to noticed. Due to...

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last July we booked a 4 night break direct with the Dona Filipa for March of this year, did they tell us that we were going to pay 5 star prices for a 2 star hotel. No! They told us some minor works were going on, what a joke. No pool, no grounds, dust, noise. The poor staff were browbeaten...

7Thank Alan E
JJW_Hotels_Portugal, General Manager at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of Dona Filipa Hotel I would like to thank you for your comments, and once again apologize for the inconvenience cause by the Hotel's refurbishment. All the refurbishment was planned to end by mid March but due to some construction site issues it took us a bit longer than what we have anticipated. All the construction...

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (71)
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Room/Suite (1)
Dining (5)
View from Room (2)
Other (51)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vale do Lobo
2.2 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 15 in Almancil
1,475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#2 of 15 in Almancil
261 reviews
6.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
266 reviews
17.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the Atlantic, located a mere 100 metres from the beach and the proud owner of the renown San Lorenzo Golf Course, Dona Filipa Hotel welcomes all, with a touch of glamour and the essence of true quality and personalized service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dona Filipa Hotel

Address: Avenida do Mar, Vale do Lobo 8135-034, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vale do Lobo
Price Range: £201 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dona Filipa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dona Filipa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Filipa & San Lorenzo Golf Hotel Almancil
Dona Filipa And San Lorenzo Golf Resort
Meridien Almancil
Le Meridien Almancil
Almancil Le Meridien
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dona Filipa Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Dona Filipa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wait until work complete in Hotel and resort”
Cucch1962, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Wait for building work to be finished”
804alane, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Classic or Premium rooms worth the extra”
miknic, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“higher floors best nos 417 18 at end of wing evening sun”
_veronicahirst, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose a room over the pool at the moment”
Fairhaven8, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$370* /night
View Deal
View all 12 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates