We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

River Valley Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
River Valley Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 158: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was one of the best nights I've had, it gets pretty rowdy at night for a lodge in the middle of nowhere! But it was great fun. However, limited amount of toilets is unhygienic and frustrating. And the "amazing" roast was so overrated. My advice would be to save your $16

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Tom Thanks for your review. I don't know what happened with your roast dinner as the overwhelming feedback we receive - just check out the other reviews - is very positive. Did you voice your concerns to our staff at the time? If you had I am sure they would have tried to put matters right. You are...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A group of us came to River Lodge for a 40th birthday party, we had an epic rafting trip with fantastic guides! The guides (Derek, Spencer, Kirk & Ryan) read our group perfectly and made the adventure and experience something truely memorable. Our cabin accomodation was simple, clean and comfortable- perfect for the weekend! The food was great and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renaesmart
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora guys Thanks for the great review. It was fun having you guys to stay. Hope to see you back at some stage. All the best Brian

Germantown, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I spent a couple of nights here in October 2016. Spend the money and get one of the river front deluxe cabins. They are worth it. The cabin was simple, clean, and came with access to the spa. The meals in the restaurant were all very good. While you are here, go for a horse trek and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michael b
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Michael Thanks for taking the time to write this review. It is always good to read positive comments. Also, good advice for other travelers. Brian

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

This was a great place to stay. We were a group of 12 staying in cabins and a caravan. Rooms comfortable and sufficient for our stay. Although a fridge in each room would be great. Meals were great. Delicious, wholesome and hearty meals that filled you up for the day ahead and then totally satisfied our hunger after big days!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenedictRyan123
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Benedict Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. The meals at the Lodge are in my view quite exceptional - but not always good for the waist line! Hope to see you back at some stage. All the best Brian

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Arrived with high expectations and they were exceeded. This was a world away, alongside the beautiful Rangitikei river. Although we were disappointed we missed out on the rafting due to insufficient numbers (min of 3 required), this idyllic spot was worth the drive from Taihape. It is very isolated so bear that in mind. There is complimentary wifi available but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Chris Thanks for the review. It is unfortunate that you did not raft during your visit, however that means you will just have to return one day! They are a great team who work here, and they really appreciate that their friendliness and helpfulness is noted. All the best Brian

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

This place is awesome! Nestled right at the bottom of the valley, it's like a little paradise. The building is beautiful, all made of wood, it's really cozy. The staff were super friendly and made us feel at home, there was even a little lamb running around! The huge open fire in the middle was great as well. We slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Thanks for the review of your stay at River Valley. Did you know that the dorm where you stayed is the same sleeping arrangement, and was modeled from back country tramping huts? Yes, walking up the hill when you leave if traveling on a Kiwi Experience bus can be a bit of a slog, but the more you...

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 September 2016

River Valley Lodge is a stunning spot to stay. Very picturesque drive through framing country, dropping down into to the valley. The lodge is located right beside the Rangitiki River - if you are rafting you finish your adventure there, or can start it from there. The lodge is fantastic. Great open fire - which was just the ticket on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbary_Skipper
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Sarah Thanks for the thoughtful review. You certainly sum up a winter River Valley experience. Also good to hear about your very positive experiences with the horses at River Valley Stables. All the best Brian

Reviewed 5 September 2016

Loved my stay here while on the Kiwi Experience Bus! My room was comfortable and the lodge staff were very helpful. I would recommend that anyone coming though takes up the offer of having the roast dinner as it was delish and sooo much food for how much it was. Lunch the next day was also yummy and a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie P
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Sylvie Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at River Valley. We especially like what you have to say about the staff - who are genuinely friendly and welcoming - and the food. Did you know much of the food comes from the Lodge's own gardens? Limited Wifi can be a bonus as...

Ipoh, Malaysia
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Great experience with River Valley Lodge ! The owner and employees are very friendly. The lodge is quite old but still nice. The room is provided with heater if you are coming on winter. And it is very easy to check in and check out. They even let me to check out after i finish my horse ride which after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NFASHAY
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Thanks so much for your review. Really appreciate the kind comments. All the best Brian

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

River Valley Lodge is very well set up, & it does what it says on the label ie the website. It is set in a deep valley beside the river, and rustic is a good word to describe it as a whole. The food was excellent - dinner, breakfast & lunch, & reasonably priced. The bar is also reasonably priced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BornInScotland
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Thanks for the great review "BorninScotland". We really appreciate the very positive feedback. All the best. Brian

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taihape hotels
12.0 mi away
Aspen Court Taihape
Aspen Court Taihape
#1 of 4 in Taihape
361 reviews
12.0 mi away
Safari Motel
Safari Motel
#4 of 4 in Taihape
45 reviews
11.9 mi away
Rusty Nail Backpackers
Rusty Nail Backpackers
#2 of 2 in Taihape
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#3 of 4 in Taihape
39 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The basis of the River Valley Experience is what happens outside the Lodge. River Valley started as a rafting company on a family farm, in the back blocks of Taihape. With one of the world's top half day Grade 5 rafting trips literally on the doorstep, it was a natural progression. A horse trekking stables was added over time, and it is these two adventurous activities, rafting the beautiful Rangitikei River, and exploring the magnificent hill country which is at core of River Valley. River Valley Lodge is an Adventure Lodge. It was built as a base for rafting and horse back riding, and this has not changed. What has changed is the clientele! The Lodge caters for young backpackers after an adrenaline fueled Grade 5 rafting trip, through to veteran mature adventurers, with an accommodation mix from bunk rooms to en-suited riverside suites. The Lodge restaurant and cafe serves a selection of fresh country style food, much not only prepared on site, but also grown in the extensive vegetable gardens. If shopping and cell phone reception are critical to your daily existence, then River Valley is certainly not the place for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Valley Lodge

Address: 300 Mangahoata Road | Pukeokaku, RD 2, Taihape 4792, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Price Range: £24 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your River Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Valley Lodge New Zealand/Taihape
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from River Valley Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from River Valley Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Range of dorm rooms, smaller dorm rooms, private double, ensuite rooms and family rooms. Take your pick!”
 of 5 bubbles Barbary_Skipper, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Tell everyone that they will not be able to contact you before arriving at the lodge so they dont freak out when you dont relpy”
 of 5 bubbles 49sylviep, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“one of the ensuite room is a treat after a busy day rafting”
 of 5 bubbles 346joshuan, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“our room by the river was great and private”
 of 5 bubbles elleayr2016, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the river view en suite lodges and they were fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles Em672, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay