We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Safari Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Safari Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Taihape is a small town and I believe the motels are all on the main street. We always ask for a quiet room as we are light sleepers. The staff member was very kind and he did his best to accommodate our request. However, as the motel is on the main road, it is just a matter of more noise... More 

Helpful?
Thank P A
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I had a comfortable and relaxing stay I was impressed with the excellent hospitality of the owner and the cleanliness of the studio that I stayed in. I would definitely recommend this motel to family and friends. I also enjoyed a dip in the spa pool that was available after a long trip on the road.

Helpful?
Thank Ngawai R
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

This motel is embracing the new generation of checking in. CHECK IN KIOSK. No hassle, type your details put your credit card and walla the key drops. AWESOME room. SKY tv, free internet.The shower was the best. This place has my 5 stars. My salute to the owner who thought of the late night kiosk. Its a life saver for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hossain76
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Motel owner was so offended that we asked what his policy on cancellation... we only asked and wondering. We decided to stay when he told us cancellation fee is 100% (our mistake, sorry we asked) The Motel owner charged $300 on my Credit Card for damages. Which he claimed as broken light switch and dried feces stain on their sheet.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ThingsUnseen
Management response:

I am quite surprised with your review, although I recall your threat to blackmail us with a bad review unless the money was refunded to you but I did not expect you to lie in your review. You or your partner threatened at the time when you asked for a penalty free cancellation and was visibly furious when the penalty... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016

I paid only $99 for my room with a queen bed and it was easily a $150 room anywhere in NZ, so I was very pleased with it. It may look a little jaded from the road externally, but don't be fooled, on the inside the room was lovely with up to date decor, great Sky TV, comfortable bed, great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Clean and tidy, just dated décor (maybe around the 1970's?). Great shower once the water came through. Friendly host, and helpful. Beds were great. Might be cold in winter? Easy in and easy out.Would stay again easy.

Helpful?
Thank dougal007
New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Needed an over night pit stop to cut long trip in half. Very friendly and accommodating owners that communicate well. Although some of the place & furniture is dated the bed and mattress was new and very comfortable. Great shower pressure and decent heating for the cold winter months. Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Gaswok
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Highly recommended. I stayed in a studio unit for a couple of nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Apart from doing all the basics well, there were some nice touches, like finding glasses chilling in the fridge. Good value.

Helpful?
Thank chruskl
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

We were just driving through and needed a place to lye our heads. We were late and the owners had to stay up to check us in. They were very accomodating and friendly. Very clean tidy and comfortable. Will be back and definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Helpful?
Thank Karla20132013
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

We have just finished at 20 day holiday starting from Tauranga through to Stewart Island, have stayed in motels from Paraparaumu, Ashburton, Invercargill, Kaka Point, Otematata (not far from the homeland of Richie McCaw), Tekapo, Blenheim and now good old gumbootville Taihape. We have stayed in motels that are rated 5 🌟 and below. Honestly I would have to rate... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BOP_Not_Happy

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taihape hotels
0.0 mi away
Aspen Court Taihape
Aspen Court Taihape
#1 of 4 in Taihape
361 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rusty Nail Backpackers
Rusty Nail Backpackers
#2 of 2 in Taihape
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#3 of 4 in Taihape
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Taihape
168 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located by the foothill of Mt Stewart Reserve almost halfway between Auckland and Wellington, Safari Motel, Taihape offers all that you could ask for without breaking your bank. The only motel in town to offer Sky 50+ channels and the comfort unexpected in the price range. Come and enjoy your break with us and see what Taihape has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Safari Motel

Address: 18 Mataroa Road, Taihape 4720, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Price Range: £46 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Safari Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Motel New Zealand/Taihape
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Safari Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One wouldn't expect luxury, but nothing at all was amiss and I did in fact find it quite luxurious!”
 of 5 bubbles paulinebC3320MN, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Pick any room, you are in for a comfy stay”
 of 5 bubbles Akhil_Wellington, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Ask for one well away from the truck park.”
 of 5 bubbles BronwynH419, 8 Nov 2013 | Read review
“The road was busy, so away from SH1 is probably better”
 of 5 bubbles BrentN165, 2 Feb 2013 | Read review
“dont be put off by the exterior”
 of 5 bubbles johntoddl, 24 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay