We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Fleece Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Fleece Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 215: English reviews
Start your review of The Fleece Inn
 Click to rate
Warwick
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Three bars, dating back centuries. Real fires, perfect for a February day. Friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere. Lovely big garden for summer days and a list of entertainment as long as your arm. In the heart of the old village, not well signposted, but look for the church which is next door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolineWarwick
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited here each day for a long weekend. The staff are friendly hard working and happy. The place is what you think of in an old pub. Many real fires burning through to keep warm. I lived closer I would visit more often.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
NigelSmithLandlord, Landlord at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us, and glad you enjoyed your visits. Hope you can come along to another of our music nights!

Bristol
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here for the first time with our Travelzoo voucher for a 3 course meal for 2. What a lovely, fantastic place, it was like having our lunch in a 'museum'. Staff were exceeding friendly, food and beer were both lovely and we had absolutely no complaints. Lovely to hear the 'local gentlemen' chatting around the fire (one of 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thetwinsmum
NigelSmithLandlord, Landlord at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit and thanks for taking the time to review. Hope you can visit us (and the locals!) again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Used to be really good but haven't eaten there recently because last time we did the food was inedible. I complained both to the hotel and National Trust but neither had the grace to reply, therefore they will not get any more business from us. I have also told ALL my friends about it too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
NigelSmithLandlord, Landlord at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your posting. Complaints are rare and we don't have a record of a letter from yourself or via the Trust. Perhaps you could resend and give us a chance to address the issue. Contact myself direct at nigel@thefleeceinn.co.uk or via post at the pub. Best wishes

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cold, no atmosphere, uncomfortable chairs, awful food and cold red wine. The only good thing was the friendly waitress. We would not recommend. Some background music would be good. The beer was good though.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaneWalsh
NigelSmithLandlord, Landlord at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and sorry to hear The Fleece was not to your liking. The furniture is all antique, the fires and layout as it was when The Fleece was bequeathed to the National Trust. Unfortunately if it's a quiet night it can feel cold in the pub, and we appreciate the old fashioned style is not to...

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visited one wednesday in January with a group of friends. As ever lovely atmosphere and roaring fires to battle the cold and damp weather outside. I have been to the Fleece many times before and have found the food to be on the positive side of ok, not great but quite nice. This occasion however I was disappointed. Not being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monsie2013
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Visited The Fleece Inn with my partner and our daughter for Sunday lunch, as my birthday treat. I love this pub and just wish that it was closer to home, as I would definitely make it my 'local'. Good food and beer (I opted for the traditional roast beef and a pint or three of Uley 'Pigs Ear' bitter) Friendly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morningstar2017
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016

I was one of 18 friends who had an enjoyable pre-Christmas meal in the barn annexe. Unfortunately my enjoyment was marred by the less than adequate heating, which did not compensate for a continuous draught from the barn door. Another problem was finding the place in the dark! Be sure to use your satnav, as the pub is unlit, just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barrywest1938
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Wonderful nook & cranny, characterful old pub. Good selection of beers, some excellent ciders. The food was very good. The version steak was probably the best I had. Tender and supremely flavoursome. The service was friendly, but a little quirky. Don't go in here with a perfectionist, silver-service, snooty head on. Go for the whole experience and just enjoy a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freefirezone
NigelSmithLandlord, Landlord at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, and glad you liked the steak, it's proving very popular! Hope to see you at the Fleece again, Best wishes Nigel

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We often go to the Fleece and its a great pub. However we went to Beshazzars Feast on the 11th December and I am afraid we only go the "crumbs". The show was full of intellect and some wry humour but it overall missed the time of year and what the audience wanted a good sing along to some of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amgpatrick
NigelSmithLandlord, Landlord at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thanks for the comments on the band - we'll pass them on to Belshazzar's Feast's agent. Hope we'll see you at the pub again soon, Best wishes Nigel

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretforton
3.2 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#2 of 12 in Evesham
471 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Evesham Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#1 of 12 in Evesham
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
970 reviews
9.9 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,069 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fleece Inn is the perfect rural retreat just a stone's throw from the beautiful Cotswold's boasting roaring open fires for the winter months, open garden and apple orchard for the summer sun and a friendly welcome all year round. With real ales and traditional ciders aplenty this historical pub is a favourite with CAMRA members and the welcoming atmosphere and good food attract visitors from all over the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fleece Inn

Address: The Cross | Bretforton, Bretforton WR11 7JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bretforton
Price Range: £93 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fleece Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece Hotel Bretforton
The Fleece Inn Bretforton, Worcestershire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fleece Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Fleece Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't stay, but every room will have a view and probably a ghost or two, very old building.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolineWarwick, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay!”
 of 5 bubbles amgpatrick, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great beer.”
 of 5 bubbles crockett11111, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not much view but quaint comfortable and, wait for it , "HAUNTED"”
 of 5 bubbles 626ian, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book early as there is only one room.”
 of 5 bubbles 212lesliew, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5