We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1325)
Room & Suite (211)
Pool & Beach (43)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 7 lodges in Amakhala Game Reserve
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Bukela Game Lodge Is A 5-Star Luxury Lodge In The 7 500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape South Africa. Accommodation at this tranquil game lodge is provided in four suites and ten luxury safari tents, each individually styled in African simplicity while never compromising on luxury. This secluded safari destination is tucked away into indigenous trees and bushes at the top of a hidden valley and has the perfect setting for the intimate and romantic guest experiences for which we are renowned. Connected by a wooden walkway, our thatched suites offer a remarkable private wildlife-viewing experience. Savour a crisp glass of wine in your sun-soaked spa bath, opening onto trees alive with birdsong. Indulge in sumptuous high teas, private candlelit dinners or exciting fireside boma dinners under African stars. And as you fall asleep, hear the silence broken by the unmistakable sounds of elephant and buffalo making their stately progress through the unfenced camp.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Foot massage
24-hour security
Outdoor fireplace
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Amakhala Game Reserve 6015 South Africa
Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Getting there
Port Elizabeth Airport
744Reviews15Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 636
  • 62
  • 31
  • 7
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kate_erasmus92 wrote a review Mar 2024
Cardiff, United Kingdom1 contribution
+1
We have just returned from a three night stay at Bukela Game Lodge, where we had the most fantastic experience. The facilities and food were excellent, but it was the staff that made the stay so special. They were all welcoming and attentive, in particular we would like to say thank you to Sammy who looked after us so well. We had 6 game drives and a night drive, all with our ranger Ryan, who gave us an unforgettable experience and we felt lucky to have him as our guide. Ryan was extremely knowledgeable and passionate which made every drive special, and we had the privilege of observing the animals in many exciting encounters in the beautiful surroundings of the reserve. We would highly recommend Bukela, and we would love to return one day. Thank you again to all the staff who made our stay so wonderful. Kate and James
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lion Roars, General Manager at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kate and James, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We're delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience during your time here, and we truly value all of your kind words. Sammy, Ranger Ryan, and the rest of the team are thrilled to know that they were able to make your stay so memorable, and we hope to welcome you back for more adventures someday. Your perfect 5/5 rating across all categories means the world to us. We're glad to hear that you've arrived safely back in the UK, and we eagerly anticipate seeing your name in our system again soon. Until then, take care. Kind regards, The Bukela Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paradise26063029907 wrote a review Mar 2024
Paisley, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
What a trip! This was the first stop of our honeymoon and what an amazing place, amazing service, amazong food, amazing views, amazing lodge, got to the big 5 plus so much more...if you want a South African safari this is the place to go! Can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lion Roars, General Manager at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello, We're truly touched by your kind words and glowing praise. It brings us great joy to hear that your experience with us was so remarkable and that you're eager to return to our part of the world. It was our absolute pleasure to kick off your South African adventure on such a high note, and we're committed to making your next stay just as unforgettable. Please don't hesitate to share your holiday photos with us; we'd love to see all the incredible safari highlights you captured. Until we have the pleasure of welcoming you back, stay safe and take care. Warm regards, The Team at Bukela Lodge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Aidan C wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Fantastic experience from the second we arrived at reception to moment we left. Zeus couldn’t have been more helpful and ensured all our needs were tended to. There was good variety when it came to meal options. But the best part of the whole experience was the game drives, we got very lucky with what we saw but the experience was made all the better due to the knowledge of Evans who looked after us on the drives.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring warm clothes for morning drive
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lion Roars, General Manager at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Aidan, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. Having you stay with us was a true pleasure, and we're absolutely thrilled to hear that your experience was so wonderful and memorable. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we're certain that our team on the ground will be equally delighted to hear about your positive experience. It was truly a joy to be a part of your safari adventure, and your recommendation is incredibly valuable to us. Until we have the pleasure of welcoming you back, take care. Warm regards, The Team at Bukela
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dsuttn584562 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
We had a great stay at Bukela Game Lodge! Fantastic food ans hospitality! The Rooms are very well equipped and decorated. We did 6 game drives wirh the best Ranger Ryan! We definitely come again to enjoy Bukela Game Lodge.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lion Roars, General Manager at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi there, Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us, especially our food, hospitality, and the adventure with Ranger Ryan. The team will be delighted to hear that they contributed to your enjoyable stay. We truly appreciate your recommendation and can't wait to welcome you back. Kind regards, The Team at Bukela
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Megs7373 wrote a review Mar 2024
Ilkley, United Kingdom53 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
We are newbies to Safari and game reserves and so have nothing to compare our visit to. However we found the whole experience magical. From the moment we entered the reserve we were emerged in the sights, sounds and smells of nature. The game drives were ALL fantastic with plenty of viewings, and we experienced the bush in several different weather conditions. Thank you to our Ranger, Ryan, who was so informative and passionate about the environment. We also highly recommend the walking safari where in addition to tracking Rhinos on foot, we learnt about many different plants Lodges all fantastic, with lots of privacy. Don’t miss the outdoor shower !! We were even visited by a warthog family. Our only small complaint was the poor lighting in the bathrooms, but I suppose in the bush it doesn’t really matter if you haven’t been able to check your appearance, ha ha. It certainly didn’t detract anything from our trip.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lion Roars, General Manager at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Megs, Thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful feedback. Knowing that you had such a special stay with us is everything we could have hoped for. We'd like to extend a special thank you for highlighting the game drives with Ranger Ryan. He will be thrilled to know that he contributed to making your first safari experience so magical. He's a wonderful guide, and we're delighted that you had the opportunity to experience so much with him. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to him. It truly was wonderful having you with us for your first safari, and we hope to share many more moments with you in the future. Take care until we meet again. Kind regards, The Team at Bukela Lodge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andymccabe wrote a review Mar 2024
Dublin, Ireland22 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Amazing time at Bukela Game Lodge in the Amakhala. Everything from when we arrived to the staff to the game drives was exceptional. Special mention to Sammy and, our game ranger, Wonga. He was so accommodating, knowledgeable and made sure we saw everything the Amakhala had to offer. Will 100% do it again!y
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lion Roars, General Manager at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Responded 4 Mar 2024
Dear Andy, Thank you so much for your recommendation. Your kind words mean a lot to the team, and we're thrilled to hear that your experience was so memorable. It's wonderful to know that you got to see all that we have to offer, and we promise that your return visit will be just as good. We can't wait to see you again. Kind regards, The Team at Bukela
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
10Anthony wrote a review Feb 2024
Basingstoke, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
Amazing couple of days spent at Bukela Game Lodge. Wonderful staff and a fabulous setting. Our ranger Wonga was brilliant. He was extremely knowledgeable and made sure we saw as much of the wild game as possible. Thank you to the whole team who made our stay something we will remember for a very long time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lion Roars, General Manager at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Responded 4 Mar 2024
Dear Anthony, Thank you! We are thrilled that your stay with us will be remembered for years to come. It was truly wonderful having you with us. Wonga and the team will be delighted to hear that they were part of such a special experience for you. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, The Team at Bukela Lodge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Neil J wrote a review Feb 2024
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom11 contributions
A great lodge with nice individual chalets set far apart with connecting boardwalks. Excellent food and really superb game viewing with experienced, knowledgeable and friendly rangers. The staff were all extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. The waterhole viewing from the elevated hide provided some great on-site viewing in addition to the game drives. The camp is unfenced so animals could wander in and through making for some special moments. all in all a great stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lion Roars, General Manager at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Responded 29 Feb 2024
Dear Neil, Thank you very much for your kind review. It's wonderful to hear about your experience with us. We're thrilled that every aspect of your stay was so special and that you were able to enjoy excellent animal sightings from the comfort of the viewing hide. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we're eagerly awaiting your next visit. Kind regards, The Team at Bukela Lodge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Explorer61230 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
we stayed just one day but it was great. had three game drives all with mondey one of the most experienced rangers we had met. best experience in safari drives. the whole staff was exceptionally polite and helpful. all meals were great especially considering where they had been prepared in the middle of nowhere. rooms and tents comfortable and nice and clean. Samy the waitress super kind. you definitely could have expected less for your money ;) or with other words the trip is worth more than we have paid.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lion Roars, General Manager at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Responded 26 Feb 2024
Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your experience. It's great to hear from you again. We truly enjoyed having you with us for the one night, and even though your visit was short, we're thrilled to know that you left happy and with beautiful memories that will last. Sammy, the chef, and the rest of our team will be delighted to hear your feedback. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, The team at Bukela Lodge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DarcieDog wrote a review Feb 2024
Derbyshire, United Kingdom14 contributions9 helpful votes
Unfortunately Booking.Com appear to have completely ignored our timely request to change our departure date to 13th February- so we are owed a refund for our lost day….and tainted our visit. Our ranger Lucky was exceptionally knowledgeable and did his best to ensure that everyone had a good experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The water hole adjacent to the main building is a great spot for Water Buffalo
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lion Roars, General Manager at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Responded 26 Feb 2024
Dear Darcie, Thank you for rating your recent stay with us. We're thrilled to hear that your safari experience with Lucky was fantastic. He's indeed a wonderful guide, and we're delighted you got to see and experience Africa's wildlife with us. We're sorry to hear about the issues you've encountered with your booking site. Hopefully, you can resolve this matter soon. Thanks again for your feedback. Wishing you enjoyable travels in the future. Kind Regards, The team at Bukela Lodge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amakhala Game Reserve area.
PRICE RANGE
£385 - £677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bukela game hotel amakhala game reserve
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeAmakhala Game Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BUKELA GAME LODGE - AMAKHALA GAME RESERVE - Updated 2024 (South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
What are some of the property amenities at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve have airport transportation?
Yes, Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Bukela Game Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.