We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Lambton Arms

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Lambton Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 83: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very surprised cracking Sunday lunch would recommend it to everyone lovely excellent portion size , there was more than enough beef give it a go have stayed in the hotel but it is cheap enough decent pint as well

Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We already knew about the superb food at the Lambton Arms , and our wedding meals didn't disappoint . The 3 course meal was excellent and the vegetarian options were well received too . The function room was perfect , bar , dance floor , excellent evening buffet and resident DJ . Liz and her staff managed the whole occasion... More 

Helpful?
Thank david b
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as we were attending a friends wedding in the area. The pub was very nice & the rooms were clean and tidy. Overall the pub and rooms are excellent value for money and we wouldn't have any hesitation about staying again.

Helpful?
1 Thank dellis432
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Lambton for the 1st time over the weekend. It's a great value for money pub with some hotel rooms. The pub is clean and tidy with good food and drinks. The hotel rooms are large and clean and beds comfortable. There's a little bit of noise from the pub but that was expected as I read that... More 

Helpful?
Thank dezplews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016

A busy weekend with "Toon" football on, people arriving to stay overnight for the Great North Run. The staff took time to serve everyone in a warm and welcoming manner. The Manager was brilliant sorting out our issues, easily sorted. Food was good value for money, beer was far far better than the poor stuff you get down south. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan J
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Visited here for brunch. Not happy 1 breakfast 1 steak sandwich 1 tuna wrap with sweet potato fries and 1 jacket potato. The breakfast was so greasy it made my partner ill for the remainder of the day. Steak sandwich wasn't much to write home about and the sweet potato fries that came with the wrap were full of greasy... More 

Helpful?
Thank gemh23
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the food you received. Although you state other people were complaining about the food, I can only take it that you didn't complain as you don't mention speaking to anyone and we have no record of your complaint at the pub. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We had our wedding do upstairs here, must say the dj made the night quickly cottoning on to our requests for more Rock/Punk/Ska music than the usual wedding fayre, never sat down. The food was good and just about polished off. Only downside was the temperature, they could really do with some air conditioning especially when your'e diving around on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

A friend and I stayed for two nights and had breakfast and evening meals. Meals were delicious, particularly the chips! Breakfast full English, cereal and toast with tea or coffee for £5. Easy place for trains and buses. Pleasant,friendly and helpful staff. rooms clean and comfortable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Willcp16
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - we are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Can't fault the Lambton Arms for value! Stayed one night on business and looking for somewhere close to train station and this was ideal, less than 5 minutes walk from Chester-le-street station. Room was large and spotlessly clean, lovely bathroom with power shower and bath, lashings of hot water. Large double bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jimlee4
yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2016

A long drive in testing conditions, I just wanted to settle in and unwind. In trying to check in, I was required to pay up front – no problem, except that their card machine either was not working or its use not understood. I thus could not pay by credit card and they would not give me the key to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mike707
sweir24, Owner at Lambton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review - in respect to your points, we had no other issues with accepting anyone else's credit card or debit card payments either before or after you checked in so maybe the issue was with your cards. I'm not certain why you had to go out into the rain to get cash as within 10... More 

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
0.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,845 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
56 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
96 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lambton Arms is a lovely pub in the centre of Chester-le-Street that also has 11 letting bedrooms and 2 function rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lambton Arms

Address: 61 Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH3 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Price Range: £43 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Lambton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambton Arms Chester-Le-Street, Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lambton Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Big bedrooms, easy access”
 of 5 bubbles 966alanj, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 1, executive double room. Very nice room”
 of 5 bubbles Jimlee4, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“As close to the library as possible to be away from the music in the bar below. Free parking in the rear carpark.”
 of 5 bubbles Biffo4444, 20 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Not near the main street.A bit noisy Get a room at the side or at the rear”
 of 5 bubbles TTFan3d, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Front facing rooms are on main bus route (6am start). Quieter rooms at the rear.”
 of 5 bubbles Aly_Kat362, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay