Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Deangate Motel

Claremont House High Street, Lydney GL15 5DX England
Traveller (61)
Communal bath... ☹️
Room & Suite (11)
Communal bath... ☹️
Bathroom (5)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
£72
Get rewarded with One Key
£72
Get rewarded with One Key
£72
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 motel in Lydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Deangate Motel, situated on the edge of the Forest of Dean, offers boutique bedrooms, continental breakfasts for just £5 per person per morning, free parking and free Wi-Fi. The elegant rooms at the Deangate all have a modern en-suite bathroom and tea and coffee facilities. Rooms also offer a flat-screen TV,sound proof walls, hairdryer and telephone.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Canoeing
Diving
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Fishing
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
254Reviews6Q+A56Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 156
  • 52
  • 15
  • 9
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bruce C wrote a review Apr 2021
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom157 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms were very clean, staff friendly and helpful, nice central location with easy access to town/parks and forest trails and route to harbour only 10 mins away.
Good parking right outside room, very little noise from adjacent rooms or from main road which goes right by. Bed was huge.
We had the continental breakfast which was brought to the room, it was ample for the price.
Motel is very Covid secure and afe.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms seem equal.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura Hodgson, General Manager at Deangate Motel
Responded 7 May 2021
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back again soon .
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma B wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great experience all round for our one night stay August 2021. We walked from Lydney train station in 20 mins. The staff very kindly enabled us to check in early by cleaning our room first that morning, which was really helpful for us to drop our bags before heading to a wedding. Friendly and helpful staff, a lovely clean room with lots of space. Would definitely recommend booking here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa I wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Brilliant. Nice and clean. Perfect on the ground floor for easy access. Lovely room and spacious. Nice high bed, as Im slightly disabled. Breakfast is available on request and a slight additional cost, Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KohliH, Manager at Deangate Motel
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Thank you for your positive review, we value your opinion. We would like to offer you a discount of between 10 - 20%off when you book directly with us (terms and conditions apply ). We hope to see you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lavinia S wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We left after 5 minutes of arriving!
The Manger Laura was incredibly rude!! We had just arrived and within minutes she was shouting at me to wear a mask (which was in the car). I was not aware upon booking the 2 rooms that masks were required, it is not a legal requirement and there was nothing to state I must wear one upon booking. There are ways of speaking to people and this was not the way to approach paying guests.
The rudeness of this women was unbelievable. I have travelled the world extensively and I have never ever been spoken to by service staff in such a manner!! Unbelievable!! I am a paying customer and you don’t speak to customers like this.
Both bathrooms in no 10 & 9 rooms were filthy and smelly. No 9 has a loo and bathroom together, very unhygienic. We have stayed here many times before and after 5 minutes of this manager behaving in such a manner we decided not to stay.
They still took payment of £180 from us without us staying. Utterly disgraceful.
Do not stay here!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura Hodgson, General Manager at Deangate Motel
Responded 10 Oct 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. there a few points you have raised so i will address them all in order. To begin with the rudeness. Firstly, you have missed off how extremely pleased you were when you arrived early and we were happy to let you check in early. You were the one who first addressed the mask situation as you read the sign and stated it was in the car ( this was no problem and I continued to check you in while the rest of the party remained outside so they didnt have to find masks ) . I politely pointed our your rooms were inside the building so they would still nee them . This was no issue - however i did hear the one member of your party begin ranting it was ridiculous. You then gathered some belongings from the car and entered the motel again with no mask. then when back outside - again with no mask . I still had remained very friendly and polite. But when the third member of your party entered again with no mask - i did say no one was coming in again until masks were found politely. This was when two of you became very rue and aggressive stating it wasn't the law so we cant make you. I pointed out it is a business and business can decide their own additional rules and as it is still government guidance, we ask people inside communal areas to wear one . The majority of guests have only had positive feedback of our covid measures. It protects the guests and our staff. It all has a knock on effect . If the staff become unwell - we would have to close thus guests bookings having to be cancelled . We have seen so much of this locally - we will do all we can to ensure we can keep us all safe. When you came back in - still no mask - i was on the phone taking a booking from a another cutomer. You raised your voice and interrupted the call to say you were not staying here , the bathroom is disgusting ! i politely asked you to wait as I was dealing with another guest yet you continued ! This was when i was very blunt - i will be honest . you had been very rude interrupting a phone call - still not wearing a mask . If you had let me discuss things with you - you would have realised your errors over the bathroom in room 9/10 . It is a disabled room so has a wet room . These are in the majority of hotels in the UK and worldwide - so has level access . The toilet is in the same room as a shower. This is the whole set up of every wet room and the room you booked . Nothing unhygienic - this is the design of all disabled rooms which is what you had booked. To interrupt a phone call with another guest shows your behavior and the fact you were aware of the mask and continued to be rude and ignore the polite reminders even though other vulnerable people were present. Regarding payment - this is taken three days before and you reason for cancelling was not valid. The bathroom set up was as described ( a wet room ) so it is hygienic and common worldwide . And the behavior and manner of the staff was appropriate to the situation. For guests to start shouting, being intimating and rude - ignoring policies and interrupting phone calls with other guests - then management are going to be understandably slightly displeased ! Many thanks for the feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jaaz wrote a review Aug 2022
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom35 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect place to stay, spotlessly clean, good size rooms, everything you need like tea coffee hot chocolate, shampoo , shower gel, even a small fridge which is very handy. Great location for exploring the area. Very good value, would use again if in the area
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Easy parking, plenty of room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
crapfeet wrote a review Sept 2021
Mansfield UK15 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel, welcomes dogs, but also has dog free rooms. very clean and comfy rooms and bed. parking right outside the room. door straight to outside was very convenient. Fans in rooms, but toom was a very good temperature not too hot or too cold. Good plump pillows. Good size shower. Smashing area near to the forest of dean, lydney harbour, and many interesting heritage sites. contactless check in. we needed a vets during our stay and one was literally next door but one and fitted us in straight away. tesco local to the hotel for fuel and shopping, great town with shops cafes and takeaways, the chip shop is highly recommended, as is the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ukclun wrote a review May 2022
Clun, United Kingdom13 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good accommodation, spacious room, spotlessly clean, good parking facilities (effectively outside own room). Pleasant, friendly and helpful receptionist who kindly listed local places to eat (several within walking distance) Hotel provides free wifi (with good and stable connection). More than happy to recommend for business stays.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig D wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Avoid at all costs and an absolute disgrace.
We stayed here for 1 night on our way to wales.
Paid £109 for a family room.
It was filthy (see photos) and the mattresses so old you could feel the springs digging in when you moved.
It was hot, stuffy, dirty and uncomfortable.
A travelodge would have been better.
I told reception on checking on about all the problems. The girl behind reception was very apologetic and friendly and said she’d speak to her manager. We went out to the local park and on returning the manager had left a message with reception that they could only move us to an upstairs flat, which was more expensive, and we would have to pay extra. Absolutely disgraceful.
Do not stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Crapfeet2 wrote a review Sept 2021
United Kingdom22 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a fabulous hotel, just what we wanted. we had room number 1 which is a larger superior room. it had a table and two chairs and also a tub chair. there was a fridge in the room which was super handy. good storage space and nice bathroom. lovely clean accommodation, carpeted. good size tv and excellent wifi which was free. we had two windows and a door straight to outside, very convenient for fresh air and packing/unpacking. I do not walk very well so the ramp outside the room was appreciated. it is a great area to visit, the forest of dean, which has a sculpture trial and arboretum, is very pretty. the brecon beacons national park is nearby as are many CADW wales heritage sites which are many castles, abbeys, ironworks and other attractions that are just brilliant. great staff, excellent communication pre visiting, contactable at all time during visit. Lydney is a lovely town, many shop cafes and takeaways, it also has a pretty harbour.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeb M wrote a review Sept 2020
Bedford, United Kingdom32 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here for a few days and on arrival found the property to be very clean and tidy. The staff are very friendly and happy to answer any questions . The property is ideally situated to explore the Forest of Dean , the Wye Valley and local steam train. Also there is a nice park nearby which is great for dog walking as we had our 13 year old retriever with us. Due to COVID restrictions our breakfast was bought to our room at the time requested , overall a very enjoyable break
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from H S Kohli, General Manager at Deangate Motel
Responded 20 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you had an enjoyable break and hope we can welcome you both back soon .
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew asked a question Sept 2022
Devon, United Kingdom290 contributions220 helpful votes
Hi. Do you have charging points for electric cars?
Answer from ukclun
Clun, United Kingdom13 contributions2 helpful votes
I do not notice any - motel staff are very helpful I suggest you give them a ring
PawLord asked a question Feb 2020
Rossendale, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi, would you accept 2 (labrador sized) dogs please?
Answer from Laura Hodgson
Lydney, United Kingdom
Hi , Yes we accept dogs at a maximum of two per room. Can you please book direct with the hotel as we only allow dogs in certain rooms due to allergies etc. Thank you . Hope to see you soon !
Seetheworld asked a question Dec 2019
Redditch, United Kingdom720 contributions153 helpful votes
Can we take a small dog
Answer from Laura Hodgson
Lydney, United Kingdom
yes you can bring a small dog. But we only allow dogs in certain rooms , as keep most pet free for allergen resaons. So please call direct to make bookings so we can ensure you get a suitable room. Many thanks and hope to hear from you soon ! Laura
Answer from farthings19
Worthing, United Kingdom1 contribution
How much is a single room between march and may 2018 and how close are you to an address in Whitecroft,Lydney please
Answer from PaulD-BradleyStoke
Bristol, United Kingdom23 contributions28 helpful votes
It shouldn't be a problem, you are given your key card on check in and come and go as you wish. There is no front door, all the rooms open to the car park area. Have fun!
Caroline C wrote a tip Oct 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you just need basic this will be ok for you "
Read full review
jaaz wrote a tip Aug 2022
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom35 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easy parking, plenty of room"
Read full review
Nicola K wrote a tip Sept 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 1 best positioned"
Read full review
Ry T wrote a tip Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"On site parking, Big Tesco’s and Petrol station 5mins drive away, restaurants and local shops 7mins drive away."
Read full review
Bruce C wrote a tip Apr 2021
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom157 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms seem equal."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lydney area.
PRICE RANGE
£66 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
deangate hotel lydney
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGloucestershireForest of DeanLydney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DEANGATE MOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Deangate Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Deangate Motel?
Nearby attractions include Krazy Golf Lydney (0.6 miles), Taurus Crafts (0.6 miles), and Bathurst Park (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Deangate Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Deangate Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Deangate Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Deangate Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Ugly Duckling Country Restaurant, NG Thai Food, and The Bridge Cafe.
Is Deangate Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Lydney.
Are pets allowed at Deangate Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Deangate Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dr Jenner's House (4.2 miles), Purton Ships Graveyard (3.5 miles), and Cinderbury Iron Age Farm (4.8 miles).
Is Deangate Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Lydney HotelsLydney Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LydneyHotels near Deangate Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire