We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kilmore by Oban, Kilmore, Oban PA34 4QR Scotland
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Destinia.com
Snaptravel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 4 in Kilmore
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Braeside is a superb STB 4 Star Guesthouse, offering ground floor, en-suite rooms, some with Loch views. We have a licensed bar with over 100 single malt whiskies, and provide delicious home cooked breakfasts and mouthwatering evening meals. For a relaxing, comfortable house in beautiful surroundings, and friendly hosts offering a warm welcome - come visit us.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Diving
Golf course
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Hiking
Fishing
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
91Reviews0Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 24
  • 8
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Maggie B wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions
The bedroom was disappointing, mismatched ill-fitting furniture. The bathroom was damp and old fashioned. The hosts seemed uninterested in us and seemed glad when we left. The breakfast was ok, the porridge was very good, nice coffee and plenty of toast. You had to make a choice the night before which was irksome. Wouldn't go back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
STEVE S wrote a review Aug 2021
Worcester, United Kingdom27 contributions26 helpful votes
Beware this place is up for sale. The rating is way off. Linen, bedding and breakfast was fine but.... the room was dingy, smelled of septic tank and where you couldn't see was filthy. The place is tired and needs an urgent refurb. Outside was unkempt and needs cleaning. Who else would have a dirty mat at the entrance? Owners were pleasant enough but obviously not looking after the place. We feel ripped off by the previous ratings.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
japitts wrote a review Jun 2021
Bristol113 contributions37 helpful votes
Our recent stay was 2 nights - we'd returned from the Hebrides into Oban and had a daytrip to Mull.. this place ticked all the boxes, only 10-15minutes drive from central Oban but far enough out to avoid the "townage". Jon & Cherry were very welcoming, the rooms were well-furnished and breakfast exceptionally generous. One minor request on our first morning was accommodated intime for the second morning, so credit where it's due. Wasn't too fussed with the "Google Alexa" in the room which we unplugged, but I suppose it'll appeal to some people.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
keith w wrote a review Jun 2021
Pershore, United Kingdom126 contributions45 helpful votes
I rarely give a bad review but unfortunately have to write one for this establishment The building is in need of TLC and perhaps some air fresheners as the odour emanating from The corridors and bedrooms absolutely nauseating. We were to feel very uncomfortable when we decided to consume our own beverage rather than purchase from the over stocked bar. It’s a guest house!!!! The beds were comfortable but not sure it was the quality of the mattress or noxious smells which was that of dog, septic tank or both To make it worse the prices charged were outrageous when compared with where we stayed the next night which was welcoming , clean and modern. Perhaps the owners should go and visit the competition We call this place farty towers
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Take an air freshner
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Freeman, Owner at Braeside Guesthouse
Responded 8 Jun 2021
Im terrably sorry you didnt enjoy your stay, we endevour to make everyone comfortable and welcome and have hundreds of reviews that say this. We do have a dog but he is not allowed in the guest part of the house so i dont know how you might have known of him. Our bar is well stocked we have over 200 single malt whiskies and a huge selection of Gins and Spirits but these are well under the prices of the local hotels. We dont mind guests drinking in their rooms but as licensed premises we do not allow guests to consume their own food and drink in our bar and resteraunt areas. I dont know of any establishments that do. Still sorry you had a bad experience Jon Freeman (owner)
Read more
bhoj raj s wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
We were not impressed with our stay at this Bed and Breakfast. Towels in bathroom had not been replaced on daily basis. Bathroom was not cleaned daily and rubbish bins in bedroom not emptied. Also got smell of dog in reception area. Breakfast not served in dining room. Was delivered to outside bedroom in a takeaway bag and very disappointed that not full breakfast menu. I appreciate these difficult times but feel that if not able to provide a proper breakfast then perhaps should be offering room only. Bedroom was not hoovered during our stay
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We wouldn't recommend this Bed and Breakfast
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Freeman, Owner at Braeside Guesthouse
Responded 12 Sept 2020
Due to present covid restrictions we do NOT visit you room on a daily basis however if you read the note placed in the room you would have seen you could have requested daily servicing. Obviously you did not see the big notice on our website or read the note in your room explaining that we are operating within government guidelines and offer a take away cooked breakfast. I am sorry you were disappointed but would rather that and you stay safe and healthy than have you unwell. perhaps when all the madness is over you can come stay and we can offer you a proper cooked breakfast. Stay safe Jon and Cherry
Read more
Wanderer191255 wrote a review Sept 2019
Southport, United Kingdom547 contributions173 helpful votes
Jon and Cherry were so welcoming you felt immediately at home. Rooms were great with large mugs and a teapot, biscuits and tablet. Had breakfast and dinner here both were excellent. Jon is very knowledgeable and told us where we could see seals. Penny the peahen is a character and you are minutes from town but with fabulous views from the dining room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Maureen Australia wrote a review Jul 2019
22 contributions45 helpful votes
My Husband and I arrived an hour early however the owners showed us to our room which had a nice outlook. The room was compact however no complaints with adequate facilities and good shower. The breakfast menu is excellent and cooked superbly by the owner. Handy off street parking outside our room.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Most rooms are similar and very quiet with picturesque views.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
gpduf wrote a review Jun 2019
Tebay, United Kingdom110 contributions81 helpful votes
You have an onsite owner here that knows food, knows the region and keeps an open bar of single malts as well. This is a very well run but more than that, one run with a desire to do more. Rooms are adequate, typical B & B but with great views and everything works. Parking is in back, secure and convenient. The big thing is the atmosphere, a great sitting room, an onsite pub and a great location only a few minutes from the ferries at Oban.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon F, Owner at Braeside Guesthouse
Responded 30 Jun 2019
Thank you so much for your kind review. Your feedback is important to us and inspires us Please do come again Best wishes Jon and Cherry
Read more
Skanda wrote a review Jun 2019
New Delhi, India87 contributions83 helpful votes
Oban is a lovely coastal town, lively and colorful. It does not go to sleep by 6 like St. Ives or Brighton (which were rather disappointing). Most of the shops close by then but the beachside cafes remain open till late and the tourists can be seen strolling along or just sitting by enjoying the sea breeze late into the evening. Braeside Guesthouse is about 7 miles upwards, located jut off the A816 and facing the Loch a couple of hundred yards across the road. The establishment is owned, run and managed by Jon and Cherry, a middle aged couple quite young at heart. Their warmth radiates to everything around them. We were given Room No.4, a very large one with an equally large picture window with a view of the loch. Very well furnished and kitted out with everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. Cherry’s affectionate touch was evident in the selection of cookies laid out with the tea tray or the bowl of fudge placed by the bedside. Since all meals were home cooked and to order, dinner time was limited to 7 pm, but the bar was manned until Jon called it a day at about 10 or so. A lovely little bar actually, and pretty well stocked too. Breakfast was a BIG affair. Too much of it and much too good to be missed out. If you’re a light eater, better discuss things with Cherry first, she likes to feed her guests. The only little thing out of sync here was the WiFi. For some reason it packed up along with the bar around 10 each night. Probably something to do with the router being plugged in there somewhere. Nothing that cannot be easily sorted out. Every once in a long while you come across a host who makes you feel like coming back to the same place again. Jon & Cherry are one such couple. Thank you both for a memorable weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
DonkScotland wrote a review Jun 2019
Scotland191 contributions74 helpful votes
Had booked an overnight stop to break the journey south and were delighted to find the reviews for Braeside were not exaggerated. Only a few minutes outside the bustle of Oban. Very warm welcome, great attention to detail (GF choccy biccies on the hospitality tray - gold star). Room not huge, but nicely decorated and immaculate. Effective shower and an exceptionally comfortable bed, which was very welcome after a week in a cottage with a very dodgy bathroom and mattress. Very good, and well presented local information and advice on places to visit. Refreshed from a great night's sleep we were presented with an excellent breakfast next morning. Shame about the weather - could barely see beyond the bushes, let alone the squirrels etc that come around the house. Next time maybe!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon F, Owner at Braeside Guesthouse
Responded 15 Jun 2019
Thank you for your lovely review glad you enjoyed your stay Come and visit us again and we will order better weather for the next visit !
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$124 - US$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandArgyll and ButeObanKilmore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Braeside Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Braeside Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Oban War & Peace Museum (3.0 miles), Isle of Kerrera (4.8 miles), and McCaig's Tower (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Braeside Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Braeside Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Braeside Guesthouse?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Braeside Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Etive Restaurant, Food from Argyll At the Pier, and Coast Restaurant.
Is Braeside Guesthouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Kilmore.
Are there any historical sites close to Braeside Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gylen Castle (4.4 miles).