We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Avana Waterfront Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Avana Waterfront Apartments
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Avana. Desiree and Randy were very friendly and helpful, and left bread, milk and fruit and wine to get us started. We rented the water-view studio apartment. The kitchen facilities are basic, with only a two-burner cooktop, but there are two BBQs on the grounds. The small dishwasher was really appreciated. Rooms are cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri H
england
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we arrived (late christmas eve) we felt welcomed, the wonderful desiree had left some fruit, bread, milk and wine out for us, just the welcome we needed, thanks! Desiree continued to be a massive help in answering questions, giving advice and just generally providing the personal touches which give these apartments the wonderful feel! In fact all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mimsimmo
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I booked a 10 night stay for an air conditioned room. Noticed that they had other facilities such as internet for an additional charge. Upon reading reviews I noticed people saying they had to pay an additional charge for the use of the air conditioner - I went back and checked an this was not listed as an additional charge...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marc F
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Marc, Thank you for your review, for your booking made for January but then you cancelled it. As I e-mailed you, the bank already refund your deposit and it is confirmed deducted in our bank and transfer in your credit card. However, we are not sure why your telling you did not receive it yet. I also e-mail you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a comfortable, quiet studio room with good facilities and a fabulous view. However the best thing about staying at Avana is Desiree. She was the most caring and thoughtful resort receptionist I have ever met. She gave us superb advice and made us feel so welcome and cared for. We made an initial muddle with our booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wonderfulworld159
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Kia orana Rex and Stephanie, Thank you for your review to us, we are happy that you've enjoyed your holiday with us. Meitaki maata-Desiree

Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Our stay at Avana was blissful. When we arrived, we were provided with lots of information about things to do and how to stay safe. We had lovely trips to the island on the Avana kayaks, used the Avana snorkeling gear, and spent many hours dozing by the pool. Our apartment was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SparrowClaw
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review to us. It is our privilege to have at Avana Waterfront Apartments. Meitaki again-Desiree

Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

We had such a wonderful time at the Avana Apartments. There is so much fun stuff to do in Rarotonga, but we happily spent most of our time at the apartments: lounging by the pool, dozing on the loungers, tropical fish-watching off the jetty in front of our apartment, gobbling delicious local food (in particular the fresh tuna caught by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salcinnamon
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Kia orana, meitaki maata for your stayed with us. Lovely to hear that you've enjoyed your holiday with us. Ka kite in some future time :) Kia Manuia!-Desiree :)

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 November 2016

I've just had a week at Avana with my family. It included my wife and me our daughters and their husbands and our grandchildren. What a great place to relax. The pool, the coconuts to open and drink from and eat, the kayaks to explore in, the coconut palms for the kids to climb, the fish off the jetty, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mounga
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

It's been a pleasure to have your family holiday with us. We are overwhelm for the good reviews you have for Avana Waterfront. Thank you very much and kind regards :)

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We booked a studio room without aircon and felt with the ceiling fan and windows open we had a nice airy room with a great view over the lagoon from the balcony which was decked out with some traditional sun loungers and table and chairs for our convenience. The mozzy coils provided ensured we could sit outside at dawn and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cher1973
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Kia orana Cher and Alan, you two are lovely person inside and out. Thanks a lot for your holiday with us. We are looking forward for your next visit to us :) Cheers - Desiree

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 November 2016

This facility was everything we needed. Pool was a must and was well maintained. Free use of kayaks but with limited range of life jackets, BBQ x2 and friendly staff. If the office was closed on your arrival there was a clearly understood sign on your apartment. Very easy to mix and converse with your neighbours or remain separate. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Andrew and families, thank you that you celebrate the 60th birthday with us. Toddlers and young kids, the parents really need on guard specially if there is swimming pool and open sea. Yes, our place is the pantry of the local people here in Rarotonga known for fishing, collecting shell, sea urchins etc. Meitaki maata :)

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 November 2016

wonderful spot, close to Muri and not to far from the main centre of town. All the apartments are close to the water with great views up the harbour and over to the island. Great BBQ area that was used by all the guests but was always clean and with gas. Desiree and her staff were amazing. Desiree made a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karendelautour
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Karen and family, thank you very much for choosing us for your holiday. I know this holiday is special to your family as it is your Mum and Dads birthday celebration on the same month. Again thank you and see you again in some future time :) Cheers :)

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.9 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.2 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
501 reviews
1.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
6.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 18 in Muri
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Absolute waterfront spacious & fully self contained apartment accommodation on a deep water harbour. All apartments & studios have unrivalled views from private decks across pristine Avana Harbour to an uninhabited islet with its beautiful sandy beaches. The private jetty is the departure point for local fishing charters as well as the start of your lagoon activities. Experience fish feeding, kayaking, snorkelling, and fishing. An ideal accommodation option for couples and families with teenagers who enjoy water sports and especially fishing!  " ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avana Waterfront Apartments

Address: Kaireva Drive | Avana Lagoon, Muri 869, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Price Range: £81 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avana Waterfront Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Avana Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avana Waterfront Apartments Hotel Muri
Avana Waterfront Apartments Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avana Waterfront Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Avana Waterfront Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lagoon view, quiet, very clean, great service, pool, BBQ on site, fly screens on all windows, laundry service”
 of 5 bubbles Cher1973, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It is unfortunate to say but if you are poor in mobility then this place is not for you due to access to bedrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles andrewmK9678ES, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs studios have balconies overlooking lagoon but longer way to pool/lagoon. Downstairs darker, no balcony but open onto lagoon side”
 of 5 bubbles 726isabels, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs studio suited us just fine.”
 of 5 bubbles regalcourtmotel, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You won't be disappointed if you book at Avana. Peaceful and beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles JoKeller, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay