We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Imani Beach Villa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Imani Beach Villa
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

What an amazing 8 nights we spent at this spot! Let me start off by saying that this is not the right place for people looking for a 5 star luxury hotel. This is for people looking for a 5 star EXPERIENCE aided by 5 star STAFF. The turn-off to this villa is a tad intimidating - you may wonder...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TanyaNel76
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Our ten-day stay at this west-coast beachfront villa was pleasant and relaxing. The elevated thatched bar/restaurant is an excellent vantage point to watch the waves, local life, and see the sun set. It is just a short walk along the beach past the coral outcrop for a pleasant swim. Our room was comfortable with good air-con and mosquito netting, shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R933QXbrians
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 17 February 2016

The Beach front villa is unrivaled in terms of excellent food, the very listening staff, the airport connections, excursions from the door step, the homely welcome. Kudos Tito and Company for ensuring guests get the best.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ronald K
Stresa, Italy
Reviewed 2 September 2015

A little hotel in a small village. The location is fairy and people are very open. From here you can go everywhere. If you're not a traveller and you need a lot of comfort, search for a resort, this is not the place for you. But if you wanna live the real africa, meet beautiful people and live an adventure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diossina86
Philippines
Reviewed 10 August 2015

The sunset view over the water was beautiful. I had a private room with A/C and bathroom for $40 and it was very comfortable. The hotel can arrange pickup or drop-off to the airport and ferry as needed for a good price (to the Ferry is $10 or 15,000 TZS). It is also easy to walk to the main road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn P
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2015

After spending a month with students, it was the place to stay. Quiet, excellent service and friendly staff. The room was decorated with flowers like had never seen before and the facilities were just perfect. Non commercial but clean and welcoming. Just the place to spend relaxing after a busy month. Will definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gullick73
Reviewed 16 April 2015

We booked Imani after recommendations from friends who had stayed there previously and enjoyed it. I can say I would definitely recommend it to others as well. Tito was a great host, and all the staff were so nice. They also have a three-legged dog Hop on the property! After an overnight flight from South Africa>Kenya>Zanzibar, it was so relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We stayed at Imani for a couple of nights in 2012 and returned the next time we were in Zanzibar for the relaxed vibe, yummy food and beautiful tree house - perfect for candlelit dinners. We loved the bedroom - huge antique bed, huge bathroom and beautifully decorated. Staff are very friendly and helpful and can organise lots of trips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leopardskinlin
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2015

Air-con turned off every 10min, shower did not run at all, and beach is a bit of a thoroughfare. On the other hand the food is good (but expensive) and WiFi is pretty reliable. We had lower rates as it was the off-season, but if it was full price I probably wouldn't stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenJP88
SimonBububu, Owner at Imani Beach Villa, responded to this review

Hi Jen, thank you for your review. It is frustrating for us, and our team of staff, that you did not explain earlier in your stay that you were having a problem with your air con and shower. The air con works perfectly fine, but perhaps you needed some guidance setting and controlling it. Furthermore, it would have been a...

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 9 March 2015

We were picked up at the airport by a local taxi driver who was arranged by Imani and greeted when we arrived. They took care of the payment and just added it to our bill. When we arrived, we were not asked for any I.D. just asked what kind of room we wanted (1 or 2 beds as both were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JEH87

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (41)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bububu
0.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge
0.0 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#9 of 12 in Jambiani
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Jambiani
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imani is a beautiful small hotel run by a young English couple situated on the beach in Bububu 10kms north of Stone Town. We have a lovely outdoor restaurant and grill set in our tropical garden where we grow fresh herbs and fruits to use in our range of delicious meals and delectable cocktails. We have a great performance of local drumming and dancing with bbq every Thursday at sunset. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Imani Beach Villa

Address: Off Malawi Road | P.O.BOX 3248, Bububu 3248, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bububu
Price Range: £35 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Imani Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imani Beach Villa Hotel Stone Town
Imani Beach Villa Zanzibar Island/Bububu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Imani Beach Villa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Imani Beach Villa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are large with typical Zanzibari furniture. En suite bathroom facilities are functional rather than state of the art.”
 of 5 bubbles R933QXbrians, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The beds are a little short!”
 of 5 bubbles JEH87, 9 Mar 2015 | Read review
“room 2 was the only room with a normal length bed.”
 of 5 bubbles devison, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Our rooms were in the main building with the office and front desk. So I'm not sure how the rooms in the other building compare.”
 of 5 bubbles aegisys, 13 Jan 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are fabulous.”
 of 5 bubbles Backpackways, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay