Chuini Zanzibar Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chuini Zanzibar Lodge

De vissers uit Bububu.
Traveller (294)
Het tweede zwembad van Chuini.
Pool & Beach (52)
desayuno espectacular....
Dining (25)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
£119
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 3 hotels in Bububu
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Expansive ocean views and balmy sunsets invite guests to lose themselves in complete tranquillity. Located on the very edge of the Unguja Island where the Indian Ocean reaches the shore, Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge is the most voguish property to grace Zanzibar’s west coast and the embodiment of a utopian beach escape. The lodge is set on the west coast of Zanzibar, 12 kilometres north of Stone Town, and its bungalows are spread out over a 1.5-hectare area, allowing for excellent privacy. Palm trees embellish the grounds and magnificent, panoramic sea views can be soaked in from each unit – a taste of perfection.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Snorkelling
Airport transportation
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Billiards
Fishing
Table tennis
Car hire
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
134Reviews11Q+A14Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 97
  • 18
  • 4
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Veronika G wrote a review Jan 2020
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
During our stay everything in this place was very special and perfect. The location of the hotel is very magical, you are surrounded by beautiful historical ruins, which gives a very romantic atmosphere to this hotel.
The most beautiful place is the view from the bar or pool to the little bay where are few boats parked. Also, very romantic view is from restaurant from where you can watch gorgeous sunset.

Our Villa was very beautiful, spacious and clean with a lovely sea view. The fact they have just a few rooms make us feel very special and we had enough space for each other.

The food here is simply delicious, from breakfast till dinner chef prepares amazing tasty dishes. The special attention belongs to the bar staff, they do the best cocktails on the Earth!
Speaking of the staff, everyone is very friendly, helpful working with passion and joy.

A special thanks to Nikola, who made our stay unforgetable. We will come back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 574rossanab, Manager at Chuini Zanzibar Lodge
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear Veronika, Thank you for the wonderfull review! We are glad to hear that our Cocktails are the best on the Earth and we really hope to have the pleasure to prepare for you more cocktails again in the near future! Greetings from all Chuini Team!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adéla wrote a review Feb 2020
19 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a lovely and calm place!
Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge has amazing location with ruins so it shows you how Zanzibar looked like, I really liked the view from restaurant and all the small details (lights, mirrors, pictures) that makes the hotel really stylish.
Really good food, especially cheeses and cold cuts.
All staff really friendly and helpful, especially manager Nikola. With her there is everything possible :)
I hope we will come back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 574rossanab, Manager at Chuini Zanzibar Lodge
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear Adela, Thank you for taking the time to write this beatiful review. We are happy that you had a great time! We rally look forward to welcome you back again soon! Greetings from all Chuini Team!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marilyn N Stephanie wrote a review Feb 2021
Kampala, Uganda19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Not far from the airport, located in a quiet and peaceful environment, the rooms were cleaned each day during our stay and so were both pools. The staff were very warm and welcoming especially Elisha he took care of us like we were family, me and my sister had full body scrub and massage, the Hakuna matata package of the spa was top notch, I felt relaxed after a long day of activities. There is nothing to dislike about this place. Everything is as it is in the pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cubsgirl26 wrote a review Jan 2020
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates65 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I decided to book this hotel so that we could end our 15 day trip and begin the New Year in a relaxing beautiful place. The property is beautiful but we left disappointed and stressed out. Our bathroom was infested with ants. Im sure there in a nest in the walls. A few ants here or there is normal but this was insane! In 1 day the cleaning ladies came 3 times to spray and sweep up PILES of ants. When we left, there was still ants crawling all over the floor and walls. The response from the manager is that the property is surrounded by nature and there are ants, however all of our other beach hotels were too and we NEVER encountered bugs to this magnitude. Personally I don’t like having a shower with ants crawling all over the shower. I really do not think they know how infested the room was because they just send the cleaners to take care of it. As other reviewers indicated, food was over priced and underwhelming which surprised me because other reviewers seemed to have loved the food.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 574rossanab, Manager at Chuini Zanzibar Lodge
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear Cubsgirl26, Thank you for your review and thank you to share with us your feedback. We hope that all our team will learn to be more carefull in all small details. Unfortunately was a really raining season and sometime was really difficult to control the presence of little insects. Concerning the food we are sad that we did not achieve your expectation, but we hope that in future we will have the chance to make you think the same as the 99% of our guests. Greetings from Zanzibar!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marion wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Liked · The staff are friendly. The hotel is quiet and peaceful and the ocean view (from the restaurant) is beautiful.

Disliked · From my experience, there is definitely no value for money with the services provided. Firstly, I booked a room meant to be facing the garden and found myself checked into a room facing a fishing harbour where on my first night I had to use my phone flash light to get up and down the steps to and from the restaurant. The room I was in was far and did not have a telephone so they provide a contact card. I felt unsafe especially as a solo female traveler. When I spoke to the manager about this, I got the impression that he would rather cater for the 'western' tourists rather move me to the initial room I had booked. The food is overly expensive and they have limited options. On my first night, I paid USD 40 for vegetables, fruit salad, a mocktail and bottled water. It's disappointing to travel all the way to Zanzibar for their delicious food and spices only to find yourself having a basic burger and fries for USD 12 or an Earl Grey tea (literally served in an office mug) for USD 4. The location also doesn't help as you have to drive a few km through a dirt road to get to the hotel and it takes at least 30 min to get to Stone Town. If the services were great, the location would certainly not be a problem. I was really disappointed that by day 2 (of my 4 day stay), I was ready to leave. I personally wouldn't recommend this place as it really lacks value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Confirm your room after booking as you can be moved to another room without your knowledge.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolina wrote a review Mar 2020
Province of Chieti, Italy6 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What amazing experience in the Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge!
Rossana and Giuseppe make you feel at home with their lovely smile, they have very attention to every detail.
The food is unbelievable, fresh tuna and sea food available every day.
From our bungalow we had an amazing view!
You can choose english breakfast or, as I do, pancakes and and fruit plate with a real italian espresso coffee.
For lovers of spicy food, there is a chili farm grow by general manager!!!
I highly recommend it!
See you soon guys!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 574rossanab, Manager at Chuini Zanzibar Lodge
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear Carolina, Wow! Thank you for your amazing review! We are proud to read that you enjoyed our fresh fish every day and that you appreciated the fact that we do have it always available at the Lodge. We thank you as well to have been here with us and we are looking forward to see you again trying the chilli from the farm of our General Manager. Greetings from all Chuini Staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RMDEUS wrote a review Mar 2023
Lisbon, Portugal214 contributions153 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Everybody told me Zanzibar has two completely different “coasts”. Literally. One with the white sandy beaches you see in the pictures and the other one with villages overcrowded and dead coral that makes it impossible to swim. But I´m quite stubborn. Beside when I try to choose hotels with no more than 20 rooms and a great design. Chuini is just that. Located in a beautiful small bay, surrounded by some old Oman ruins (I love history). Everything is quite scenic and Instagram material (if you like those kind of things). Our room/bungalow was in the bay. We woke up with the fisherman leaving in the morning. You can’t get more native than that.
Service is great and the all the staff has that “jambo” Tanzania mood. We read that some guests complain about the food prices - that´s important because you don’t have any restaurants nearby. It’s true. It´s expensive. But the food is also very impressive. I had the same benedict eggs for breakfast (5 star) and an incredible lobster in one of the dinners. Good quality products in Africa are simply not cheap.
There´s a beach around the corner with a nice bar. There you will find a 5 or 6 meter strip of sand where you can take a “swim” without (many) dead corals around. And its beautiful. But its not the beach you are probably looking for.
Chuini is a great option if you want to make a stopover before heading home – it’s a 30 minutes’ drive from the airport. Or if you just wand to hide away from the world.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ladybug wrote a review Aug 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates11 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have never experienced hospitality in all of its definition like I have here. Being able to experience this kind of hospitality, kindness and generousity has made me so grateful Chuini was my destination stay. From complimentary daily massages, room upgrades, staff treating you like family - always ensuring you have the best and are the most comfortable, going the extra mile in making sure you experience all of Zanzibar by just being here as well as personal gifts and treats.

A special shout out to Stella (lodge manager) who has always ensured that every request is met and not just met but enjoyed and fully satisfied!
Elisha (F&B manager), from the biggest smiles to the best cocktails. Treating us like family and leaving foot prints on our hearts.
Zuhra (spa therapist), thank you, thank you, thank you! For being such a blessing daily with all your complimentary massages and kindness!

Asante Sane to all the staff at Chuini Beach Lodge who have treated us like family and have blessed us in ways we cannot fully express in words.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If needing a covid test, I would suggest doing a mobile test. Such a quick and easy process.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Management wrote a review Apr 2021
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place keeps exceeding my expectations.
Great views, tasty food, relaxing atmosphere and very professional management, who will actually listen to the guest. It felt like home away from home.

Thank you guys, I will come back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristine K wrote a review Jan 2021
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates6 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We we're supposed to go on our holiday and stay at Chuini Beach Lodge but since we got Covid, we never got to go. We never got a refund from our accomodation. Our travel coordinator said they are not responding and cannot get ahold of them. They are very quick to charge us and tell us to pay for New Year's Eve dinner beforehand but once we try to get our money back due to valid reasons and proof, they go silent. This is very unfair. I want my $3,000 usd back please.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not book this hotel because you will not get your money back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Newmark
4 contributions
Dear Guest, Apologies about the inconvenience. The lodge does not have WIFI in the bedrooms, however, there is WIFI throughout all the main areas of the lodge. Regards, Chuini Team
Mariam K asked a question Jan 2019
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates145 contributions13 helpful votes
what's the property email address if I need to inquire about wedding venues?
Answer from Rossana B
Good morning from Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge! Please give us your email address and we will contact you soon! Rossana
Answer from HakunaMatata1
Zanzibar2 contributions1 helpful vote
We are sorry that you couldn't reach us yesterday. Our number for the reception is +255756144605. We are looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Cher N wrote a tip Mar 2023
Vancouver, Canada10 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"room 101 is loud!"
Read full review
Marion wrote a tip Aug 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Confirm your room after booking as you can be moved to another room without your knowledge."
Read full review
Tareq A wrote a tip Jan 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please fix the overlapping issue that happened in Airbnb, if you remember. they used your photos"
Read full review
Stacey-lee R wrote a tip Nov 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa101 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are not many areas to walk around at this lodge and most of your time would have to be spent in the lodge unless you call a taxi to collect you."
Read full review
Ladybug wrote a tip Aug 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If needing a covid test, I would suggest doing a mobile test. Such a quick and easy process."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bububu area.
PRICE RANGE
£55 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hakuna matata beach hotel bububu, hakuna matata beach bububu
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandBububu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHUINI ZANZIBAR LODGE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Chuini Zanzibar Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Chuini Zanzibar Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Cheetah's Rock (1.1 miles), Zanzibar Spices and Heritage Centre (3.2 miles), and Prison Island - Changuu Private Island (4.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chuini Zanzibar Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Chuini Zanzibar Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chuini Zanzibar Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chuini Zanzibar Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tangawizi Bistro Zanzibar, Curry House Indian Restaurant, and The Passing Show Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chuini Zanzibar Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Chuini Zanzibar Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Chuini Zanzibar Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chuini Zanzibar Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chuini Zanzibar Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Chuini Zanzibar Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mtoni Palace Ruins (8.2 miles), Mkunazini, Urban West, Zanzibar (6.2 miles), and David Livingstone's place of rest (6.0 miles).
Does Chuini Zanzibar Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.