We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bramley Apple Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwell
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Bramley Apple Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 94: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately our time at the Inn was rather rushed on our behalf which meant we could not enjoy everything that was on offer... In such a short space of time thou I would like to say the Hosts Debbie and her partner could not have made us feel more welcome such a shame we could not have spent some time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ali s
Debbie H, Manager at The Bramley Apple Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you stay and we hope to see you again next time you visit!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful stay over night through Nottingham local beer crafted ale food was very impresse service fast and polite experience warms rooms clean and tidy beds comfortable. Very nice area local village lots to see staff were friendly xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marvinRed
Debbie H, Manager at The Bramley Apple Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Marvin.

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the bramley apple pub whilst visiting relatives in southwell nottinghamshire, small and cosy local pub with bed and breakfast, nice room with en- suite. food and drink at the pub was great , crafted ale the roaring meg brewed locally and fish and chips. sandwiches on menu were also good. rick and Debbie were great best of luck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AV B
Debbie H, Manager at The Bramley Apple Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Av, it was a pleasure.

Manchester
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Dirty rooms, which were not ready on check in, stained beds and carpets, loud music from the bar booming till 4am, no sign of the landlady when we left the next day - just awful, worse place I have ever stayed. Can't imagine it will be open for much longer. DO NOT book here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NWL3
Debbie H, Manager at The Bramley Apple Inn, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I admit the rooms were not ready when you left your bags at 10am but they were clean and prepared upon your return later. You did seem happy when you were drinking free shots at my private birthday party after the pub had closed and seemed to enjoy the...

Nottingham
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Fawlty towers, what more can I say, this place should not be open,the potential to be a nice inn is there but sadly at the moment the current owners seem to be having too many problems, the service, the food, the ELECTRICS. We would not recommend at present and will not visit again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TTate
Debbie H, Manager at The Bramley Apple Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We did have a problem with the lights in the toilets and as I was so busy trying to sort that out, the service you received may have been a little under par. Please come back and enjoy a complimentary meal by way of apology.

Southwell, Notts
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Hi, just wanted to update all the info on here saying that this place is shut as it's now reopened under new management and is great!! The rooms are comfy and clean, the food is fab and the atmosphere great! I'll not hesitate to recommend The Bramley to anyone.. will definitely return :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzev
Debbie H, Manager at The Bramley Apple Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Suzi, that's really kind of you. It has taken a lot of hard work to get the place up and running again but it makes it all worthwhile when we have lovely visitors like you!

Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We booked to stay at this B&B over the Gate to Southwell festival weekend. We booked directly with the Bramley Apple and gave card details over the phone so that the owner could take a deposit. Instead he took the whole amount! The confirmation of booking I asked for never arrived, the phone was never answered. To our horror, when...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank michelle552016
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

When your looking for an easy competitive option to get your head down in Southwell try the Bramley apple. No problems, quick and easy book in system, reasonable room rate and a decent bar with some nice real ale served. There are plenty of other real ale houses in the area that are worth trying and stopping over for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john h
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

My family and I were due to stay at the Bramley Apple Inn after my cousins wedding. We had spoken to them on the Wednesday to arrange to drop our bags on the Saturday before the wedding started. The landlord had said this would be fine and all was good. When we arrived on the Saturday no-one was there. No...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jenni S
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Rang them on Saturday night about Sunday lunch so drove 25 miles with the family but when got there at 12.30 they were still closed after saying they open at 12 midday. When for a lovely meal down the road & still closed at 13.30. Rang to ask why but no answer

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Neville M

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwell
0.3 mi away
Saracens Head Hotel
Saracens Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southwell
302 reviews
6.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
#1 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
443 reviews
5.5 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
6.2 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reindeer Inn
The Reindeer Inn
#6 of 9 in Southwell
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently reopened and under new management, The Bramley Apple is a beautiful recently refurbished traditional pub in the heart of historic Southwell, serving the local community with a fantastic selection of Springhead beers and guest ales from other top breweries from across the UK, as well as real ciders, fine wines, and a few of the usual favourites. We also have four lovely B&B rooms available, all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bramley Apple Inn

Address: 51 Church Street, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent NG25 0HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Southwell
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Bramley Apple Hotel Southwell
The Bramley Apple Inn Southwell, Nottinghamshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bramley Apple Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great local area , lots to do and see”
 of 5 bubbles 832avb, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 all doubles but you could have single occupancy if you wish I did”
 of 5 bubbles jjune_12, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Room one is huge cannot advise on the other rooms but this was really nice and has a bath/shower and is situated at the front of the Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles LPettitt, 22 Nov 2014 | Read review
“All rooms are en suite doubles. 2 are standard with showers, one has a terraced area and the other a separate bathroom with a bath and shower.”
 of 5 bubbles jenwassell, 3 Nov 2014 | Read review
“We were on the road and it was very quiet all night!”
 of 5 bubbles tzi_b, 9 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5