Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani

Traveller (98)
Jacuzzi Sky pool
Room & Suite (13)
breakfast ...... same thing for 3 days I had enough!
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#24 of 114 small hotels in Bophut
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value

Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Chaweng, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

As your “home away from home,” the small hotel rooms offer a kitchenette, a minibar, and a refrigerator, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to 24 hour front desk, 24 hour check-in, and room service while staying at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui. In addition, Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui offers a rooftop pool and an on-site restaurant, which will help make your Chaweng trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is parking available to guests.

Given the close proximity to Mary Help of Christians Church (1.3 mi), guests of Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui can easily experience one of Chaweng's most popular landmarks.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out The Jungle Club Restaurant, Coast Beach Club & Bistro, and Phensiri Thai Restaurant, which are some Asian restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

Best of all, Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui makes it easy to experience some great Chaweng attractions like Chaweng Lake, which is a popular park.

Enjoy your stay in Chaweng!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Snack bar
Vending machine
Car hire
Taxi service
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

37/90-1 Moo 3, Bophut 84320 Thailand
Name/address in local language
137Reviews2Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 55
  • 51
  • 16
  • 0
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Curious05949893103 wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Heroes do exist! Our daughter lost her most precious ‘Ploen by Tolani’ monkey. Having had it for 8 years as her favorite stuffed animal, which we bought in the hotel as a dear reminder of the great times in Koh Samui, you can imagine the sadness of losing it during our last family trip. The entire hotel team did their utmost to find a spare monkey and ship it all the way to the Netherlands. With such a personal touch, you can imagine Tolani to have hospitality at ❤️. We really cannot thank the team more. Thank you for reuniting our daughter with her favorite hotel merchandise. You are great and we for sure will meet at Tolani on our next adventures!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archie barber wrote a review Apr 2024
5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really nice Hotel for a reasonable price.
The bed and pillows were nice and comfortable, the room was clean and had a balcony
The rooftop pool and garden area was really lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful
Perfect location! Highly reccomended.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cederic L wrote a review Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all, thank you to the staff, we have enjoyed our stay with you
This experience was magnificent, the hotel staff excelled in hospitality and kindness. They really contributed to our journey. We stayed for a month and will come back in the near future. It is a modern hotel, very clean and had all the comfort and facilities one needs on vacation. We recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wanderlust6336 wrote a review Feb 2013
New York City, New York11 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
STAY ANYWHERE BUT HERE!!! I checked out within hours of checking in because... Following a nauseating catamaran ride I arrived at my hotel hoping to lay down and rest. My hopes were killed when I saw the hotel. The halls are dark and grim. It got worse when the door to the hotel room was opened. The sheets and pillowcases were stained. Not a few small spots, but stains the size of dinner plates. It looked like road kill. There were cigarette butts on the balcony. The toilet was covered in dead bugs. In the corner of the shower was a large spiderweb, complete with spider. Apparently, Samui Ocean Hotel's idea of housekeeping is to make the bed and do nothing else. I can't believe they weren't ashamed to let someone enter that room. I saw the room and immediately started looking for another hotel. This would have been easier had the wifi worked in the room. I had to conduct my search from the lobby, where I had to ask the cranky staff member to get off the lobby computer so that I could use it. From check in to to check out the staff was less than friendly. When I checked out, I told the front desk I would not be paying, seeing as how I had only been there for 3 hours. They said I must pay. I said I'll be taking it up with the credit card company and some honest reviews online. I have stayed in hotels that cost less and were much nicer, cleaner and had a friendlier staff. Samui Ocean Hotel is a nightmare.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James B wrote a review Jul 2013
Southam, United Kingdom5 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We didnt trust those few bad reviews and so we checked in on the friday and checked out half a day later and 5000 baht lighter. It is seriously the worst excuse for a hotel I have ever visited in the WORLD. The pool is neglected and disgusting. It hasnt been cleaned since prehistoric times...and even the dinosaurs decided against it. We thought we would ignore those haters but we really shouldnt have because it was so bad...we moved up the road to a just as cheap but about 10000 times better place called 'verticolor' which is a upper market hostel like a travel lodge to those from the UK. Anyway as my title says...PLEASE...just trust the reviews. This place is so bad.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't stay here.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elynne T wrote a review Jul 2016
Bradford, United Kingdom94 contributions89 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There is one morning that we heard a very large heavy item fell on ground in our room. Despite of not having any stuff in our sight that dropped on floor as what we heard, we did not notice that it was actually a broken sound of a soda in our refrigerator. My partner saw this (as attached pictures) when he opened the refrigerator. The glass soda is suspected exploded due to the low temperature set in the refrigerator. Another can of coke is broken too due to the impact.

We called a room service to clean up the refrigerator. Everything was good until we are back to the hotel at the end of the day. The receptionist told us that the refrigerator is not meant to set it to a lower temperature and we have to pay for the drinks. We were like.. what?? The temperature is not allowed to be adjusted??!! In fact, there is NO even a notice saying not to adjust the temperature on the refrigerator! We insisted not to pay as this is not our fault. She phoned the manager to confirm on the charge on us and the manager insisted so. As the middle person between us and her manager, the receptionist tends to pay for us in order to make her job easier. Me and partner couldn’t take it so at the end, we paid. This is not about the money as the charge is just a small amount, but we are just feeling unfair. The manager should feel lucky as she has such a receptionist working for her.

On the next day, when we were trying to check out, there is another receptionist accused us that there is one item missing in the room. We were like.. again?? What else that this hotel is trying to charge us. At the end, after she had confirmed with the housekeeper, she told us that the item (which is paper weight) was not there originally before we checked in. So she will just let it go.

This is not a good impression hotel for us. As a traveller, we try to book a good hotel not only for quality but also in terms of service as well. I can say that we feel disappointed on this hotel and will not recommend it for others staying. In my opinion, the business role of this hotel, is just for one-time-go business, but not for a return customer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PloenSamui, Hotel Manager at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani
Responded 26 Jul 2016
Dear Elynne T. My sincere apologies for the delay in replying to your comment due to the change in hotel management. The hotel is under our management, so I will not try to make any excuses for what happened. However, learning from the lessons and make sure the same mistake does not happen again. I hope that the crash occurred at all. We will improve And apologized for the inconvenience caused as some facilities, so you know that hotel management did not ignore the inconvenience of the guests, although in some cases due to unforeseen circumstances. Warm Regards, Management team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roy12345678 wrote a review Jan 2015
9 contributions15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Pricey pricey pricey!!!!
Stuff don't know English.
Bed is not comfort, really bad sleeping experience.
No breakfast.
No shower windows or vent so its always smells.
Average wifi.
Shuttle service is extremely expensive.

Not even good one reason to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Happy T wrote a review Jan 2015
Chiang Mai, Thailand107 contributions53 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel based on reviews from others but our stay was very disappointed. First of all we expected a lot more value for our money. We payed 28.000 baht for 6 days or around 120 euro per day and breakfast wasn't even included. Breakfast was at 200 baht and was very poor. Coffee or tea with 2 toasts, 1 egg, 2 (bad tasting) sausages and some ham. Everything served on a plate (no buffet). We only had 1 time breakfast in this hotel. The next day we went to have breakfast at the Mercure hotel which is just at the other side from the road. Mercure hotel served breakfast buffet with more choice and fresh fruits for 240 baht.

The room was overall ok, standard room. The LCD TV was not working properly, all the programs were only visible with a lot of snow. The walls are very thin, we could practically hear everything from the neighbors. They claim to have a pool at the rooftop, it looks nice on the pictures but in reality this pool is less than 50 cm deep, not suitable for swimming, not for adults also not for children.
This hotel also asked 500 baht for a taxi trip to the airport. Don't book it, next to the hotel there is small office to book trips and excursions and also taxi. They charge only 300 baht.
This hotel is
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lavi K wrote a review Sept 2014
5 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is new and very good! The room is modern and there is a sink, plates and microwave. The hotel facilities is great except the pool witch is very small! And there is no beach. In addition it's very far from the center of Chaweng. Besides that it was a great stay with a fare price.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PloenSamui, Manager at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani
Responded 18 Feb 2015
Dear Lavi K, PLOEN Team and I would like to thank you for choosing PLOEN Chaweng Koh Samui for your stay. Thank you for mentioning modern design of our rooms with convenient pantry, quality of our staff services and housekeeping. At PLOEN, our goal is to provide great service and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future! Warm Regards, Thianrat Chaiyasamret
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mille H wrote a review Jun 2014
23 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Check out the photos on their own website, it has just been renovated and it actually looks the way it does on their website.
We stayed 4 nights. Out of the 10 different hotels we have stayed in in Thailand on this trip this was out favourite. Brand new, super clean, everything works and the staff is so friendly and helpfull! Location is good, close to the beach and quiet. It takes about 15 min to walk to the actual center of Chaweng, but you can do a tuk tuk for about 100B.

I would def stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PloenSamui, Manager at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani
Responded 18 Feb 2015
Dear Mille H, PLOEN Team and I would like to thank you for staying with us at PLOEN Chaweng Koh Samui. Thank you for mentioning modern design of our rooms and quality of our staff services. At PLOEN, our goal is to provide great service and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. Thank you again for taking the time to write and tell us about your experience at PLOEN Chaweng Koh Samui, we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future! Warm Regards, Thainrat Chaiyasamret
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy wrote a tip Feb 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great staff"
Read full review
TracyVanity wrote a tip Feb 2018
Bangkok, Thailand7 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bed bugs in the bed."
Read full review
kleh23 wrote a tip Mar 2017
Singapore, Singapore90 contributions87 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a quiet room or one at the end of the corridor"
Read full review
taufulou wrote a tip Feb 2017
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia35 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"away from lift"
Read full review
terry187 wrote a tip Oct 2015
Mellieha8 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Actually all rooms are the same size, except a couple which are only a little smaller"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bophut area.
PRICE RANGE
£21 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Samui Ocean Hotel
LOCATION
ThailandSurat Thani ProvinceKo SamuiBophut
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PLOEN CHAWENG KOH SAMUI BY TOLANI - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani
Which popular attractions are close to Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani?
Nearby attractions include Modern Suit Samui (0.3 miles), Boss International Suits (0.09 miles), and G.Joseph Custom Tailor (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani?
Conveniently located restaurants include Malee Kitchen Samui, Salt Society, and Tandoori Palace Indian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Khao Chedi (9.6 miles) and Wat Sitlaram (6.7 miles).
All Bophut HotelsBophut Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BophutHotels near Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui by Tolani
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire