We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Trennerys Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Trennerys Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 296: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A peaceful stay providing a much-needed break for the family. Beautiful grounds and a lovely long stretch of beach - great for walking. Enjoyed taking a picnic one day. Hosts and staff very friendly. Chalets comfortable and food good, Public rooms attractive. Enjoyed Trevor's Trails. Would suggest, however, that the path down to the beach is made a little more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U8474MCmichaelj
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We travelled with our 1 year old boy to Trennerys Hotel from East London's side (we crossed the Kei river with the pontoon ferry - ZAR80 for a car). Although we travelled with our 4x4, the road is in a good enough condition to travel with a normal sedan. We stayed for 4 nights in a family room close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShaundeVilliers
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We did not pre-booked and was fortunate to check into a 2 bedroom unit on a Saturday, in time for the seafood buffet, which was scrumptious. A well managed staff contingency, with well kept gardens. Good vibe in the dining, lounge and bar area with TV. Comfortable basic accommodation. Premises overall well maintained. Gravel Road leading to the hotel, in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minas01
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a very nice stay, attention to detail and gardens fantastic. Great service from Bonnie at the front desk to the simple but homely room. Seafood buffet was one of the best, only complaint was the manageress? Pushing into the dinner line to stir food smelling of alcohol and later dining amongst the guests drinking a large glass of wine....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimee723
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Trennerys Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aimee Thank you so much for your review , we are thrilled that you loved our gardens and attention to detail, as well as our relaxed, simple and comfortable rooms. To reply to your comment on our manageress, it is because of our attention to detail that she was stirring the food even whilst off duty as we always...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The service and staff are world class! Trennerys is a true gem and really a magical place. From long walks on the beautiful beach to tasty cocktails around the pool and a Vibey atmosphere! Thank you to Sherwin, Judi and the rest of the outstanding staff, all of them!!! I'll be back :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
Kei Mouth
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Only stayed two nights, but all excellent. compared to other wild coast resorts, very easy and quick to reach from east london via the ferry. All day availibilty of free tea and coffee a bonus! and also the afternoon cheese cake. Snooker table needs re covering.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank I2588BVjulians
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We were camping so I cannot comment on the rooms. The service overall was excellent and the camping facilities always clean and more than suitable for a peaceful holiday. In season the campsite will get a bit cramped, out-of-season it was great to be able to spread out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walter T
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The cottages are all excellently equipped and beautifully situated to observe the wonderful African coastline. The food is excellent with an impressive variety. I was fortunate to attend the trip at a discounted price as a result of the hotel contributing to an outreach trip helping local schools.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexbohlin2010
South Africa
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Pleasant family hotel stay. Beautiful setting on wild coast. The rooms are quite old but comfortable. Food good and Saturday seafood buffet an experience! Very nice pub and kids playroom. One can walk for miles on the beach. Interesting tours locally available as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank croatia
Kei Mouth
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The locations is wonderful. There was litter on and leading to the beach. The food was good. The service was varied. Some good. Some not so good. I found the bar people not so friendly. There are aspects of the place that need upgrading. Deoni was very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 682cliveg

206 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (113)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kei Mouth
13.9 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
374 reviews
18.1 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
124 reviews
24.9 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
263 reviews
18.4 mi away
Miarestate
Miarestate
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 6 in Coffee Bay
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The scenic splendour of the rugged Wild Coast makes Trennerys Hotel the perfect destination for the wild at heart – a place that abounds with the peace and tranquillity of paradise… Situated at Qolora Mouth, just a short drive north of East London, the hotel still maintains its old-world charm and its unique, South African hospitality. Set in idyllic Transkei surroundings, views from the hotel range from the stunning Wild Coast beaches to the green and lush, tropical vegetation. Close to the beach and with plenty to do – from hiking and cycling, to fishing and canoeing – Trennerys Hotel is everybody’s first-choice, affordable family getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Trennerys Hotel

Address: Qolora Mouth | Wild Coast, Kei Mouth, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Kei Mouth
Price Range: £78 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Trennerys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Trennerys Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Trennerys Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ALL the rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles Rowan477, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms have a genuine beach holiday feel about them”
 of 5 bubbles rosemills2, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles dihawks, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rondavel with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles veldhuizen, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Best to have a room away from the bar or entrance gate areas.”
 of 5 bubbles CJD_D, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay