Sandals Royal Barbados
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sandals Royal Barbados

Traveller (5757)
Pool & Beach (1070)
Sandals Royal Barbados
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 resort in Oistins
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Experience the Royal Treatment at Sandals Royal Barbados, the all-new, all-suite resort in the spirited St. Lawrence Gap area. Featuring a number of Sandal's firsts, including the first rooftop pool and bar, the first 4-lane bowling alley, Sandals’ first health and wellness-inspired restaurant concepts, and two new restaurant concepts – American Tavern and Chi Asian. • Largest Glass-fronted Infinity Pool in the Eastern Caribbean. • “Stay at One, Play at Two” exchange privileges with the adjacent Sandals Barbados, guests enjoy access to even more luxurious amenities and a total of 20 Five Star Global GourmetTM options to choose from.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Romantic
Hotel links
Special Offer:Sandals® Jamaica Calling Sale

Location

Maxwell Coast Rd, Oistins 17154 Barbados
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 76 out of 100
76
Grantley Adams Intl Airport
3,478Reviews483Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,061
  • 528
  • 402
  • 265
  • 222
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JoeP-NYC wrote a review Oct 2022
New York18 contributions59 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were guests at the Sandals Royal Barbados from 8/24 to 8/30/2022 (I know the review is a little tardy). We have stayed at about half of the Sandals Resorts (Bahamas, Grenada, Montego Bay, Royal Caribbean, Negril, South Coast, and Antigua), as well as both Beaches resorts (5x total) and about 8 other all-inclusives plus a few traditional resorts in the Caribbean before, and the experience at Royal Barbados was better than the best of those. Sandals (and Beaches) have continued their efforts in controlling water born viruses with the exclusive use bottled water throughout the resort (started in 2015). The bottled water they distributed was far better than tap in taste and wherever we got it from (bars, restaurants, etc) it was always cold. The grounds of the resort were very lush and pretty, it was also well maintained and nicely laid out.

Although it is billed as two resorts (Barbados and Royal Barbados), for all purposes it really is just one big resort. The Royal side is all new (built by Sandals in 2016, with the new Oasis area with the St. Lawrence Building, Heart & Soul and Greenhouse built in 2021) and the front half of Sandals Barbados being from an original resort built in the 1990’s, with the rest added in 2014. That being said, it is still not an overly large resort, with less than a 10-minute walk from to go from the farthest corners and all the amenities are pretty centrally located and less than 5 minutes from all the rooms.

The two main pools (Royal’s Infinity Pool & Barbados’ Oceanfront Pool) were large and clean as was the other two larger pools at Royal (South Seas and Oasis) and the European Pool at Barbados. The 6 hot tubs at the Royal were all large and warm; the two at Barbados, less so. The Rooftop Infinity Pool and hot tub at Royal was just spectacular – what a great view over the property and the rooftop lounge area behind it has great sunset views. There were enough lounge chairs by the pools that we were never without one even if we didn’t go there early and reserve one; and at the beach there was an over-abundance of loungers.

The beach and sea look beautiful, but that is about as great as it gets. The beach is public, which means all of the chairs are pretty far (about 70-100’) from the water on Sandals property and it sits behind a pair of rock breakwaters that Sandals installed – that is good because it keeps the water calm for swimming, but bad because most of the people we saw in the water were not from Sandals (lots of families with kids and all the chaos that adds). If you are beach person that likes spending a lot of time in the ocean, most other Sandals resorts are better. It also makes paddleboarding and kayaking really tough and little fun because you need to kayak or paddle through that area and all the bathers.

We had a Royal Seaside penthouse club level room (Wahoo Building – rm 7519). Honestly it was the best room we have ever had at any Sandals’, and the view of the beach, infinity pool was spectacular. The room was modern and spacious, clean, very well decorated and appointed, with the large screen TV, refrigerator, plenty of clothes storage in the big closet, sitting area with table and couch, all the outlets and usb chargers you could ever need, wi-fi worked great, and the view from the full width private balcony (which had the soaking tub we used 4x – fills very quickly)) was fantastic. The room had a large full bath with a two head shower that has a window into the room, big double sink and separate commode area. The resort has lots of room choices, and all seemed well layed out and furnished. Your selection comes down to what you want (butler or no-butler – we prefer not to have a butler if we can get a nice club-level room without), price and location. The concierge is great, making all of your dinning reservations and some other things.

The two resorts together have 21 restaurants, and 15 are open for dinner, so we picked the six we wanted most for dinner: Bombay, Butch’s, Butch’s Steak & Seafood, Chi, Greenhouse and La Parisienne, plus a pre-dinner stop at Soy twice (we were not at the resort for the Tuesday Loyalty dinner). All were fantastic and there is never any issue ordering multiple starters, main courses or deserts just to try a portion. The La Parisienne and Greenhouse menu served breakfasts were excellent, and unlike at some other Sandals resorts, the service was not on island time; the breakfasts at American tavern and Spices were resort buffets with good variety and great food. For lunch, the choices were Neptune’s (menu), Mariner (menu), American Tavern (menu – and the only meal we thought was somewhat poor) and Spices (buffet) with its daily theme; plus staples Dino’s (pizzeria) and our all-time favorite lunch place - Jerk Shack (the sausage is the bomb). Most-all of the lunch places were good, and despite what some on TripAdvisor say, the pizza at Dino’s is actually very good thin crust New York style pizza (the dough is made fresh on-site with lots of choices in toppings. Café De Paris was it usual with good pastries, crepes, ice cream and coffee, but it was the only restaurant that would not let you in without wearing a Covid Mask. The Sweet & Salty donut shop was just okay – very dense donuts are just not my thing and the coffee at Café De Paris was better. Obviously, there are multiple restaurants we did not get to eat at in 7 days, but we were told they were excellent too. The staff at the restaurants were generally very nice and helpful. We should

There are plenty of activities on the resort: scuba, snorkeling, kayaks, catamarans, paddle boards, tennis & pickle ball, volleyball, shuffleboard, chess and bocce (all free), but not many of the land or watersports were used to any significant degree. We did 3 snorkel trips (trips are at 8:30 am & 1 pm most days) and I did one dive (7:45 and 1:30 trips every day but Sunday (8:30)) the boats were never crowded, and some of that may be because the dive boat is not on site – it is 15-20 mins away in Carlisle Bay, used the catamaran once (Hobie 14’s, which are very easy to sail – but because of the rock breakwater and people on the beach the resort guides must take you out) and the kayaks once – the water is just okay for kayaking and paddleboarding as you need to go through the swimming area to get to the sea, and the sea was very rough. The Aqua Center/boat (dive and snorkel) staff was beyond excellent. The visibility for both diving and snorkeling was Caribbean very good – about 60-75’ visibility and the water is a little blueish, the dive and snorkel sites are all a short ride (15 minutes or less) from the Carlisle Bay marina, and we did see multiple sea turtles of lots of fish on the wrecks during every snorkel. The snorkeling and diving were both easy and excellent.

There are two gyms (one for each resort) and they were Sandals/Beaches typical having relatively new LifeFitness equipment in a decent variety of both strength and cardio types, and they were never very crowded when we went there. The Red Lane spa was large, and we enjoyed our free 30 minute couples massage (a perk of being an Emerald level loyalty member) and my wife enjoyed the tow other spa treatments she had.

There are only two pool bars between the two resorts, one at the Barbados main pool and the other at the South Seas pool – the rest of the pools have bars nearby and drink servers going around. The Royal’s Sky Bar and Lovers Lane and Barbados Piano Bar and Merry Monkey had the better bartenders – the very best bartenders we had were George in Butch’s Steakhouse the three nighttime bartenders at the Sky Bar. The bowling alley was a lot of fun and very cool; and the attached craft beer bar was great to – it is nice to be able to have some really good beers besides the local Banks, which is just okay.

The nightly entertainment shows at either the Royal or Barbados were all well performed, and the White Night Chocolate Party & Silent Disco was fun and reasonably well attended, even if 20-25% of the people were not dressed in white (how hard is it to pack white shorts and shirts or a white dress)?

The daytime bars at the pools are still by far the weak link at Sandals, with service being a little slow at times and whether you actually got real alcohol in your mixed drink is, at best, a crap-shoot – 75% of the time the two swim-up pool bars, the Seaside Bar, Calypso Bar, and Beach Bar served undrinkable watered down, foul drinks; the South Seas Swim up Bar, Oasis Bar and Courtyard Bar were much better, but still not great. Sandals advertises “premium liquor,” and at the main bars in the evenings, you actually got the booze they had in the bottles, and it was real. At the bars pool bar, on some pours, despite them being mostly ice, even we received the booze in the bottles, it was almost always just watered-down unrecognizable alcohol, which really takes away from the whole point of free booze. Maybe others can’t tell and don’t complain, but it was super-obvious to us, and we expect better from Sandals – it is an expensive (we paid more than $1,100/nite in off-season), five-star resort, the quality of the drinks should meet that level. The Mondavi wines are very acceptable, and they do have 3 reds (Cabernet, Merlot and Shiraz) and 3 whites (Chardonnay, Sauvignon and Rose) on the free offering. Most of the bartenders were nice, but the ones working at the better bars, especially at night were great people.

The airport itself and transportation to and from the airport was very good and it is only 15 minutes from Sandals to the airport. I am not sure why we needed to be at the airport 3 hours before our flight – it took us 15 minutes to check in and get through security and Customs – as well as the airport seems to be run, I would think 2 hours would be plenty. Travelling to Barbados, if you don’t use both the online Customs pre-clearance website and BimSafe app, it may significantly delay your time through Customs (some on our flight said it took them 80-90 minutes, while we were through in 10 minutes).

Overall, we would rate the resort and our vacation at Sandals Grenada as 4.8 stars (see the beach limitations/issues are the only reason it is not 5 stars).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The Club Level rooms are the best value combination of location, amenities and price.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rondell O'Neale, Owner at Sandals Royal Barbados
Responded 3 Nov 2022
Hello and thank you for sharing your detailed review of Sandals Royal Barbados with us. We appreciate gaining some insight into your experience and we are sure it would be of great help to future guests. We are delighted to note that the hospitality of our staff was an outstanding aspect of your experience, as we love going above and beyond to ensure our guests have a fantastic time with us. We are also happy that you enjoyed our gourmet dining options along with other amenities. Providing variety for our valued guests is among our goals and we love knowing when everyone is satisfied! We appreciate your review and are also looking forward to hosting you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
twjarmyn wrote a review Feb 2020
Stratford, Canada5 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Stingray Building with Butler Service. The rooms overlook the main pool and you can hear the music during the day but everything quiets down by 9 pm. We had the butler service and our butlers Aileen, Princess and Shakira were great. After the first day or so they largely anticipated our requests before we made them.

Our room was laid out in suite design with separate seating area and bedroom. It was very modern and the included USB charging points were appreciated. My only criticism of the room was that there was something about the pillows that just did not work.

The resort is exceptionally well-groomed and while it is labelled as separate from Sandals Barbados they are so close that they may as well be one. We mostly stayed on the Royal Barbados side at the Main Pool during the day. Although we were using butler service drink service at the pool was very good and the pool attendants were very attentive.

We had breakfast at each of Portofino (Barbados side), La Parisienne (Royal Barbados) and the Tavern (Royal Barbados). The Tavern is buffet style. Of all of them we preferred Portofino, the traffic seemed lower and the service was very quick. One morning when we were doing an excursion we went over to the buffet on the Barbados side.

Lunch was generally at Neptunes or the Pizza bar which have standard lunch time are. Salty's Donuts on the Royal Barbados side is a very nice add on and is a great place to get an espresso.

We tried most of the restaurants with Bombay and Chi being our preferred venues. We went to both Butch's and were generally impressed. The steak at Butch's Chophouse seemed excessively salty. We also noticed that it was a very noisy restaurant. This seems to be a design problem as it is built similar to the Butch's in Grenada which was also very noisy. Angled ceiling, hard surfaces and lack of baffling seemed to amplify the noise to almost painful levels.

Check in and check out were seamless. As is typical at Sandals they schedule you to be at the airport three hours prior to departure which seems excessive. Generally a great vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PeterV0426 wrote a review Mar 2020
Boston, Massachusetts29 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a great week at Sandals Stayed in a swim up concierge room. Room was great with a large shower double sink and soaking tub and mini bar While it was a longer walk to the beach than staying in the main building we enjoyed the late afternoon and evening use of the quiet pool outside our room Food was very good especially the French and Asian Fusion Restaurants and our best meal was at Butch’ Chop House we arrived on Saturday made our reservations right away We talked to some people who arrived mid week and most of the restaurants that require reservations were booked Even so there were many dining options The only bad meal we had was a lunch at Neptune’s with a seriously overcooked burger and panini. Unlike some other Sandals we had no problem finding a lounge chair on the beach or at a pool and the staff was actually clearing old towels from unattended chairs Hooray Staff was always helpful and available and if you go make sure you go to the rooftop pool and Lovers Lane Bowling allet
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Uvl T, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Barbados
Responded 27 Mar 2020
Hello and thank you for your amazing review. It truly was a pleasure having you stay with us at Sandals Royal Barbados. We appreciate your positive feedback and definitely look forward to hosting you again in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sharpsters wrote a review Jan 2020
Halifax, United Kingdom687 contributions344 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from our first sandals experience and on the whole we really enjoyed the holiday. We aren’t fans really of all inclusive but thought based on the advertising we would give it a go. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised by how the hotel looked it does feel quite upmarket the rooms are spacious and the swim up sun terrace was nice although the water was very cold. Room service was good if you called well in advance of needing anything. The two biggest problems with this resort are that firstly you have to get up mega early like 5.30 am to get a sunbed where you want one and if you don’t there are none left on the beach where we wanted to be. I can’t see why they can’t have spare beds because everyday we saw people complain about this situation. The butler serviced rooms take all the good spots It’s really annoying when you spend so much for the holiday. The second problem is that you have to book the special restaurants as soon as you arrive or you won’t get in. And you may also not get times you want. If you like to eat at 6 o’clock in the evening you may stand half a chance but when you prefer 8ish this is a big problem We did manage to eat in the butches steak and seafood which was very nice and the la Parisienne which was on the whole good but didn’t feel very French. Maybe if they charged a few dollars on your room if people didn’t turn up to reservations people wouldn’t take all the peak times. It looked like non of the restaurants were busy because people just don’t turn up which isn’t fair on those who would cancel if not needing them
the resort is very well set out and if you don’t mind a bit of a stroll both sides of the resort are worth visiting. The royal side rooms are just a bit more modern but all very nice And you can use all the facilities which ever side you stay on. The staff are lovely and we didn’t meet one miserable one the only other thing we thought was a bit poor is the entertainment at night there seemed to be a lot advertised but not a lot happening And the odd singer we saw in the piano bar whilst entertainment weren’t very polished. It felt like they were just half decent members of staff who could sing a little sorry but they weren’t as good as they should be for this hotel.
The white party and reggae night was advertised on the paper work but no one ever pushed these events so we never saw them so don’t think they happened
Overall I would say if you like laid back beach holiday with good food then this is a good hotel. It is near to st Lawrence gap if you want to escape for a bit and only 20 mins taxi from the lone star and the cliff if you want a change of scenery
Despite the negatives we Would try a sandals again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stevieb26 wrote a review Sept 2021
Belfast, United Kingdom17 contributions77 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this resort for 1 week, don't get me wrong the resort itself is stunning and has great facilities if you were able to access them. General theme of the recent reviews is the same reoccurring issues so you would think that the management would do something to improve.

Check in process was fine, bit chaotic but we arrived ahead of the majority of other guests so was seen pretty quickly. Room wasn't ready and would be delayed by a few hours so staff should give you opportunity to change out of your travel clothes into something more suitable for the Caribbean heat! After our covid tests we went back to request our bags to change and luckily our room was ready.

Need to say this early on, all the staff were friendly, and it was a genuine friendliness. Every staff member from the waiters, bar staff, receptionists, cleaners and gardeners all say hello to you as you walk past them. There is a lot of new staff at the min so quite often the staff operate a buddy system for training, so you can easily forgive them for a bit of chaos as they learn the job.

The resort is meant to be a 5 star resort and offers a range of facilities but what they don't advertise that unless you pay for a butler room the basics won't be available to you. I went down to the pool at 6am on our first day, (jet lag means you get up early) and there was no sun loungers. Literally none, all had been reserved and literally no one was even at the pool. The butlers reserve the majority of the sun loungers for their rooms at around 5am and the hotel ensures that there is no clean towels available until after the butlers have reserved them in case you get a sun lounger. The rest of the hotel is literally fighting over a handful of loungers so you quickly learn to hide pool towels in the room so you can use and reserve a lounger the next day. It's crazy that for a 5 star hotel you need to go to these lengths to get a sun lounger.

The hotel advertises that they have this great range of our restaurants to choose from which in theory they do but on day 1 we went to reserve some of them to be told that all the restaurants you need to book are fully booked for the entire week. Again butlers get priority and can magically get their guests into the restaurants, literally overheard them booking their guests into the restaurant they wanted for that night, while we couldn't get into the same restaurant for the entire week.

This is will an ongoing theme of stay, prepare to be queuing to have a butler escort their guests ahead of the queue to be served or seated ahead of the other guests.

I get that these rooms paid the extra for the increase in service but I don't understand how the rest of the hotel guests can be treated so unfairly. For the price of the holiday and not being able to get the basics right I was very disappointed with Sandals. I would expect a cheap holiday to Benidorm to be disappointed in not getting the basics right but not a 5 star holiday to Barbados.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jenny G Baptiste, Other at Sandals Royal Barbados
Responded 25 Sept 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your Sandals Royal Barbados review with us. We were disheartened to learn that your expectations were not satisfied during your stay. We apologize for the level of service you have received and the inconvenience caused. Our only regret is that our management team was not promptly notified of immediate action. Your input is greatly appreciated and has been incorporated into our customer satisfaction procedure to avoid future occurrences. We only hope that despite the sentiments you have shared, you will offer us the opportunity of regaining your trust in a future stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristen wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I visited Sandals Royal Barbados for our honeymoon, and what an experience it was!
We booked a Rondoval suite which came with a transfer to/from the airport in a Rolls Royce. From the moment we arrived to the resort, we felt like royalty. Everyone was very kind and friendly. Our room was not ready yet, but we were given a locker to put our belongings and a small tour before being brought to Neptune’s for lunch while we waited.

During that time we met our butlers - Tony and De’Angelo. We can not recommend these two enough! They both made us feel at home and made sure all our favorite things were in our room (snacks, drinks, etc). Each day chairs were reserved at the beach/pool for us, and all of our dinner reservations were set on our first day. During our stay we had many surprises in our room to commemorate our special trip.

The food was superb and by far the best resort food we have ever had. Bombay, La Parisienne and Butch’s steak and seafood - all delicious. Even room service was excellent! Lunch at Neptune’s, Dino’s and the jerk shack were all great!

We felt very safe at the resort as all the employees wear masks, and sanitizing is taken very seriously.
My only point of frustration was regarding the COVID testing while we were there - we were told conflicting information by several people (at the airport, employees of sandals).
However, this was just a small blip and we didn’t let this affect our stay!

All in all, this was the exact honeymoon that we had imagined, and are so grateful to everyone at Sandals for making our stay so memorable!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shawn Redhead, Owner at Sandals Royal Barbados
Responded 17 Nov 2020
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your review of Sandals Royal Barbados. We were very happy to read your review as it seems we were successful in our endeavor to provide you with an unforgettable vacation, filled with memories that you will cherish for years to come. We remain dedicated to offering a service where we go above and beyond for our guests and we very much appreciate your positive words. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian L wrote a review Apr 2020
Warminster, United Kingdom304 contributions262 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This review is somewhat different and details a stay during the second half of March 2020.

I did not plan to go to Sandals, rather we were due to embark on a 14 day cruise which was cancelled the day before it was due to sail. We had already spent a week in Barbados and as our return flights were some three weeks away we requested our TA to secure accommodation else where on the Island. I had in the past stayed at the original Sandals in May 2015 and posted a rather mixed review which has received over 200 'likes'.

This review comes out much better. I will comment little on the property which benefits from being both newer and better laid out compared to its neighbour. The major plus points must include the pools which are magnificent and the beach which has been fashioned to improve sea bathing (a major negative in my 2015 review). Restaurants are up to the high standard expected of Sandals and with 'dine-around' at the adjacent property more than sufficient in variety for a 14 night stay. Likewise Bars and ancillaries. Rooms are as usual excellent.

The major points I would like to make pertains to management and staffing. We started with a far from full hotel and finished with barley a couple of dozen guests on the final day when the resort effectively closed. During this time the Sandal's experience continued undiminished with all staff continuing to ensure a perfect stay. The hotel Management was totally hands on with the Manager visiting guests individually and updating them on the situation. Altho restaurants gradually closed there was always expanded choices at those remaining open and all staff (with the knowledge of the closing down) still worked cheerfully to keep the guests fully entertained.

The management of this hotel in unprecedented circumstances was little less than superb.

As guests finally left, all were presented with food, toiletries and, of course, hand sanitizer for there onward travel home.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Most are good depending on what you want
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShawnRedhead, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Barbados
Responded 26 Apr 2020
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your review of Sandals Royal Barbados. We were very happy to read your review as it seems we were successful in our endeavor to provide you with an unforgettable vacation, filled with memories that you will cherish for years to come. We remain dedicated to offering a service where we go above and beyond for our guests and we very much appreciate your positive words. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joesandals35 wrote a review Feb 2020
Hamilton, New Jersey15 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We expected a lot from this "newer" Sandals....and Royal Barbados delivered. The grounds are beautiful. The restaurants are the usual high quality found at Sandals. We did have Butler service and Annaleah, Jannel, and Petronia were excellent. Always had our poolside chairs secured and snacks/beverages throughout the day. While they did their jobs so efficiently, it was so much more because of their wonderful personalities and energy! Maid service was excellent in the main building (infinity poolside) as the room was cleaned and maintained promptly during the morning. Poolside beverages always available with Shikira making the rounds ....and her pleasant words to make sure we were comfortable. A special thanks to Demar for attending to our request regarding our room....very professional, polite, and courteous manager. Weather was perfect, as was our ENTIRE week in Royal Barbados
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashleigh wrote a review Dec 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a little concerned after reading some of the reviews but we had a fantastic holiday. We didn't have a butler but we had no issues with booking restaurants or getting a sun lounger each day. We were able to get into all the restaurants that required a reservation and we were only there for 7 nights. We didn't queue for breakfast at all and I think once we queued for lunch. As long as you're relaxed and you don't mind which pool you sit around, I think you'll always find a sun lounger. We moved about to different areas and at different times of day without a problem. Room service we had three times and it always came within 45 mins. Neptune's and Chi's were easily the best restaurants. La Parisienne was a lovely breakfast and has wonderful staff. Adrien who was a manager was so nice to us, really knowledgeable and attentive. He always made time to have a chat and answer our questions about anything. The club sandals staff were so busy but always took time to explain everything to us, book all our meals and were always happy to help in the few times we popped in. I was able to reach them by phone easily. They were so friendly, relaxed and funny.
All in all a great trip and Sandals even offered us free testing to return home, in case we hadn't booked already. Also the highlight for me, was the wild life many cats, chickens, monkeys and bats. I loved it!
We felt relaxed for our whole stay, as a lot of the resort is open air and they are very strict about sanitising and masks.
House keeping came to us twice a day every day and our fridge was restocked daily.
I would definitely recommend a hot stone massage in the spa, both my partner and I had one and it was one of the best massages I've ever had.
If you can get a swim up pool in the seaside section, I would definitely recommend. It was the perfect location a short walk from the main pool and the beach but the palms and plants made it feel secluded at the same time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Avion Peters, Owner at Sandals Royal Barbados
Responded 5 Jan 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your Sandals Royal Barbados. We are beyond thrilled to read about how much you loved staying with us, as it is our aspiration to provide guests with an experience like none other. It was truly a pleasure to provide you with lasting memories and we appreciate you sharing your experience with us. On behalf of the Sandals team, we sincerely look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erin H wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom74 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I took my boyfriend for his 30th birthday to Sandals Royal Barbados for 10 nights and had such an amazing time. We had a slight hiccup to begin with as we were put in a room overlooking the back of the resort (facing onto someones shabby back yard and a road) it really was an awful view and after spending £8k, i was unwilling to spend 10 nights looking at it so we asked to move, 4 days later we were moved to a free room facing the other way which was a million times better and absolutely gorgeous!! The food at all the restaurants were amazing, we enjoyed every single meal we had with our favourites being La Parisienne, Soy and the Indian restaurant. I beg that Sandals start putting Soy on the lunch menu as we were obsessed with the sushi but could only have it a couple of times as we wanted to try the other restaurants. There are so many positives but we did have a few niggles...

- We were smiled at a handful of times in our whole trip. All staff seemed miserable to be serving and we were met with less than enthusiastic moods which is not what we expect at a 5* resort. We have been to cheaper resorts in Europe and found customer service to be out of this world, unfortunately thats just not the case with this resort.

- Inconsistency with service at the pools. On one of our first days we had a lady ask what we wanted to drink whilst we were lay by the pool - we ordered our cocktails and received them shortly after. We never saw anyone asking for drinks service after that one time. Is this meant to be a service offered or not? Not a huge deal but i think having this is a lovely part of a holiday.

Make sure you get a bob marley!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tamarah M, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Barbados
Responded 17 Apr 2020
Hello Erin and thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Barbados. It was definitely a pleasure to have you stay with us; however it is regrettable if you felt we fell short of your expectations. We do apologize if the location did not meet your expectations as we wish to never inconvenience or disappoint our valued guest. We are happy however that your concerns were shared with our team and that they were able to move you to a room more within your liking. The various servers at the bars do try to assist with taking orders at the beach and pool, however depending on how busy the bar area becomes; they may not be able to walk the area as frequently as they would like. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed the gourmet dining options and your overall experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to provide you with an amazing vacation experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mopWestMidlands asked a question 17 May
west midlands466 contributions10 helpful votes
Hi is there a sandals lounge on arrival at airport ?
Answer from snow1
Reno, Nevada756 contributions45 helpful votes
I don’t think so. Those rooms are located in buildings towards the back of the resort. The room view description says. “Pool, Tropical Garden”.
Damien M asked a question Apr 2024
Cherry Hill, New Jersey10 contributions8 helpful votes
I'm looking to know if the tennis courts are also lined for pickelball
Answer from Sharon
Lawrenceburg, Indiana13 contributions4 helpful votes
These are adult only resorts.
Jess asked a question Mar 2024
63 contributions10 helpful votes
How is the mighty entertainment?
Answer from Simon P
Sheffield, United Kingdom11 contributions8 helpful votes
The entertainment team put a show of sorts on most evenings , some including the silent disco are great . The piano bar is very good each evening . If you wish to go for a walk then St Lawrence Gap with endless bars is just 5 minutes away
Simon J wrote a tip 17 May
Swansea, United Kingdom7 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book your restaurants as soon as you arrive. "
Read full review
Nikita P wrote a tip 14 May
Seattle, United States5 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go during slow season because the understaff. Don’t pay for extras, they won’t deliver. They will downgrade you without comp "
Read full review
Sarah H wrote a tip 12 May
Los Alamitos, California4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Weather was perfect this time of year. Definitely try out the excursions."
Read full review
ALLISON D wrote a tip 10 May
15 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spin the extras for the butlers! They’re amazing"
Read full review
Valerie T wrote a tip 10 May
Oakville, Canada16 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make your dinner reservations they day you arrive. Grab a couple of pool towels the day before for the next day as they go fast."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Oistins area.
PRICE RANGE
£550 - £738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosChrist Church ParishOistins
NUMBER OF ROOMS
222
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANDALS ROYAL BARBADOS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Sandals Royal Barbados
Which popular attractions are close to Sandals Royal Barbados?
Nearby attractions include Dover Beach (0.4 miles), St Lawrence Gap (0.7 miles), and Maxwell Beach (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandals Royal Barbados?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Sandals Royal Barbados?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sandals Royal Barbados?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sandals Royal Barbados?
Conveniently located restaurants include Happy Days Cafe, My Friends Place, and Bliss Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sandals Royal Barbados?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Sandals Royal Barbados have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sandals Royal Barbados offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Sandals Royal Barbados have airport transportation?
Yes, Sandals Royal Barbados offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sandals Royal Barbados?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sandals Royal Barbados offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandals Royal Barbados?
Many travellers enjoy visiting George Washington House (3.2 miles), Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club (2.9 miles), and Gun Hill Signal Station (4.9 miles).
All Oistins HotelsOistins Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in OistinsHotels near Sandals Royal Barbados
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire