We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old School House B&B

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old School House B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Start your review of The Old School House B&B
 Click to rate
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Our recent stay at The Old School House B&B was fantastic! Rooms were clean and comfortable, food was delicious, and the hosts, Lillian and Dominick, were amazing. Their suggestions for day trips and places to see and to eat gave us a glimpse of the real Ireland. We’d recommend this B&B to friends and fellow travelers, and we’d certainly stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdesper
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We got the warmest welcome here. Got great advice about what to do in the area - we felt like locals. Dominick gave us a great tip about taking the ferry to the next peninsula that made our journey even better. The place is dripping with character from the decor to the guitar-playing host to the magic tricks. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J-Mojito
lill100, Owner at The Old School House B&B, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review ,we love it when we make people happy and it makes the job worth while when we meet people like you ,hope to see you soon.

Ottawa
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Our family of 6 with children aged 18, 15, 12 & 12 had a wonderful time The Old School House B&B. We were made to feel right at home as soon as we arrived. The rooms were spacious and the beds were super comfortable. Dominick was a very joyful host and gave us excellent tips for the touring around the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff H
cork
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Wow! my hubby and son and daughter stayed here Thurs night for one night and enjoyed it from the moment we arrived! What a warm welcome we got from Dominick. Our room was fantastic clean, fresh and welcoming.Lillian served us breakfast and it was outstanding! As was the homemade brown bread. The staff are so friendly and obviously enjoy working...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blondiecork
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

We and our 3 kids stayed for 4 nights with Dominick and Lillian. What a great, wonderful and warm stay. The breakfasts were great (there is no way you'll go hungry here). Dominick entertained the kids with magic tricks, trivia and jokes, and Lillian let our youngest daughter "help" with breakfast. The ducks and dogs made their vacation an even...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bromero66
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016

A fantastic, warm and friendly welcome from the owners Dominick and Lillian! Wonderful family room, everything clean and fresh. Fantastic selection for breakfast...even asking to swap black and white pudding for extra sausage! The cheek of the lad haha! And they had mint tea yeesssss! :-) County Kerry is my new favourite County in Ireland. Sadly we didn't get to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank paddyobrien1971
Boulder
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed every bit of it. Lillian and Domenic (the owners) will take good care of you! The best part of Ireland is interacting with the locals, and these two will make you feel at home. The rooms are nothing fancy, but the food is good and the atmosphere relaxed. If you want upscale accommodations,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BoCoNewlyweds
oshmb, Owner at The Old School House B&B, responded to this review

A big thanks ...we also enjoyed having you all stay and your review means so much to us God bless Dominick and Lillian

Co Westmeath
Reviewed 13 September 2015

On arrival looks good Nice welcome.Twin room very basic Dirty in places Dusty old speakers under table .Found out Lemon tea bags no milk Sink Gurgled loo brush bad. The Plumbing needs urgent attention. Breakfast was very poor four slices of old brown bread no marmalade . rear outlook very untidy Paid for two rooms very over priced. This place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas W B
oshmb, Manager at The Old School House B&B, responded to this review

Sorry . Yes you where right about the pluming ...we have it all sorted and running again Also new loo brush , the speakers are for people with laptops or I phones , we should have offered milk to go with the Liptons tea ,as we do not keep it in the room as it goes off too fast ....

Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

This was certainly the worst accommodation I have ever seen. On arrival the smell of must was extremely off putting. The owner showed us to our rooms. He was obnoxious, doing magic tricks and attempting to tell jokes. The room was filthy, cobwebs, spiders, and dirt everywhere. The cupboards were full of the owners belongings and it felt like we...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Helenab20
lill100, Owner at The Old School House B&B, responded to this review

As we explained to you these were not the rooms we had for you but were indeed our helpers rooms and you were shown into them by mistake .All our rooms are ensuite and are clean and fresh as we take pride in our home and always want our guests to have a good experience here ,however i can agree...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015

We definitely were given a warm and friendly welcome from Lillian and Gracie, her lovely West Highland Terrier. The Old School House dining room was full of character and we thought that we had found a B&B gem! However, the worn upstairs areas and the bedrooms filled us with disappointment. The wardrobe smelt musty and contained a bed cover and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank margerybw
oshmb, Manager at The Old School House B&B, responded to this review

Sorry ...new bed in room so thanks for the thumbs up as we do not sleep in the beds it went unnoticed...so we put new beds in all the rooms .and new wardrobe and carpet is ordered .our breakfast menu has been changed so thank you for your input !

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinskelligs
1.9 mi away
Tig an Rince
Tig an Rince
#1 of 5 in Ballinskelligs
94 reviews
3.9 mi away
Beach Cove B&B
Beach Cove B&B
#2 of 5 in Ballinskelligs
164 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skellig Hostel
Skellig Hostel
#1 of 3 in Ballinskelligs
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Smuggler's Inn
Smuggler's Inn
#8 of 11 in Waterville
124 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seaside B & B
Seaside B & B
#3 of 5 in Ballinskelligs
37 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the rolling hills of Kerry, in the southwest corner of Ireland by the wild Atlantic Way and the dark sky reserve in the most scenic and peaceful part of Ireland, there you will find The Old School House. A lovingly restored old school house with 7 guest rooms, this cozy inn offers you a place of refuge from the hustle of the every day world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old School House B&B

Address: The Old School House The Old School House The Old School House | Barrys Cross, Ballinskelligs Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballinskelligs
Price Range: £67 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old School House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Old School House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old School House B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room at the end of the 2nd floor hallway was really quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JeffH230, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Nothink to say about this”
 of 5 bubbles ThomasWB_13, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Avoid a stay.”
 of 5 bubbles margerybw, 25 Jul 2015 | Read review
“just fine this place and it will give you happiness”
 of 5 bubbles Lilliano161, 5 Jul 2014 | Read review
4 of 4