We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:Temporarily closed
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Rich Resort Beachside Hotel

109/12 M3 Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret 84310 Thailand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (240)
Room & Suite (80)
Pool & Beach (35)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#30 of 56 hotels in Lamai Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel is conveniently located on the central Lamai beach road, close enough to all of Lamai's amenities yet far enough for a nice, quiet relaxing holiday. Located on what many consider to be Koh Samui's most beautiful beach, Rich Resort Beachside Hotel is within walking distance to all of Lamai's major amenities and conveniences including shops, bars and restaurants. Free use of the swimming pool and sunbeds in our partner restaurant Kon Tiki with a minimum purchase (per person) of any item from the food and/or beverage menu.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing offsite
Airport transportation
Massage
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Baggage storage
ATM on site
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
1.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian and 1 more
511Reviews10Q+A58Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 177
  • 173
  • 71
  • 40
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Shayna O wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
The woman in the reception was quite unfriendly and threw bad looks. The POOL is NOT part of the resort apparently, we asked and the woman said we had to pay a drink os something every time we go, so completely horrible to pretend it is part of the place when you actually have to pay...😒 The room was just as in the pictures but the tv didn’t work (at least not for us) and the bathroom floor was not clean. I don’t recommend this “resort”
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DanCooper1982 wrote a review Feb 2020
Lamai Beach, Thailand15 contributions1 helpful vote
Warning: do NOT make bookings with this company.they lie about the itinerary, there are hidden costs, the food they provide is of a low standard as are all other facilities. For example: no catamaran in sight just a ropey fishing boat. Then to top it all off, we ran out of time to do the snorkeling ) on the snorkeling trip). There are many other agents far more responsible than these pirates. Avoid
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Laura The Explorer wrote a review Oct 2019
36 contributions15 helpful votes
Lovely staff who were very helpful. When we were taken to our room the girl who was with us said that our room seemed to smell a bit - to us it just smelt like fresh paint but she quickly went to see if another room was available and came back to say they were upgrading us to a superior room. Just shows the commitment to guest satisfaction that they have. When we checked out we were asked by (possibly the owner?) how everything was and he seemed genuinely interested in hearing if there were any issues. The restaurant attached to the hotel is also a lovely place, small pool but a few steps and you are on the stunning Lamai beach front. If you are staying at the hotel you can use the sunbeds and pool for free. The manager of the restaurant is such a lovely and attentive person too. We also rented a scooter from the hotel at the standard price of 200 bhat per day. Great service and amazing location!! We paid about £14 per night which was about 535 bhat so for what it was... It was great value. Definitely chose a room with an air con though, our air con was so nice and worth the extra expense. WiFi was perfect too! Sadly the bed was so hard and uncomfortable. Half of it was broken and very noisy to move on but the size of it was really great as it seemed to be king size. Not unbearable but I guess you pay more for a softer mattress.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wander27459671824, Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Responded 26 Dec 2019
Thank you very much for your review, customer feedback and satisfaction is very important to us. We are glad you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
monkeysacks wrote a review Oct 2019
10 contributions9 helpful votes
As soon as we arrived we realised how misleading the photos are. The pool is part of the Kon Tiki beach bar and restaurant, which itself is truly superb! Sadly the Rich Resort is falling apart at the seams. Ok so it’s a budget place, but we have stayed in Chiang Mai, Bangkok and Phuket for the same money and they were luxurious by comparison. We spent a bit more for a sea view. You can see the sea, but over the top of corrugated iron roofs, through a balcony door which took great effort to open. The toilet in our room was leaking onto the bathroom floor. The main door to our room was almost falling off its hinges and a sturdy boot would easily allow access. The air conditioning worked but was uncontrollable - it was either on or off and it wasn’t possible to adjust the temperature or air flow. On a plus, there were no mosquitoes, a large fridge in the room and hot water. We were booked in for a week but only stayed one night. There were no issues with receiving a refund which was good and in fairness the receptionist did ask if we would like to see another room or speak with the manager in the morning. We realised that there was little they would be able to do to improve the situation. There are much better options for the same money. We wouldn’t recommend this place. We found much better accommodation 50m along the road (Lamai Inn 99) which was far superior for a little extra money. We would definitely not return to The Rich Resort.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MattBSamui, Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2019
Dear monkeysacks, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we appreciate any and all feedback from our past guests. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, however, I’d like to take this opportunity to clarify some inaccuracies in the statements you made. First of all, the pool is a shared pool that happens to be located within the Kon Tiki restaurant, this is seldom an issue with guests though we apologize if you somehow felt slighted by this. Moving on, I’m sure you understand that Thailand is a large country, and, as in any country, cost of living and expenses vary throughout the different provinces; so it isn’t fair to compare Koh Samui to places like Bangkok and Chiang Mai, where cost of living is significantly lower thanks to their location on the mainland. Rest assured that our hotel is priced very competitively considering the hotel’s location, the amenities we offer, and the average price for similar properties on Koh Samui, and our year-round high occupancy averages and yearly return guests are testaments to the value for money we provide. The only room we advertise as having a sea view is our One Bedroom Suite with Sea View, which you didn’t book. So, your claim of having paid extra for a sea view is not only inaccurate but also concerning and if you did pay extra, I would advise you to take that up with whomever you booked your stay with. Your comments about the room are most surprising, this room is a favorite among returning guests, who often request it specifically. We’re sorry you found the balcony door too hard to open, nobody else has had this issue. Yes, we agree that there was some (fresh/clean) water dripping from the flushing cistern behind the toilet. The leak in question was so small that it was hard to notice as the room was being cleaned and was caused by a loose nut which took a few seconds to re-tighten – sorry if this inconvenienced you in any way. Perhaps there were a few hairline cracks in the cement securing the door frame which were missed during regular room inspections, but the door is/was most certainly not “falling off its hinges” as you put it. The A/C works fine and is 100% controllable, sorry if you had trouble working the remote. We’re glad that you at least enjoyed the fridge, hot water, and the lack of mosquitoes. We’re also glad you found the receptionist fair, however, your statement that there would be little we would be able to do to improve the situation is uncalled for and frankly unfounded – considering you even mentioned that you were offered alternatives which you outright refused. Last but not least, while we’re happy you at least found alternative accommodation at the hotel down the road, it needs to be clarified that this hotel is in a different (higher) category to our property and their cheapest rooms start at roughly double what you paid for your room with us, hardly “a little extra money” but for this price, a larger/more luxurious room is naturally to be expected. All in all, we are truly sorry your stay with us didn’t work out, however from this review and others you have posted it’s evident that you’re more used to staying in higher-priced, more luxurious properties and seemed to have set expectations beyond our simple, budget property. Thank you once again for leaving your review, we hope you were able to enjoy the rest of your holiday.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sean P wrote a review Sept 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom249 contributions87 helpful votes
If you are looking for budget room, near the beach and central then this is the place. Its set behind a beach-side restaurant with a small swimming pool for guests use. Within yards of the hotel reception you be soaking up the sun on Lamai beach in a central location. Looking for food then beach bars dot along the front close to the hotel or just behind is the main street with plenty of bars, food outlets, mini marts everything you need in easy reach. Mc Donald's its the nearest landmark directly behind the hotel. Rooms are equipped with fan or air-con, TV (with no reception), fridge, hot shower and small safe. Nothing special and basic but for the price its perfect. To sum this up if you are on a budget, want a pool, want to be central, close to the nightlife and the beach then this place ticks all the boxes.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MattBSamui, Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2019
Hi Sean, Thank you so much for your kind words. We're really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your description of the surrounding area, this is sure to help any potential future guests. We're glad you enjoyed the price/quality ratio we offer and hope to see you again on your next visit to Koh Samui!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
YuliaLuneva wrote a review Aug 2019
Wuhan, China35 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Me and my husband were staying here in the end of July - beginning of August 2019 and a had a very nice experience. The room with the ocean view was exactly like advertised - spacious, huge fridge, 2 shower rooms, beach is right there 5 seconds away, clean, AC working well. Staff are great and helpful at any time. The location is amazing - close to restaurants, massage salons, shopping places, cocktail bars but it’s not noisy at night. Highly recommend for a good stay in Lamai! Pics from the beach and view from the window attached.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MattBSamui, Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2019
Hi Yulia, Thank you for your glowing review! Was a pleasure having you stay with us, you and your husband were an absolute pleasure and we really hope to see you again next year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Flassher wrote a review Jul 2019
Helensvale, Australia89 contributions32 helpful votes
I'm not sure where that photo of the hotel showing a pool and beach that's not the hotel I stayed at unless the Contiki Bar opposite is also owned by the Rich Resort! The rooms are OK and have clean bathrooms and a safe, which I really like.... However, it is a noisy hotel!! There are exhaust vents from every room into the corridors and they would appear to be old and need replacing as they make a lot of noise as do the bathroom extractor fans. My first room on the second floor had no window but was very nice except the TV receptions was terrible...and I do like to keep up with world events...so I contacted the manager who tried to fix it but claimed the antenna system needed re-wiring so he up graded me to room 315 that had a window, also OK but again TV reception was terrible. i have attached the view from my room looking towards the ocean and over the Muslim Cemetery. there was also a house attached to the hotel where someone was practising playing the drums...and not very well. The owner/owners really should invest in re-wiring the hotel to reduce the noise level and get better TV reception.. There is VERY good WiFi in the hotel...no complaints there. Would I stay there again...I don't think so, even though the manager and his staff were very helpful..
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MattBSamui, Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Responded 26 Jul 2019
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your feedback and are glad we were at least of some help. Rest assured the issues you pointed out will be looked into, though we're sad to hear you won't be returning. In any case, was a pleasure having you here and hope you enjoyed your time on Koh Samui.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Philipp B wrote a review Jun 2019
Berlin, Germany8 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is right next to the beach, close to the main street and in reach of everything important. The staff & the manager were very helpful with planning day trips and always friendly. The rooms are good for the price, with a fridge and a fan. It gets very hot in the rooms at night, so upgrading to a room with air condition should be considered. There are two points to improve from my perspective. First, the hotel cooperates with a beach restaurant which is nice, but quite expensive for Thai standards. Most guests in the hotel are rather young or at least travelling on a smaller budget, so the upper class beach club is not exactly the location they would normally go to. The food is good, one can use the pool and the beach sun beds. However it is prohibited to bring your own food and beverage which I can understand. However, there should at least be an exception regarding drinking water, especially given the high temperatures on the beach!!! The overpriced small water bottles in the restaurant can be bought for 45 Bahts. Second, please stop advertising tours including elephant trecking. Promoting animal cruelty should not be supported in any way! All other offered tours are great and even conducted in a responsible and sustainable way. Taking out this tour will not hurt your programme of activities. Besides there are nowadays elephant parks offering a close-up experience without the riding of the animals.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take a room with air condition!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MattBSamui, Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Responded 1 Jul 2019
Thank you for your kind words Philipp, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we are not in control of the restaurant's pricing, however our guests do benefit from significant discounts in the form of a special menu designed especially for our guests, we apologize if this was not brought to your attention during your stay. Regarding your second point, Elephant Sanctuaries are fairly new to Samui, and we have partnered with and actively promote ethical eco-friendly activities. While we don't actively encourage elephant trekking, we understand that there are some visitors that choose to partake in such activities and we are not in a position to judge or deny them access to legal, insured trips offered on Koh Samui. We thank you once again for your detailed review and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Holly wrote a review May 2019
Las Vegas, Nevada7 contributions4 helpful votes
Won’t not recommend at all. At 8 am, the maid blasts music and sings in Thai. At 9 am, the construction work starts. There was a man with a chopsaw literally 3 feet outside my window. We went to the Lamai Sunday market so stayed out late on Sunday night, and they made sure we couldn’t catch up on our sleep Monday morning. Besides the noise, we got a room with a/c which is right above the bed and even on the lowest setting blasts out. The fan didn’t oscillate (the option was there, just broken) so just blew like a hurricane on our heads. We would have turned around but were scared to have feet untucked and sleep with our heads at the bottom as the biggest cockroach I’ve ever seen went on my foot there. Not worth saving money as you get what you pay for. They didn’t make up our room the day we were there so I had to ask them for water. Apparently, you have to put the sign on the door that says make up my room if you want maid service, rather than do not disturb to not get maid service like every other hotel I’ve ever been. Spend a bit more and go somewhere decent.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MattBSamui, Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Responded 8 May 2019
Hi Holly, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're sorry about the noise and will definitely look into this, it's a pity nothing was mentioned during your stay. I hope you can appreciate that all hotels differ slightly, and each has its own way of doing things. We value our guests' privacy and in our many years of operation have found that the majority of guests prefer not to have housekeepers enter their rooms unless specifically instructed to - hence the need to place the sign on the door. This is clearly mentioned on both the information card as well as the information booklet present in every room. We can't really be responsible if you did not take the time to look into these. In any case, we hope that your two nights with us did not have too much of an effect on your holiday.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard W wrote a review Apr 2019
22 contributions32 helpful votes
We stayed here for 4 days however the original booking was for 5 days. We made clear upon arrival that we were checking out early and had contacted Booking.com to rectify. Due to a change in circumstances (we had to head to Bangkok early for medical treatment) we changed the booking and we received an email to confirm the change and as such we were not liable for the last day. However upon checkout the hotel refused to refund us for the last day as “they had saved the room for us”. Abysmal customer service we had done everything the right way and had written confirmation of the change in booking. Now to the hotel itself, the room was pretty dingy, bathroom disgusting and the “fresh towels on 2 occasions had dried blood stains on them. The bed sheets were stained with all sorts and ripped. The location is good but you can definitely find somewhere that you don’t have to stay in tired, filthy rooms with more accommodating staff. If you are considering staying here I recommend you think again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MattBSamui, Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Responded 8 May 2019
Dear Richard, Unfortunately we did not receive any such confirmation of a date change, so I'm not sure what email or written confirmation you received - your issue here seems to be with Booking.com, we were just following the original Booking. Regardless, had you made this date change clear on arrival we would have accommodated your request and arranged everything, yet nothing was mentioned. You even paid for 5 nights on check in (when you supposedly only wanted to stay 4?) and signed the registration card acknowledging an early checkout fee of 1 night. Had the room, the sheets, and the towels not been to your liking we would have been more than happy to accommodate your request and change your room or at the very least the linens, or even allow a free cancellation had you expressed that the hotel was not up to your standards - yet you didn't mention anything and instead chose to vent on the internet, which doesn't really solve much. So in this case, all we can do is apologize and hope that your seemingly less than pleasant stay didn't have too much of an impact on your holiday.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lamai Beach area.
LOCATION
ThailandSurat Thani ProvinceKo SamuiMaretLamai Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RICH RESORT BEACHSIDE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices (Ko Samui/Lamai Beach)

Frequently Asked Questions about Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Skandi Collection Tailors Lamai beach (0.2 miles), V-Versace Tailor (0.2 miles), and Bear Cocktails (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Oyster Bar X Samui, Seventy Fahrenheit, and Pizza Del Sol, les voiles blanches.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Rich Resort Beachside Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Rich Resort Beachside Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Rich Resort Beachside Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Lamai Beach.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Rich Resort Beachside Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Sitlaram (3.2 miles).