We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Vagia Mare Hotel

Show Prices
#6 of 11 Hotels in Gerani
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Vagia Mare Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 24: English reviews
Lund, Sweden
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Coming back after one year felt like 2 Days. Got the same room as we wisched, and the same fantastic stay as last year. I do Believe we will be back! This year we came a Little earlier, so the temperature was higher and more sun! Not that we complained!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Minimumsa
Nacka, Sweden
Reviewed 5 October 2016

A very nice budget hotel. The rooms are quite large and cleaned daily. The wifi is not bad, although it may not reach inside your room if you are located far away from the reception area. We made our own breakfast and lunch in the hotelroom kitchen which is pretty well stocked and enough to make basic meals. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik B
Ornskoldsvik, Sweden
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The room was incredibly good, it was clean and maid service was perfect. The pool was lovely and always clean, The place was quiet and pleasant. Hotel manager Manolis is an amazing man who always had a smile on his face even though he had a lot to do. One thing is certain and that is that we will return...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnetteoJohan
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Best hotel, lovely staff, good food and lovely family. Thanks for good service and a nice holiday, and we are already looking forward to come back ❤ we can recommend everybody who wants a relaxing holiday to come here☺

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liv Ø
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I really enjoyed my weeks stay at this hotel, the whole hotel area is clean and beautiful and the rooms are roomy enough and are kept clean every day by the staff. It's really close to a fairly calm rocky beach. All the staff make you feel welcome there and are always helpful if you ask anything. Great place for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FelixEriksson
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Rooms are clean and very simple. Here a quiet place to sleep. This hotel is a budget. Only manager is tired. When we arrived at night, our bathroom had no light. When the morning told the manager joked that the light will not have until tomorrow. He does everything himself and did not have time. The manager must have an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank atilojka
Manolis V, General Manager at Vagia Mare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear atilojka or Jolita, First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Vagia Mare for your vacation this summer. I appreciate your positive feedback regarding the service woman and cleanliness. However I would like to express my disappointment realizing that you spent time to post 2 different reviews with almost same nick name and I would...

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a good for two adults or a large company. We stayed with two small children and all stared at us an strangers, because were not more children. Manager never say hello and ignore us. He been freandly with adults who drink in bar. We try eat lunch in bar but girl in bar always looked tired and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jolita K
Manolis V, General Manager at Vagia Mare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jolita, First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Vagia Mare for your vacation this summer. I appreciate your positive feedback regarding the service woman and cleanliness. However I would like to express my disappointment realizing that you spent time to post 2 different reviews with almost same nick name and I would like to...

Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Just returned from a lovely and peaceful two weeks' holiday in Vagia Mare. This hotel is really a great place to stay. All personnel is friendly and fantastic, real professionals, rooms are clean and tidy and food at the restaurant is delicious. The atmosphere is something really special. Our warm thank you, Manolis and all your great staff, in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paula_Ari
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We stayed at this hotel for a week in August r, 2016 and it was the worst hotel we have ever had. Firstly, you have to pay for air conditioning - 50 euros per week.The manager of the hotel Manolis didn't give the receipt for it!!! We had the worst room, who is near playground. We are family and our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 332tanja
Manolis V, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Vagia Mare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Αdvisor following your recent visit with us. I am sorry to learn that your stay did not meet your expectations. The service you describe is highly uncommon and not reflective of our usual high service standards. Your impression regarding my approach, came as a surprise to...

Reviewed 22 May 2016

We choose this hotell because we needed a 2 bedroom apartment. We went her for a week my husband, my son and my mother was acompanying me. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The restaurant used way to much cheese. If you order pizza or anything with cheese on you had to ask them to use only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nordlening

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerani
0.7 mi away
Caretta Beach
Caretta Beach
#4 of 11 in Gerani
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gerani
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lito Beach
Lito Beach
#24 of 68 in Platanias
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Solimar Aquamarine Hotel
1.2 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#13 of 68 in Platanias
218 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#9 of 68 in Platanias
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Vagia Mare Hotel

Address: Gerani, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Gerani
Price Range: £47 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vagia Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagia Mare Hotel Crete/Gerani
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gerani
#3 Family Hotel in Gerani
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vagia Mare Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Donegal Town, Ireland

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Vagia Mare Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 111 has a fantastic evening sun!”
 of 5 bubbles Minimumsa, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Better wifi if you sit on balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Nordlening, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the strange extra charges and DO NOT pay them, it's silly that they even try.”
 of 5 bubbles Htmlterrier, 6 Sep 2013 | Read review
“If you are afraid of spiders, ask for a room on the second floor. We had an uninvited visitor in our ground floor room one night. However, some of the second floor rooms don't have roofs on the balconies which makes it very uncomfortable because of the direct sunlight. If I ever went back, I would ask for a second floor room with a roof on the balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles KreetaS, 19 Aug 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay