We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pestana Bahia Praia

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pestana Bahia Praia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 122: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very good stay at this hotel. The room was overlooking the bay and elegantly decorated and the staff was always helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious, didn't miss anything since they had a variety of bread and roals, sweet pastries, cake, eggs, bacon, baked beans, sauted vegetables, muesli, cornflakes, fresh fruit, fruit salad, fresh vegetables, a variety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatFae
Kent, England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during a honeymoon trip, where we traveled around Portugal and included a visit to two islands in the Azores in September 2015. The location of the hotel looks wonderful and we had booked a sea facing suite with breakfast and we were both extremely looking forward to a romantic stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MKappa
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments. Our main objective is to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction and we promise to focus on that! On the other hand we are sorry that the experience offered at our Hotel did not meet your expectations and we promise we will do our best to focus on that! We will be...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This September we spent 2 quite pleasant weeks at this hotel. We were there in 2015 and liked it, so we were curious to see how things have changed after the long renovations and under the new management. Here are our comments: Pros: · Lovely location, 4 km. away from the nearest town. Nice, quiet evenings, of course not everybody’s...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbkToronto_Canada
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our hotel with other future guests. We took note of all your constructive comments about our services, faciliteis and staff. We sincerely regret we did not meet your expectations in some aspects mostly about the air conditioning problems. Should you give us another opportunity to show you our high...

Brampton, Ontario
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were two couples travelling together. Stayed at the hotel for one week. We had an oceanview suite which was large and comfortable. Mini fridge and safe in room. Breakfast was included and was a buffet of assorted items. Lots to eat and it was good. We never ate at the hotel restaurants mainly because we were on tours. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 411leah
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with you: our sea view rooms are outstanding. And the beach bar next door really deserves a visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kindest regards from the Green Island.

north yorkshire
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We had a lovely week in a quiet hotel, well furnished, great views of the ocean from the bedrooms, friendly staff and a beach next door. The breakfast is really good with soya milk offered, the bread is lovely, I normally do not eat bread and found it so different and tasty than the usual in hotels. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katherine66
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliments about the service provided by our staff! They are indeed a great team. And yes our bread it is really tasty! Looking forward to welcome you back. Best regards from Azores.

Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This was my first visit to The Azores. Stayed for three nights in a spacious, comfortable room with stunning views to the ocean and to the nearby beach. The Hotel's location is perfect, convenient to visit the island and not far from restaurants. Breakfast at the Hotel was wonderful where we were greeted by the manager Pedro who gave us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre C
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay and found our service and facilities very good. Looking forward to welcoming you back to any of our hotels. Best regards from the Green Island

Reviewed 22 October 2016

My wife and I went to the Azores from Canada for the first time in early October and stayed at this hotel for (9) nights. We enjoyed our stay and are happy to provide it was a "4 star rating" similar to what they advertise themselves as. It could EASILY be a 5* hotel with a few easy improvements as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madstal
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm happy to know you took the time to visit and enjoy the country side. You are absolutely right: S Miguel is a true piece of paradise! We take your suggestions under consideration and thank you for your constructive comments....

Northamptonshire
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Great location with easy local transport access during the day to Ponta Delgada and surrounding villages and towns. Bus stops just outside the hotel grounds. Lovely clean beach next to the hotel with fab beach cafe/bar. Hotel has been refurbished to a modern and comfortable standard. Very relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hawkair
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Bahia Praia. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and nice words. We look...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Total amazing location on the shoreline and the only hotel for miles: Plus points: 1. Location 2. Fantastic rooms 3.Clean 4.Well equipt rooms 5.Perfect wi-fi and free all the time 6.Vast public areas 7.Large free car park 8.Good breakfast Not so good at all 1. Avoid a room at the rear of the hotel on the land side,barking dogs every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mylie B
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to post this review. We would like to thank you for your nice observations about the location and the building. We apologize because we did not meet your expectations. We do appreciate your input, because your feedback help us to improve. We hope to see you again on...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We bought a package deal with airfare on an impulse after hearing about the azores. Didn't know what to expect... but here is what we found: Location of hotel- on an isolated small bluff with adjacent beach. On road to many fun things. Very quiet beautiful place. Has a pool. Beach is great. Just a beautiful location. However- we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardg820
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion about Pestana Bahia Praia with us and with all our potential clients. I’m glad you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff extremely nice and helpful. Regarding our F&B facilities, I apologize for any inconvenience and promise to solve the problems you highlighted. If the others can do, I’m sure we will...

215 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (214)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
0:28
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Franca do Campo
9.4 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
2.4 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#6 of 41 in Sao Miguel
367 reviews
11.3 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
124 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
588 reviews
9.9 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on São Miguel Island, with direct access to the beach "Baia de Água d'Alto" and with clear panoramic view to the Atlantic Ocean, you can find here the harmony and peace that you need for your holidays. São Miguel is the largest island of the archipelago, where more than half of the island's population lives at. Together with Santa Maria Island, São Miguel forms the Eastern Group of the Azores Archipelago. Whether for its proximity to the ocean, as well as for its large outdoor freshwater swimming pool. Every single area of this 4-star hotel was exhaustively planned in order to ensure the communion between elegance and good taste with the environment. The rooms have a balcony and a panoramic view over the ocean, along with the hills. Save some time to admire the exquisiteness that surrounds you. All the spaces were carefully planned in order to make good taste and elegance prevail in a classic and refined atmosphere, in synchrony with the surrounding beauty. This is a resort with a strong affinity to water. This Hotel has at your will a wide range of facilities that include Junior and Senior Suites, restaurants, bars, swimming pool, conference rooms, games rooms, library and reading room, saunas, gym, gardens and areas reserved for banquets, marriages and baptisms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pestana Bahia Praia

Address: | Praia Baía de Água d’Alto, Vila Franca do Campo, Sao Miguel 9680, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Bahia Palace)
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Vila Franca do Campo
Price Range: £47 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Bahia Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Bahia Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bahia Palace
Pestana Bahia Praia Azores/Sao Miguel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Bahia Praia staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Bahia Praia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Oceanview on higher level if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 411leah, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the beach/ocean have wonderful views, but most of the rooms in the hotel seem to have pleasant views”
 of 5 bubbles alexandrecD7279QK, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The hotel has 5 floors, the higher the room the better the view.”
 of 5 bubbles madstal, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“get a room as far away from the hill and those dogs as you can,you will definitely need a car as its a little isolated”
 of 5 bubbles mylieb, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“see narrative”
 of 5 bubbles richardg820, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay