Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Truro Hotel

Traveller (134)
Premier Inn bedroom
Room & Suite (27)
Premier Inn Truro hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

£48
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Carnon Downs
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Explore the wilds of south west Cornwall with Premier Inn Hotel Truro. You're in prime position for cliff-top walks and beautiful beaches, as well as the shops, nightlife and culture of historic Truro. Get green fingers at Trelissick or Glendurgan Gardens. Head north and catch some waves at Newquay, or south to the shops and bars of Falmouth. Settle down for a show at Hall for Cornwall. However you spend your day, you'll find our tasty restaurant and extra-comfy beds ready and waiting when you return.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
First aid kit
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1,395Review13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 581
  • 428
  • 196
  • 100
  • 90
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jason B wrote a review Jan 2024
St Georges, United Kingdom49 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Carnon Downs has become my regular when I'm down in deepest, darkest Cornwall. Always a great welcome from the reception team. Clean rooms & convenient Beefeater restaurant opposite with a covered walkway. Nothing is too much trouble for staff here. Great PI.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hol_loverDarlington wrote a review Aug 2020
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom4,870 contributions102 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The reception area is small but with the added Perspex dividers it makes people aware before they enter. Check in was easy, special measures were explained along with letting us know we would have no maid service but fresh towels were available should we need them. Hand sanitiser is provided throughout the building. It’s clear this hotel is quite old (creaky floors) but the room was clean and fresh and the window opened! Lovely comfy bed and some storage but a drawer would have been nice. Bring hangers if you need to hang a few things up.
We had a great 5 night stay with the added bonus of a decent restaurant next door which we ate at every night, only one breakfast as I prefer the buffet and this was understandably not available. I would recommend booking especially when the eat out to help out is on mon-wed as it gets busy.
The hotel is in a good location if you have transport, kynance cove is an hour away, Falmouth 20 mins, st erth station 30 mins, however there isn’t much near to the hotel if you fancied a wander to another pub, its main roads with not many pathways, there’s a nearby bus shelter but we didn’t feel confident enough to try and use the bus. There’s a tesco down the road and a Spar for essentials nearby. The hotel has a large car park and we never worried about not getting a space.
The only niggle we had was that we were in a room (number 29) directly underneath the upstairs staff supplies cupboard and housekeeping was frequently striding up and down mornings and afternoons and the floors were so creaky! We were offered a move however we had unpacked and also figured we would rather be below the housekeeping at working hours than other guests late at night etc.
The guy who checked us in was fab, the ladies throughout our stay on reception barely glanced up as we were in and out, we checked out and weren’t wished a safe journey or asked about our stay. Not sure if this is because of the restricted access with the Perspex and it wasn’t a massive issue but we stay in premier inns several times a year and found the indifference a bit odd, especially when you’re a bit nervous about the stay.
Have to give credit to every member of staff in the restaurant, they worked so hard despite the challenges at the moment.
Would stay on this hotel again 100%
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
iris g wrote a review Feb 2022
portchester112 contributions42 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed in a lot of Premier Inns, but this was not one of the better ones. They have cut out biscuits in the room, no herbal teas, or hot chocolate drinks. The bathroom was quite dire. No towel rail. The fan made a lot of noise, but was not very efficient. Result was after a shower the walls were running with condensation, which also made our toiletries wet. The toilet seat was wonky, as it was not the right size or shape to fit the bowl. Sitting in the armchair, you could see the stains on the framework of the bed. The pillows were worn out as were the pillowcases. The only way to shut the bedroom door was to slam it, so through the night, as smokers got up to go outside, we were woken by slamming doors. Cigarette ends welcomed you outside the entrance, as there was no where to put them. Breakfast had items missing, such as fruit salad and muffins. Staying at other Premier Inns, we realised that the Beefeater charges more for the same food, than either a Whitbread Inn or a Brewers fayre. It also has less choice on the menu, and smaller portions.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Higher floor may mean less noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reece wrote a review Sept 2020
4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 4 nights for our wedding anniversary the first night before bed we was disturbed by a really strong smell off cannabis we spoke to the lady on reception that assured that she would try and find out where it was coming from but agreed that it smelt as if someone was smoking it in one of the hotel rooms. It made our night very uncomfortable as the smell was so strong it made all of our belongings stink, after going out the next day and returning to our room we have realised the room had not been cleaned everything still smelt of the smoke. I went down and spoke to a member of the reception team she was blonde with glasses and quiet rude she informed me that due to COVID the house keeping team are not entering the rooms and if I wanted clean towels etc I would have to come to reception daily to collect them. This was not explained to me on check in and made the stay very uncomfortable as being in the same hotel room for five days with an over flowing bin, uncleaned bathroom and bed and constant back and forth for towels, cups and bedding felt like a bit of a chore whilst we were supposed to be on holiday. The restaurant staff were mostly very friendly other than one women who was part of the breakfast team she left us standing at the door one morning for around 20 minutes only to shout across the front desk unless we have a booking she hasn’t got any space for us. Seems very unorganised due to COVID but everything about the stay is still the same price as if there was no COVID changes.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sueron1 wrote a review Jan 2020
Bath, United Kingdom51 contributions32 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We use Premiere inn as a regular stopover to various destinations and their standards are generally acceptable in the “you get what you pay for” mode
However the Truro location was absolutely awful, luckily it was for just one nights stay.

Dingy stained decor, mattress that had physically broken at the edge, and a background noise from some sort of compressor or air on unit that continued all night with no explanation from disinterred staff.

The restaurant was equally disappointing starters deliver to table with part of the content missing (potato) when queried we were told they had “ no potato” but they were happy to take the order !!
Mains chicken over cooked broccoli cold, sweet potato chips cold... On other plate steak that looked as if it was boiled and cold chips

A harassed manager came out and the meals were re cooked, better but far from acceptable

How can this national chain have slipped so far, sad, very sad
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MrBlush wrote a review Oct 2020
Kent, United Kingdom460 contributions122 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
In this time of covid hotels love to state they are doing everything possible to make the stay covid secure etc and there is alcohol gel and screens etc in the hotel reception area. Staff are not allowed to enter the rooms during the stay so you can get extra tea and coffee from the reception. Everything was going well until I decided to check the air filter in the Mitsubishi air conditioners in our room! Mitsubishi state in the manual that the filter should be cleaned every two weeks, check the photos for yourself and see what you think, how long has this build up of dust been building up. I did not raise the issue with reception as feared we would be moved from one room to another and we could not be doing with the hassle.

Our stay was comfortable otherwise, the hotel is quite a way out of Truro so unless you have a car you would have a very long walk to town. The Beefeater next door is very hit and miss, very slow challenged staff generally and horrendous waiting times. When we are next in Cornwall we wouldn’t consider staying at this hotel or eating at the Beefeater.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Responded 23 Nov 2020
Hi there Thanks for taking the time to share your review. I'm pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay, however it's a shame to see the filters don't appear to have been cleaned and I'm sorry for any concern caused. I've passed your comments on to the Hotel Manager so they can pick this up internally and they'll implement retraining to ensure this is rectified and not missed in future. I apologise for the disappointment and hope you'll give us another chance in future. Kind Regards Amy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave C wrote a review Sept 2022
14 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay in Premier Inn's around the country very often for my work. Truro is in by far the best location and the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly except for a single miserable man who was on nights. The building is one of the best also with individual ductless air-con units. I would recommend Truro premier Inn to anyone who wants to visit the area but have a limited budget!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma D wrote a review Jul 2020
Truro, United Kingdom15 contributions40 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for only the one night luckily. It didn’t bode well when we arrived 28 minutes early for a 2pm check in, only to be told by two receptionists we could not use the hotel room facilities before then (we had arrived after a 4 hour journey!!) and when asked about the toilets for the restaurant we were told it was closed. We had to drive to a pub nearby and order a round of drinks and use their facilities before we could return 25 mins later to the room we weren’t allowed to check into earlier. Utterly pointless and felt very unwelcome.
Secondly, the room itself is dingy, poorly lit and there was no hand soap in the bathroom. We had to reach over and use the bath soap when we needed to wash our hands which, at the moment during the Covid situation is a lot. The bed wasn’t comfortable and we got woken up very early the next morning. We won’t stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
laj2570 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First time staying in a Premier Inn, all of the staff we met were incredibly welcoming, helpful and friendly; the room was very clean and warm, the beds (twin room) were extremely comfortable, and the hotel although apparently busy, was peaceful at night, with hardly any external noise heard in the room. We chose the continental breakfast option and again the staff in the adjoining Beefeater were welcoming and helpful, and the breakfast and drinks were very good. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone needing an easy, cost-effective place to stay, and would not hesitate to return in the future. Thank you to all of the staff for making our trip away such an enjoyable experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
toomanybeds2018 wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
These are difficult times, we all know that. However I don’t think it is any excuse after long periods of lockdown to find a room with a myriad of simple faults that a handyman could sort out in a couple of hours. We had a broken light switch, veneer peeling and indeed missing completely from the shelving fitment, lack of towels on taking the room (despite booking for two), toilet seat the wrong size for the pan and about to fall off, lighting gloomy. Usual gripe about the poor WiFi provision although phone signal is not bad. Major upside now is the provision of air conditioning. All this would be acceptable if the room was reasonably priced but we paid £170 a night without breakfast (flex, too risky right now to make a fixed booking) and for that money things should be as right as they can be. Staff however were friendly and efficient. Room connectivity needs to be sorted, too, plenty of 13a points but these days we need USB-A and USB-C points more. Bathroom also needs rails to assist climbing in and out of the bath.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tjgfitness asked a question Feb 2023
Plymouth, United Kingdom783 contributions256 helpful votes
Does anyone know the cost of a taxi to Truro city centre. Tia
Answer from Richard J
4 contributions
There are frequent buses from outside the railway station to take you right into the city centre, for less than £2.
hopefarm22 asked a question Nov 2022
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom67 contributions58 helpful votes
Do they have the the most recent bedrooms or the older style
Answer from Dave C
14 contributions11 helpful votes
They have the New Style Rooms.
Answer from Ann H
Haverhill, United Kingdom30 contributions34 helpful votes
Hairdryer was in the room...a bit slow. You can ask reception for an iron.
Marion E asked a question Sept 2020
How much is the breakfast
Answer from Mark Danks
Scarborough, United Kingdom62 contributions26 helpful votes
They don't do breakfast
Philip M wrote a tip 19 May
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else."
Read full review
altanali1952 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Kent, United Kingdom26 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Even though the hotel is a short distance from town, it is not possible to walk as only roads. "
Read full review
Climber502422 wrote a tip Mar 2024
13 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking Very spacious Very clean Food is very good Great location Would return any time Great accessible rooms for disabled"
Read full review
john h wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Change your bedding ...quality control "
Read full review
Innocentman70 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Exeter, United Kingdom13 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Recommend local pubs for food"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Carnon Downs area.
PRICE RANGE
£50 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn truro hotel carnon downs, premier inn carnon downs
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallTruro DistrictFeockCarnon Downs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
86
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN TRURO HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Truro Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Celtic Tossers - Axe Throwing (2.8 miles), St. Just in Roseland Church (4.3 miles), and Truro Cathedral (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Truro Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Truro Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Truro Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Truro Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Truro Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grounded, The Cornish Vegan, and UpperDeck.
Is Premier Inn Truro Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Carnon Downs.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Truro Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tregothnan (3.5 miles).
Is Premier Inn Truro Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Carnon Downs HotelsCarnon Downs Hotel DealsHotels near Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire