Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel

Traveller (4309)
DELUXE JUNIOR VILLA SEA VIEW WITH PRIVATE POOL
Room & Suite (740)
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£215
£174
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#5 of 18 hotels in Adelianos Kampos
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The legendary Aquila Rithymna Beach fronts the azure 500 m long beach on the north coastal line of Crete. A favorite destination for repeater visitors and vacationers from all over the world, proves the delightful experience of hospitality, sunshine, modern amenities and faultless service. Most of the generous rooms, bungalows and villas housed at the hotel's colorful gardens or at the local style buildings. The resort is specifically aimed at families with children of all ages for magical holidays with plenty of in-house facilities and entertaining activities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Greek and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available

Location

Adelianos Kampos, Crete 74100 Greece
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 71 out of 100
71
N. Kazantzakis Airport
36.1 mi
See all flights
Souda Airport
24.9 mi
See all flights
3,608Reviews470Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,027
  • 928
  • 383
  • 134
  • 138
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Gwénola C wrote a review Apr 2024
Courbevoie11 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very satisfied of the hôtel: room/ infrastructure / meal / hotel / staff / children activities… Everything is really clean / organized and as expected in a five star hôtel.
I highly recommend to go there, with children or in couple.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 22 Apr 2024
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for choosing Aquila Rithymna Beach and for taking the time to provide us with your wonderful review. Your comments are gratefully received. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay so much! We take great pride in our hotel, and it is therefore so rewarding to receive such wonderful feedback. As you will have experienced, the levels of service we offer our guests, and the comfort and enjoyment of all those who stay with us is of paramount importance at all times. It is great to note that you would visiting us again and we certainly look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andy b wrote a review Aug 2020
Devon, United Kingdom290 contributions86 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just finished my one week half board stay at this hotel, it is located just over 1 hour from Heraklion airport and from most of the team at the resort I really cannot fault the friendly service my family and I received during our stay.
Due to the current pandemic situation the rooms get cleaned every 3 days but you can request fresh towels from the front desk if you so wish.
The rooms themselves are perhaps a little tired and in need of an update, but the bathroom had been done to a good standard. The air con worked perfectly!!
The food was ok from the buffet, the choice somewhat limited, but again this is probably down to the pandemic. The drinks however are quite expensive, we had a bottle of wine that cost nearly 44 euros and a bottle of water is nearly 5 euros, Bottle of small fizzy drink (250ml) for my son was over 4 euros. It can really start to add up.
They are taking safety of their guests very seriously at the resort and hand sanitising stations are placed all around the resort, a very reassuring sign, plus all staff wear face masks.
The main swimming pool is a salt water pool, and is huge, very pleasant, sun beds do tend to go quite early though.
The beach is also really great and we were fortunate enough to see baby Turtles one night whilst we were there which the staff on site cordon off and let you watch as they make their way to the sea. Also on the re are plenty of sun beds we never had any problem finding one for the day. If you feel so inclined you can stay in a beach tent which the hotel rents out for 40 euros for the entire day.
All in all we had a great stay which is down to the fantastic staff at the resort, special mention must go to the friendly waiters at the restaurants, even when they get really busy, they don’t let it show and always make you feel welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 1 Sept 2020
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel. I am absolutely thrilled to see that you have rated your stay so highly. It is our absolute priority at all times to ensure that our guests have a wonderful and memorable time, and it is therefore rewarding to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. I will be sharing your feedback with my team who will be extremely pleased to learn that you found the service offered by them to be exactly that which you have every right to expect, and that they went some way towards ensuring you had a most enjoyable time. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future. Kindest regards Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nic136 wrote a review Aug 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom98 contributions96 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked to stay here for a week with 6 members of my family, we were lucky to get to travel abroad from the UK after the COVID restrictions were lifted. Due to COVID the hotel was at minimum capacity but that was fine for me as it meant the hotel and facilities were nice and quiet. There were no queues for food and sun loungers were always available on the beach and by the pool.

The hotel is very clean and the gardens are beautiful and well looked after. The beach is immaculate, I would recommend water shoes if you plan to swim in the sea as it is quite rocky in parts but the sea was perfect for swimming in with some great waves some days.

There are three restaurants at the hotel but only two were open during our stay which disappointed me as this was not conveyed to me on booking. There was a buffet restaurant and one of the a la carte restaurants open, which you could book once on the all inclusive board during our 7 night stay. I definitely recommend booking this as the food was amazing. It was the best meal of the holiday.

Buffet was varied but not self service due to COVID, however staff served you as much as you wanted of each dish.

99% of the staff were lovely and friendly but we did encounter one or two staff members who were not as warming, I’m unsure whether this was due to language barriers or the fact they were wearing face masks as I felt it hindered communication.

One negative I will say is that all inclusive does not mean ALL inclusive here. Select items on the drinks/food menus were included but several (of the more popular drinks/dishes) were at a supplement. I was also surprised to find non motorised water sports were not included in AI, unlike other AI hotels I’ve stayed at.

I would not say this is a 5* hotel but just a good 4* hotel, some things regarding service don’t quite make it 5*.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Dear Valued Guest Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel. It is absolutely wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, and I will certainly be sharing your feedback with my entire team, so they are aware that the procedures we now have in place and the contribution they make to the changes we have had to introduce, are being appreciated. Due to the new legislation imposed as a result of Covid-19, it has resulted in some of our services and amenities being reduced, but I am pleased to see that this did not detract from your overall enjoyment and stay with us. Indeed, like you the vast majority of our guests have been extremely complimentary about the standard of our service, together with the facilities and amenities on offer, and have in no way had their stay with us compromised, as a result of these unprecedented times. Please accept my apologies if you were not aware that certain items of food and drink were not included in your AI package. It is not uncommon in many hotels, particularly those who offer differing board options, that some items will incur an additional charge. This includes such things as premium branded alcohol for example. It was a great pleasure to host you and I hope you will consider returning to us in the very near future. Kindest regards Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jipet69 wrote a review Sept 2021
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom192 contributions114 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a lovely hotel.
I can't understand the reviews that say its dated.
It's clearly a modern hotel that has put authentic Greek/cretian touches to it, and in our opinion, done it very well.
The rooms are very comfortable, and I would not particularly describe them as small, more adequately sized.
The precautions for covid are excellent. You wear a plastic glove to handle the utensils to serve yourself at the buffet in the main restaurant.
Food is fairly varied but not a great choice for vegetarians. As a pescitarian I did OK.
Food tastes are very individual so can understand the varying reviews on quality and taste.
For us, we found the pricing confusing. Don't think all inclusive is all inclusive. You have to scan the QR code of each bar / restaurant to see what you might have to pay extra for.
Service from the bars was a bit hit and miss. Could easily wait 20mins for staff to take your order but equally could get served straight away.
You give your room number prior to ordering, so anyone could order on your room. You would find out at checkout!
We paid for the more comfortable sun beds on the beach for 1 day and found it a little expensive at 19 euros for 2 beds and a parasol.
We did come across many friendly staff, but for us, big hotels miss the personal touch.
We had a lovely room over looking the fountain and good side sea view. We had been upgraded free of charge.
The beach is very clean and rough on the feet.
It flew a red flag for 4 of the days we were there. Not sure if we were unlucky or quite typical given the location on the North of the island.
We went to rithymna old town twice on the local bus.
You purchase the tickets from the hotel mini market.
1 euro 20 each way and well worth it.
We enjoyed walking around the old town. Only disappointment was that you shouldn't expect a pretty harbour.
All in all, we were very grateful to get away and thank aquila for a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 8 Oct 2021
Dear Valued Guest Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel. It is absolutely wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, and I will certainly be sharing your feedback with my entire team, so they are aware that the procedures we now have in place and the contribution they make to the changes we have had to introduce, are being appreciated. Due to the new legislation imposed as a result of Covid-19, it has resulted in some of our services and amenities being reduced, but I am pleased to see that this did not detract from your overall enjoyment and stay with us. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future Kindest Regards Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catherine wrote a review Sept 2021
Shropshire, United Kingdom186 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
So much to say about this hotel. Stunning beach front location, free sunbeds too is a bonus. Views of surrounding mountains. Pool is large and refreshing but water aerobics were loud and unexpected! Main pool is quite deep be warned. Rooms were perfect size, had all amenities you need: safe, fridge, hairdryer, modern bathroom and shower, slippers.... Hotel was tastefully decorated throughout but would recommend they update the carpets, these were the only 'dated' thing letting it down. Staff were the shining stars, always smiling,polite and courteous. All working very hard day in day out. Buffet was varied and tasty, you use sanitiser and plastic gloves to be covid safe. Beds are large and comfy, balconies are spacious and have clothes hanger. We were half board and drinks at dinner were very expensive (€5 for bottle of still water and €4 for glass of orange juice!) so we always used the mini market on site for cheap drinks and snacks (and to see the lovely cat Ella there!!) This shop is open until 10pm. Cocktails on relaxing hotel terrace were tasty,about €8 but service was always slow. Handy bus timetable at reception. Bus stop on main road outside hotel was handy. Get it to Rethymno town for €1.20 (MUST buy tickets in mini markets anywhere in area) and can get other buses from Rethymno bus station (to Chania for about €6 each or Georgioupolis for about €4-5 each). Overall this hotel is a good base to explore the beautiful island of Crete. We would love to return one day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 10 Oct 2021
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for choosing Aquila Rithymna Beach for your recent vacation, and for taking the time to provide us with your excellent review. It is very clear from your extremely positive review that you were more than happy with your stay. It is always so rewarding to know that our valued guests have enjoyed their holiday so much, as we take great pride in providing first class experiences. Please be assured that your praise has been shared with the whole of my team and I am sure they would ask me to pass on their thanks to you. It means a great deal to my team and I to know that our efforts have been very much appreciated. It was our great pleasure to host you and we certainly hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kindest regards Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 9 days here on a half board basis. Due to a 3 hour delay we arrived at 1am, no snacks offered, just an orange juice. No fruit basket in room as on brochure but we did receive a free mini bottle of wine in room. Mini fridge in room but beware as if you have a bottle of water it’s €3! We were upgraded to a sea view free of charge which was a bonus . Rooms are a bit dated with shower over bath and shower curtain but spotlessly clean due to the hardworking housekeepers that attend daily. As we arrived late we were advised we could get a free lunch on any chosen day but when we sat down on our chosen day we were told we were not entitled to it! Once resolved we ordered a tea and coffee and we’re charged over €8 as no drinks are provided with lunch or dinner unless all inclusive.
The positives of the hotel are : it is spotless everywhere, food was lovely, pool area is beautiful. The resort is spacious and they have their own water sports just for the hotel on the beach (at an extra cost of course). Parasailing was amazing and the water sports staff are professional with years of experience.
The downside was the price of drinks!! Be very careful with this if half board as you just sign a receipt at the bar or in the restaurant and we were charged for poolside drinks when we weren’t even at the pool! The cost of a beer at dinner is €7.10 and a small glass of wine €8.80!! with the same prices charged at both the lobby bar and the poolside bar! If you don’t specify which beer you want the price differs, but we only found this out when we got the bill at reception! Water is €5.10 a bottle and no drinks are provided with half board dinner! The beer at dinner appeared very light and possibly watered down and when we questioned it they simply went to another pump (premium inclusive) and replaced it for a much better coloured beer?!
Dining room staff range from miserable to very friendly! Think his name was Nicos? but the guy selling the entertainment nights was lovely.
Entertainment non existent unless you pay for the special nights, Cretan, Italian, Greek, BBQ all at an extra cost of €23 and when you add on drinks can be a costly evening. Cretan night was excellent though, got everyone up dancing. Bbq night - food was amazing!! They do have an amphitheatre which had a couple of shows on two evenings which lasted about half an hour but didn’t see the nightly entertainment that was in brochure! We did notice the kids entertainment looked much better!
The beach looks lovely but is shingle and not really 5* as water is quite choppy at all times.
Great location, if you turn right out of the hotel there is a strip with some lovely traditional bars owned by lovely Greek people and drinks including cocktails are around €3-4, half the price of the hotel. Local beer can be had for €2.70. These bars were the highlight of the week as the Greeks are so grateful for your custom.
All in all we had a lovely holiday but the owners need to look seriously at the prices they are charging for drinks, Hotel more like a 4* not 5.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 22 Jun 2022
Dear Valued Guest, I’m so pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and want to thank you for choosing Aquila Rithymna Beach. I am thrilled to read that you were very happy with the food offered at the hotel, and I would like to thank you for your kind comments in this respect. Unfortunately, with the economic situation currently in Greece and indeed in most countries at this time, we have had to increase our prices due to several factors, this includes the fact suppliers have increased their costs and our operating costs overall are much more expensive than in previous years. Your constructive feedback is greatly appreciated and has been taken onboard and will be shared with my team. It is only upon the receipt of such information that we can look at ways in which we can enhance and improve our valued guests holiday with us. Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Kindest regards Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OnAir280504 wrote a review Sept 2020
Wallasey, United Kingdom2 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really loved our stay. Very chilled and very relaxing. Staff were very friendly. Loved that we all ate outside . Thought the cleanliness and safety precautions were very good. We felt safe. Food and drink both on the all inclusive and al a crate were excellent ,couldn’t fault the choice. We chose the hotel as it looked more Greek authentic. It didn’t disappoint. We stayed in Bungalow 18 which was sea view and just lovely. The beach was fabulous and the pool areas fabulous . Would definitely recommend based on the room we had. Not sure I would feel the same if the hotel was running at 100% capacity . Really enjoyed our holiday.
Reading other reviews I would just like to add that on arrival the reception staff make it quite clear that to reduce footfall in your room they clean every third day . Although they cleaned every other day. And it quite clearly states before you Choose all inclusive that it’s free local drinks. Not everything. But there is plenty of choice, most are named spirits with proper bottled mixers , just cocktails are limited on the free list and certain wine.
Very beautiful hotel
Big difference between 5 star city hotel and beach resort, family friendly.
Thank you Aquila Rithymna Beach
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for choosing Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel for your holiday and for providing us with such a wonderful review. I am extremely pleased to read that you fully understood and appreciated the efforts we have made to ensure the safety of all our guests and employees during this pandemic. As you experienced, the measures we have put in place to ensure we follow recent legislation, have in no way compromised the services we offer to our guests. I would like to thank you most sincerely for providing your positive feedback in this respect. To read that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us is very rewarding and I will share your kind comments with the whole of the team so they too know that their efforts are going some way towards ensuring our valued guests continue to enjoy their holidays and return home with many happy memories. We all very much look forward to welcoming you and you back in the very near future. Kindest regards Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judith3863 wrote a review May 2022
Paphos, Cyprus86 contributions64 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is beautifully clean, well maintained and nicely laid out. The food is very good and there are a lot of options at each meal. Staff are very friendly, helpful and work really hard. The grounds are well maintained and nicely laid out.

I came with my elderly mother who has some mobility difficulties, the staff swopped her to a room with a shower (as opposed to one over the bath) when we requested it (the tour company we booked with advertised it as a shower, not shower over a bath and I did ring to check). This is the first time I have been away with my mother since her mobility has declined and whilst we managed, it would have been helpful to have had handrails on both sides of the main stairs (one arm is better than the other) and on the front steps of the hotel.

There is a step going into the indoor pool that is not clearly marked and this is a BIG hazard (raised it with the hotel and Rep).

I prefer tap water rather than bottled (recycling and all that) but the hotel seems to prefer to provide/sell bottled water with meals at a cost of 5€. Drinks are expensive.

The sunbeds at the main pool are really comfortable, the ones by the small pool are basic. Plenty sunbeds on the beach, outdoor showers and changing rooms are available.

The rooms are very nice, plenty storage space, spotlessly clean, comfy beds, selection of pillows, dressing gowns and slippers provided. There is also a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. TV is good quality and there are mirrors on the wardrobe and above the dressing table. The Air Con is one of the best I have come across, whisper silent and very efficient. The shower is powerful, the water hot and a good, non slip bath mat is provided. Lovely balcony with dryer, pegs, chairs and a table.

We attended one extra BBQ night, it was lovely and the food was good but I was disappointed as it was buffet style again, the meat was warm, not hot and it cost an extra 22€ on top of what we had already paid.

Overall, we had a very nice time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We came on 1st May for two weeks, it was quieter when we arrived but got busier towards the end....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 20 May 2022
Dear Judith Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel. I’m delighted to hear that you were impressed with our hotel facilities and it is always a pleasure to receive such a personal recommendation regarding the food we serve. The step into the indoor pool has not previously been a concern however we would like to thank you for your feedback and we would assure you that any necessary action, where appropriate, will be taken. It was a great pleasure to host you and thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Kind Regards, Kostas Damankis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MP72 wrote a review Aug 2021
Shropshire, United Kingdom38 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 1 week at this hotel and had a thoroughly great holiday with my 13 year old. The hotel was clean and the staff were all exceptionally friendly, professional and kind natured. We feel we were very well looked after!
C19 measures were in place and nothing more could have be done by the hotel who lead by example. The hotel staff wore their masks all the time to their credit even outside whilst waiting/serving and sanitizer was in abundance incl disposable gloves for when you were at the buffet which was well observed.
We had a sea view room in the main building which was clean and functional and the beds were comfortable. Stayed half board which comprises ample and varied all you can eat buffet for breakfast and evening meal but you could swap for lunch if you wanted to go out for a meal somewhere else which was a nice surprise.
The hotel has varied and what I would class as ‘light’ entertainment most evenings - no thumping bass until the early hours every night (thankfully).
Pool and beach facilities were good and we enjoyed the large pool area best.
Just by way of advice the beach is gravel and pebbles with pebbles/rocks underwater in most areas so decent swim shoes are needed. The sea was too rough to swim in 4 out of 7 days (heavily policed by the lifeguards) which for us was no issue but just to be aware the beach may not be what you’d expect for spending time in/out of the water and playing on the ‘sand’ if you seek a ‘classic’ beach holiday. Water was lovely and clean on the days we swam and quite interesting for snorkelling as well.
Icing on the cake we got to see baby sea turtles climb down to the sea after hatching one morning at breakfast time right in front of the hotel which is going to be a memory we keep for life 😀
We also enjoyed a first class massage at the Spa which we would both highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 10 Sept 2021
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for choosing Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel for your recent vacation, and for providing us with your wonderful review. I am overjoyed to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, and have returned home with many happy memories. From myself and all the team, thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a personal recommendation and we certainly hope we have the pleasure of your company again, in the very near future. Kindest regards Kostas Damanakis General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
phillipadewitt wrote a review Oct 2022
Dorset23 contributions47 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is spotless, the staff wearing masks at all times, though this is not required of Guests, it is purely at your discretion. The gardens, which are extensive, are kept immaculately at all times and the staff are extremely efficient and helpful, particularly on Reception.
However, this is NOT in my opinion a 5* hotel by any stretch of the imagination. As previous Reviews I read beforehand (and dismissed) it is pushing it at times to say 4*!
The food, particularly in the evening and referring to the Main Courses leaves a lot to be desired, both in its Presentation and Choice. Generally speaking this was overcooked (aside from the Carvery) and reminded me of food which had been left in Warmers for some considerable time. Additionally there were occasions when at least 3 of these Warmer Containers were Completely empty and remained so for some time, so that eventually I was forced to choose Rice and Napolitana Sauce in the absence (literally) of anything else appealing. Likewise in the morning choice was somewhat limited in that Boiled eggs were left in trays after cooking, together with Poached eggs held in a Warmer and Omelettes too (for goodness knows how long) and consequently rendered totally unappealing. These are foods One would expect to be cooked fresh in a 5* hotel, as indeed were the Fried Eggs which I limited myself too on toast! Not quite what I had planned, or expected!

My husband and I had anticipated enjoying various types of Greek food in the Evening (we were on Half Board) but discovered that One had to pay extra to attend a Greek, or Italian, or BBQ night to do so, with the charge quoted to us as 23 Euros each - despite the fact that One was not consuming any of the Dinner already paid for.
Which brings me onto the price of the drinks! I know this has been covered by other Guests but simply wanted to add my voice to their complaints. To charge 12.80 Euros for 2 Freshly Squeezed Orange Juices throughout the hotel when One can buy them twice the size, squeezed to order, in Rethymno at 2 Euros each is simply unacceptable! This hotel takes the opportunity to fleece its guests at every twist and turn. Indeed, no one I encountered ever was slightly the worse for drink - either due to the cost, or simply a refusal to be profiteered from in this manner.

Luckily we enjoyed good weather, had a room (435) with an amazing sea view and balcony which we made full use of in the evening as there was scarcely any entertainment and (other than the Saxophonist) what there was was pretty awful.
Would we stay there again? Sadly I have to say No! There is much to recommend this hotel but some of the above mentioned are Deal Breakers for me when I have paid for 5* accommodation and everything that implies.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: High floor with a sea view will make all the difference and is worth the extra cost.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2022
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience following your recent stay at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel. I am pleased to read that there were many aspects of your stay that you thoroughly enjoyed, and delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I will certainly share your feedback with both our Head Chef and F&B Manager, as it is most unusual that we receive negative comments regarding the cuisine we have on offer and the level of service within our restaurant. I can only apologise if you personally found the food and service not to be to your personal liking, as comments of this nature are very rare indeed, as the vast majority of our guests have nothing but praise for the food and service offered. I would wish to assure you that we do prepare all of our food freshly and with only the best products however, when catering for such a large amount of people it is inevitable that certain items of food will have to be kept out under the lights as opposed to cooking each item individually. Unfortunately, with the economic situation currently in Greece and indeed in most countries at this time, we have had to increase our prices due to several factors, this includes the fact suppliers have increased their costs and our operating costs overall are much more expensive than in previous years. Your constructive feedback is greatly appreciated and has been taken onboard and will be shared with my team. It is only upon the receipt of such information that we can look at ways in which we can enhance and improve our valued guests holiday with us. It was a great pleasure to host you and I thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Kindest regards Kostas Damanakis General manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Tony L
Huddersfield, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
It is computerised as to when you give your name and number they know your room status. You just check your bill to see what you have had and top of you do wish. After being there many times they know you.
Answer from JENNY P
Bergamo, Italy15 contributions6 helpful votes
There was a bar not fare from.the hotel which was broadcasting sport .... Just exit the hotel and follow the street on your right...have a look inside bars and you Will see It. Sorry i don' t Remember its name
Answer from clairewoodroof
Northampton, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
Yes they are. All menus show what is included in the AI package and its a great selection. Even drinks in the mini fridge in your room is included.
Tony L wrote a tip Yesterday
Huddersfield, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use your Premium points to upgrade well worth it. "
Read full review
Fluffygilly wrote a tip 25 May
Prescot, United Kingdom65 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Empty the minibar and put your own drinks in. Alot cheaper! Smaller pool by the jolly Court is quieter and more chilled. "
Read full review
tony c wrote a tip 24 May
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take a big wallet with you if on half board Hotel stuck in the 80s or 90s dont know which would not stay here again"
Read full review
Anne S wrote a tip 18 May
Durham, United Kingdom99 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own hairdryer. Explore outside for nice tavernas, and get yourself to Rethynon ."
Read full review
Donna N wrote a tip 6 May
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't fall for a nice man offering you a free upgrade."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Adelianos Kampos area.
PRICE RANGE
£109 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aquila rithymna beach rethymnon, hotel aquila rithymna beach, rithymna beach hotel
LOCATION
GreeceCreteRethymnon PrefectureAdelianos Kampos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
519
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AQUILA RITHYMNA BEACH HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Archelon Sea Turtle Protection Society of Greece (0.2 miles), Kouros Store (0.2 miles), and Day Night Shopping Center (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Giampous Bakery, Roulis Beach Bar, and Mythos Taverna.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Greek.
All Adelianos Kampos HotelsAdelianos Kampos Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Adelianos Kampos
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire