We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 457: English reviews
Newton Poppleford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely fabulous! Warm, friendly, welcoming, comfortable, traditional with a contemporary twist. It was our first time away without the family.... away from the washing up and cooking for the 5000..... :) Even our little four legged friend, Meggy moo, was made to feel wanted and became a real charmer for the team and guests. The team at the 'Rose' couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful Christmas at this hotel. We were visiting as a family of 8 of very different ages and we all very much enjoyed our stay. Everybody was made to feel so welcome by the owners Paul and Claire and their wonderful daughters and staff. They went out of their way to accommodate all our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C1are72
RoseinVale, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Clare, Thank you for your kind review. Christmas was wonderful and we wished it could have carried on for longer as all of the guests were getting on so well. Thank you for bringing with you so much of the Christmas good cheer, a great choral voice and a fabulous family atmosphere; the house and everyone in it miss...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The staff at this hotel are superb, nothing is too much trouble. The room was clean and tastefully decorated and the beds are superbly comfortable! We stayed here for 2 nights for my son's wedding (he hired the whole hotel) and we could not have wished for a more welcoming, friendly service from all involved. The breakfasts are very filling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita P
RoseinVale, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Anita, Thank you so much for your review and other kind compliments which have been relayed to all of our team. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your wedding party and we were thrilled that you made the hotel your home for two days. We will stay in touch and we wish you all the best.

North somerset
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We first arrived and pulled into the driveway to be greeted by a beautiful Georgian house with its beautiful front door. But wait, this is not the way in! Drive past this, round the back to a grotty car park, then in the side of the hotel to reception. This bears more than a passing resemblance to a caravan park...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank scandy11
RoseinVale, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Andy. You were completely incensed on arrival because you had been unable to book into your cheap hotel that you said that you normally stay in. We were subject to your frustration and anger for two days and we are sorry that it somehow overshadowed your experience. Consomme is clear but roasted vegetable consomme which was included on our...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend took me here as a surprise for my birthday. We stayed here for 3 nights and it was absolutely beautiful. I loved everything about the stay, the food was incredible the staff were wonderful and it was really lovely. Would recommend to anyone and will be going back at some stage in the future :) xx

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amber G
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

On arrival we were given a very warm welcome whilst checking in. We were shown to our room - The Rose suite and the receptionist was very informative. The rose suite was decorated with a warm and homely feel with some great statement furniture. Seating in the windows offering delightful views over the gardens a wonderful addition. Tea making facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank missperfectsarah2016
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This was meant to be a relaxing few days paying out for a much more luxurious hotel than I usually go to, much needed after a very busy time. I would say this hotel although set in lovely gardens (which we could not enjoy owing to the autumn Cornish weather, not the hotel owners' fault!) did not live up to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank heatherc0llings
RoseinVale, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant and thank you for your kind comments. Our hotel is very warm and cosy. We have an advanced eco-friendly heating system which happened to trip out due to a very minor technical issue. It was a cold day but at the same time we had a wedding...

South of England
Reviewed 14 November 2016

The Rose in Vale is in a lovely tranquil setting. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. We stayed in a superior room that was spacious and clean, with a good sized bathroom. We only eat breakfast, but, it was very good, with a choice of hot breakfasts, and a nice choice of continental breakfast as well. I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingbod
RoseinVale, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a delight having you stay with us and we very much look forward to seeing you in the future.

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Stayed recently for four nights in twin room. Beds very comfortable. Room very, very clean. Lovely large fluffy towels and bathrobes. No problem linking to free wifi. Whole atmosphere of hotel calm and peaceful. Good choice on breakfast and dinner menu. Loved the homemade bread/rolls served with meal and enjoyed the different flavours each night. Ideal hotel for touring this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owlsash
RoseinVale, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Each afternoon we make all kinds of exciting breads incorporating white chocolate, chilli, seaweed, fruits and so on which provides a lovely start to dinner and we are pleased you enjoyed it.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We booked this hotel as a last minute dot com as the place that we were staying elsewhere was disappointing and based on its 4 AA stars coupled with 2 AA Rosettes (out of the frying pan into the fire). The room was priced at £185.00 (with a 10% discount for direct booking) and we were put in room 15...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anthony G
RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony, I was surprised at your review so thank you for discussing this with me in more detail during our follow up telephone call. My understanding is that you came to stay with us because you disliked your accommodation in St Ives, you were unhappy about the loaction of the car parks which were too far from your accommodation,...

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mithian
6.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
747 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
20.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
742 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rosemundy House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rose in Vale is an historic and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in a secluded wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens we are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Privately owned and family run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our Chef, Tom Bennetts, provides seasonal fine dining in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We do not take children under 12 years of age. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide for a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Price Range: £125 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose In Vale Country House Hotel Cornwall/Mithian
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rose in Vale Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rose in Vale Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views are over looking the garden in the front.”
 of 5 bubbles 161janel, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some bedrooms have quite low ceilings, which is not a problem unless you are 6 foot tall then the shower over the bath is a little tricky!”
 of 5 bubbles 716anitap, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't book a small room, as these are tiny and not worth the money!”
 of 5 bubbles scandy11, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Number 4 was a bit dark and musky smelling. Tired looking ensuite. Not 4 stars.”
 of 5 bubbles gloucesterboy58, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 16 & 17 - small & above kitchen which is noisy early morning!”
 of 5 bubbles Phtouchwood, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay